Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

15 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

An excellent movie/musical
4/7/2008

Customer review by footballwidow

5.0 stars by footballwidow

This movie is extremely well done. It is very close to the original broadway version with the exception of a few missing songs. A must own for anyone who like the braodway version of Sweeney Todd or just loves Johnny Depp.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
footballwidow
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
3/29/2008

Customer review by farmboy338

4.0 stars by farmboy338

This was a great film from Tim Burton. I am not one all too big on musicals, however, this movie exceeds the normality of any musical. It has emotion, violence, and yet still maintanes it's composure as a great work of the combined arts of film and music.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
farmboy338
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
movie
4/4/2008

Customer review by sadmainegirl

5.0 stars by sadmainegirl

too bloody for kids and some adults.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sadmainegirl
maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Best Movie
3/10/2008

Customer review by sweeneysxnightmare

5.0 stars by sweeneysxnightmare

This movie is the best. It brings music to a horror film.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sweeneysxnightmare
Lake City, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
A Masterpiece
6/2/2008

Customer review by bankman247

5.0 stars by bankman247

This movie absolutely exceeded my expectations! The cast was great with Depp and the movie came together as it should thanks to Tim Burton. This was a grim musical with a fantastic story!

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bankman247
south GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
AWESOME!!
4/10/2008

Customer review by catluvr29

5.0 stars by catluvr29

I saw this when it was first on broadway and was curious as to how it would translate onto film-.Wel lfrom the opening to the finale, it was incredible!! Compelling, haunting and the music just envelops you! Johnny Depp was so convincing as Sweeney Todd it's scary- and who knew he had a great singing voice!! Not so much a horror film, more a tragedy. I've watched it over a dozen times already and it just keeps getting better! Bravo to all involved!

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
catluvr29
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tim Burton's best film yet
5/10/2008

Customer review by Lovett

5.0 stars by Lovett

I have had the good fortune to have performed in Sweeney Todd on stage twice - once as Johanna and once as the Beggar Woman/Lucy - and so I was excited yet apprehensive about this film version. Would it be true to the play or just a horror movie? I went to see it on opening day in a nearly empty theatre - what a pity! Too many people just didn't "get it" so they didn't go to see it. My own concerns were allayed immediately upon seeing the flash forward throught the streets of London to Lovett's Pie Shoppe. I should have known Tim Burton would never let me down! This film belongs on the all-too-short list of entirely successful stage to screen adaptations. Like others in that group it is not perfect - some songs (one of my favorite pieces of musical theatre in fact; the quartet "Kiss Me") were cut, others altered slightly, but the piece is so completely cohesive and so completely true to its source that even Helena Bonham Carter's whisper-singing can't harm it (primarily because she acts the heck out of the role of Lovett in a subtle less campy way than is often seen on stage.) Johnny Depp is a revelation as Sweeney. It's a role that I've seen done by the best and Depp easily fits in with them. A trained singer he is not, but that's the beauty of Sondheim...all the "songs" in Sweeney are really monologues set to music. It is the characters dialogue sung rather than spoken. And because Depp is such a good actor, he makes you believe every word. Burton's interpretation of "By the Sea" is likely to influence stage versions for years to come. The early scene at the ball at Judge Turpin's is "Amadeus" meets "Eyes Wide Shut" - totally and thoroughly appropriate. And speaking of the Judge...the great Alan Rickmann and Tim Spall as the Beadle are perfectly cast. Sascha Baran Cohen sings the immensely difficuly Pirelli material as if he was born to it...tho I would have toned down his "Boratish" tendencies a bit. Overall, if you can get past the fact that Sweeney is about a guy who murders clients and his partner who makes them into meat pies...or if you can get past the idea of that happening set to music, I promise you that you will appreciate Sweeney Todd as much as any great Burton film and that it is sure to become a classic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lovett
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
5/30/2009

Customer review by JudaisHarlem

5.0 stars by JudaisHarlem

This movie illustrates the superb vision of Tim Burton in all its glory. The first spectacle of this masterpiece is the camera work. The method that is used in order to fully capture this wonderful story is absolutely awe striking in most every explainable way. This story line is a wondrous compilation of the multiple stories and legends of the demon barber and the history behind it. It is extremely well placed in that they would choose victorian society to place this story. To further explore the divinity of this period, it is a must to note the complete monochromatic spectrum save for the colors of most significance being red and blue. Despite the wonder of this story and how excellent the screen play is, I question Mr. Burton's mental stability in that he seems to be obsessed will Johnny Depp. This would the be one of at least ten works that were directed by Tim and starred Johnny. I, personally, am getting quite sick of seeing Mr. Depp in these movies; however, his unique persona on screen makes up for the excessive usage. Overall, this movie is the most excellent portrayal of this story that I have seen in a long time. It really captures the crucial elements of these characters as well as the society that this story takes place in. Well portrayed. Well done, Mr. Burton.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JudaisHarlem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
4/1/2008

Customer review by lostboy08

1.0 stars by lostboy08

this movie was not what i was expecting more of a musical than anything else

Was this review helpful? (7) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lostboy08
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
love it love it
1/7/2009

Customer review by sandhi

5.0 stars by sandhi

great extras - great movie

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sandhi
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Best Movie Ever!
4/7/2008

Customer review by MsAlucard

5.0 stars by MsAlucard

I love this movie. Plain and simple. The music was amazing, Johnny Depp did verry well for his first time singing. The blood looked pretty fake, but it helped add a color to the otherwise dark scenery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MsAlucard
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sweeney Todd - 2 disk
12/4/2008

Customer review by Dreadlover

5.0 stars by Dreadlover

This is a MUST for any fan of Tim Burton's Sweeney Todd. Loads of extra footage and well worth the little extra money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dreadlover
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great
1/17/2011

Customer review by colorcrystals

5.0 stars by colorcrystals

This is a wonderful movie and I was thrilled that Wal-Mart had it. I ordered it online. The only problem I had was one of the disks was loose when I picked it up at the store. Luckily, the disk wasn't scratched.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
colorcrystals
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
4/9/2008

Customer review by Evilittletroll

4.0 stars by Evilittletroll

Delivery was good and on time. The movie itself was excellent and the extras on it was great!! It had a lot extras on it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Evilittletroll
usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day