Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 167 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

167 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

167 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
135
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 152 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews
BG750G problems
10/21/2011

Customer review by Prag

2.0 stars 10/21/2011 by Prag
by Prag

Master Enable is a convenient feature that automatically turns on & off devices plugged into the Control Outlets (printers etc.) when the computer is turned on & off. However, it would be nice if one of the Backup Outlets was also Controlled so that a connected monitor would cycle on & off with the computer AND remain on during AC power failures. PowerChute software 3.0 & 3.0.0.1 do not install cleanly over earlier versions previously installed. Earlier versions have to be manually deleted. Also, 3.0 causes rapid continuous chatter of the hard drive when Technical Data is accessed in the PowerChute software. Version 3.0.0.1 limits the chatter to a single click. The current load (watts) shown in the Current Status screen is way off. Using 50, 100, & 150 watt light bulbs as a load, PowerChute shows very low calculated current loads of 18, 67, and 117 watts respectively. You can't use the wattage displayed as a reliable indication of load for verifying calculated run times.

Prag
Clarksville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Plug in and Forget It!
5/30/2011

Customer review by Aeolus

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Aeolus
by Aeolus

I recently purchased the BE750G and after plugging in my equipment and installing the Powerchute software, had the instantaneous piece of mind to know that no matter what power disaster would strike, my stuff would be protected and still run. Last night's thunderstorm put the APC to the test and it responded flawlessly. My equipment suffered no ill effects and I was able to shut down my system without a glitch. My neighbor was not so lucky. She suffered a router failure possibly due to a voltage surge, even though hers was plugged into a competitor's UPC. Guess we know what she will be buying before the next power outage/storm. The feature to automatically power down and power up associated equipment like monitors, scanners and printers is wonderful. These items only need to be on when the computer is on, not when you are away. Kudos to APC for an excellent product and for being a responsible contributor to our environment by offering free disposal of old equipment that was replaced by this new purchase.

Aeolus
Trout Lake, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Upgrade from 350 to 750 Experience
3/26/2010

Customer review by APC-RepeatUser

3.0 stars 3/26/2010 by APC-RepeatUser
by APC-RepeatUser

My APC 350 Backup-UPS purchased from 2004 performed wonderfully for 6 yrs before it needed a new battery. So, I upgraded to a 750 model 10 outlet instead of 8. Couple little things bothered me with the new model (cheap things) 1) no slot to hang the unit by screw. My 350 hung nicely off the floor and away from vacuum. Don't know why 750 did not have this simple feature other than the plastic chasing looks thinner/cheaper? 2) The cable for connecting cable modem was RG59? What, I've only used RG-6 for past 10 years - no thanks on low quality cable. 3) The spacing of outlets is still way to close for getting AC adapter plugs in there, so wasting 2 outlets. Overall, I really like APC backup-UPS and Parachute software. These devices have gracefully shutdown my home PC many times on power outages safely and securely!!! Just installing new model these little things did not appear to be at same high quality level as the older and lower model unit.

APC-RepeatUser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, Except...
1/19/2010

Customer review by Disappointed

3.0 stars 1/19/2010 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

Three years ago, I bought three Back-Ups (2 BE750, 1 BE650). Two protect computers from power surges and power outages. These two also have an electric clock and a cordless phone base-station attached. The third Back-Ups is dedicated of keeping a alarm clock/radio operating through power outages. For surge protection, and for allowing orderly computer shutdowns during a power outage, the Back-Ups perform as desired. However, as an back-up power source for operating the telephone base-station and the alarm clock/radio, they are useless. The units will power themselves off within a short time, even with virtually no power drain on them... such as an electric clock. The batteries in the Back-Ups should be able to keep an electric clock running for months, but the units shut themselves off in less than an hour... much less. That "feature" was not mentioned in the description and features. I would not have purchased them if I knew their limitations. Having three units that do not fully serve my intended use is disappointing, to say the least.

Disappointed
California Sierra Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best UPS for the Money
11/4/2009

Customer review by swerd

5.0 stars 11/4/2009 by swerd
by swerd

This unit and its many features have saved my computer and peripherals many times over! I live in an are plagued by numerous power outages and brownouts that could have reaked havoc with my computer and its peripherals, had I not had them connected to this APC UPS. I also like the "Green" features of the unit as well as its many other features, like surge protection, back up so I can shut down my computer and peripherals during a power outage, lots of outlets, etc. The management software that accompanied the unit has allowed me to know when each time the power was compromised so I could report it to the power company. The only thing I wish could be improved would be that the records of outages would show up as individual events and not just the last event with a total of time on the UPS for all events within the selected time period. I am VERY satisfied with this unit and would recommend it to anyone!

swerd
Independence, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works very well.
2/25/2011

Customer review by Max

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by Max
by Max

I have been switching our office computers over to the new energy saving units as they come due to be replaced. We have done about 3 of them so far, including our web server The unit has 10 outlets, 5 on battery/surge, 5 on surge only. The master is on battery, but the controlled outlets (which only work if the master is working) are all on the surge side. I would like to see a controlled outlet on the battery side as well, keeping in mind a computer monitor, which is handy if you lose power and want to be able to see to finish up tasks before the computer will hibernate. You can place the monitor plug on the battery side, but then it will stay on as the computer shuts down and drain the battery. I think of this as an improvement on the design, but as intended it does help to save energy and provide support when we have power outages.

Max
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meh, it's OK, but don't waste time
1/26/2013

Customer review by Meh

2.0 stars 1/26/2013 by Meh
by Meh

I suppose it's an ok battery but don't waste hours of time like I did. The instructions were old and wrong, the new instructions downloaded were corrected somewhat but still not right when you finally figure it out. The "warranty" is on the device itself. 3 years is pretty good but you will have to pay postage returning the heavy battery to collect and get a refurbished replacement. To get "equipment protection" REQUIRES registering (not just optional like they said). So I registered then wanted to get the PowerChute software because no disk was in the box. So then I had to register AGAIN to get a password login (to download the missing software?). Then the software failed to even install or work anyway. Just a complete waste of hours. Plug it in, turn it on, plug your stuff in, you'll be good to go. If it fails, throw it away.

Meh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Problem
1/24/2011

Customer review by Cricket

1.0 stars 1/24/2011 by Cricket
by Cricket

Subj: Model BE750G UPS Operated Eight Hours I purchase a Model BE750G UPS system 14 Jan 2011 from MacMall. I have owned a BE500R model system for many years and have been pleased with its performance. The new unit was received 20 Jan 2011. After the system attained room temperature, the battery was connected and charged for over 24 hours. The software patch 1 for Version 2.0 Power Chute Personal Edition for windows XP was down loaded and installed. The unit was connected to components and tested with self test software resulting in passed report. The unit reported it was fully charged and had 46 minutes of battery back up power available. All seemed well, until the unit stopped providing power to our printer, and a few minutes later, computer, monitor, and separate hard drive shut off. This occurred after eight hours of use. Although, no alarms sounded, the green light remained on, the circuit fault light did not engage, and utility power was not lost, components did not receive power. The unit was plugged into A grounded 20 AMP circuit installed by a licensed electrician specifically for our computer system. Trying to get advice from APC on what to do. I suspect I will have to return the unit.

Cricket
Jaffrey NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unit works as described.
2/14/2013

Customer review by Greg T

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by Greg T
by Greg T

I have always used APC UPS systems since the mid 90's and never had any issue with any of them. I even had a Network Air portable A/C in my house that was fantastic, and still running. This unit seems to be quite capable for what I needed. I am running 4 WD NAS Drives (each draw 40W peak) and a laptop running windows 2003 server for Domain and admin functions. Setting up was quite simple and there was also verification from the engineer that tested the unit on the side of the plastic case. It runs cool and quiet (checked a few times) and tested it 2 times by pulling the master power feed and letting the unit beep for over 50 minutes, before plugging it back in. I have a linux script that runs on the server when the laptop battery hits 80%, sends a shutdown command to the NAS drives and then after 20% shuts itself down. Bottom line, this will go for over 50 minutes keeping power alive. We have a new built house and have had some power fluctuations and 2 power outs since, so this is perfect for me. Thinking of getting a few more for desktop systems. Although I am sure they will not last 50 minutes on battery. Only thing I would like to see added is a way to acknowledge and silence of the beeping alarm.

Greg T
Mill Creek, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WinXP users beware of Powerchute
3/8/2010

Customer review by walterco

4.0 stars 3/8/2010 by walterco
by walterco

I have used APC Back-UPS units for several years, with no problems. However, until recently I had never installed the Powerchute software that came with the unit. However, on this most recent purchase, the APC tech rep assured me that I would "get more out of" my APC unit if I installed Powerchute, so I did. And immediately had problems. WinXP files were corrupted, Disk Defrag and Chkdsk no longer worked, and finally my AVG security software was corrupted. Uninstalling Powerchute didn't help. Needed a complete reinstall of WinXP and all my programs. After this happened I found a Microsoft Knowledge Base article warning of problems with APC and WinXP. Can I prove it was Powerchute that caused the problems? No. But I sure as heck will NOT install Powerchute again.

walterco
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible way to connect the battery
3/12/2010

Customer review by K

1.0 stars 3/12/2010 by K
by K

I am not sure if APC engineers have tried to open the battery compartment, and then try to connect the battery wire. Received a brand new product and followed the instructions as per the product guide. The design to take out the battery to connect one of the wires to the terminal is so hard and cumbersome. You cannot take out the battery completely. So you hardly have any space in there to connect the black wire to the terminal. It took two of us to do this and over 20 mins. It was very frustrating even for an engineer like me. I almost returned the product. APC, please ship the product with the battery already connected or if you are very paranoid about it, then make it easier for the consumer to connect the wire to the terminal.

K
Would recommend to a friend? No
It works very well, but ...
11/27/2010

Customer review by Rob

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by Rob
by Rob

This works well for what I want. But it has a feature that was not well explained before I bought it. It is intended to stop peripherals from drawing current when the computer is off. The way this works is for the computer to be plugged into one designated outlet and 3 other outlets are turned off when the unit detects that there is no current draw on the computer outlet. This is generally a very good idea but is not so good when non-computer things are also to be plugged in. This eliminates use of 3 (non-battery protected) outlets for items not intended for use with the computer. And if nothing is plugged into the master outlet, then the 3 other outlets won't work. This should have been much clearer in the UPS description

Rob
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works well
5/9/2010

Customer review by James in AZ

5.0 stars 5/9/2010 by James in AZ
by James in AZ

I purchased this as an upgrade from an older APC model. I wanted something that had a larger/longer battery and was versatile for my usage. I am a professional photographer and this unit powers/protects my computer, external hard drive, printer and various accessories that I use to make a living. I have no complaints with it and we have had a couple of outages since I purchased it. The unit has some great features that help ensure your items are safe on top of the backup and surge protection. My favorite is the light that tells you if your outlet wiring is bad. I actually used the unit to check all the outlets in my office (one was bad and we got it fixed). I would recommend this backup/surge protector to anyone.

James in AZ
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Get enough backup for your home office
4/26/2012

Customer review by LavenderRose

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by LavenderRose
by LavenderRose

My 500VA APC backup got overwhelmed by the plethora of networking, computing, printing and scanning equipment I was trying to protect, and there was NO cable protection. My new BackUPS-750 gives me the adequacy, and the protection, I need for all of this and more. Of course, some things should NOT be on a UPS due to their draw, but now my home office is fully protected, and my wireless net as well. In tornado alley, it is important to have that wireless connectivity stay functional when the power is all over the place, and lightning fills the air. The footprint is not much different from before, but the capacity is greater, and my cable modem connection is now in the protection loop. Love it!

LavenderRose
Kearney, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Low Cost UPS Device
2/16/2013

Customer review by Brandon

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by Brandon
by Brandon

When I got my UPS 750 I was amazed. I plugged it in and and it was amazing. I have ran battery tests and I get a battery life of around 80 Minutes... I unplugged it and counted time. Its somewhat small and is not all that loud, except for the beeps. I wish I would have bought A couple more for the rest of My house. I have a DVR on my device because I have a lot of line noise in my electrical system in my house, and with this I don't have nearly as many problems with the noise or anything. I recommend this for anyone who is wanting a great UPS, without going broke. I have used APC Devices for years and I wont ever go through a different company for any type of power supplies or UPS Devices.

Brandon
Snohomish, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good except for the battery cable
7/9/2014

Customer review by Billy Jack

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by Billy Jack
by Billy Jack

I ordered three of these units. The cable that must be connected to the battery is very, very difficult to connect. The cable is too short, is rotated, and the clamp is too tight to fit onto the receiver without prying it loose a little. There is not room enough for your fingers to function. I have had APC UPSs before and the cable was long enough, in proper alignment, and a proper tightness for the receptacle. I consider this to be a design flaw. The UPS needs to be redesigned such that the cable from the battery to the unit is a quarter inch longer, is in alignment with the receptacle, and has a higher quality clamp. The function of the unit is good and I love everything else about it.

Billy Jack
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It simply works reliably. No fuss.
11/16/2013

Customer review by Chuck

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Chuck
by Chuck

I've been using APC units for 19+ years now and have yet to be disappointed. I upgraded from a 450 to the 750 this time because of a new computer desktop (dual 24" displays), a new NAS media/storage box and seriously upgraded home network (wifi & cabling - twin Gb backbones). While I half expected the unit wouldn't work with my NAS because it's not on the NAS vendor's list (Synology), it does work. My Linux box even has native support for it. PowerChute was not needed in any way. That's another reason I like and use APC units..... standardization. It's not yet winter (when power failures are common due to snow & ice) and it's earning its keep. It's kept everything from getting trashed as it should. While my Linux desktop is easily reloadable, my 20TB NAS isn't. This 750G provides me with 43-45 minutes of runtime before shutting down with its current load. The NAS only needs 3 to shutdown safely. I've already found myself watching a movie (from the NAS) when suddenly the lights go out but the TV (on another APC unit) keep right on running. I simply got up, turned on the light plugged into the tv's APC, sat back down, and continued watching my movie. APC units have been so good to me, I forget they are there until they 'feep' about their batteries. That says a lot in my book. It's worth it's weight & price.

Chuck
Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
750 great unit
9/8/2015

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 9/8/2015 by Bill
by Bill

I use the BR1500G for my desktop and monitors and printer, but the 750G is great for the laptop, home TV, DVR, cable box, stereo, and wireless phone. I had an older 750 version that was destroyed when zapped by a nearby lightning strike. The equipment it was connected to survived unharmed. Nothing else was damaged. The 750 comes with the computer cable and cable TV protectors and both surge only and surge plus battery. It has come in handy when the power goes out so I can shut down gracefully. You need to connect the battery before using (very easy). The old unit lasted for over five years, and this new one should be even better.

Bill
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Potentially great
11/26/2009

Customer review by tt3

4.0 stars 11/26/2009 by tt3
by tt3

Like the adverts say, this UPS+backup has 10 outlets, energy saving design, runtime, and a system of Master-Controlled outlets. I have used only APC for computers for 2 decades, without any damage and a good number of little saves. The 750ES is very competent, with big capacity and small size. The great Master-Control system does not work with a 2007 iMac: when the Controlled peripherals shut down, they send signals that reawaken the Master computer, defeating the whole point! If this is a problem for you, get one of the other Back-Ups. The 3 Controlled outlets are not spaced for 3 power bricks, and do not have battery backup.

tt3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Backup UPS
2/21/2013

Customer review by Obie

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Obie
by Obie

I purchased the APC Backup UPS 750 unit to replace my previous APC Backup UPS that finally began to have problems after 7 years of heavy usage. My personal experience is that APC produces very good UPS units. My previous company used them exclusively in our server room(s) and our tech support swore by them. Despite other reviewers comments about the software, I found the software easy to install on my Windows 7 Pro workstation. The old PowerChute software I had with my older unit was adequate, however the new software has been improved. It's not the most visually stunning software interface, however it does provide an easy to understand interface that provides me with useful information about the current status of the unit as well as detailed information about the last time the unit needed to intervene. I also like the fact that I can customize the notification alarms - I prefer to turn off the alarm. Since the two months I purchased the unit I have had one power outage in my area and the APC Backup UPS operated flawlessly, allowing me adequate time to save my work and shutdown my computer equipment gracefully. Lastly I like how quiet the unit is, there does not appear to be any noticeable hum. As someone who works from home full-time the purchase was a no-brainer as it prevents me from losing valuable work and manages the graceful shutdown of my equipment during power outages.

Obie
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews