Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

51 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

51 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

31%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
24
1-20 of 50 total reviews
31%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
horrible tv
9/9/2008

Customer review by mbh123

1.0 stars 9/9/2008 by mbh123
by mbh123

i bought this tv 3/28/08 in store shortly after buying this tv the dvd player stopped working though i waited till july 3rd to contact polaroid about it. they ended up sending me a dvd player after 5 weeks of waiting ( i was told it was on back order ) a few days after the first call i made with them i noticed red lines across the screen i contacted them about it and the lady knew exactly what was wrong few days later order was cancelled i was told i needed pics at first towards the end of the conversation i was told i no longer needed them and that i would have a part shipped to me. two weeks latter i called them back and asked them where it was come to find out it was never sent. i ended up having to send my tv back ( at my own cost ) and ended up with a tv almost two weeks after that, that had a defective tag on it and the housing on it was cracked and the sound was messed up so please by this information do not purchase any polaroid tv. ( the pics are pics of the red lines )

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mbh123
dallas, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RUN!!!
1/10/2009

Customer review by 2Doug

1.0 stars 1/10/2009 by 2Doug
by 2Doug

DO NOT buy this model or brand. This compny has major problems with it's TV's, and the TV/DVD combo is the worst. The DVD unit in this TV will fail within the first year - guaranteed. It overheats. Poloroid sent me several replacement DVD units within the first year and they all failed after only a few months of regular use. Other common problems are failure of the control box (no picture), and the gasket material inside the front glass pulling loose and buldging into the viewable screen area (see picture). If the latter two problems occur within the one year warranty period (probable) it will cost you nearly $200 to ship the TV back to Polaroid and they will eventually send you back a used or rebuilt one that someone else already returned. Any extended warranty you bought in store will not extend to the used replacement. Polaroid will not refund money, no matter how severe the defect. Go with another brand, even if you have to pay a little bit more. You'll be sorry if you don't.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Doug
Springfield, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price!!
10/6/2008

Customer review by texasfight22

5.0 stars 10/6/2008 by texasfight22
by texasfight22

This was and still is a great tv. I bought it a year ago and it has worked excellent for me. The only problem I have had was with the built in dvd player. The player stopped working properly after a couple of months of my purchase, so but I contacted Polaroild and they sent me a replacement component that has wored great. Polaroid had excellent customer service and was quick about getting me the part. OVERALL I am very happy with the tv and think the picture looks better than the vizio my roommate has down the hall!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
texasfight22
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DON'T COME ANY CLOSER
12/25/2008

Customer review by Reporting

1.0 stars 12/25/2008 by Reporting
by Reporting

Bought this TV Xmas 2007 & have had nothing but trouble. DVD got stuck in machine, makes noise the entire while TV is on, so much so, that you can not hear the program you are trying to watch. Took me several months before I got a hold of a real live person to fix the problem. I then had to mail TV to California for repairs, which costs over $100. The TV came back in sufficient time but when I turned it on-STILL HAD THE NOISE! Called Polaroid & they agreed to pay for shipping both there & back to try to fix again. So now I am out a TV once again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reporting
Would recommend to a friend? No
Do NOT connect a VGA cord
1/20/2009

Customer review by DPiddy

1.0 stars 1/20/2009 by DPiddy
by DPiddy

I had this TV for 14 months, 6 of which I was not using the TV because I was deployed to Japan. When I came back, I plugged my new laptop into the VGA slot on the TV and after the "Retrieving Data" prompt appeared for a few minutes, my TV just shut off. The red standby light is on, but the TV will not actually turn on. After researching the problem online I found that I was not the only person this happened to. It will cost hundreds to get fixed now! Also, throughout the time I owned the TV certain "inconvenient" problems had occurred: TV not recognizing devices plugged in, Built-In DVD player ejecting discs mid way through movie, would not auto switch to optimum resolution setting when playing video games. To sum this all up...DO NOT buy a POLAROID TV...there is a reason is has a 3 star overall rating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DPiddy
Havelock, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not worth it
5/14/2008

Customer review by ann1895

1.0 stars 5/14/2008 by ann1895
by ann1895

this tv has a not so great picture, also the volume went after one and half year. also they dont tell you that if you dont register your tv as soon as you get it the warrenty is no good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ann1895
jacksonville,fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hard to rate...
1/21/2009

Customer review by mniedi

1.0 stars 1/21/2009 by mniedi
by mniedi

...because after around 18 months the TV didn't turn on anymore. Neither via Remote Control (batteries are good) nor via the turn on/off button at the TV directly. The little red light is on, but nothing happens. Tried everything and I'm waiting for finding an info if it's worth to repair. The TV is good as long as it works, good picture and sound. It also has all needed in- and outputs, but as soon as it's not turning on anymore after this short period we possessed it, it can't get a good rating ;-(. Although it was an inexpensive TV last year for all the features (Built-In DVD with Walmart edition), it's nothing I can recommend for almost 660 bucks if it breaks after 1.5 years (average 3 - 5 hours a day). I guess it's worth to look for another "brand" after reading all the reviews.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mniedi
Greenwood, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV and for a great price
12/12/2008

Customer review by johnathan

5.0 stars 12/12/2008 by johnathan
by johnathan

I have had this TV for a 2 years now and I have to say I made a great choice. This TV has given me more than I ask. Built in DVD player so that I don't have to have wires laying around. Also I have HD cable with time warner and it looks great I have the 19'' Polaroid in my Kitchen and now just ordered the 46'' Polaroid for the living room. The only thing I would say is that about 4 month after purchasing the TV the DVD player started to act up so I called Polaroid and the sent me one. very quickly got it in 3 days. and very easy to put in 2 screws and it slides out. you don't have to wait for a technician or send the whole thing back. So if you plan on buying this TV take my advise and get it. You wont be disappointed. Oh yeah if you have a Play Station 3 the picture is amazing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnathan
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for, usually.
11/26/2008

Customer review by LickitySplitttt

3.0 stars 11/26/2008 by LickitySplitttt
by LickitySplitttt

I purchased the product approx one yr ago. As most of you, from what I read in your reviews, I also had problems with the DVD player within a couple of months. My customer service experience with Polaroid was a good one. They also sent my replacement immediately & within a few short days the DVD had arrived. Two screws. Remove & replace. Very simple. I'd prefer this kind of customer service over sending it in, " AnyTime " !! I don't sleep much, so take my word for it, I keep it on almost constantly when I'm home. This Polaroid was worth what I paid for it. I'm even thinking of purchasing another one exactly like this one for the bedroom. It's a little cheaper now as well. I like the Built in DVD player on my tv. One less Accessory & less WIRES !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LickitySplitttt
Claremore, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for the money
9/1/2008

Customer review by LingLingChuckaPingPing

4.0 stars 9/1/2008 by LingLingChuckaPingPing
by LingLingChuckaPingPing

I only had about $700 to spend on a television and I had a choice between the Vizio and the Polaroid and I decided to go with the Polaroid because it had a bonus DVD player with it. I get some HD channels that come in perfect and when I watch movies its kinda far away so the picture looks clear and good too me. The only cruddy thing is, the DVD player went out after about 4 months and it was because I would leave the movies running all night. I called customer service and they replaced it no questions asked because it was under warranty. Installed the new DVD player and it works completely fine now. I have a surround sound system hooked up to the TV and don't use the normal speakers much but over all its good. I am happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LingLingChuckaPingPing
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Recommendations
12/31/2008

Customer review by Lady2008

5.0 stars 12/31/2008 by Lady2008
by Lady2008

I purchased this TV on 07/28/08 and I have loved it until my picture went out on 12/30/08. I had a 1 year warranty so I returned it to Wal-Mart of course for a full refund. They were very accomodating and helpful and of course I received my refund for this return. I hated this happened because I really enjoyed the TV. The CD player was great .... the sound was good and until yesterday the picture was very good and clear. I could not recommend this TV to anyone because of the short life span I had with it....I would have to say if you buy this TV, you probably would need to purchase an extended warranty on it. Wal-Mart treated me very well but of course my TV went out before the 1 year warranty had expired. I was lucky.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lady2008
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not worth the money
2/10/2009

Customer review by nyyankeefan08

1.0 stars 2/10/2009 by nyyankeefan08
by nyyankeefan08

i bought this tv back in aug 2007 yesterday i went to turn it on and all i got was a power light. i contacted polaroid and they said to fix it it would be 225.00 with a 90 day warranty if a tech put it in and no warranty if you do it your self. first the dvd part went out in the begining but we just used a regular dvd player now the tv dont work at all. the tv gets really hot so the part burns up and you keep having to replace it. take it from me you do not want the headache. now we are out the money and have to purchase a new tv... we were also using it as our computer monitor and now we dont have one because our tv went out.it has been a real hassel.... so dont buy it, you'll be greatly dissappointed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nyyankeefan08
hammond indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returned
1/20/2009

Customer review by ChristineT

1.0 stars 1/20/2009 by ChristineT
by ChristineT

The picture quality on my 19" Sony is way better than this TV. My niece kept asking why the colors were so messed up while she was watching Nemo. If you try to view a bright picture all the colors seem to saturate together. While watching a show with a scene on a bright and colorful beach, the people looked orange and the blue ocean looked white and gray. It was terrible! We tried to adjust the color and contrast, but this just made it worse. The sound was bad too. Every so often there would be static and it's not very loud. It seemed to work better after we hooked it up to our stereo, but still very poor. Definitely not what I would expect from Polaroid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChristineT
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed!!!!!!
12/11/2008

Customer review by Williams12808

2.0 stars 12/11/2008 by Williams12808
by Williams12808

We had our 37" Polaroid HDTV for almost two years! I absolutely loved it until it started not turning on randomly one day!! The only way to turn the tv on was to unplug it and plug it back in about three to four times every time! I loved everything about the tv! I look at the reviews from people who basically just bought their tvs a couple months ago and i know that I felt the same way! But my tv is done! It finally just stopped turning on all together! I spent way to much money for it to just decide to stop working! Good luck to everyone else who just bought their tvs!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Williams12808
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't buy without warrenty
1/26/2009

Customer review by iknowit

2.0 stars 1/26/2009 by iknowit
by iknowit

Owned for 2 years. After 1st year the DVD player stopped functioning. After the next 6months TV stopped working alltogether. Polaroid changed the Model number from TDC to TDX and added a new dvd player because they had so many issues. Thankfully I have the extended warrenty which is a must for any LCD/ Plasma in my opinion. I don't know if the new models are having the same problems but the built in dvd thing, though a cool idea, seems a bit away yet. It just gets way too hot being inside the TV. Not to mention it is not an unpconverter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iknowit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the bedroom
7/3/2008

Customer review by Klein

5.0 stars 7/3/2008 by Klein
by Klein

I was looking to get a nice modest flat screen to replace my old tube big screen and bought this. It has a built in DVD player which eliminates the need for a separate one. It has an SD card slot so you can plug in and watch your pictures and movies from your camera. It has great picture quality and decent sound. It has 1 second warmup time only. And it has a large abundance of inputs and easy to use remote to control them all. I would recommend this TV to anyone, especially for the bedroom, office, bathroom, kitchen, or garage.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Klein
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't bother
2/10/2009

Customer review by bud8949

2.0 stars 2/10/2009 by bud8949
by bud8949

After owning this TV/DVD combo for 18 months, it is clear that I made the wrong choice. The picture is good, but the sound is only passable and the DVD feature is horrible. I have already had to send in for a new DVD component because the original stopped working, and now the replacement is beginning to go as well after even less time (and won't be covered by the warranty). For the price, I would expect to receive an item that works. Skip this one and find a set from a manufacturer that knows what they're doing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bud8949
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy!
1/20/2009

Customer review by tlwidener

1.0 stars 1/20/2009 by tlwidener
by tlwidener

Bought the TDA-03211C around march 2007. DvD player went out twice as soon as we bought it. It took them along time to send the parts and someone to fix it. It took like 3 months. Now a couple of years after the one of the two lights in the back of the screen went out. Now the tv is completly broke. They said because the warrenty was out it will cost half of what a new tv would cost to fix it. We will never buy this brand again. Do not recommend buying this tv. To much problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlwidener
Brandon,MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Audio went out
10/23/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 10/23/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have a 2 year old Polaroid 32" HDTV that I purchased at Wal Mart. At the time I questioned buying a Polaroid TV wondering what their experiece with TV's was. Now in less than two years the sound went out. Fortunately I had purchased the 2 year extended service plan. The shop is having troube getting a new board which it needs and indicates that the service providor may not be able to repair the set and may instead refund my money paid for the set. Buy a SONY. I will next time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Buffalo NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware
1/13/2009

Customer review by srobin

1.0 stars 1/13/2009 by srobin
by srobin

since 8/28/08 i have had to return one of these tv's and right now i am trying to have the one i currently have fixed by the company. Make sure you keep your receipt because if you don't have it you will not have a warrently for your tv through polaroid. when i asked them to fix my tv they informed me that i need to mail it to them paying the shipping cost in order to get my tv fixed. so buyers beware this is not the best brand to purchase and their customer service is lacking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srobin
lynchburg va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews