Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 62 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
great product

Customer review by photo54

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by photo54
by photo54

I like this remote for so many different pictures with my camera, D60 Nikon, very good for taking night pictures,with no camera shake.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good produce.

Customer review by MrGC

4.0 stars 8/5/2009 by MrGC
by MrGC

Bought this remote for my Nikon D90. Works as advertised. You can set it to snap pictures immediately or with a 2 second delay. This is great for portraits.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Much Better than a Camera Timer

Customer review by Baltimore Will

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by Baltimore Will
by Baltimore Will

My wife loves to take group shots of family, friends, tennis teams, etc. Using the camera's timed release, the shooter has to rush to get in the photo and then everyone has to hold pose for a few seconds. With the ML-L3, especially when set to instant release, we can say "cheese" and shoot immediately. I've gotten smarter about holding the remote so it doesn't show in the photos, but that's a minor quibble. I agree with those who complain about the lack of an instruction sheet. Nikon should have a consistently-named section of its camera user manuals and the brief ML-L3 sheet can give a generic overview and then point to that section in the camera manual. I do have one gripe, but it is not about the remote. I wish I could use it when behind the camera rather than only when in front, which would mean the camera needs another sensor. If that were the case, I'd use this remote even more than I already do.

Baltimore Will
Baltimore, MD USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon Remote

Customer review by rick13081

5.0 stars 2/26/2010 by rick13081
by rick13081
Walmart associate

I bought this after i got a Nikon D3000, and i wanted to set the camera on a tripod and take really good pics, and this remote, you can be right behind it OR in the picture. Has a range about 10 feet (maybe more). I am VERY happy with this and you will be too!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moundsville, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great Product

Customer review by alfbdfsjf

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by alfbdfsjf
by alfbdfsjf

I love this product. I have a Nikon D5000 and it worked great right out of the box. It is very small so it is really easy to hide when you are in the picture as well as taking the picture. It is so easy to use I let my 3 year old try. I set up the camera and she took probably 100 pictures with in minutes, and there were some really good shots! I wanted family photos but did not want to pay those unreasonable prices, and this product did the trick!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
ML-L3 Remote Control and the D5000

Customer review by R284100

5.0 stars 7/16/2011 by R284100
by R284100

I had a hard trying to find out how to make the ML-L3 work with my D5000. I could not find my users manual and there were no instructions that came with the remote and there were no reviews I could find specifically for the 5000. So for you D5000 owners, here is how it works: (Hint: Mount the camera on a tripod first) 1. While watching the screen in the back of the camera, press and hold the function button on the left side of the camera. 2 Note the tiny highlighted default setting in the screen. You will want to come back to it to make the shutter release work normally. 3. With your right thumb move the scroll wheel in either direction until you see the tiny icon the resembles the ML-L3. Release the function button.You are set. 4. Check the remote for function. Works best if you are standing in front of the camera. 5. To return to manual shutter release mode, press and hold the function button, move the scroll wheel back to the original setting while watching the tiny highlighted icon as it changes. Release the function button. Once I did this after about 2 hours of trying to figure it out it works great. There is also a 2 second delay ML-L3 icon if you need it.

Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ML Wireless Remote Control

Customer review by Nikon D90 User

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by Nikon D90 User
by Nikon D90 User

I have a D90 and I purchased this product to use specifically for low shutter speed shots with the camera set up on a tripod. It is an excellent and simple product. I agree with other posters there is no instructions, but really, non are needed. The camera manual, if you take the time to read it, comes with all the instructions for remote shutter release. You have to set the camera up accordingly and that is simple enough. Pull the plastic tab to engage the battery and you are set. I can't be any simpler. Removing the battery is a bit tricky, but again, easy to figure out just by looking at it. I believe the product is well designed for what it does. Has worked well so far and I am happy I have it. If I was to say anything negative, it is a bit over priced for what it is.

Nikon D90 User
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wireless Remote - Mixed emotions

Customer review by Mitch

3.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Mitch
by Mitch

Well the concept is simple and should work well. Problem I am having is the wireless remote I bought seems to be very unreliable. It doesn't want to fire the camera about half the time. Very annoying when you are in a bad part of town at night or down on a riverfront trying to shoot a quick sequence and get outta dodge. The remote won't fire and your in the dark trying to figure out why. From close examination on my unit it seems to be the flimsy metal contacts inside the housing do not want to stay firm on the battery to ensure proper operation. I have bent the tabs up a couple times and it works better for awhile. I either I got a defective unit ... or this is not up to Nikon's design standards.

Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Need to change setting on camera to use remote.

Customer review by Joyce

5.0 stars 9/4/2010 by Joyce
by Joyce

I have a Nikon D40x. Remote didn't work out of the box, and it did not come with an instruction manual. So in reading my camera's instruction guide, I learned that you have to tell the camera that you want to use a remote. It's easy to configure. On back of camera, press menu. Then bring up the custom settings menu (the icon that looks like a pencil). Move down to shooting mode and press ok. Then move down to either delayed remote or quick-response remote, then press ok. When using remote, aim it at the front of camera just below the shutter release button. It's GREAT for tripod use!!! I LOVE IT!!

Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Brooklyn

4.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Brooklyn
by Brooklyn

Although getting the battery compartment open was difficult and chipped my nail polish, it took only a moment of concentration. My major problem was that there was no instruction manual. I logged onto here to see if there were any tips and saw that many said to check your manual. I did and saw only directions for how to install the battery. (I have a D3000.) I don't speak fluent "Nikon" so I set about playing with my camera and figured it out in a short minute. For the D3000, you must go to shooting menu (the camera icon), then 'release mode', and choose 'delayed remote.'

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ML-L3 remote Nikon

Customer review by Remote expert

3.0 stars 12/3/2015 by Remote expert
by Remote expert

Excellent addition to my camera. Very small, please add something to attach it. Can be lost so easily

Remote expert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good.

Customer review by BB

4.0 stars 1/6/2012 by BB
by BB

This is a nice little toy. I've read some of the earlier reviews and agree on some points. There should be, at the very least, a little note included in/on the packaging to say that operating instructions are included with your camera manual. (I find it frustrating that many technical products don't include manuals any more.) Alternatively, dealers could be supplying basic operational info sheets. At any rate, I read the manual and the instructions were very clear. The item seems to work as advertised. Can't wait to play with it a bit,

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent addition to my photographic tool kit

Customer review by Nevada Image Maker

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Nevada Image Maker
by Nevada Image Maker

I use this with my DSLR, D5000 and my Coolpix P7700. In a previous review there was a complicated approach to the D5000. An easier one for me is: 1) Press the "I" button on the back (bottom left), 2) toggle down to "Release mode" (normally set at "S"), press "OK" and 3) toggle down to remote image (last) and press "OK." Once you turn the camera off, it will authomatically return to the "S" release mode. I like to use the remote for most of my hand held shots, to avoid camera shake. Very nice accessory and reasonably priced.

Nevada Image Maker
Henderson, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am very pleased with this product

Customer review by Will

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by Will
by Will

I recently bought this product, when it came in i opened it and saw its extreamly small size. That I am appreciate of. At first I had no idea how to use it, then I looked at the back and saw the plastic tab, pulled and went on ( thats embarrising ). I still didnt know how to use it because it came with no instructions but I finally got it. I have a D3000 so what you do is click the magnifing glass at the left, go down to realese mode and select either the second to last one or the last one. Then take your shots!!!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So little yet, so powerful!

Customer review by ThePhotographer

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by ThePhotographer
by ThePhotographer

Just got my remote for my D60 and this is beyond great! Can't wait until night time to give it a shot since that's why I decided to buy it. A quick word of advice, when you get yours, make sure the battery is placed correctly. I spent almost 30 minutes scratching my head on how it was suppose to work, because I pressed the button and follow all the advice and nada, zippo, nothing happened! Then I decided to reverse the battery placement and voila, problem solved.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ML-L3 with Nikon D7000

Customer review by Malaysia Truly Asia

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Malaysia Truly Asia
by Malaysia Truly Asia

At first, there was some head-scratching. The ML-L3 didn't come with an instruction manual. The instructions are in the Nikon D7000 Manual on page 80! I'll summarise it here (for Nikon D7000): 1) Press "MENU" button on camera body. Select the icon that looks like a camera (ie. "SHOOTING MENU"). 2) Scroll up or down until you find "Remote Control Mode", then press "OK". The default is "2s(seconds) Delayed Remote". I chose "Quick-response remote" meaning if you use the ML-L3, the shutter will fire immediately. There is also a "Remote mirror-up" option for Mr. Fancy Photographer. Once you've decided which option you want, press "OK". I suggest you just select the "Quick-response remote" option and press "OK" coz you want to see immediate results, whether your ML-L3 works or not. Later on you can get fancy. Now, exit from the "MENU". 3) Now go to the "Release-Mode Dial", that knobby dual-dial thing on the top of the camera body that has the letters "S, CL, CH, Q, Timer icon, ML-L3 Remote icon and Mup" options. You have to press the "Release-Mode Dial lock release(!) black button just next to it to turn the "Release-Mode Dial" to the "ML-L3 Remote icon". Phew! So far so good! Stay with me now, buddy! :) Have a sip of water... 4) The Nikon D7000 has 2, yes TWO infra-red receivers! The FRONT receiver is just above the "D7000 logo" , and the REAR receiver is to the right of the "OK" button-wheel-thingamajig. What does this mean? You can be behind or infront of the camera when you use your ML-L3! 5) The ML-L3 is fantastic. I absolutely love it. Regards from Malaysia :)

Malaysia Truly Asia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth buying.

Customer review by Ron

1.0 stars 8/5/2010 by Ron
by Ron

This product is somewhat junkie in my opinion, for a Nikon product. There was no information sheet included. It would be nice to know the operational range and angle, and information on the battery. I tried it on my D90, and it didn't work. I assumed it came without batteries. Opening the battery compartment will result in broken fingernails. The MC-30 works fine on my D200-the way to go.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Wish it activated video shutter

Customer review by Yeeha!Photo

4.0 stars 9/11/2011 by Yeeha!Photo
by Yeeha!Photo

Works Can be finicky to find the >eye< on the camera at times. Especially with a long lens, it seems to block the view from one side. Basically for macro work it depends on what your doing as to whether you should get this or the MC-DC2 wired remote. When I shoot hummingbirds I need to be farther from the camera. If your looking for close ups that you can be by the camera, go wired.

San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by MYLO

4.0 stars 8/30/2010 by MYLO

Before I purchased this ML-L3, I read my manual if it's compatible with my D60. When I got my ML-L3, the first thing I did was to read my D60 manual. I had to go to the Quick Setting Display, then to the Release Mode and then choose the icon wireless. After that, I've been shooting pics with no problem. I gave 4 stars only coz ML-L3 has no manual/instruction included.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent remote at a great price point

Customer review by Len from the Hudson Valley

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Len from the Hudson Valley
by Len from the Hudson Valley

I originally purchased this remote for my D3s, but unfortunately it is not compatible. On the flip side it is compatible with my D7000 and it works great. It you're a hobbyist with a compatible camera body this is a must piece of equipment. NIKON: Make a software change to allow the use of this remote to be adaptable with the higher end models.

Len from the Hudson Valley
Chester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews