Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 840 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

840 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

840 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
472
4 stars
199
3 stars
48
2 stars
38
1 stars
83
1-20 of 744 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 744 total reviews
1-20 of 744 reviews
GOOD VACUUM
9/10/2012

Customer review by fuzzydogowner

4.0 stars 9/10/2012 by fuzzydogowner
by fuzzydogowner

I've owned this vacuum for 3 years now and it really does pick up pet hair that you didn't even realize was in the carpet. The only downfall is that it needs constant cleaning - the container, the filters, the rollers, etc. But frankly, I chalk that up to the realities of pet ownership! LOL However, I am having a new problem - and I've checked everything I can check. The roller spins incredibly fast when it it not touching anything (this has never happened before# and the vacuuming doesn't seem to work...it's not picking up - even though the rollers are going while on the carpet #thoug not much). I also noticed that the dial to change the height is "looser", like usually it's hard to change settings but now it moves freely. I checked and changed the filters, the containers, and the belt - all is good. So what could be the problem? I just really don't understand why the roller spins so maddenly fast when it's lifted up - something's wrong. Hopefully someone from Bissell reads this and responds. Thx.

Comment from Joe - 9/12/2012

Thanks for the review. It's hard to tell what is going on. The brush typically spins very fast, so your best bet is to have one of our BISSELL Authorized Services Centers take a look at it. Here is a link to your nearest one: http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=48310&distance=25&icid=ccrr They can tell you what warranty coverage is on your unit.

fuzzydogowner
Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Clean the Carpet then clean the vacuum
6/10/2012

Customer review by Jeoff

1.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Jeoff
by Jeoff

I have had this vacuum for about a year. It was difficult for me to give it a rating. The reason why is because it does pick up very well and cleans the carpet to my satisfaction. The BIG PROBLEM is the cleaning of the machine every time you use it. The canister does retain much of the debris that is vacuumed up but when you come to empty it you realise that on the outside of the canister and all up through where the vortex is housed is full of fine dust about the consistency of talcum powder. I have to spend aproximately 15 mins to clean the vacuum cleaner on the inside after every use. Today I just reached the limit of my patience when a clot of this fine dust fell out of the vortex when I was dismantelling it to clean. It went all over the floor that I had just vacuumed and into the surrounding air enough to give me an unpleasant coughing fit. I have to use an old toothbrush and Q tips to effectively clean this machine. However this machine is going in the trash can today I simply have had enough.

Comment from Joe - 6/13/2012

Thanks for the review Jeoff. It can be a bit messy to deal with cleaning a bagless vacuum and its filters, but the upside is not having to replace bags. If you are interested in using a bagged unit we offer one. We also have a few models with HEPA filtration and easy empty dirt containers. They are the Healthy Home and PowerClean vacuums and you can view them at this link http://www.bissell.com/product_comparison.aspx?ids=2464,9242&icid=ccrr

Jeoff
Naples FL
Gender:Male
Good Vacuum, Durability Terrible
4/7/2013

Customer review by Bunks

2.0 stars 4/7/2013 by Bunks
by Bunks

We bought this vacuum back in 2008, when it first came out. We really liked it, and it is amazing at cleaning the carpets. It really picks up a lot of dirt. I was impressed enough that a friend of mine bought one too. However after about 4 years the handle release broke and so did the handle loop that you hold onto. We bought a new handle release and replaced it. It only lasted a year, and it is once again broke. The machine is a real hunk of junk because you can't roll it anywhere with the broken handle release. As for the handle that expensive replacement piece of plastic is great. Really disappointed in the machines overall durability. Another downer is that when you are vacuuming a lot of times the hose comes off, and you are just putting the dirt back onto your carpet. It is irritating, so you have to make sure to check the hose often. I also hate cleaning out the cyclone. I understand that you have to maintain bagless vacuums somehow, but that cyclone is so messy to clean out and there really isn't an easy way to do it.

Comment from Lisa - 4/10/2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the trouble you are having with your machine. A bagless machine will take more maintaining; the filters do need to be cleaned often. A BISSELL Service Center can repair the handle lock, for locations please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=54893&distance=50. Also, make sure to stretch the hose out before connecting to the bottom hose; this should help it to stay in place.

Bunks
Coleman, WI, USA
Gender:Male
Exasperating
6/18/2013

Customer review by 2Dog Mom

4.0 stars 6/18/2013 by 2Dog Mom
by 2Dog Mom

I purchased the Pet Hair Eraser vacuum (Model 3920) three years ago because I have long-haired dogs that shed twice a year. I was quite happy with it – it actually pulled more fur out of the carpet after I had vacuumed with another brand canister. It still does a good job picking up the hair – have to empty the canister every two rooms. However, there are three problems that are very aggravating: 1) Emptying the canister creates a mess that then has to be vacuumed up. 2) Whoever invented the inner cyclone should have to spend eternity replacing them in inner housings. Most exasperating, and now one of the tabs has broken off, and I don’t see the cyclone listed in replacement parts. 3) When you least expect it, the curved hose wand comes out of the base and blows dirt and hair all over newly cleaned carpet/floor. Also, I had to have the motor replaced after just 10 months. Thankfully, it was covered under the warranty, as was the motor on the Bissell steam carpet cleaner I had just 3 weeks. Perhaps it is time to rethink having appliances built in China.

Comment from Lisa - 6/20/2013

Thanks for your review. Make sure to keep the filters clean and replace when needed. If dust gets on the motor, it will cause damage. If you need the inner cyclone assembly, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=2443&partid=8112

2Dog Mom
Swissvale, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Purchase only if you like to clean and clean!!
5/29/2012

Customer review by Toby's mom

1.0 stars 5/29/2012 by Toby's mom
by Toby's mom

I purchased this vacuum two years ago and it has been a nightmare ever since!! I have a golden retriever, who sheds constantly, and four children. I initially thought that this vacuum would be wonderful for my household. I couldn't have been more wrong. When you need to empty the cannister, the entire vacuum needs to be cleaned along with the surrounding living area. Pet hair and dirt gets stuck to the upper cannister area and falls down as the cup is being removed. It is a downpour of dust and fur that flies everywhere. Once that mess is cleaned up, there are the filters that need a constant cleaning. I use the hose and wand alot. It took a sunny day for me to see the dust/dirt that was coming out of the sweeper when the hose was removed. I don't even want to think of the dirt, dust and allergens I put back in the air for my family to breathe. I don't have the time to reclean what I have already vacuumed. This product might be fine for short-haired animals, but not for long haired ones (which was pictured on the box). Switching to another brand tomorrow.

Comment from Joe - 5/31/2012

We're sorry this vacuum doesn't fit all of your needs. If you are interested in a vacuum that has a few more features like the Airetight® HEPA Filtration System and an Easy Empty™ Dirt Cup, our Healthy Home Vacuum has them all. You can find it at this link http://www.bissell.com/healthy-home-vacuum/?icid=ccrr

Toby's mom
Southwestern, PA
Gender:Female
I just thought it was clean!
10/27/2012

Customer review by CatGuyTX

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by CatGuyTX
by CatGuyTX

When I received my new Bissell Pet Hair Eraser Vacuum, I assembled it, which wasn't that difficult. I plugged it in, turned it on and OMG, I have never seen cat hair like that before. I have 3 cats! I had an Oreck XL and was frankly tired of having it serviced over and over. It seemed to work pretty well but again, it got to the point that it wouldn't pick up a loose string sitting on the carpet. I have vacuumed frequently and my carpet was pretty clean, so I thought. When I turned on the Bissell, the canister filled up almost immediately with the largest ball of cat hair I had ever seen in only about a 3 x 3 area. Needless to say, "gross"! Or another way to look at it, "Finally"! A vacuum that works as well as they said it would. I love the attachments that are specific for pet hair. I've only had it about 2 weeks and the difference is amazing. Cat ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner!

CatGuyTX
Belton, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Worst Carpet Vacuum
7/14/2012

Customer review by southLAfamily

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by southLAfamily
by southLAfamily

We bought this vacuum around one year ago and I should have returned it within the first 10 days of use. It is literally the worst vacuum as far as suction and ease of use. The attachments are hard to get on and do not spin well at all (the minute you barely touch the surface, the rotations stop). I find the attachments difficult to get on and store on the vacuum and now I just never use them. It has zero suction even though my husband and I have thoroughly checked for clogs and all of the filters. It won't even pick up a Cherrio or a small piece of paper. Also when I remove the hose to vacuum floorboards and baseboards, it spits the dust right back out into the air! If it gets clogged with as small of an area I use it in, then it is very poorly designed. I get more and more frustrated with this vacuum the longer I have it. I will not recommend this product to anyone.

Comment from Joe - 7/17/2012

Please feel free to take you machine to get inspected by a BISSELL Authorized Service Center if you are unable to get it working with these specific troubleshooting steps: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1444&icid=ccrr Click this link to find the service center nearest you http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=&distance=50&cid=ccsocial

southLAfamily
Opelousas, LA 70570, USA
Cheaply made
11/29/2012

Customer review by Aisekk

2.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Aisekk
by Aisekk

We purchased this vacuum since we have a husky puppy who sheds like crazy and I usually vacuum once a day to keep up with the mess. Within the first 15 minutes of using this, the belt broke which is completely unacceptable...I didn't even have enough time to vacuum two rooms! I went online and ordered a new belt, and am still waiting for it to arrive. The site said if purchased before 3pm on a weekday/non-holiday it would ship the same day. Yea right...4 days later and the order is still processing. In the meantime I'm forced to get on my hands and knees and use the pet hair attachment to vacuum my rugs, which is nearly impossible at 5 months pregnant. The only reason I gave it two stars instead of one is because the pet hair attachment really works wonders on our microsuede furniture. If not for that I'd probably have thrown the thing in the trash by now.

Comment from Lisa - 12/3/2012

Thank you for your review. Make sure the height adjustment dial is set for your floor level. If this is not done this can cause stress on the belt. You should receive your belt within 7 business days. If the belt breaks again so soon, please contact us at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.

Aisekk
Excellent for German Shepherd Fur in Car - Question about Vacuum
4/8/2013

Customer review by GSD_Mom

4.0 stars 4/8/2013 by GSD_Mom
by GSD_Mom

We've found an ideal use for this vacuum - we're keeping it in the garage as the car cleaning vacuum. We have a German Shepherd whose fur flies around the car and sticks to every surface. The suction in the hose is excellent. We're only using the Pet Hair Eraser on the cars because it's too heavy and clumsy to use inside the house on carpets and the upper chamber is too messy to disassemble and clean inside the house. For the cars, the hose is long and stretches well. The Bissell pet turbo brush has stopped turning, but the silicone fingers on the turbo attachment do help to dislodge the pet hair from the car seats and carpet and the strong suction picks it up. We also use several non-Bissell vacuum attachments on the hose to clean the car. Bissell vacuums do require an adapter to use non-Bissell, standard size attachments. We have a question: If we're only using the hose with attachments, do we need to be concerned about monitoring the belt and the brushroll? My husband analyzed the vacuum and thinks that the suction in the hose is unaffected by the belt and brushroll. Is he correct that the belt and brushroll do not affect the suction from the hose? Thank you!

GSD_Mom
In the woods-dust, leaves, grass, spider webs ...
this product picks up hair but is hard to empty
1/19/2012

Customer review by doglover

3.0 stars 1/19/2012 by doglover
by doglover

I have had many dogs and many vacuums over the years. This vacuum works well for cleaning pet hair, but it is a real pain when it comes time to empty the canister full of hair and dust! pet hair wraps around the upper filter, and when you pull the canister out to dump it, lots of dust and hair falls out all over the machine, so you get double duty work because now you need a damp paper towel to clean your vacuum cleaner! For someone with allergies, this vacuum would be a nightmare, because when you empty the canister the dust is in your face and sticks all over the plastic! So as you shake it in a bag, you are breathing lots of dust! I am angry every time i have to empty because i have a lot of mess and then dust in the air. I also have a very hard time cleaning my Bissell shampooer as well.

Comment from Joe - 2/17/2012

We want to thank you for your feedback doglover. Attached is a link to our Healthy Home vacuum which is made for those that suffer from allergies as it filters out allergens and other debris. It has all of the features listed below: •Microban® antimicrobial product protection •Airetight® HEPA Filtration System •9X Multi Cyclonic Cleaning System •Brush roll turns off for safe hard floor cleaning •Full set of multi-use tools – including TurboBrush® Tool •7 surface height settings •Bagless, with Easy Empty™ Dirt Cup •5 year limited warranty

doglover
Colorado, USA
Gender:Female
Pet Eraser
2/3/2012

Customer review by tracyl

3.0 stars 2/3/2012 by tracyl
by tracyl

Pros: Great on carpet with pets. Use this constantly on my carpets, and furniture to remove cat fur. Have 3 cats that are indoors only. The Contour Tool Pet works great on the furniture. Has great suction for the carpets. Was amazed how much fur it had picked up when I vacuumed the carpets. If your house is completely wall to wall carpets this vacuum cleaner will work great. If you are like most households with carpets in the family room and bedrooms, then you need two vacuum cleaners. One for the floor and this one for the carpets. I do like the fact that this vacuum cleaner has no bags. Just unlock and empty the canister. Cons: Does not work at all on floors. Flings anything out of it path and does not pick it up. That is because the roller is constantly on. It does not have a dual switch. One to turn the roller on or off would be great and make this a fabulous vacuum cleaner for both carpets and floors. I also believe that the cord placement was an afterthought. It would be easier to wind up if it were placed on the same side as the HEPA filter which could be 4" to 5" shorter and still do the same job or make it an autowine and keep it in the same place. I also have a separate vacuum cleaner for the floors.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

There are a variety of vacuums we offer with the brush on/off switch geared toward pet owners. Take a look at our Lift-Off® Multi Cyclonic Pet Vacuum at http://www.bissell.com/lift-off-multicyclonic-pet-vacuum/?icid=ccrr and our PowerClean® Multi Cyclonic Bagless Vacuum at http://www.bissell.com/PowerClean-Multi-Cyclonic-Bagless-Vacuum/?icid=ccrr

tracyl
Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Wish it was easier to empty!
3/11/2012

Customer review by Shromira

1.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Shromira
by Shromira

I was excited to get this product and it is good for light work. But when doing a big job it is terrible. None of the hair will go in the bottom of the canister. It all gathers at the top and will not go down. So when it is full you have to take the casister out and reach up to the top and get the dust, dirt and hair out with your hands and it goes all over, therefore, you have another mess to clean up. The attachments are great and work well at getting pet hair off furniture, but if it is more work to empty the dirt then it is to pick it up, what good is it? I am just very disapointed. I will have to purchase yet another vacuum, because this one is just too frustrating. I was thrilled to be able to support local business, but will now have to look elsewhere.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Thanks for the review Shromira. The upper tank filter (called the inner cyclone) can easily be removed and cleaned. These instructions are on page 16 of the attached user guide. http://www.bissell.com/assets/0/132/134/228/e5babada-7240-40ea-93c0-90427ed32741.pdf?icid=ccrr I hope this helps.

Shromira
Grand Rapids, MI
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum!
6/28/2014

Customer review by Celia357

4.0 stars 6/28/2014 by Celia357
by Celia357

I have to say this is the best vacuum I've ever used. I bought this in March of 2010, and it's still going strong. It has even outlived my pets (sadly). I had two cats and they passed away three years apart at ages 16 and 20. I currently do not have anymore pets, but I'm still using this vacuum. Sure, I've had to replace the belts, roller, and filters, but it's just normal maintenance. Whenever I feel my vacuum isn't working at its best, I check the filters and sure enough they need cleaning/replaced. Once I take care of that, it's running like new again. The only negative is that the dirt collector/canister is pretty small and I have to empty it multiple times when I vacuum. Other than that though it's great and I highly recommend this vacuum.

Celia357
Layton, UT, USA
Gender:Female
Love my carpets again!
4/29/2012

Customer review by Melissa

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Melissa
by Melissa

Bought this 3 years ago when we bought our house. I worked great in the beginning. Just like everything else in life, it does need to be taken apart and cleaned once in a while. I have replaced the belts a couple of times and should probably replace the filters. I agree with the reviews that it does not perform well on hard floors. It will shoot dirt at your toes and it is simply easier to use a broom. The only concern I really have is when I use the attachment hose. I disconnect the hose from the canister and while using the hose, dirt and hair will fly out the back. My husband will stick a rag in the opening just to improve the suction. Am I missing something here? My old vacuum had a flap that closed when I used the hose.

Melissa
Buffalo, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Best Vacuum for Pets
12/30/2012

Customer review by pet lover

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by pet lover
by pet lover

We have 3 cats (2 short hair, 1 med hair) & 3 dogs (2 husky's & border collie mix) - this is the first vacuum we have found to pull the hair out of rugs/carpet easily. Believe me when I say we have alot of hair to pick up with the vacuum. We bought the vacuum in May 2008 & are just now replacing it. I do not recall having to replace the belt, however there is a posibility we did once. in the 4.5 yrs we have owned the machine. We have a rug with very bold colors I had to clean on my hands & knees to pull the cat hair out - once we got this vacuum, it was like the day we put the rug in. Outstanding! Am looking for a replacement & will look at the other 2 pet vacuums by Bissell as well. But the pet hair lifter may win out.

pet lover
Alaska, USA
Gender:Female
Still Working Great
7/14/2013

Customer review by BOHEGGE

5.0 stars 7/14/2013 by BOHEGGE
by BOHEGGE

Lisa@ Bissell, consumer affairs, I received your request to review this. I had already reviewed it back on June 30, It's still working great. No complaints here. As a matter of fact, I was checking my email just before I start vacuuming. After that the dog will get her turn, with a brush though. Have you ever thought about making a pet brush attachment (with a flexible hose extension)? I think that would be great! I would buy one. I have a small ShopVac I use for my car. My dog likes the suction when I run it across her coat, but I need a pet brush attachment. That way it would suck up the fur as I brushed her coat. I'm willing to bet that a lot of pet owners would buy that. Remember where you heard it from Lisa. ; )

BOHEGGE
Waterloo, IA, USA
Gender:Male
Very Disappointed
1/17/2013

Customer review by KCMP

2.0 stars 1/17/2013 by KCMP
by KCMP

I was so excited when I bought this vacuum. I had a Powerforce before this one and loved it so I had high expectations. Well, here I am just under three years in and I just had to replace this vacuum. I have already had to replace the belt and a few filters. Within the first year the cord started coming apart and the wires were coming through. In the past few months I have noticed it not picking up as much dog hair and debris. Last week the brush stopped turning when I use it on the carpet. When I lift the vacuum off of the ground the brush works fine but when I place it on down on the carpet the brush stops and the belt starts to burn. Oh and I despise and hate the messy canister. I hate pulling out the canister to empty it because it makes a HUGE mess. So I have just made a big mess, when I have just gotten through cleaning a mess UGH! I have had two Bissell carpet cleaners (still have one), I have a Spot Bot and two Bissell vacuums so obviously I am pretty loyal to the Bissell brand, but this time I did turn to another brand. I am just so disappointed in this vacuum and how it has held up. Of course it has something like a three year or five year warranty (I think five) but I have to take it to an approved place and of course none are anywhere near me so that doesn't work. Just highly disappointed.

KCMP
TN
Gender:Female
Similar story
7/1/2012

Customer review by diamndgrrl

4.0 stars 7/1/2012 by diamndgrrl
by diamndgrrl

I had an issue with my vaccuum kicking back sand/dirt onto my feet and when I took the hose off to use an attachment, it blew out dust instead of suctioning it. I came on this website and saw similar complaints, but also read the responses from Bissell. From their responses, I realize that my vacuum was clogged, up in the wind tunnel. I didn't know that I could remove the upper portion to clean, but learned that here. Although, it was extremely messy to clean, it is fixed. I am giving it a 4-star rating because of the mess it makes when cleaning it and when emptying the canister. Next vacuum I get will not be bag-less, but I can say overall, I am happy with it!

diamndgrrl
Worcester, MA
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum for the most part.
7/8/2013

Customer review by julasley

4.0 stars 7/8/2013 by julasley
by julasley

I have had this vacuum for almost 4 years, maybe longer... I LOVE it. It does pick up all the yucky pet hair. I have 4 cats and a dog, plus a 10 year old that is quite messy. :) I have never had problems with the vacuum on carpet, it did an amazing job. Also on my furniture it really picked up the hair there too! My only complaint really, is that is does not work on bare floors. We moved to FL a few years ago and have all tile now and the only purpose I have for it now is to vacuum my area rugs and furniture. In all the years I have it though, today it broke. :( My hose works, but the brush won't rotate anymore. So sad. I have to get a new vacuum now.

Comment from Lisa - 7/9/2013

Thanks for your review. There is no need for a second machine. We have a bare floor tool that would work with your machine. Check out this link to view/order: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=2437&partid=4646&icid=ccrr

julasley
Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Loudest Vacuum Ever
9/2/2012

Customer review by jazzy04

3.0 stars 9/2/2012 by jazzy04
by jazzy04

This vacuum is one of the best I've ever owned. However, it is by far the Loudest vacuum I have ever owned. When I first bought it, the noise was normal but as time went on it continued to get loud and louder. I clean the filters after every use due to the dog hair accumulating in the bottom filter and the dander getting sucked into the side filter. So I know the noise wasn't from the filters being clogged. I have never had a problem with the suction just the noise. I've had the vacuum for about 1.5 yrs and today while in use it died. I took it apart cleaned everything out, put it back together and plugged it back in with no luck. Very disappointed.

Comment from Joe - 9/7/2012

Jazzy, please contact us by phone as our Consumer Care reps may be able to assist you if they can hear it run. Feel free to contact us at your convenience at http://www.bissell.com/customer-support/?icid=ccrr

jazzy04
Killeen, TX
Gender:Female
1-20 of 744 total reviews
1-20 of 744 reviews