Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 149 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

149 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

149 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 130 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
Good, but has limitations...
1/13/2009

Customer review by HiTechDad

4.0 stars 1/13/2009 by HiTechDad
by HiTechDad

Last year (2007), I tried to record a choral concert at my church with my $700 miniDV camcorder (with all it's cords, tapes, special batteries, etc.). It was tethered to the wall b/c only 3 of my 5 proprietary batteries would hold a charge at all and only for a short amount of time. When I played the concert back on the TV, the sound was horrid and the video was lousy because I had to place it far away from the action. It wasn't worth the effort to do the 'real time' capture to the computer, let alone the required conversion to a format compatible with WMP or to make a DVD. Cut to '08. I bought a $150 Flip Video Mino and recorded the whole concert in 18 pieces to match each song and reading (kind of on-the-fly editing out the silence between useful content). I could get to it to start and stop it because it sat on a tripod right near the action where I sat. When I got home, I plugged it in and in a few minutes, everything was on my computer, ready to burn a DVD-ROM to share with fiends who wanted to watch on their computers. It would have been just as simple to push a couple different buttons to make a playable DVD. All this for less than 1/5th of what I paid for the larger camcorder not including the $$ I shelled out for all the extra -- now unusable -- proprietary batteries. The people who reviewed the video playback on a computer are shocked at how good it looks. I need to make special mention that the sound is REALLY good. I was shocked at how good it sounds (and NO tape mechanism buzzing during the quiet parts!). All that said. I returned this and opted for another product because the following limitations were important to me. - internal, proprietary battery. Can't do ANYTHING if your battery dies. Can't even have a spare proprietary battery on hand. - internal, non-expandable memory. Can't do MUCH if you're out and run out of memory (except delete stuff that you may not want to). It records an hour, so that probably works for many occasions as it did for my concert recording above. But I had to be careful not to 'waste' any memory. - doesn't record in HD (not so important if you're watching on a regular TV, but it looks better on an HD TV or computer than less detailed video does). Now, if you don't mind these limitations, this would be an excellent product for you. It records very nice video at VGA quality and the sound is great. It's portable (slips into a pocket), and SIMPLE to use.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HiTechDad
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I Was a YouTube Virgin Until…
11/17/2008

Customer review by namrit

5.0 stars 11/17/2008 by namrit
by namrit

Until recently I had never uploaded a single video to YouTube. I was essentially a YouTube virgin but that all changed the day I bought my Flip Mino. In just two short weeks I have uploaded roughly a half a dozen videos to YouTube which isn’t bad considering I have full time job and a house to manage. Here are the main things I like about the Flip Mino: * It is simple: This is my third video camera in three years; sadly I have never been able to figure out the other two. * It is small: Let’s face it size matters. If it is too big to fit in your purse you won’t have it with you when you get inspired and want to capture something. * It is cute: In my world cuteness counts. The Mino is adorable which only makes me want to use it more. * It fun: It is so fun that I want to record everything and I mean “everything”. My husband is constantly reminding me what is and what isn’t considered YouTube worthy. Tip: make sure you buy the tripod; as it comes in handy when you are shooting yourself and provides a more stable looking video overall.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
namrit
San Francisco, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Flip Mino
11/15/2008

Customer review by Maunabo

5.0 stars 11/15/2008 by Maunabo
by Maunabo

It's nothing compared to my Canon ZR400 in quality, but its features have a place. It's small, easy to transfer to computer, I don't have to worry about it getting lost or stolen as much, and rain isn't a huge issue when filming outside because I can just pop it in my pocket. Love to use it for short clips to keep in touch with my family. Would definitely recommend for everyday use. It's perfect for the cost.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maunabo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really Neat!
8/8/2008

Customer review by rkmemphis

4.0 stars 8/8/2008 by rkmemphis
by rkmemphis

This is a very cool device. It has everything. The USB connection is part of the camera, so no wires are needed. The software to edit the photos is also included in the camera. You just plug it into the computer after you take some video. Be patient and wait a minute or until the software loads, and you are ready to go. At first, you may think nothing is happening, but the display screen will come up eventually. No batteries are needed because when you plug the USB into your computer, it charges itself. It holds an hour's worth of video, but I've never used that in one setting. The software includes an editing feature AND a movie maker that adds music if you like. The picture quality is pretty good, it balances the light itself and it does a pretty good job in low light. It's very thin and you can carry it anywhere. The sound is satisfactory. This is a GREAT little device and I would recommend it. The only negative I have is that the surface material or plastic that houses the device. Be careful, because the plastic surface can be scratched easily and the 'shine' kind of comes off the surface. I wanted mine to stay 'smooth and pretty', but it got marked up kind of quick. But don't let that stop you from getting this product. You will really like it. Just be careful that you have clean hands when you use it, and watch out where you lay it down. You'll need some basic knowledge of computers, movie files, jpgs, etc. Maybe a moderate understanding of computers. It comes with a fabric case, but there are better ones you can order at additional cost. I liked this product so much, I bought my partner one. They come in black and white. You can also make 'still photos' from the videos. I've included an example below.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rkmemphis
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great little gadget
10/25/2008

Customer review by bk10

5.0 stars 10/25/2008 by bk10
by bk10

great product. have only had it for a couple of weeks but i have used it several times and love the value for the price. the only disadvantage with it that i can think of is that you can only charge it thru the usb on your computer. it would be more convenient to have a wall charger incase it needs to be charged when a computer is not available. otherwise i love it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bk10
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice camera, easy to use, gives me a LISP!
6/25/2009

Customer review by YarbG

4.0 stars 6/25/2009 by YarbG
by YarbG

This camera is GREAT! Its so easy to use with the flip out USB arm and no cd rom disk to install. I love the picture quality and the sound quality. I love EVERYTHING about it....except what I use it for. I use it to sing and record videos on youtube and upload them and whenever pronouncing the letter "s" or "t" it gives me a horrible lisp. People on the internet can be so rude and demeaning so therefore I wasn't happy with the lisp that it gave me and I returned it and got a refund. I wanted it to work so bad I even called Pure Digital which is the manufacturer of Flip products and asked if I could use an external mic and they said no, it doesn't support an external mic so I returned it. I wanted to keep it so bad and tried everything I could, to keep it, but in the end, for what I use it for, it didn't work out. HOWEVER, its an excellent product otherwise and I'd DEFINITELY recommend it to anyone no matter what their age. I'm going to attach a video I sang on youtube (don't mind the singing, it was horrible and off key) but I want you guys to see what I'm saying. Normally when speaking or singing, I don't have a lisp. The only downfall of this product I'd say is that the audio is a little tinny sounding in certain spots...of the house...my house.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YarbG
IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Perfect Cam
6/12/2008

Customer review by LoveTech101

5.0 stars 6/12/2008 by LoveTech101
by LoveTech101

I have the first Flip Video and I became bored with it so I decided to buy the new Flip Mino which is the best it is quick and easy and can work for anyone no fancy pieces just hook it up to the computer and upload your videos its AWESOME buy it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveTech101
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FLIP VIDEO
8/6/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/6/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I PURCHASED A FLIP VIDEO WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT. I LOVE IT. It is very simple to operate, and it's compact and easy to carry. The best feature is that while reviewing your video, at anytime you can pause it and take a snapshot. That gives you a choice of a video or a camera shot. Just plug it in a USB port on your computer and it guides you thru the process. It also turns several videos into a movie and adds music of you choice. I would highly reccomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
STANWOOD, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
expensive and bad audio and controls
8/20/2008

Customer review by goodtrade

3.0 stars 8/20/2008 by goodtrade
by goodtrade

1. The video quality is great. 2. The audio quality if over 4 feet away is non-existant/bad. If it is a noisy environment even if you are close it is bad. You should by a separate mic recorder and dub the video. 3. The controls are clunky...the touch panel is cool but you can accidentally delete videos, stop playback...the fast forward is aweful...it is SLOW and all too often it skips you to the next video so if you have clips larger than say 1 -3 minutes you will be frustrated if you want to look at them on this device.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goodtrade
Reston, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
not that great
9/2/2008

Customer review by m3mmm

3.0 stars 9/2/2008 by m3mmm
by m3mmm

although it was small and easy to use, was not happy with the little bit of zoom capability as well as the clarity when zoomed. Close ups it was fine, clear very easy to use. Would be best for my 12 year old making videos for u-tube rather than filming my kids football games.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
m3mmm
mchenry, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Really steamed.
12/22/2008

Customer review by CreigW

1.0 stars 12/22/2008 by CreigW
by CreigW

I owned this camera for one day. I took it home, excited, turned it on, and took a sample video, and was pretty pleased. I'm positive that I got one in very few faulty flips, but I'm steamed none the less. After a few minutes of recording, the screen wen't black, then the battery sign popped up, the picture saying it was fully charged. And it stayed that was. I tried turning it off, I tried hooking it up to my computer, but to no avail. I waited untill the battery died, and attempted to turn it on, but it wouldn't. I returned it and the tripod i bought with it to the store. I'm still looking for another camcorder. :(

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CreigW
New Lexington, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Small and Slick
8/4/2008

Customer review by KerryOH

5.0 stars 8/4/2008 by KerryOH
by KerryOH

Tiny camera, big value and great results. The product is small enough to carry anywhere and the video quality is better than expected. When I looked to purchase this product, Walmart.com was the only place it was in stock and the price was lower than the MSRP by $25. Ordered on Sunday, Shipped on Monday, Arrived on Tuesday using lowest price shipping (other than in store pick up). Happy customer in N.J.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KerryOH
Northern N.J,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A GREAT BUY
12/6/2008

Customer review by mom2bb

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by mom2bb
by mom2bb

I was skeptical about this product, but after reading good reviews, decided to buy it. It came in the mail today. I opened the box and started recording, put it on my computer, and saved the file in less than 5 minutes. This is soooo easy to use. There is a zoom and it takes great video in low light. I was very nervous about that. It actually takes better video in low light than my $800 JVC digital camera takes. This is amazing. If you are thinking of getting it and wondering if it is cheap because the price is cheap, you won't be disapointed. This is a great product for the money. I am very impressed and so happy that I bought it. The sound is very clear and so is the picture. I read a few reviews that said the picture wasn't that clear but I have to disagree. The picture is just fine. Works great! This is the first review I've ever taken the time to write because it is THAT GREAT.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2bb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great gift
1/5/2009

Customer review by lomag

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by lomag
by lomag

bought this as a gift for the parents of 6 month old twins. very easy to use. they love it.the longer battery life is a good option.small and easy to put in the diaper bag i think they wll use it often.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lomag
northen va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Easy to use!!
1/5/2009

Customer review by bales32

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by bales32
by bales32

this was an awesome purchase. great to keep in the pocket. Only negative is the walmart shipping. Paid for two day shipping and did not receive product until 5 days later.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bales32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great little camera!!!
10/8/2008

Customer review by Bytor

5.0 stars 10/8/2008 by Bytor
by Bytor

Just got the flip about a week ago and I couldent be more happy. Not only is it super easy to use, but the clarity of the video is on par with cameras hundreds of dollars more. Also, no memory to buy! 60 mins of record time built right in. How this could be any more efficient, Im not sure. Really just a great product that fits in your pocket and is very durable. I highly recommend this camera : )

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bytor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
10/14/2008

Customer review by MaHorn

5.0 stars 10/14/2008 by MaHorn
by MaHorn

It is so small and cute. And very easy to use my 3 year old made a short video and we just USB to the computer and it came up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaHorn
Lincoln, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Cool little toy
10/17/2008

Customer review by missbell

5.0 stars 10/17/2008 by missbell
by missbell

Pretty neat to use very very easy. Its nice to be able to put videos on the internet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missbell
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fun
1/6/2009

Customer review by jlaur

5.0 stars 1/6/2009 by jlaur
by jlaur

I have a regular camcorder but this is so easy to use and to carry! The video is better then what I expected, just wish they would come out with one with a stabilizer on it, if that's possible on one so small. I'm having a blast!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlaur
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!
12/10/2008

Customer review by anotherwalmartshopper24

5.0 stars 12/10/2008 by anotherwalmartshopper24
by anotherwalmartshopper24

One of the best purchases I've ever made. You'll find yourself carrying this in your pocket to catch rare moments. Don't buy this if you are camera savvy and fancy yourself a professional wedding videographer. However, if you can't be bothered with lugging equipment around and spending a lot to have said equipment, YOU WILL NOT REGRET BUYING THE FLIP VIDEO. It rocks! So much fun and SO EASY to operate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anotherwalmartshopper24
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews