Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 248 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

248 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
166
4 stars
58
3 stars
15
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 242 total reviews
Nikon Lens Review
4/21/2009

Customer review by ALGERMANY

5.0 stars by ALGERMANY

I ordered this lens to meet my telephoto needs on my Nikon D80 and D60 cameras. I have been very impressed with the lens as I have with all Nikon products that I have used for over 30 years. It handles beautifully, is of most solid quality construction, and most importanly, takes great photos. It is a little heavy and expensive, but I feel that it is well worth it. I have received many comments from others on it.

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ALGERMANY
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quality Lens
7/10/2010

Customer review by nospinguy

5.0 stars by nospinguy

I'm a 68 year old man who was introduced to photography when my wife bought me a Nikon D5000 with a 18-55mm kit lens last Christmas. I did not have any experience with DSLR cameras, so this review will be strictly for folks like me. The Nikon 70-300mm VR II lens is a quality-built lens. It does not look or feel cheap. It has a metal mount and a rubber ring. I found the focus to be fast & accurate throughout the full range of the lens. The Bokeh is very good & pleasing. The images are very sharp with a very slight drop off past 200mm - not enough to knock the lens. Vibration Reduction II is excellent. It has 2 modes - Normal & Active which can be activated by a switch on the side of the lens. The color of the exposures are very good. The lens weighs 26.3 oz - a little on the heavy side. I have used this lens for portraits & nature shots. I was very pleased with my photos. One photo of a dragonfly clearly showed the wing structure. I am happy with my purchase. I would recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nospinguy
Hernando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good telescopic lense
12/8/2009

Customer review by TooManyCars

5.0 stars by TooManyCars

I bought this lens with the D90 package. I've used it a few time playing around with it and have been impressed with the results. Got some good, clear pictures of the moon and some of aircraft that were in the landing pattern. Looking forward to using it more. Definitely splurge and get the 70-300 versus the common 70-200 which is not a VR lens.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TooManyCars
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
an excellant telephoto zoom lens
5/2/2010

Customer review by photographybug

5.0 stars by photographybug

Just purchased the lens and love it. This telephoto zoom lens brings the subject up close for excellent photo opportunities, it provides a fast autofocus and great vibration reduction to prevent blurring of photos.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
photographybug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brings Pro-Level Performance to Consumer Telephoto
2/21/2011

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars by PTNDSLR

I'm loving this lens, I really am. For $500 range, this lens is on par with the Nikon professional line of lenses, sans the wallet breaking prices. Yes, you are getting a plastic body (albeit high-quality) instead of a metal body, and it's a variable aperture instead of a constant one. But really, the differences end there. The lens is incredibly sharp from 70 up to about 200, where it tapers off some. Also, it has a curved 9 bladed aperture design which gives a pleasing looking bokeh. By comparison, the 17-55mm 2.8 gold ring lens has 7 curved aperture blades. Not necessarily the fairest comparison, but just wanted to note some of things you get for what you pay. Like all telephoto lenses, the 70-300 is sizeable at 745g (1.6lbs roughly), and with the attached lens hood, it's hard to escape attention. I've gotten many "now THAT'S a lens!" comments while using it. I guess all my other lenses must not be real or something. However, I use this on a D80 with a battery grip which really helps balance the lens out and makes it far more comfortable to hold. Generally the weight of the lens is rested on my left hand under the barrel which makes it feel far lighter, but the weight still adds on my neck, especially if I use it with my sb600. Getting an aftermarket soft material neck strap has really helped out a lot, and gets me away from the large Nikon "steal-me" strap lettering. The real meat and potatoes of this gem of a lens is the second generation VR technology which is rated for a full 4 stops of shaky, wobbly hand stoppage rather the 3 stops offered on the 70-200 VR. This has been tested by many independent reviewers and proven to be true. If the opinion of one non-professional reviewer can be added to that, I'm here to say I wholeheartedly agree with them. I've gotten shutter speeds down to 1/10th hand held and still come out with relatively decent shots. While this won't help you too much with sports shots, since you should be using a relatively fast shutter speed anyway, most other shots will benefit from it. So uses? I've found this lens to be great for outdoor sports shots, daylight candid and some nature shots. It's also makes an excellent portrait lens under studio lights in the 70-105 range. Due to the slower aperture, it isn't terribly useful for indoor sport shots. The 70-200 2.8 would serve you better. Shots of the moon are also fun to take, but you'll need to do some sharpening in post if you take the shot at 300 where the lens is a bit soft, and will need to stop down a bit to correct that. Vignetting as expected is non-existent, but there is some CAs on the far telephoto end. These are correctable in Photoshop however. All in all, you get second generation VR, 9 bladed aperture for pleasing bokeh, sharp optics, and relatively good build construction on par with the gold ring 12-24 f/4 (a professional lens with a plastic body), and being a non DX lens (doesn't have a reduced image circle) so you get to take advantage of the sweet spot. Drawbacks' being it is heavy, variable aperture, soft 200+ and does suffer from CAs at the far end. However, it is definitely a lens I will have for many years to come, and one I can confidently recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 25 contributor
Excellent Nikon Len
12/28/2009

Customer review by SweetHomeBob

5.0 stars by SweetHomeBob

This len is excellent in terms of its quality and price. It captures the details of the subject in the photo even shooting from a long distance. I love this len and would recommend this len to you.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SweetHomeBob
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Lens!!!
8/24/2010

Customer review by CampySD

5.0 stars by CampySD

I bought this lens to go with my Nikon D5000 and immediately took it on a 10 day hiking/camping/road trip. The Nikon 70-300mm lens worked awesome!! Just as an example, at one point during the trip a group of people were trying to figure out what was playing in the water way off in the distance while I was taking pictures of waves. A guy asked me if I could look and see what it was playing in the water. I just looked through the lens and could see two dolphins and a seal. They could not believe I could see that far to tell what it was. Not to mention I got some good photos of them.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CampySD
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OUTSTANDING LENS
3/5/2010

Customer review by POPS15

5.0 stars by POPS15

IT'S SHARP AND ACCURATE. WITH THE D90 BODY AND ITS' SPORT MODE, IT HAS PRODUCED EXCELLENT SPORTS AND WILDLIFE PHOTOS FOR ME. FOCUSES FAST AND PRECISELY. I'VE TAKEN SHOTS FROM ONE END OF A FOOTBALL FIELD TO THE OTHER WITH GREAT RESULTS. A LITTLE MORE EXPENSIVE THAN THE KIT LENS BUT WELL WORTH THE EXTRA DOLLARS.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
POPS15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It fills a big Niche for me
2/24/2010

Customer review by Harvey1951

5.0 stars by Harvey1951

I got the lens as part of a combo. As a standalone lens it would create a lot of problems. It's really designed for taking pictures outside. There it excels With the camera it was bundled with you effectively get a 105mm to 450mm zoom. Very happy with the combo.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Harvey1951
Clayton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Lens
7/16/2010

Customer review by shopr97

5.0 stars by shopr97

Great lens. Easy to use and picture quality is very good. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shopr97
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
love it
3/2/2012

Customer review by clh44

5.0 stars by clh44

They should probably require someone to know what they are doing before they write a review of this product. I'm a novice and this lens was replacing one that was stolen. I was very excited to try it out when we got it but I need some training to make it work best. It didn't look so good at an indoor basketball game but tried at baseball and zoomed very close.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
clh44
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Better than I thought
5/20/2010

Customer review by TAGNET

5.0 stars by TAGNET

Great lens, the VR works, great optics. Love this lens for school plays, baseball, basketball, etc. with kids.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TAGNET
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I LOVE IT
3/8/2011

Customer review by WarEagleMom22

5.0 stars by WarEagleMom22

The lens is everything I wanted!!! I love it, I have been outside taking pictures of everything. Now at my daughters softball games I can stay in my chair and get the close up shots I want!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WarEagleMom22
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
price was alittle high,
12/18/2011

Customer review by coburgman

5.0 stars by coburgman

price was up there buy you get what you pay for.zoom was great up alittle heavy, makes it heavy to pack around.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
coburgman
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice zoom lens
3/22/2011

Customer review by NJPics

4.0 stars by NJPics

I enjoy this lens but I don't use it as much as I thought I would. It does the job fairly well though. It is heavy so use a good tripod. I did buy a B&W UV filter for it and I feel it helps despite the arguments out there. I'm not sure it was worth the money for my personal use but it is good quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NJPics
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great lense, ovepriced.
6/30/2010

Customer review by MFKinTX

5.0 stars by MFKinTX

As is the case with most Nikon products, the item is great, but overpriced. I'm able to take stunning pictures with this lens and highly recommend it. VR works very well, though sometimes it moves the picture off-center. Also, make sure you buy the NC filter to protect your investment, as the lens can easily become dirty and the coating really grabs on to dirt.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MFKinTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Lens
3/8/2010

Customer review by DisplacedYankee

5.0 stars by DisplacedYankee

This lens is worth every penny! You will not be sorry you invested in this piece of equipment. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DisplacedYankee
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/26/2010

Customer review by jmarkham

5.0 stars by jmarkham

I really love my lens. It takes awesome pictures.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jmarkham
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use
12/9/2013

Customer review by Knsa

5.0 stars by Knsa

Great product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Knsa
Checotah, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Zoom
2/14/2010

Customer review by ADLER

5.0 stars by ADLER

I'm you're interested in a nice lense for the right amount of money? This is the one. The zoom is a must have if you take long distance photos.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ADLER
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 242 total reviews