Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 24 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 24 reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Cassette to MP3 Converter
3/6/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Once installed the product is very simple to use. The links in the instructions went to dead webpages, so I had to look around and find the right pages. Also some of the documentation is incomplete. The product seems to work well, but the ones writing the instructions and the general information have likely only used it in sanitized settings and not the real world. They need to take it to their cousins house (who isn't highly computer literate) and try to follow the instructions and get the updates from the websites. One of the included manuals was for another product...not much help. Quite a few holes in the directions. I had trouble and I've had run my own computer services company for over fifteen years. If you don't mind wading through weak documentation, you'll probably like the product. For what it does, it seems to be a good product. If you need to convert cassettes to MP3's it works fairly painlessly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BIG Disappointment-ALREADY RETURNED!
5/30/2009
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was really looking forward to using this product. I have a large library of Cassettes I wanted to turn to CD/MP3. I got the unit home and within an hour, the tapes started wowing/fluttering and going slow. It wasn't the tapes as I have 4 other cassette players that none had the problem of playing the same tape in. Also, unless you are a time expert, with the way the software is set up, it's a guessing game for the beginning of every song you split tracks on. You either have a long pause from the time you hit start and the song begins or you clip the beginning and have to start over again. I returned the product within 24 hours of receiving it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
not so good product
8/7/2008
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this converter in July, and was so excited. I love to listen to audio books and have many cassettes that I would like to covert to MP3 files so that I can listen to them on my MP3 player. But when I hooked it all up and installed everything, it took over my computer. From that point on, my CD player wouldn't work, speakers didn't work. I realize that it has to shut down things in order to work but, it didn't tell me how to put it back, and when I tried, it didn't work, so I had to set my computer back to an earlier date in order to get the thing off my computer, and allow my speaker and CD to work again, and the files it made were really full of static, so I have not been happy at all with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does exactly what I wanted.
2/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a large collection of Old Time Radio programs on cassette tape that I wanted to convert to digital format. After a little internet searching I found this item on Walmart's site. I was a little put off by how expensive that it would cost, but I have such a large collection that I figured it would be worth the cost. It has met all my expectations so far. Another obstacle that I had was that I didn't have any speakers that I could plug into the back and listen while the machine was recording. I primarily use a headset but unfortunately that doesn't work. I was able to plug it into my laptop and have the recording come through it's speakers. So everything is working out since I can still use my main PC while recording on my laptop. I did go through some trial and error fine tuning the quality and volume of the recordings, and it only took a few minutes. Overall I'm quite pleased with how the process is going. The quality is amazing and it's a perfect way to convert all these old classics into the new era of media. I am very happy with my purchase, and I would recommend it to friends and family that have a bunch of old cassettes still. 5/5 Some Cons: Some trial and error required to get the process perfected. The process is a bit time consuming Some basic computer knowledge is required (was not a problem for me, but computer-illerate people might have trouble) The Price is a little expensive at over $100
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Needed Space
2/8/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is great if you are wanting to get rid of cassette tapes but you don't want to lose all the music you purchased only to repurchase it in some other media form. The Tapes2PC allowed us to transfer all the music onto our computer and our portable hard drive backup. The only downside is how long this process takes. You basically are listening to every tape as you transfer it to your PC. It brings back memories burning them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!
10/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
After reading some of the reviews here, I decided to take the jump and try it out. I'm so gald I did! Transferring the cassette to MP3 is very easy and the quality is great! The one issue I have is that the software requires you to transfer the files to iTunes first. There is a work-around using Audacity, but it's not in the manual. You won't be dissapointed with this product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This one works
7/12/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I tried a low priced competitor to this product. After sending the second one back because it did not work I ordered this unit and was pleasantly surprised. It worked as advertised. I have used it to convert several tapes to CD and am quite satisfied with them. The only complaint I have is that its software is directly connected to iTunes. I would like to be able to use it with either my Nero or Creative software. Still looking in to that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great product
6/2/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this is a great product for cassette owners,saves a fortune from buying cd's of the cassettes you already own,also,when not copying cassettes,it doubles as a cassette player.the product works very well so far,recordings turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Plug & Play Ease
1/2/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very good product ! Easy to use East to set up Inly set back when recording tape to mp3 if you have the auto file "checked" if there is a pause of silence tape2 PC will "stutter" and "skip" at that space. You have to stop and start a new recording unless you have auto file unchecked, then it works like a charm. Great tool if you plan on archiving your tapes to mp3!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good equipment
5/15/2008
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to use. very good for OS Vista
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OK product
1/12/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product was pretty much what I expected after reading all the reviews. It's not great, but is the best thing for the money. The recording quality has been pretty good so far, if you know how to change the gain, make sure noise reducer is on. It is a very large pain to have to pay attention to the recording so you can manually seperate songs. There is no high speed recording. I bought this for my 78 year old father, whom I had to teach how to use iTunes, but he is very excited about saving the music from his 25 year old tapes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very pleased with this product.
7/21/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was pleased with the sound quality of the files I converted from cassette tapes with my new ION Cassette Tape-to-MP3 converter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
11/9/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This machine converts my cassettes into dvd's in no time and is very easy to use. I recommend it for those that are not computer literate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product was defective
12/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The unit came with some of the writing on front panel missing. Everything else seemed fine, but I returned it for this defect. Got a full refund. Decided to purchase elsewhere for less due to no tax being charged.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointing
6/23/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The instructions are vague and the time commitment to produce a CD is too long. The has to be a better way. Don't waste your time and money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/25/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the software was easy to download, but you need itunes account which was not a problem, very satisfied with product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice!
3/7/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a nice product, but I didn't give it 5 stars because the instructions can be a little confusing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for the home or office
4/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works perfectly
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OK Hardware; HORRIBLE Software
6/15/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I spent several hours trying to copy a tape to my HD using the software that came with this unit. It was a NIGHTMARE! I purchase other converter instead. The TaoTronics converter is great help converting tape to MP3. It’s easy to use. The software can be installed in just a few seconds. Simply plug the Cassette Player and press play and it will start recording instantly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good idea if it works
6/30/2008
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Installed okay but does not work. As soon as I have time for a 2-4 hr phone call , I'm going to call their help desk and see if we can get it working okay. My computer is only 6 mo old so my end is not out of date or whatever.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643925, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-