Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
210
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 265 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews
Enjoy the Product!
8/17/2010

Customer review by ChatterBoxNY

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by ChatterBoxNY
by ChatterBoxNY

I like the product & have no problem with it. I've already had 3 weeks with the product, but my only problem is when do I know to change the filter? I've checked several times the filter and it doesn't seem so dirty yet :/ I love the filter becuz I don't have to worry about purchasing filter separately as I did to my humidifier. The air quality in my small bedroom is much better I do admit. Wouldn't say the dust is completely out of reach, but in a certain way our breathing doesn't seem stuffy or the dust is not so much in the air as heavy as it was before. I would recommend this product to anyone who feels that they need a better breathing in the environment. It's helped me and my child. Must add that I'm not crazy about the fact that one has to change the UV light eventually whenever the UV light burns out I guess. Was never mentioned in the website when I purchased it. Thanks Walmart for having such a wonderful product despite a few small little things that were left out, I do enjoy it. :)

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChatterBoxNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
7/23/2012

Customer review by barnes2p

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by barnes2p
by barnes2p

I moved into a very old apartment complex and after 10 days, I developed upper respiratory problems. I had sinus problems and a nasty cough that persisted. I knew it wasn't a cold because it did not get better or worse over time. I felt it was something about the air quality in the apartment because when I went outside, the symptoms cleared. It could have been 1 of dozens of things from mold to bacteria to dirt and dust. What can the complex do? After coughing up a dark mucus for a week, I decided to purify the air. I had never heard of Thera Pure before I saw it on the shelf, but the size and cost convinced me to purchase one. When I got home I turned it on and left for a few hours. I know this is scientifically unlikely, but when I returned, I felt better. I have had the Thera Pure Purifier now for a week and all my symptoms have cleared. I cannot say the Thera Pure is the reason but it is the only change I made. I have no idea what caused the symptoms but they have disappeared. Great product! Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barnes2p
charleston sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job very well, a little noisy.
2/13/2011

Customer review by dbhost3006

4.0 stars 2/13/2011 by dbhost3006
by dbhost3006

I am a bit leery of posting this review because I have had the item less than a month, but so far the results have been good. We literally got this thing because my wife, our cat, and myself all have allergies. Thankfully none of us is allergic to the cat right? Anyway, the first night we used it the sniffling, sneezing, and watery scratchy eyes stopped. Now we keep our house clean, but with all the coming and going, and the fact we live in coastal Texas, there is no telling what is in the air, this thing got it clean. So far we have been able to stay off of the allergy meds to boot! The fan is a little noisy, but it mostly seems like white noise, and is somewhat calming to listen to when trying to get to sleep... One very annoying thing is that I had mine shipped to store because Walmart.com said there were none in stock in the store, come to find out not only was there one in store, but it was $2.00 less than at Walmart.com! Not that it is a lot of money, but double check the stock in store before you buy online...

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dbhost3006
League City, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
impossible to get uv lamp
6/1/2008

Customer review by wmstoreshopper

4.0 stars 6/1/2008 by wmstoreshopper
by wmstoreshopper

The product I purchased in store was delightful to use. It surpassed my expectations. It does exactly as it claims. My problem arose when the UV lamp quit working. I first called to order the lamp direct from the company. They kept saying it was on backorder. Several months later I called again and was given an answer that it had been shipped. Supposedly my customer number was incorrect and it was sent to another address. When I e-mailed the company direct with a complaint, I got no response. I was also disconnected twice while being on hold for extended periods of time. It was also very hard to understand anyone in customer service. The companies customer service is at the bottom of the list as far as I am concerned. I wish Wal-Mart had access to the UV lamps that I could purchase from them. I would have bought 2 more of these from Wal-Mart if I could have gotten the UV lamp.

Was this review helpful? (169) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wmstoreshopper
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best air filter that I've owned!
7/27/2010

Customer review by owsi26

4.0 stars 7/27/2010 by owsi26
by owsi26

I have owned at least at least 15-20 air filters and I like this filter better than any of them. I have a lot of birds and dust can be deadly to birds. Birds also generate a lot of dust. I have 5 filters, in my garage, that need repairs, and they were more expensive than this one. I like the UV feature and the very small footprint of this filter. I bought one, for the bird room, but I liked it so much that I'm keeping it in my bedroom! I just placed an order for another one that will be for the birds, pun intended! This filter generates little noise even on high, compared to others. There are only two things that I question. For capturing dust, that eventually falls to the floor, I prefer the exhaust air to be blown upwards. I also like pre-filters as they can extend the life of the more expensive main filter. I have already been vacuuming my filters even though the manual says to replace them when dirty. Vacuuming filters works well and it extends the life of the filters. One could argue that having to also vacuum a pre-filter might be too much work, so it depends on how you look at it. My perfect filter doesn't exist, but this one comes closer, to my ideal filter, than any that I've tried and seen. You will be very pleased with this one.

Was this review helpful? (162) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
owsi26
Valdosta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just about killed my ferrets!
7/15/2016

Customer review by cloudyeyes65

2.0 stars 7/15/2016 by cloudyeyes65
by cloudyeyes65

Purchased to clean the air in the ferret cage area. Does a great job-BUT-has an electric current that emits about a foot away from unit and electrified my ferrets cage and just about killed them. It was on for a day before we all kept getting shocked and had an electrician evaluate the situation. Not good for you or pets. If using-keep away from anything and keep out of your walkways-you do not want to get within a foot of this unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cloudyeyes65
Would recommend to a friend? No
I feel tricked!
4/14/2011

Customer review by brideygirl

1.0 stars 4/14/2011 by brideygirl
by brideygirl

I was so excited when I found this product on Walmart.com and even more so when my husband said we could purchase it. I have been looking for a while for an air purifier that does all the therapure claims to without the emission of Ozone....however, after getting the product home and reading the leaflet, I noticed that the product was put out by Ionic Pro.. I did some research and called the company where I was informed that this model IS an ionizer (a feature which cannot be turned off) and DOES emit Ozone (the claim is 1 part per billion)....the product is going back to the store. Even if it does work as well as some say, I feel that this information is something that should have been readily available on the advertisement for this product. It is not Walmart's fault at all, but rather the company for not disclosing this information. Many of the reviewers on here, like myself, were excited at finding a "safe" air purifier.....and they have every reason to believe that it IS safe since no where in the packaging does it admit to being an ionizer or admit to producing Ozone...those are answers I actually had to call the company to get!

Was this review helpful? (99) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brideygirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Works very well
5/22/2009

Customer review by dani313

5.0 stars 5/22/2009 by dani313
by dani313

My husband has allergies and has really noticed an improvement since we bought this for our bedroom. We are planning to buy at least one more for the living room. On "low" it is noiseless. On "med" or "high," it makes a rather pleasant "white noise." I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dani313
Tyler TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
2/1/2010

Customer review by KariW

5.0 stars 2/1/2010 by KariW
by KariW

I am very happy with this product. On high, it has a soft purr, which I love. Helps me sleep better. Only drawback, I was going to buy one for my living room but the directions say not to use around candles because the soot is not good for the purifier. Since I burn lots of candles in my living room, decided it wouldn't be a good idea to have one in there. So it will just stay in my bedroom!

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KariW
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome!!
3/26/2009

Customer review by chiptraders

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by chiptraders
by chiptraders

Not going to write a book like these other people. You can't even tell this thing is on! 2 Labradors and after 2 days their smell is gone! Less dust in the air and easier to breathe. Big house and this thing works!!

Was this review helpful? (123) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chiptraders
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very helpful product
6/6/2009

Customer review by AnnaNDaniellesMom

5.0 stars 6/6/2009 by AnnaNDaniellesMom
by AnnaNDaniellesMom

I purchased this based on the reviews! I was having lots of headaches and was also pregnant so I thought it would be a good investment for the baby & I. I think it makes my place smell fresh and clean. It does clean up the air and odors well. I've recommended it to friends. I definitely sleep easier!

Was this review helpful? (190) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnnaNDaniellesMom
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/17/2008

Customer review by Christin3

4.0 stars 4/17/2008 by Christin3
by Christin3

My husband came home with this the other day and I must say at first I was a bit leery. I've read that a lot of purifiers are just glorified vacuum cleaners and all it would take is a good vacuum cleaning to basically perform the same function. I guess my counter to that would be...okay, but wouldn't it be better to have the vacuum running all the time then? So I've given this about a week to see if it's made a difference. I'm a seasonal allergy sufferer and the day before we put it in the living room I was sneezing like mad because of all the pollen beginning to float around. I haven't sneezed once since we turned it on. I also noticed that when we vacuum the funky smell that emits from the sweeper doesn't linger, nor does the smell from diaper changes! The purifier seems to take care of that too. Over all the air in the room smells much cleaner. Pretty happy with this product so far. I'm not yet sure about the whole killing of viruses and bacteria thing and now that we're heading into summer we may not get to find out if it reduces any kind of sickness until flu season rolls around again. I know some water purifiers have the UV light and they do an excellent job at removing bacteria, my parents have one on their well and I can tell you first hand that the UV light works. So I'm definitely curious to see how this concept works in this type of product.

Was this review helpful? (55) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christin3
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good for the money.
3/12/2010

Customer review by mattspunkingurl

4.0 stars 3/12/2010 by mattspunkingurl
by mattspunkingurl

I got this recently and like it. Its not one of the best purifiers, but for me it works. It does take odors out of the room. I was brewing really strong coffee today and about 10 minutes later you couldn't even smell the coffee anymore. The high setting is loud. It sounds like a fan going. The low setting is almost totally silent,which I really like. I just wait until we go to bed to put it on high, since its located in the living room. I would recommend this to someone who has allergies or odors in this home. If you have asthma or a serious medical condition I would recommend getting a true HEPA purifier. This is just a HEPA type purifier and isn't meant for ppl with serious issues. But, this is generally a good product for the money. I like the UV lamp, the only thing I don't like is that its mercury based. So, be careful not to break it. Overall this is a good product for the money. Its obviously not an A+, but it works well for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mattspunkingurl
Red Hook, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does wonders
2/28/2010

Customer review by 24wins

5.0 stars 2/28/2010 by 24wins
by 24wins

I bought two of these for my kids rooms, but this size is more for a larger room like a living room. I am buying smaller units for the bedrooms. With this unit, there is less dust, our allergies are down and it really eliminates odor. Our hamster cage smells all the time, but the air purifier kills those odors. There are 3 fan settings and the higher the setting, the louder the fan noise. But it is not loud like a vacuum, just white noise. You can vacuum the filter, so there is no cost in replacing filters. Highly recommend this product. Do site to store and save on shipping. Stores don't stock them.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
24wins
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good
12/29/2013

Customer review by MC3120

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by MC3120
by MC3120
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this purifier for my 2year olds room since he has allergies to dust, mold and dog dander. It's nice and quiet on the low setting and on the high setting it's a normal fan sound. We've put it in our master bedroom during the day and within 20min. I literally saw all the particles in the air disappearing. I love that is has a washable filter so I can choose whether I want to clean it myself or buy a new one after it's been used and washed too much. I'm very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MC3120
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
4/26/2011

Customer review by Loveshopping2much

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Loveshopping2much
by Loveshopping2much

I got this because of smoke and dust. It works awesome, my place doesnt not smell like smoke anymore, it also blows out air so it is like a fan too, low is very quite, medium is just like having a fan on, and high is alittle loud but i usually keep it on medium and when i go to bed i put it on low, just need to vac. it once a week. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loveshopping2much
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dont buy a gimmick!
5/9/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/9/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The UV-C lamp is a gimmick. Yes UV-C lights kill germs but only when they cross the beam of light, which is small. You know what else kills germs? Lysol. It also does it more effectively than this thing will. This purifier doesn't have much air intake. The intake side is fairly small so it's not grabbing a lot of air. It's basically a fan with a filter and a UV lamp. The only quiet speed setting is the low setting and it barely pulls any air in. You really have to have the unit on med or high for it to do anything. Also, it has a weird plastic smell. Maybe that wears off, but i'll never know because I took it back after 2 days. I bought a Holmes HAP726 allergen remover. This thing is a beast. It pulls air pretty well, which is the whole point in an air purifier. It also has 4 speed settings. The lowest setting (which is fairly quiet) pulls more air than the highest setting on the Therapure 201. The intake on the Therapure could barely hold a piece of thin paper against it on high, the Holmes model has no problem with that on the lowest level. The Holmes model is also a TRUE HEPA filter, which is important. The Therapure is a "hepa type" which is held to less standards than a true HEPA in regards to the size of the particles it can filter out. Seriously, if you're going to spend $100 on an air purifier don't waste it on this model. Buy the Holmes HAP726. Also, I don't work for Holmes, I promise :).

Was this review helpful? (47) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not clean anything
12/15/2013

Customer review by tosure

1.0 stars 12/15/2013 by tosure
by tosure

I had purchased this purifier for I am a smoker, besides that I live in a apartment that seems to not move around smells including cooking odors. I bought this product and was excited when it arrived. Well this unit is horrible! You may as well use a fan cause thats all it does is push the air from one area to another. The odor from cooking did not even clear out besides forget the smoking from a cigarette. I actually blew the cigarette smoke right to the unit and it went over it not even into filter of the unit. I am now back outside with my smoking and within 2 days returned this unit. I did not purchase this from walmart for it was on sale cheaper at another store. Sorry Walmart! I read the reviews from this site however and thought I should allow others to know my experience with this product.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tosure
Toms River
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
1/16/2014

Customer review by UBsadie

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by UBsadie
by UBsadie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had the purifier for less than two weeks. I don't notice a difference in the air quality in the bedroom because I don't breath any better, but I'm sure it is doing what it is supposed to do. On low, it is very quiet. I'm a light sleeper and it does not bother me. The unit is big and I had to be careful where I put it in the room...it has to be a foot away from the walls and (of course) not near any curtains. You also don't want it any place where it's in the traffic path. I don't have any empty wall space in the bedroom, so I put it in front of the dresser and then when I turn it off, I put it away in the corner. The fan might be a nice addition in the summer months when it warms up in the East!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UBsadie
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mixed Review
3/13/2011

Customer review by SoundBeachShopper

4.0 stars 3/13/2011 by SoundBeachShopper
by SoundBeachShopper

Be aware that this is a HEPA **TYPE** air filter. It is not a HEPA air filtration system. If a medical professional has recommended a HEPA system, this is not for you. I bought both this system and the Honeywell system because there were renovations occuring in my home and I was physically ill from the air pollution. I was also going crazy from the dust. I put this system in my bedroom because it was touted as very quiet and the need for air filtration was lower there. It is very quiet - almost soundless. I was skeptical of the alleged ability of the UV light to kill germs, but it does seem to help. I would not use this in an area with intense air pollution because it is just not up to the job, but for an area with normal indoor air pollution levels, it's adequate & very quiet.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoundBeachShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews