Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 781 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

781 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

781 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
431
4 stars
247
3 stars
35
2 stars
20
1 stars
48
1-20 of 695 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 695 total reviews
1-20 of 695 reviews
GREAT VACCUME FOR MOMS!!
12/31/2009

Customer review by SuperCleanMomOf2

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by SuperCleanMomOf2
by SuperCleanMomOf2

After seeing consumer reports on the Eureka Boss Smartvac vs. the Dyson, i found that the Eureka was the best buy for the quality of cleaning and the price. It is only 135 compared to 400 or more for the Dyson! Also I looked at the consumer reports on every website I could. I found that very limited amounts of people would not recommend this product. I was very happy with the choice I made. The vaccume performs great! It picks up everything on the floor and makes it look like a new carpet. I have two kids that drop food and crumbs on the floor and it picks it all up! I especially like that I can get the bags for it at the local walmart store and they are not overly expensive to buy. It costs about a dollar a bag. Ii experienced few problems with the vaccume. When assembling the handleon the vaccume it has to be laying flat or you wont get it on correctly.Also to move the handle up and down is a little hard. As you can clearly see the pros of the vaccume greatly outweigh the cons. Overall it is a great vaccume to buy!!

Was this review helpful? (229) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperCleanMomOf2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
really good product
8/4/2007

Customer review by bighousemomma

5.0 stars 8/4/2007 by bighousemomma
by bighousemomma

good price, good work, no messy canister to empty, helps with allergens, works awesome to pick up animal and human hair. very satisfied

Was this review helpful? (101) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bighousemomma
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy clean
7/17/2007

Customer review by TheAntiMartha

5.0 stars 7/17/2007 by TheAntiMartha
by TheAntiMartha

surprised it was easy to handle since I'm so used to canisters. I don't like pushing all a vacuum's weight but this thing is self-propelled. Seems to clean effectively with just a couple of passes. Definitely is a Consumer Reports Best Buy.

Was this review helpful? (85) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheAntiMartha
rural NY state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for People with Pets and Kids
8/4/2007

Customer review by CrazyboutClean

5.0 stars 8/4/2007 by CrazyboutClean
by CrazyboutClean

We love this vacuum! Great bang for the buck. We tried numerous bagless styles and with dogs we found that the bagless just got clogged. This one with the back is as efficient as a bagless and never clogs...it is also much neater to change the bag than empty a bagless canister and clean the filters. Pros: Pretty quiet, is amazing with pet hair (we have 3 dogs), and is really good on bare floors too. The brushes can be turned off which seems to keep the dirt from kicking back out like with most vacuums. Cons: can be a little bit heavy to lug up and down the stairs. Power pedal is a bit hard to push but seems to have gotten easier over time. Otherwise it is great.

Was this review helpful? (84) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyboutClean
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Finally ...
6/30/2010

Customer review by JustLivin

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by JustLivin
by JustLivin

Throughout the years I have had to occasionally buy a vacuum. Always a turkey shoot, never know if 'you get what you pay for' adage is true. I have bought cheap ones, expensive ones; I have gotten the ones Consumer Reports said was the best; I've chose on friends recommendations or best reviews. I each time felt as if I spent too much cash for too little vacuum. Finally I have a vacuum that works very well and did not break the bank! This Eureka has a powerful 'engine' (finally!) - all the attachments that I need -plus a few- that have been placed on the machine in such a way that they are not easily lost (finally). It has options for bare floor, multiple thicknesses of carpet and option to switch suction to just the hand held hose. It is the best vacuum I have stumbled into buying to date! I would recommend this purchase. It is particularly heavy. Since I just tilt and let the rollers do the work it is not an issue for me. GOOD LUCK!!!

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustLivin
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Vacuum !
2/28/2010

Customer review by Lemondrop888

5.0 stars 2/28/2010 by Lemondrop888
by Lemondrop888

The only thing about this Vacuum is that it's a little heavy. You'll definitely get a workout. lol It does a fantastic job at picking up "Animal Fur" !!! I have 4 cats. Over all I am very satisfied with this product. I bought the Hoover Wind Tunnel and was VERY VERY disappointed in it !! :o( Won't pick up the fur and over all just a waste of my hard earned money. So if you want a good quality product, then this is the one bar none!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lemondrop888
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Love this vacuum!!
9/8/2013

Customer review by LeshaRN

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by LeshaRN
by LeshaRN

I've had this vacuum before and loved it so much, I ordered the exact same one. Nothing happened to the first one, it still works perfectly after at least 5 years. I just didn't want to continue to carry it up and down the steps. My basement is a finished family room with carpet as well. So now, I keep one in the basement and one upstairs. I frequently use this vacuum to clean my hardwood floors and to dust as well. Like I said, I love this vacuum so much, I order this one to add to the family. LOL! I am not a fan of bagless vacuums because the dust still flies everywhere when you empty the canister, so how hypoallergenic can that be?? I have not tried Eureka's bagless versions, but I think I will stick with what I know works for me and my household! I have a cat, and a female with long hair in my household, and the vacuum never gets clogged with hair or burn out the belt! Great product. BTW, bagged vacuums seem to be obsolete in the stores, so I had to order this one online.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeshaRN
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT VACUUM - well built but bulky to move
1/10/2013

Customer review by LOTSOFLAUGHS5

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by LOTSOFLAUGHS5
by LOTSOFLAUGHS5

We've had three of this model vacuum in our home for several years now. I really, really like the way they suck up all our large family floor debris that five children generate. The bags are economical (I like the Arm & Hammer version best - smells great) and easy to replace. I have fun running the tube against walls and seeing all the wood floor & carpet "dust bunnies" disappear. If you have dog hair, leaves from yard trees, sand from a play yard, this would do the trick and then some. As some reviews mentioned, this would not be a good choice for a very petite, frail or older person - as it is somewhat bulky to move from room-to-room. (An older person would probably not have a floor dirty enough to require the suction that this vacuum provides. Which is a lot!) I have a hard time taking the SmartVac up and down stairs and I'm in really good shape. It's heavy to the feel but lasts and lasts and lasts and the best vacuum we've ever purchased.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LOTSOFLAUGHS5
MIDWEST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Bad
1/9/2010

Customer review by missmissp

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by missmissp
by missmissp

I was just sitting at home and decided that I needed a new vacuum. I have a bagless upright tat was given to me as a present like 3 years ago but I have the canister and I hate the dust that gets all over the place when you replace the filter. So I surfed the net and read a few reviews on various sites for vacuums with good suction and this one kept coming up. For the price I decided to go out in the cold and purchase it, its late here about 11:30 pm but I just had to try it. I got home and assembled my new vacuum in less than 5 minutes and ran it in my room- OMG! my carpet looks great it looks like when I have it steamed it perks right up and the motor is not too loud and its not too heavy. Major perk is that it seems to have great suction power. I cant wait till morning to vacuum my entire home, per my star ratings I am not able to comment on durability yet but I am sure I would be very happy with my new vacuum. Oh yeah it's $133 on here but in the store it was only $138 + tax. Not bad at all.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missmissp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reserving final judgement but hopefully it's ok
10/30/2013

Customer review by ilsasgrandmother

4.0 stars 10/30/2013 by ilsasgrandmother
by ilsasgrandmother

I have owned a Eureka Boss Smart Vac for several years and just bought a new one for my daughter. Eureka has made several great improvements over my vacuum!! However, I am concerned that after the first day of use, the belt broke. It is not an option to take it to a service center, I would return it before I drove an hour to a service center. After speaking to a supervisor, she insisted that the vacuum needed to be looked at but agreed to send me a new beater bar and two new belts. One thing buyers need to know is that if the vacuum acts like it is self-propelled, then the carpet level is set too low. It is NOT a self-propelled vacuum. So I set the carpet level higher and put on a new belt (which is much easier to do than with my old vacuum). I am trying to be optimistic that this will solve the belt breakage problem. They are sending me a new beater bar because the present beater bar does turn hard. If this solves the belt breakage problem, then I will say that I love this vacuum more than my old one.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilsasgrandmother
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pet fur vacuum
8/10/2007

Customer review by ShoppingGoddess

5.0 stars 8/10/2007 by ShoppingGoddess
by ShoppingGoddess

This is the first vacuum I have had that really picks up pet fur well.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoppingGoddess
Lakeville, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Vacuum Poor tools
1/1/2014

Customer review by bigsink

4.0 stars 1/1/2014 by bigsink
by bigsink

I've owned this vacuum for over a year now so I've found most good and bad aspects. The tools provided are poor. I ended up buying a different (larger, softer) brush. The upholstery brush is just useless, threw that away and used an old one. The vacuum hose length is just stupidly short. I can't even do the stairs from top to bottom (typical 12 stair risers) with this vacuum without having to pack the vacuum up the stairs. Vacuuming floors is what this vacuum does best and at that it does a very good job. Powerful vacuum, 30' cord although 35 (like my old vacuum) would be much better. The foot release could work better and more easily. After using this bagged vacuum I'll never go back to bagless vacuums. I think this unit simply does a much better job than bagless. The vacuum is heavy but easy to maneuver so you can just let the machine do the work. The bag hold plenty, are easy to dispose of and are much cleaner than bagless. I would certainly buy this vacuum again because it really is powerful and does work quite well. Why anyone would pay for a Dyson with inexpensive vacuums like this around that work this well is beyond me.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigsink
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Quiet vacuum
2/26/2010

Customer review by HinWY

4.0 stars 2/26/2010 by HinWY
by HinWY

Good Stuff: The vacuum was very easy to assemble- just attach the handle with 3 screws. The belt and the bag are already installed. It comes with a replacement belt and another bag. It took about 30 minutes to go through the package and put everything together. It runs smooth and much quieter than my old vacuum - surprisingly quiet! It picks up pet hair very well. After I vacuum it actually looks vacuumed - even on very low pile carpet. Cons I can live with: The handle release is pretty stiff - the handle does not release unless you really push on the lever and pull down on the handle. Take care going over throw rugs with this vacuum it will suck up lighter (woven) rugs unless you have someone stand on the ends. The tool slots on the back of the vacuum are sort of cheesy - the tools don't really 'snap' into place so you can't tell if they're in or not. The crevice tool fell out every time I released the handle to vacuum, so I just keep in on the shelf until I need it. Recommendation: I bought this vacuum on the recommendation of my sister (who has pets and kids) and I would recommend this vacuum to others.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HinWY
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dynomo vacuum! (Great Exercise too!)
8/22/2010

Customer review by TiffanyluvsArie

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by TiffanyluvsArie
by TiffanyluvsArie

I read the reviews (good and bad) on this vacuum before purchasing and hoped that it lived up to the negative complaints of too powerful and heavy. I was hoping it would get up the dog hair and give me a workout. Boy did it live up to them. I love this vacuum. It sucked up the hair, dog food, beans and didn't even hesitate. I will admit that it is heavy, but for those of us who don't have time to workout this vacuum makes a great substitute. I have only one warning (not a complaint). The manufacturer apparently realized this thing might be hard to push and gave it the power to pull itself along. For the first time in my life I had to chase my vacuum. I have had vacuums that were supposed to be "self-propelled" and they didn't move like this vacuum does. I loved it. It also doesn't have a problem with uneven floors or differences in height. It was so easy to assemble (just three screws) and is so easy to use. I would reccommend this vacuum to anyone who is not a senior citizen.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiffanyluvsArie
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Bought it again!
10/3/2013

Customer review by tjbtexas

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by tjbtexas
by tjbtexas

I bought a version of this vacuum around 10 years ago and have loved it. I tried others (as I wanted another for our upstairs) but none have compared. As some said, it's a bit heavy, but this updated version has self-propel on carpet that almost allows it to vacuum without me! I love, love, love the suction on this vacuum - it actually leaves the marks in the carpet. So many nowadays are weak and barely get anything up. This vacuum does a fantastic job, plus it has all the tools you need for any task. Also, I vastly prefer a bagged vacuum. In one of my previous purchases I tried to go bagless and it is a messy, pain in the rear task to get that thing thoroughly cleaned out. I guess it's a personal taste thing, but in my opinion, a bagged vacuum is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjbtexas
Murphy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Missing & Broken Parts
6/21/2014

Customer review by Suzuki808

3.0 stars 6/21/2014 by Suzuki808
by Suzuki808

I received my Eureka vacuum 4870 missing the HEPA Filter and the clear plastic hose was cracked. I called Eureka & I have to take it to a Vacuum shop to get replacement parts.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suzuki808
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MY "SECRET WEAPON" IN CLEANING
5/15/2010

Customer review by jillahug

4.0 stars 5/15/2010 by jillahug
by jillahug

I've worn out the last one, ready to get another. I have a residential cleaning business and use this vacuum cleaner in numerous homes as well as my own. It is a little heavy but the weight is why the carpets get so much cleaner. The only 2 cons I have with this machine is the extension hose for the attachments needs to be about 6 inches longer-it is easily pulled apart and duct tape only works so long until it has to be replaced. I have had to replace it more than once over the course of the 3 yrs. I've owned it ( and I don't abuse it or stretch it to its max length) It is design flaw which costs about $25 to 30 to fix. I know several other people who use this vac in their own homes, and they too have complained about the same thing so I know it's not just me or the model I have. The other disadvantage is some models have more flexible power cords- the harder ones make it much more difficult to wind back up, as well as getting tangled and tied up if you're vacuuming larger areas and don't want to keep stopping. I would STRONGLY SUGGEST if you can look at it before you buy it, to check this feature if this could be a concern of yours as well. I have used several different makes and models of vacuum cleaners over the past 15 yrs of being in business and I'll keep using this vacuum till they stop making it. It's my cleaning EDGE- and I'm not spending the big bucks on a Dyson when CR says this outcleans it. Never used a Dyson but I'll take their word for it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jillahug
Saegertown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too Soon To Tell
3/10/2014

Customer review by FSLN88

2.0 stars 3/10/2014 by FSLN88
by FSLN88

It's too soon for me to say whether this Eureka Boss SmartVac Vacuum cleaner was a good purchase. I can say that at purchase delivery was promised for Monday, but the shipment didn't arrive until 8:30pm on Tuesday. I can say that the vacuum's belt shredded after it was used for about 30 minutes. (See included photo.) I can say that Eureka's Customer Service was horrible about helping with the shredded belt.

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FSLN88
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not durable, will break about time warranty expire
9/3/2008

Customer review by pianokendra

1.0 stars 9/3/2008 by pianokendra
by pianokendra

At first I was pleased with my Eureka; it seemed to do a great job vacuuming. However, after about 6 months the roll brush stopped rolling continuously. I did all the trouble shooting the company suggested in the manual and when I called them. After adjusting and changing belt for another 6 months the roll brush quit working whenever it touched the carpet. We discovered that there was a mechanism on the inside that had gone out; however, when I contacted the company they would not cover the repair since I could not find the receipt and they had no record of my registration card. When looking up solutions on-line for my vacuum there were many reviews and blogs from Eureka vacuum owners who had the same problem; my problem was not unique. They also had the same problem trying to work with the company. If you don't mind using a vacuum for a year or so then replacing it or paying for repairs then this is the vacuum for you!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pianokendra
Willowick, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
it is fanastic
7/28/2007

Customer review by susu

5.0 stars 7/28/2007 by susu
by susu

I am amazed how this vaccum picks up compared to my old vaccum. it is a blessing.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
susu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 695 total reviews
1-20 of 695 reviews