Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-20 of 20 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

SPREAD THE WORD
9/22/2008

Customer review by DocPaul

5.0 stars 9/22/2008 by DocPaul
by DocPaul

Im what most would consider an audio/video expert having been in the audio/entertainment business most of my youth. A few years ago I purchased a 32" Polaroid at a price that what would still be considered a great deal even today and was frankly shocked at the picture quality, the stunning colors and the deep black levels. I had a large library of downloaded and compressed movies that looked as one might expect having been compressed and reformatted on my prior TV. To my amazement, these very same movies played from my computer hard drive looked as good as the original DVD's - even as good as today's blue ray movies. I remember watching with a friend, dumfounded. I just acquired a top of the line Panasonic 52" plasma a few weeks ago and decided to upgrade the 32 Polaroid to another Polaroid, the 40" model which is still, amazingly about half the price of other similar size LCD's on the market and once again I was pleasantly dumfounded - and not just by the amazing picture which is disturbingly better than my much more expensive Panasonic but also easier to use. No matter what I plug into the polaroid the picture magically gets reconfigured to exactly the right size with what seem to be the absolute best settings. I've played with my friends new 47" Sony, my new Panasonic and Pioneer Elite at another friends recently and they all have required extensive tinkering and trial and error to get a result that at best, still falls short of my Polaroids. I can't help but ask WHY does these products get so little attention? I am a very picky buyer with a very critical eye and am, dare I use the word yet again - DUMBFOUNDED - as to why I never see a word about these wonderful LCD televisions. My only disappointment is that my largest Flat Screen in the Family Theater room is NOT as good as my Polaroid at nearly 3 times the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocPaul
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
will not Last long
7/9/2010

Customer review by polaroidsjunk

1.0 stars 7/9/2010 by polaroidsjunk
by polaroidsjunk

control box went out after 3yrs... 750.00$ for a new control box...do not buy POLAROID!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
polaroidsjunk
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Polaroid 40" LCD
10/8/2008

Customer review by CrowFSE

5.0 stars 10/8/2008 by CrowFSE
by CrowFSE

Purchased this LCD TV over a year ago, hadn't heard of Polaroid TV before, but it was on a close out and figured it was worth a try. Outstanding buy for the money a year ago and still priced hundreds lower than most of comparable size and features. This LCD is a daily use and it is simple enough for my 3 yr old to turn on to watch DVD's. Disapointed that there is no PIP function, but for the money it was a great buy, and will look for Polaroid again when I look for a larger TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrowFSE
Crystal lake, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
8/9/2008

Customer review by PThrifty

5.0 stars 8/9/2008 by PThrifty
by PThrifty

I purchased this TV over a year ago as a temporary stand in until I could find a better more quality television to hang above my fireplace. To my surprize this LCD TV performed like a model that cost $1000 more. I currently have an Xbox 360, Playstation 3, and my computer connected to this tevelision and everything looks great. I have a Sharp aquas in my master bedroom and besides the black level being a little less in this television it is one of the better deals available out there. Most places and stores market this as a 720p but this television does display in 1080p because it tells you on the screen what its current display performance is. I do not use the speakers since I have a great surround system but everything else I have tried works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PThrifty
Omaha, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Purchase
10/22/2008

Customer review by cbovino

5.0 stars 10/22/2008 by cbovino
by cbovino

This is the first LCD TV i purchased. Had it for about 2+ weeks. So far I have no complaints. Didn't get HD service till a week or so after I bought the TV and until then the picture was great even with standard definition. Now that i have the HD service it is just unbelievable. The picture quality is so much better than it looked in the store. Very impressed with this TV. No problems with this TV at all and I would recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cbovino
Johnstown Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/20/2008

Customer review by lady2serve

5.0 stars 10/20/2008 by lady2serve
by lady2serve

This is our second large screen Polaroid TV and the picture quality on both are excellent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lady2serve
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Go for it!
10/29/2008

Customer review by gotitonsale

5.0 stars 10/29/2008 by gotitonsale
by gotitonsale

We waited until it went below $650 and are totally amazed by this t.v. We went to both Circuit City, Best Buy and Cons and nobody came close to this deal. We've had it for several weeks now and hooked up our home theater speakers/dvd system and are extremely happy. We read the reviews first, and also bought the extended warranty. The picture is so clear that we notice details we couldn't before. For example, the clarity of football games is so brilliant that you freel like you are at the stadium. The grass on the field looks so real! We mostly watch movies/dvds, so we don't have cable, but we do get more channels now since there are several extra digital channels, enhancing even the existing local stations. Get the t.v.!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gotitonsale
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Deal for the buck!!!
10/30/2008

Customer review by romaniac16

5.0 stars 10/30/2008 by romaniac16
by romaniac16

While not as high tec in technology as samsung sony and some of the other leading brand names this TV delivers and amazing picture quality for the price on it!!! A sound system, however, I do reccomend!!! If your on the line of a yes or no I would deffinitly say GO FOR IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
romaniac16
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Satisfied
9/18/2008

Customer review by aycheney

5.0 stars 9/18/2008 by aycheney
by aycheney

We love this TV. The price was great compared to other names. In my opinion the pix quality is just as great as the higher priced televisions. We use this tv in our family room. It is not on a wall mount, we have it on a tv stand and it has been very entertaining to for our family.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aycheney
Talbotton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good buy
9/21/2008

Customer review by Medi

5.0 stars 9/21/2008 by Medi
by Medi

I have this TV for about 11 months and I am really happy with it. No problem so far. The picture quality is good. The only thing I saw is the price drop which is kind of normal I guess in electronics.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Medi
Farmington, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for Price
9/28/2008

Customer review by Marina1

5.0 stars 9/28/2008 by Marina1
by Marina1

Was told this TV had been returned by other customers. For our price range & room size we took a chance & bought. Have had for 4 weeks with no problems. Picture is Great as good as the higher priced brands. Four screen modes normal , full, wide & zoom. Everyone in family has their favorite screen mode. Sound is great to. If you don't have a lot of $$ try this TV. Ours is wall mounted. Would recommend taking 2yr service contract for the price may never need, but for the money, could'nt hurt.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marina1
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nothing to complain about
10/7/2008

Customer review by MrsO626

5.0 stars 10/7/2008 by MrsO626
by MrsO626

I actually only have this TV for 3 days now, but no complaints whatsoever. My husband and I picked for our bedroom this affordable TV without getting a little peanut screen in the other brands. It comes with the standard 1yr warranty so we figured what the heck, let's try it. This unit looks so much nicer than in the store on the shelf, we were happy as soon as it came out of the box. The picture is great and has many settings to change for different types of programming. The sound is awesome! Better than our new RCA LCD. The remote is one that you can change the channel with it under the blankets, so you don't have to lift your arm or even move! Highly recommended (and I am a nit-picker).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsO626
Hazleton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!
10/28/2008

Customer review by Kalingzeye

4.0 stars 10/28/2008 by Kalingzeye
by Kalingzeye

Got this TV around 2 weeks ago, and so far so good! It was kinda pixely at first, but I was able to change the sharpness setting and now it looks great. And at this price, how can ya lose? I LOVE this TV, & hope to have it for a lonnnggg time. :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kalingzeye
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice but lacking!!!
8/29/2008

Customer review by CaptPicard

4.0 stars 8/29/2008 by CaptPicard
by CaptPicard

Just got my Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner, TLX-04011C $698.00 Was $798.00 40" LCD screen 1200:1 contrast ratio 1080i Built-in DVD player Model#: TLX-04011C Very nice tv. Good picture, sound everything except no built-in dvd player. That was kind of disappointing but Walmart took care of it. I recommend this tv for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptPicard
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
JUNK
10/11/2008

Customer review by reid

1.0 stars 10/11/2008 by reid
by reid

This tv is junk. I replaced a 36inch crt tv I had for over 11 years with this piece of junk. The volume of the speakers were horrible and the television completely died after a year and a half of use. It is garbage. DO NOT BUY

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reid
Mesa, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Piece of Junk
10/29/2008

Customer review by pikapp610

1.0 stars 10/29/2008 by pikapp610
by pikapp610

I bought this tv for $1700 two years ago. It just randomly quit cutting on properly, started making fuzz noises, and the screen was turning blue before finally dying. Research the blogs before thinking about buying this product. Hindsight being 20/20 there are too many people with this same issue. Poloroid is horrible to try to work with. So now I'm out nearly $2k for a tv that lasted 2 years. What a waste.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pikapp610
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't last as long as it should have
10/14/2013

Customer review by blaze1788

1.0 stars 10/14/2013 by blaze1788
by blaze1788

I bought this t.v. in 2008 for right at about $800. For almost two weeks' worth of pay, it should last more than five years. For the first few years, it was decent. But, about a year ago, we got this big bar on the screen that went from top to bottom. It didn't block out the picture, but it changed the colors inside the bar. It was very distracting, but we lived with it. It has been connected to our desktop p.c. I really enjoyed this feature because we could watch Netflix on our HDTV. However, tonight I had fired up the computer and had gotten onto the internet to watch a Netflix movie, when poof, no picture. The little LED lights on the bottom right went completely dark for a few seconds and came back on. After they came back on, I pushed the power button, and it started to fire up like normal. Except, it flashed Polaroid across the screen for a split second and then lost power again. I haven't been able to get it to turn all the way on. While it lasted, the picture was pretty good, but the sound was sporadic. Some things the sound was crisp and clean but others were dull. Don't waste your money on this t.v. unless you plan on getting extended protection.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blaze1788
northwest Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Polaroid 40"
9/28/2008

Customer review by Ann39

1.0 stars 9/28/2008 by Ann39
by Ann39

We purchase the Polariod on a Saturday and on Sunday the TV had sound put no picture  We went back and purchase Sanyo instead. We haven't had a problem since.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ann39
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
9/29/2008

Customer review by juce

1.0 stars 9/29/2008 by juce
by juce

I bought this TV about 20 months ago when it was about twice the price. Although the sound and picture has been good, it is now going out and only has the picture on half of the screen. Sometimes when I turn it on it has no picture. For the price it should have lasted longer! A one year warranty is all this TV comes with, so if you choose to purchase it, get an extended warranty, or you will be throwing your money away. I will NEVER buy this brand again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
juce
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful Choice!
10/3/2008

Customer review by MikeUD

1.0 stars 10/3/2008 by MikeUD
by MikeUD

I owned this tv for 14 months before the control board inside it burnt out. The cost of replacing it was more than I paid for the tv. Horrible experience with Polariod's customer service as well. If you are going to buy this brand, Make sure you get the extended warranty..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeUD
Fayetteville, Wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Never