Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 839 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

839 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

839 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
472
4 stars
199
3 stars
48
2 stars
38
1 stars
82
1-20 of 743 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 743 total reviews
1-20 of 743 reviews
The best
4/30/2008

Customer review by Tan01

5.0 stars 4/30/2008 by Tan01
by Tan01

I love this vacuum! It is not very heavy, like I had read in some reviews and just glides right along the floor and picks up everything! It picked up every pet hair, we have 2 cats and a dog, not to mention all of the crumbs my family drops on the floor daily. It isnt any louder than any other vacuum I have used, and I cant say enough about how much suction it has. I have never used a dyson, but I feel this is the best vacuum ever, especially for the price. I dont like to put a lot of money into small appliances, so this was a splurge for me, but it pays for itself right away. After seeing my carpet after vacuuming with the bissel, I couldnt believe how dirty our floor had been before. When I thought it was clean, it truly wasnt. Our carpet looks like new now, and hasnt looked this way since the day we moved in 5 years ago. This is a great vacuum! I recommend this to anyone looking for a great vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (327) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tan01
Madison WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Look out Dyson!
9/28/2009

Customer review by mainergurl

5.0 stars 9/28/2009 by mainergurl
by mainergurl

I purchased the Bissell Pet Hair eraser vacuum several months ago and it was the best purchase I have made in some time! This vacuum is amazing! My mother has a Dyson that she paid a lot of money for this vacuum at a third of the price does just as well if not better! I literally pull out the pet hair, human hair, and even little dust particles you will see the results in the canister when you go to empty it and you won't believe the power of this vacuum! Look out Dyson there's a new sheriff in town!!

Was this review helpful? (84) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mainergurl
Yakima, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME!!!!
10/11/2008

Customer review by Amberval

5.0 stars 10/11/2008 by Amberval
by Amberval

Unlike some reviews that say this vacuum is hard to assemble, I found it not that difficult at all. I didn't even need my husband's help. When I started vacuuming I could see right away all that is was picking up. My carpet has never been cleaner (No Dog Hair!!! YAY!) It is easy to clean out and is just so awesome. I love this product! My dog sheds so much and this vacuum, unlike my other bissell, got it all!!! I would recommend this to anyone. It also is very pleasing to the eyes, love the cute little paw prints and black color. Best purchase from walmart.com thus far.

Was this review helpful? (63) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amberval
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best vacuum Ever!
7/30/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Its no wonder why Consumer Reports rated this vacuum the best bagless for pet hair! I have two large breed highly shedding dogs and it picks up EVERY piece of hair! I previously steam cleaned my carpet every other week (3 kids 2 dogs and a shedding domestic house bunny). I now do it only once a month and only because of juice spills. There is a color indicator on the front of the vacuum, if it completely green its at full sucking power, black or going back it tells you to clean the filter and red or going red means there is a clog (which I must say I has only happened when I accidently sucked up socks that were tucked under the couch). We did have to replace the belt once (agian because of the socks) which isnt bad at all for 10 months of daily (sometimes twice daily)use. I wonder if the consumers who had less than positive things to say bothered to adjust the carpet height feature. I can keep it on the pet hair setting and it grabs everthing! Highly recommended product.

Was this review helpful? (58) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Laconia NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing product
4/30/2008

Customer review by chilly75

5.0 stars 4/30/2008 by chilly75
by chilly75

Overly impressed with this vacuum. Easy to assemble, and had it running 5 min out of the box. Was immediately amazed by the suction power, which quickly turned to absolute disgust over what was coming out of my carpet! I've only lived in our current house for 9 months, and it's obvious to me that our former Hoover Windtunnel was picking up nothing at all. My spouse and I both continued to comment how clean and soft the carpet felt after just one use. Using it on each room every few days now, and the house has never felt, or smelled as clean before! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chilly75
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Shockingly Awesome
6/8/2008

Customer review by ShrinkyDink76

5.0 stars 6/8/2008 by ShrinkyDink76
by ShrinkyDink76

This vacuum was a full $150 under our budgeted amount. We were skeptical, but it had good reviews and we reasoned that we don't have that much carpet anyway and our current vacuum is a worthless piece of garbage- so even if the Bissell stinks, it's better than what we have and we aren't out that much money. Did we ever make a good choice on this one! Granted, our current vacuum was terrible, but the Bissell is amazing. The first time we used it, we had to empty the cup several times just on one room. It was the greatest feeling ever! Not only was there not pet hair everywhere, but the air smelled cleaner, too. The POSITIVES as I count them- It picks up mounds of Golden Retriever hair. The cup fills up fast so you know it's working, but it's a big cup and it's super easy to dump- just one effortless lever right on the front. The suction is very powerful, with no loss occurring when using the attachments. It is powerful enough that you don't want to vacuum right next to anything that you don't want instantly sucked up. I've caught my dust ruffle a few times. The cord is nice and long. The NEGATIVES- This vacuum is very heavy. The suction is such that the vacuum kind of propels itself a bit, but it is still heavy even after that. While the spin brush is kind of cool, I would prefer to have standard vacuum attachments. For example- there is no soft brush for cleaning the blinds. In SUMMARY, this vacuum is excellent at picking up dirt and pet hair, while cleaning the air at the same time. It has an easy-empty cup and very powerful suction. It is very heavy to use and has unfortunately exchanged the usual attachments for less useful ones. The positives of this vacuum seem to far outweigh the negatives. Overall, the Bissell Pet Hair Eraser is a great vacuum at a great price and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShrinkyDink76
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good performance until.....
11/5/2009

Customer review by Schnuh330

5.0 stars 11/5/2009 by Schnuh330
by Schnuh330

About 2 years after purchasing a very similar model (looks identical just different color slightly different attachments) and being very satisfied with it, it quit working for no reason. I was vacuuming the hallway and shut it off to switch over to the attachment hose and when i turned it on again something arced inside and it wouldn't turn on. I thought maybe the switch had gone bad, so I took out the power switch and checked it against a toggle switch I had laying about and it was not the switch. So I opened it up to check for a fuse or whether the motor had gone bad. What I found shocked me (not literally! XD.) The vacuum has a small lamp in the front that lights the path in front of it and it was wired in with the motor so that if the bulb failed the motor quit working. Basically using the Lightbulb as a fuse for the motor. I can't begin to imagine how many people have thrown out perfectly good vacuum cleaners because the light bulb burned out. The bulb (Bissell Model # 203-1297) costs only $1.95 plus shipping from Bissell, there is no mention of the light bulb causing your vacuum to not work in the user manual or anywhere on their website it's almost as if they are hoping you just toss it and buy a new one. The User guide does tell you how to go about replacing the bulb(very easy, gently pry off cover with flat screwdriver, remove bulb, replace bulb, replace cover) but neglects to tell you your vacuum won't work without the bulb.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Schnuh330
NE Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
**OMG!! Dyson watch out!! A+**
6/3/2010

Customer review by KuuKii

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by KuuKii
by KuuKii

You must know that I didn't get the Bissell Pet Eraser specifically to deal with pet hair, but just to use as any other regular vacuum cleaner. So, people with 10 cats and dogs, keep that in mind when reading this review) So, my old vacuum broke (Eureka boss Capture Hepa Filter, $180, now $130) a few months ago and got stuck without a vacuum for about 2 months. I used it 3 times a month for 2 years...I was told it broke because I used to use that "Glade" powder for carpets to smell good. BIG MISTAKE. Don't use that powder!! EVER!!!!) Suction power was all right I guess. During those 2 months without a vacuum cleaner, I had to borrow either my sister's or my friend's ones...I wanted to find "THE ONE" in the mean time while testing others. One of them was Dirt Devil Reaction Fresh (about $150), and the other one Dyson DC14 Animal (about $550 new, $300 reburbished). The dirt devil was all right...like any other one...BUT I fell in love with the Dyson, the suction power was unbelievable, my carpet looked like new (it's almost 3 y.o, my carpet) instantly and picked up a lot of dust.......At the same time, I wasn't gonna spend that much money, so after 10 minutes I came back to reality. My budget was $200 TOP. I almost get the Shark Navigator ($157 @walmart), but when I saw it at he store it didn't look good to me. Too small... and it looked like it was gonna break...it looked like a toy vacuum cleaner to me...I did find great reviews online, though.... but decided not to after all. So....after a few weeks looking....while I was online about to get another Bissell, similiar to this one....I found THIS one...I read most of the reviews and decided to get it. The few bad reviews came from poeple with several pets at home, which I dont have, so...I figured it'd just be right for me. Oh I was SO RIGHT!!! The suction power is just the same as the Dyson DC 14 Animal I had tried 3 times already ($550), left my carpet like new and picked up dust, just the very next day I had vacuumed using the Dyson. BISSELL PET HAIR ERASER IS AWESOME!! I've used it 5 times already, and I'm still in love with it. I wanted to wait a little bit before leaving a feedback. There was another review here that said "DYSON YOU BETTER WATCH OUT". I second that BIG TIME. Extra info: -It took us about 15 min to assemble it. (don't skip any step!) -The cord lenght is perfect (long enough) -Make sure you clean the little filter under the plastic cup. If you keep the filters clean at all times, you shouldn't have any problems with any vacuum cleaner. Hope this helps! Kukiii

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KuuKii
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Bissell Pet Hair Eraser Vacuum
8/1/2010

Customer review by RCPilotJAE

4.0 stars 8/1/2010 by RCPilotJAE
by RCPilotJAE

While no vacuum is perfect, the Bissell Pet Hair Eraser gets some pretty high marks from my view. It does what it claims to do. I have three cats ranging from long to short hair and from pure breed to American. Cats tend to make certain spots 'their own' and leave behind a ton of fine fur. This is the first vacuum that actually picks up the fur right down to the last one. In fact this vacuum has gotten dirt, hair and fur out of places I thought where clean! Besides the regular attachments it comes with a couple of special attachments that speed up and pick up pet fur along with everyday dirt, dust and what ever else is hiding deep in your drapes, furniture and carpets. It has a hair remover built onto the floor rotating brush that picks up even more pet fur and it works. This vacuum is so powerful the first time I used it I managed to jam the smaller motor filter with dirt. This is not a bad thing or a con. It was my stupidity in not cleaning out the filters as per instructions. As for pros and cons, here we go: Pros: Extra long electrical cord (30') 12 amps, 15" cleaning path. Bag-less, HEPA filter, motor filter (washable). A clean/dirty indicator (that actually works). A pet contour brush and a pet turbo brush (powered by air from the vacuum and amazes me that it works well without slowing down and is not electric). And of course all the regular attachments. Cons: It picks up so much dirt so fast you need to check the filters and dump the bag-less container more than you'd think you would. Other than that I can't think of any. Closing: For the price you can't beat this vacuum. It comes with a 3yr. warranty and looks to be built to last many years. If you have pets (or even if you don't) I would recommend this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RCPilotJAE
Lockport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Disappointed
3/10/2011

Customer review by kcrow67

1.0 stars 3/10/2011 by kcrow67
by kcrow67

After reading the reviews I purchased this vacuum, and was amazed at how poor this vacuum performs. The filter clogs at least twice every time I use it. It does not do good in corners at all, I actually have to get the worthless "pet hair bar" out of the way to have it get near a wall at all. You can tell the filter is clogged when the machine starts spitting hair and dirt back out onto the rug while you are vacuuming, and to unclog it, you have to fight to twist it out, on the floor looking at it upside down.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kcrow67
beach Lake, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
JUNK
12/29/2010

Customer review by JAM80

1.0 stars 12/29/2010 by JAM80
by JAM80

This product is a piece of garbage!!! I purchased this product 6 months ago and I have regretted it every single day since. I read the reviews on this and thought I was buying a quality vacuum...but boy was I wrong. First of all, if you have a dog...this is the LAST VACUUM ON EARTH YOU WANT! It CLOGS EVERY TIME I USE IT!!! The hair from my beagle gets sucked up through the cyclones and clogs on the primary filter every single time that I clean my house. It takes me twice as long to vacuum my house simply because I have to clean out my vacuum twice per room! Secondly, the thing broke in the first 4 months I had it. The bearing on the brush wheel broke and it was making a terrible noise. Walmart would not take it back beyond the 90 days and Bissell said that part was not covered under their warranty. It took lots of persuading and complaining for them to finally agree to send me a new brush head free of charge! I am so tired of this vacuum that after 6 months I am getting ready to throw it in the garbage and buy a new BAGGED vacuum. One that will not clog and that I can clean my whole house with without having to stop and unclog! Do yourself a favor and DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, YOU WILL BE WASTING YOUR MONEY!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAM80
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
would buy again and again
9/6/2010

Customer review by Moviebuff1962

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by Moviebuff1962
by Moviebuff1962

I have been an owner of the Dirt Devil and stood behind the product....until....I became an owner of the Bissell pet hair eraser! I always thought my dirt devil was good. The first time I vacuumed my 10 by 20 livingroom, I was amazed how much this picked up. I emptied the catch basket 3 times because of all the cat hair it picked up! The room smelled so much fresher! I used it on my furniture with the attachments...that too picked up cat hair I never saw! Now I have owned this machine for 1 1/2 years. Still picks up just as good as day 1. The key is to make sure you clean the cyclone cylinders inside as well as the filters! Today the belt broke. Not from a product defect issue but because I let my daughter vacuum her room and she sucked up a sock and the power from the spinner kept trying to run, then wore out the belt. I also found you must be very careful not to run over your power cord. The brushes are so powerful it wears down the protective coating over the wires. Overall.....Love this machine! Very reliable and does exactly what it advertises!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moviebuff1962
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Overall good vacuum with one caveat
9/15/2010

Customer review by OldTownAlexandria

3.0 stars 9/15/2010 by OldTownAlexandria
by OldTownAlexandria

Bought this vacuum about 6 months ago. So far, we're really liking the suction it offers (really does get up a lot of pet hair) and the two additional attachments. However, I would caution anyone with pets that shed a good bit or that have long hair that there's one design feature that might make you a little batty: the upper tank. While it's easy to empty the lower tank, you'll notice a lot of hair goes into the upper portion of the tank - that's the piece you can't remove. So each time I vacuum, I empty the lower tank and then have to unscrew a piece in the upper tank and wrench out a massive, massive hairball (I have a bulldog, singular), sending dust everywhere. I have to put the piece back into the upper tank, replace the lower tank and then vacuum up the mess I made. If Bissell could fix that one design flaw, I'd give this 5 stars, hands-down.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldTownAlexandria
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pet Hair Clogger
3/11/2010

Customer review by MyLittleMelody09

1.0 stars 3/11/2010 by MyLittleMelody09
by MyLittleMelody09

This vacuum is useless. I have a cat and a dog (lab mix). I vacuum every other day, and this "vacuum" gets clogged after vacuuming just my living room, which is not very big. What does it get clogged on? DOG HAIR! The "Pet Hair Vacuum" gets clogged on DOG HAIR. What a joke. It picks up dust and dirt just fine, but if you have anything larger than a gerbil, I would suggest looking for a different vacuum cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyLittleMelody09
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
beware of bissell
5/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This vac did not ever meet the expectations I thought it would. Since I have pets, I thought this would be great, but I guess I made a mistake by using carpet fresh...It burned up the motor! I mean, come on..it blew it out,. just from using carpet fresh..so in the garbage it goes. This is the second (and last) bissell product I will ever buy!!!!I had a big green clean machine, and its motor blew out too...they are very cheaply made, and will never reccomend this to anyone!!! Buyer beware!!! Oh by the way, this vac was less than 6months old.I have a warranty, but wont bother with it...not worth having!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exceeded Expectations!
6/11/2010

Customer review by MarriedaYankee

5.0 stars 6/11/2010 by MarriedaYankee
by MarriedaYankee

Product arrived earlier than promised and assembly was a little cumbersome (but directions were on target). I first used the pet hair attachment for my couch and it worked wonders - cleaned the cushions great. I switched attachments and got into those hard to reach places with great success. I was shocked at how much hair the vacuum collected (more than was visible to the eye). Used it in the hallway (my forever-shedding Lab's favorite place) and I had to empty the canister twice! But the surprise was not the hair but how much debris the vacuum picked up from down deep inside the carpet - hair was minimal compared to the rest! This is by far the best vacuum I've ever owned (and I've owned about 10) and I'll be recommending it to others for a long time. The suction is unbelievable!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarriedaYankee
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I am impressed
5/30/2010

Customer review by KC932

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by KC932
by KC932

When my Bissell Powerforce Turbo died I was just going to go and buy another one just like it because it was such a great vacuum, my Husband however wanted this vacuum so we ordered it. The Good: Has some powerful suction Clean filter and loss of suction indicator Lots of on board tools Lots of filters Carpet always looks cleaner Does not stink up the room Long cord Long hose Clear hose to check for clogs Easy to maneuver The Not So Good: Canister fills up fairly quickly and can be messy when emptying (I put a dirty towel around the vacuum to catch the dirt) The indicator is quick to show that the filters need to be cleaned or that their is clog (does not ever seem to affect the suction) The flip down bar on the front doesn't really seem to do anything except maybe "brush" the carpet Filter can be a pain in the butt to lock back into place. Summary Would I buy this vacuum again over another Powerforce Turbo? Probably. I really like the clear hose to check for clogs (was useful when I mistakenly sucked up my daughters sock) and the loss of suction indicator although it can be a little sensitive. The carpet looks SO MUCH better when I get done vacuuming. We have a boxer/pit bull mix, a golden retriever and four rowdy kids so this vacuum definitely earns its keep.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KC932
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wow, definitely not expected!!
3/14/2011

Customer review by Chetcharica

2.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Chetcharica
by Chetcharica

This vacuum cleaner was fantastic for the first few months that we had it. About 4-5 months after first using it, it started vibrating really bad and slowly getting louder and louder with each use. As long as I cleaned it out after each use it kept great suction, it was just REALLY LOUD! We have had this vacuum for almost a year now, and I was using it about a week ago and it just quit. Come to find out that I need a new motor for it and not sure if the warranty is going to cover it. If the warranty doesn't cover it, a new motor will cost anywhere from $35.00 - $65.00!!! Might be better off buying another instead of replacing the motor, because if it has already gone out this fast, who's to say a new motor would last any longer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chetcharica
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't Buy!!
3/6/2010

Customer review by GermanShepard1644

1.0 stars 3/6/2010 by GermanShepard1644
by GermanShepard1644

I have read some of the other reviews on this here, and I just felt like I had to give you a long term review. I have had this vacuum for just over a year, and I have had to take it into a repair shop twice. It seens to had an experation date of about 6 months. It worked pretty well at first, but not at all after the 6 month mark. When I turned it on it sounded like it was going to explode. I have a German Shepard who of course sheds all the time. It picks uyp dog hair well, but I also have a dog door so he brings in dirt all day long. Even though a vacuum cleaner is suppose to pick up dirt it isn't equipped to had that much dirt. It has somehow has gotten dirt into the covered motor. I have to take it in to be cleaned out. Its insane to have to pay to get your vacuum cleaner cleaned! Even with a cheaper vacuum it should last longer then 6 months. Beware!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GermanShepard1644
WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Vacuum at a low price....
7/11/2011

Customer review by norjud

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by norjud
by norjud

Our old vac was great and it was 9 years old. So if this one last that long...we will be happy. My wife said it really is good on the pet hair and such, better than anything she has ever used. It is heavy, so if your weak you won't want this one. But overall very pleased and the 97 cent shipping to home a big plus.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
norjud
Bedford, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 743 total reviews
1-20 of 743 reviews