Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-13 of 13 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

No More Cable DVR!!!
5/17/2008

Customer review by lauderdaledj

5.0 stars 5/17/2008 by lauderdaledj
by lauderdaledj

In 2001 I purchased my first Tivo for Satellite, when I moved to Arizona I had to switch back to Cable and for the last 3 years have lived with the Cable Company DVR but have always missed my Tivo and it's excellent interface, I finally have the best of both! . This new Tivo HD is phenomenal, the Tivo interface, cable decoder, Over the Air HD decoder, broadband access for Tivo special programs and (since I have more than 1 Tivo) multi-room viewing and show transfers. . The Pro's: The Tivo interface is famous, easy to navigate, the best for finding programs on word, title, actors etc. With a broadband connection you have access to online photo albums, Music VIDEO downloads from Music Choice (not just the song, the video), viral video sites, way too much to mention. . One of the best and FREE features is that you can network your Tivo to your home PC where you can store music, photos and videos including dvd movies if you have the right software Videora! You need to download the Tivo Desktop from the Tivo site, but it's easy and fast to setup and is well worth it. . The HD capability is the main reason I got this box, record 2 shows at the same time OTA or OTA and Cable, whatever combo you want, there is more than enough room for the shows you're likely to watch that week but don't expect to save them on the internal hard drive forever or you're going to run out of space. You might want to consider an external Western Digital My Book for DVR's to add capacity, but give it a try without and see how you do. . The Cons: Not many actually, the first time you turn it on will take about 30 minutes to setup everything, you will need a connection to the internet or a phone line since Tivo has to call home for programming and information without that it's a brick so have connectivity and patience it will pay off shortly! . Cable cards, the only way to get full access to everything the cable company has is via cable card, these are basically the same chips that are in the cable company boxes which say what you get or not, yes the Tivo will pickup basic cable but to get your HBO or other digital cable you're going to need to get Cable Cards and the install may be painful. . Here in Phoenix the Cable company doesn't allow for a self install of cable cards and since they sub out their installs the installer that arrives at your house may have 1 card and it may not actually work correctly so expect some annoyances with Cable cards. Once they are in however they work like a champ! Demand an M or Multi-Stream card it will save you $$ since the cable company will charge you for the cards but if 1 card does the work of 2 you just saved 1/2 of the money. . The Tivo service is less than the rental on a cable DVR or their HD DVR and the 2nd or 3rd Tivo in your home is 1/2 the price of the 1st so you will really save over the cable company with these. If you're just going to use it for Over the Air HD, again great investment. . Enjoy

Was this review helpful? (69) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lauderdaledj
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Way to Enjoy TV
8/23/2009

Customer review by mwandaw

4.0 stars 8/23/2009 by mwandaw
by mwandaw

A while ago I built a PC that had many of the same features that the TiVo HD offers. It took extra effort to build, and it cost about $850. It worked OK for a year or two, but a few months ago started having problems. About a month ago it stopped working. The Tivo HD plus lifetime service costs about $600, if you shop around. That's a bargain compared to what my custom-built system cost. Better than that, the TiVo is easier to use and more sophisticated that my previous system could have ever been. Tip: Walmart has a great price on the TiVo and extended warranty. However, they don't sell the TiVo service. Go to the TiVo website and sign up the one-year plan. Then, if you like the TiVo as much as I do, cancel that plan within 30 days and get a 3-year or lifetime service plan from eBay. I like it a lot!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mwandaw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Love Our TiVo
6/29/2009

Customer review by Gentul

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by Gentul
by Gentul

We have owned a TiVo before, then used provided DVRs from a satellite co., now we are using an antenna (boosted) and the TiVo for TV service and love it. I read other reviews so was not surprised at the set-up process and need for internet connection and/ or phone line to run it and maintain it. I use the USB wireless connection (connector I bought separately at Radio Shack) for that and pay the "$XX" monthly service fee for the TiVo (I think I'm not suppored to mention prices in this review, hence the "XX"). I am currently receiving most of the local channels in the DFW area and can have their menu and can record what I want, in HD, and watch it when I want. I have not used the on-line downloads of movies or other stuff yet, but I probably will. The wife is happier now with the TiVo.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gentul
Denton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
12/13/2008

Customer review by Zygomatic

5.0 stars 12/13/2008 by Zygomatic
by Zygomatic

This is my first DVR and after doing the research, I picked TIVO. I love it. We are so spoiled now that we can't watch live TV anymore. Commercials? No way. I live near L.A. so don't need cable or satellite. Just OTA and also hooked up wirelessly to the internet. We've downloaded movies and TV shows and it works flawlessly for that. I love being able to program it from anywhere there is a computer. Sometimes, I program it from my laptop even when I'm sitting right in front of it. Love it, love it, love it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zygomatic
Pasadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good DVR
7/8/2008

Customer review by mrfrugality

4.0 stars 7/8/2008 by mrfrugality
by mrfrugality

Enough people have already bragged enough on this product--and I love it. But here are some negatives I've experienced: It's very pricey. It periodically just freezes and I have to reset it. I don't like signing up for a monthly service. I've found the Internet-based features lacking. I downloaded a movie, and it must have been 480i. It looked bad on my 1080P HDTV. Other than that, it's a Tivo--very good overall.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrfrugality
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Wonderful Product
11/16/2008

Customer review by DanW

5.0 stars 11/16/2008 by DanW
by DanW

Tivo has been in the DVR business longer than everyone else and they have learned some valuable lessons. The set has inputs for both antenna and cable and allows us to view the new programs offered by broadcasters on their sub dtv channels. Menus and programs may not be as fancy as some other cable DVR's but they get the job done. This Tivo even connects to our home wireless web network to download tv shows and movies, but like us you will need to purchase tivo's wireles adaptor or connect an ethernet cable directly. If we upgrade to digital cable, Tivo is ready to use a digital card available from the cable operator. Our tivo records programs just fine and keeps a list of tivo suggestions of other things we might want to watch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanW
Marion, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
6/15/2009

Customer review by einafets7

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by einafets7
by einafets7

Ive been a TiVo user for three years and recently decided to try our cable provided DVR when we switched companies. It was awful, not user friendly and not worth the 20 bucks a month. I purchased this TiVo, which just needs a cable card (my company installed it for free and charge $3 a month for it) and it is fantastic! It holds a LOT of hours of tv, is super easy to use and has great extras. Love TiVi- will never go back!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
einafets7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First time TiVo user
8/14/2009

Customer review by ManHands

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by ManHands
by ManHands

We've never had cable or satellite service (still don't), but this TiVo is so easy I've been able to teach everyone in the family (except the dog) to use it. It is SOOOO much better than a VCR!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ManHands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
8/23/2008

Customer review by wholecake

5.0 stars 8/23/2008 by wholecake
by wholecake

Easy setup, connect to TV (yes 480i if you want) and input UHF antenna / cable service, visit tivo.com to purchase programming service ... than give the controller to the closest 7yr old to program. 20 hours of HD is not enough, we had to purchase the "My DVR Expander" that gives an additional 65hrs allowing everyone the ability to keep their shows without conflicts. Tivo is simply the best DVR out there hands down. We love to rent movies using Amazon Unbox and watch Youtube and music videos. We love our new tivo.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wholecake
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
1/9/2009

Customer review by Matsi

5.0 stars 1/9/2009 by Matsi
by Matsi

I installed by TiVo HD about 2 weeks ago, and the cable company installed the multi-stream card a couple of days later. So far it's great. Since I did not have a cable box previously, I'm getting channels now that I did not get before, but that's just due to the multi-stream card, not really because of TiVo. The only problem I've encountered so far is two shows I set up to record every new program, did not work. Still not sure why, but probably something I did wrong, because the other show I set up have been recording just fine. I wish I had spent the money for the TiVo before I bought a new DVD recorder. Could have saved some money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matsi
Pottstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Over The Air Receiver
3/1/2009

Customer review by Traveler5011

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by Traveler5011
by Traveler5011

We can record 2 different over the air channels at once or record one channel and watch another. I like that the TIVO records shows that it thinks I would like to watch. We ordered NETFLIX and we can get their on demand shows included in the regular price. This is great for what we use it for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Traveler5011
Jacksonville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love TiVo, but HD TiVo has some flaws
9/29/2008

Customer review by KnowsIt

5.0 stars 9/29/2008 by KnowsIt
by KnowsIt

I am a TiVo fan from way back, since 2001. I love the concept of DVRs in general and TiVo in particular. The TiVo team has gotten the UI and interaction down pat. It's really great, and they have always run rock solid for me. I got the HD TiVo about 8 months ago. Overall I am very happy with it, but this HD TiVo is not as rock solid as the previous versions. There are lots of annoying glitches. I have an external hard drive hooked up, and if the cable connecting the TiVo to the hard drive is disturbed at all the TiVo will restart. I have to use a signal booster on my cable signal to get my TiVo to record some HD channels. The sound drops out on some channels. I think that's it for bugs. They are annoying, but not show stoppers. I love my TiVo so much that I still gave it 5 stars, even with bugs, and even with the cost of the unit and service.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KnowsIt
austin, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Versatile
2/6/2010

Customer review by yelmsherry

3.0 stars 2/6/2010 by yelmsherry
by yelmsherry

Unfortunately this HD TIVO does not work with our local carrier, so we are taking it back today...we were hoping to be able to record our fav shows on it & that was something that didn't work for us at all. Tivo itself can be used to connect with Netflix (Which we were able to do and was really fun!) but the Tivo support folks said that we'd be able to get regular TV channels with it but that wasn't possible, maybe it was our remote location but even after a couple runs to buy antenna's it didn't work! I know folks who have them and they LOVE them but for us, it didn't work out! "(

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yelmsherry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female