Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 62 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
great product
7/27/2009

Customer review by photo54

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by photo54
by photo54

I like this remote for so many different pictures with my camera, D60 Nikon, very good for taking night pictures,with no camera shake.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
photo54
Albertville,Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Nikon Remote
2/26/2010

Customer review by rick13081

5.0 stars 2/26/2010 by rick13081
by rick13081
Walmart associate

I bought this after i got a Nikon D3000, and i wanted to set the camera on a tripod and take really good pics, and this remote, you can be right behind it OR in the picture. Has a range about 10 feet (maybe more). I am VERY happy with this and you will be too!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rick13081
Moundsville, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Walmart associate
Good produce.
8/5/2009

Customer review by MrGC

4.0 stars 8/5/2009 by MrGC
by MrGC

Bought this remote for my Nikon D90. Works as advertised. You can set it to snap pictures immediately or with a 2 second delay. This is great for portraits.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrGC
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Great Product
6/21/2010

Customer review by alfbdfsjf

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by alfbdfsjf
by alfbdfsjf

I love this product. I have a Nikon D5000 and it worked great right out of the box. It is very small so it is really easy to hide when you are in the picture as well as taking the picture. It is so easy to use I let my 3 year old try. I set up the camera and she took probably 100 pictures with in minutes, and there were some really good shots! I wanted family photos but did not want to pay those unreasonable prices, and this product did the trick!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alfbdfsjf
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Much Better than a Camera Timer
9/26/2010

Customer review by Baltimore Will

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by Baltimore Will
by Baltimore Will

My wife loves to take group shots of family, friends, tennis teams, etc. Using the camera's timed release, the shooter has to rush to get in the photo and then everyone has to hold pose for a few seconds. With the ML-L3, especially when set to instant release, we can say "cheese" and shoot immediately. I've gotten smarter about holding the remote so it doesn't show in the photos, but that's a minor quibble. I agree with those who complain about the lack of an instruction sheet. Nikon should have a consistently-named section of its camera user manuals and the brief ML-L3 sheet can give a generic overview and then point to that section in the camera manual. I do have one gripe, but it is not about the remote. I wish I could use it when behind the camera rather than only when in front, which would mean the camera needs another sensor. If that were the case, I'd use this remote even more than I already do.

Baltimore Will
Baltimore, MD USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ML-L3 Remote Control and the D5000
7/16/2011

Customer review by R284100

5.0 stars 7/16/2011 by R284100
by R284100

I had a hard trying to find out how to make the ML-L3 work with my D5000. I could not find my users manual and there were no instructions that came with the remote and there were no reviews I could find specifically for the 5000. So for you D5000 owners, here is how it works: (Hint: Mount the camera on a tripod first) 1. While watching the screen in the back of the camera, press and hold the function button on the left side of the camera. 2 Note the tiny highlighted default setting in the screen. You will want to come back to it to make the shutter release work normally. 3. With your right thumb move the scroll wheel in either direction until you see the tiny icon the resembles the ML-L3. Release the function button.You are set. 4. Check the remote for function. Works best if you are standing in front of the camera. 5. To return to manual shutter release mode, press and hold the function button, move the scroll wheel back to the original setting while watching the tiny highlighted icon as it changes. Release the function button. Once I did this after about 2 hours of trying to figure it out it works great. There is also a 2 second delay ML-L3 icon if you need it.

R284100
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ML Wireless Remote Control
4/1/2011

Customer review by Nikon D90 User

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by Nikon D90 User
by Nikon D90 User

I have a D90 and I purchased this product to use specifically for low shutter speed shots with the camera set up on a tripod. It is an excellent and simple product. I agree with other posters there is no instructions, but really, non are needed. The camera manual, if you take the time to read it, comes with all the instructions for remote shutter release. You have to set the camera up accordingly and that is simple enough. Pull the plastic tab to engage the battery and you are set. I can't be any simpler. Removing the battery is a bit tricky, but again, easy to figure out just by looking at it. I believe the product is well designed for what it does. Has worked well so far and I am happy I have it. If I was to say anything negative, it is a bit over priced for what it is.

Nikon D90 User
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wireless Remote - Mixed emotions
4/27/2012

Customer review by Mitch

3.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Mitch
by Mitch

Well the concept is simple and should work well. Problem I am having is the wireless remote I bought seems to be very unreliable. It doesn't want to fire the camera about half the time. Very annoying when you are in a bad part of town at night or down on a riverfront trying to shoot a quick sequence and get outta dodge. The remote won't fire and your in the dark trying to figure out why. From close examination on my unit it seems to be the flimsy metal contacts inside the housing do not want to stay firm on the battery to ensure proper operation. I have bent the tabs up a couple times and it works better for awhile. I either I got a defective unit ... or this is not up to Nikon's design standards.

Mitch
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Need to change setting on camera to use remote.
9/4/2010

Customer review by Joyce

5.0 stars 9/4/2010 by Joyce
by Joyce

I have a Nikon D40x. Remote didn't work out of the box, and it did not come with an instruction manual. So in reading my camera's instruction guide, I learned that you have to tell the camera that you want to use a remote. It's easy to configure. On back of camera, press menu. Then bring up the custom settings menu (the icon that looks like a pencil). Move down to shooting mode and press ok. Then move down to either delayed remote or quick-response remote, then press ok. When using remote, aim it at the front of camera just below the shutter release button. It's GREAT for tripod use!!! I LOVE IT!!

Joyce
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No instructions
7/10/2008

Customer review by Camerajunky

3.0 stars 7/10/2008 by Camerajunky
by Camerajunky

The website photo and description did not prepare me for the remote. It is like a cheap little plastic toy. I opened the tiny box and THERE WERE NO INSTRUCTIONS whatsoever. I finally found some instructions on the web from someone who went through the same frustration. Having said all that, once I figured out how to use the remote, I was happy with it. The only positive thing about the size of this TINY remote is being able to thread the cover into the camera strap and the remote is with the camera all the time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Camerajunky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisified
1/1/2011

Customer review by Brooklyn

4.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Brooklyn
by Brooklyn

Although getting the battery compartment open was difficult and chipped my nail polish, it took only a moment of concentration. My major problem was that there was no instruction manual. I logged onto here to see if there were any tips and saw that many said to check your manual. I did and saw only directions for how to install the battery. (I have a D3000.) I don't speak fluent "Nikon" so I set about playing with my camera and figured it out in a short minute. For the D3000, you must go to shooting menu (the camera icon), then 'release mode', and choose 'delayed remote.'

Brooklyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great
12/1/2008

Customer review by PickyCali

4.0 stars 12/1/2008 by PickyCali
by PickyCali

I needed a remote for my Nikon D40 and thought I would end up spending a lot but found this remote and the price was within my budget. I also wanted to stay with Nikon. The remote works great and has come in handy. My only complaint is how small it is. It seems like every time I set it down I can't find it! It is the size of my thumb, although this is handy in that you can hold it in your hand and it is not visible, which is probably the reason for the small size anyways. I definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickyCali
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
does what it's suppose to do
8/10/2009

Customer review by PTDave

4.0 stars 8/10/2009 by PTDave
by PTDave

This product does exacly what it says it should do. However there was absolutely no instructions with it, which is why I gave it 4/5 stars. Its not rocket science, but its left up to you to figure out if it come with a battery or not (it does) or that you pull a little plastic tab out of the battery case to get it to work. Having said that, the remote works flawlessly with instant shutter release and with the 2 second delay. It is relatively inexpensive and very compact.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTDave
Schertz, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
So far so good.
1/6/2012

Customer review by BB

4.0 stars 1/6/2012 by BB
by BB

This is a nice little toy. I've read some of the earlier reviews and agree on some points. There should be, at the very least, a little note included in/on the packaging to say that operating instructions are included with your camera manual. (I find it frustrating that many technical products don't include manuals any more.) Alternatively, dealers could be supplying basic operational info sheets. At any rate, I read the manual and the instructions were very clear. The item seems to work as advertised. Can't wait to play with it a bit,

BB
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent addition to my photographic tool kit
12/8/2012

Customer review by Nevada Image Maker

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Nevada Image Maker
by Nevada Image Maker

I use this with my DSLR, D5000 and my Coolpix P7700. In a previous review there was a complicated approach to the D5000. An easier one for me is: 1) Press the "I" button on the back (bottom left), 2) toggle down to "Release mode" (normally set at "S"), press "OK" and 3) toggle down to remote image (last) and press "OK." Once you turn the camera off, it will authomatically return to the "S" release mode. I like to use the remote for most of my hand held shots, to avoid camera shake. Very nice accessory and reasonably priced.

Nevada Image Maker
Henderson, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am very pleased with this product
1/12/2011

Customer review by Will

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by Will
by Will

I recently bought this product, when it came in i opened it and saw its extreamly small size. That I am appreciate of. At first I had no idea how to use it, then I looked at the back and saw the plastic tab, pulled and went on ( thats embarrising ). I still didnt know how to use it because it came with no instructions but I finally got it. I have a D3000 so what you do is click the magnifing glass at the left, go down to realese mode and select either the second to last one or the last one. Then take your shots!!!

Will
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy
10/12/2009

Customer review by Scooterman1

5.0 stars 10/12/2009 by Scooterman1
by Scooterman1

The Remote button works great with the Nikon D90... It makes it a lot more useful than setting the Camera timer each time, and then running to get into position each time, or standing and waiting for the picture to be taken when the timer counts down. With this, just set the camera for remote, and then go pose, and just press the button. It has pretty good range.. Walmarts price is GREAT. Better than BestBuy or a camera store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scooterman1
Tomball, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
nice choice
4/29/2009

Customer review by walmartGirl1337

5.0 stars 4/29/2009 by walmartGirl1337
by walmartGirl1337
Walmart associate

i purchased this product for my nikon d40 digital camera. this remote is amazing. it has an incredible range (so you don't have to be right next to the camera to use it) and is simple to use as an off camera shutter release button. the remote was definately smaller than i was expecting, but it fits nicely in your hand. Overall, i think it is an excellent remote for simple off camera shutter release use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartGirl1337
hesperia, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Walmart associate
So little yet, so powerful!
9/27/2011

Customer review by ThePhotographer

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by ThePhotographer
by ThePhotographer

Just got my remote for my D60 and this is beyond great! Can't wait until night time to give it a shot since that's why I decided to buy it. A quick word of advice, when you get yours, make sure the battery is placed correctly. I spent almost 30 minutes scratching my head on how it was suppose to work, because I pressed the button and follow all the advice and nada, zippo, nothing happened! Then I decided to reverse the battery placement and voila, problem solved.

ThePhotographer
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ML-L3 with Nikon D7000
8/14/2011

Customer review by Malaysia Truly Asia

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Malaysia Truly Asia
by Malaysia Truly Asia

At first, there was some head-scratching. The ML-L3 didn't come with an instruction manual. The instructions are in the Nikon D7000 Manual on page 80! I'll summarise it here (for Nikon D7000): 1) Press "MENU" button on camera body. Select the icon that looks like a camera (ie. "SHOOTING MENU"). 2) Scroll up or down until you find "Remote Control Mode", then press "OK". The default is "2s(seconds) Delayed Remote". I chose "Quick-response remote" meaning if you use the ML-L3, the shutter will fire immediately. There is also a "Remote mirror-up" option for Mr. Fancy Photographer. Once you've decided which option you want, press "OK". I suggest you just select the "Quick-response remote" option and press "OK" coz you want to see immediate results, whether your ML-L3 works or not. Later on you can get fancy. Now, exit from the "MENU". 3) Now go to the "Release-Mode Dial", that knobby dual-dial thing on the top of the camera body that has the letters "S, CL, CH, Q, Timer icon, ML-L3 Remote icon and Mup" options. You have to press the "Release-Mode Dial lock release(!) black button just next to it to turn the "Release-Mode Dial" to the "ML-L3 Remote icon". Phew! So far so good! Stay with me now, buddy! :) Have a sip of water... 4) The Nikon D7000 has 2, yes TWO infra-red receivers! The FRONT receiver is just above the "D7000 logo" , and the REAR receiver is to the right of the "OK" button-wheel-thingamajig. What does this mean? You can be behind or infront of the camera when you use your ML-L3! 5) The ML-L3 is fantastic. I absolutely love it. Regards from Malaysia :)

Malaysia Truly Asia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews