Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 196 reviews
5 stars
133
4 stars
46
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 176 reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews
Extending the life of the expensive filters
12/1/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this product for two years and overall have been very pleased. My only complaint was that I needed to replace the HEPA filters more frequently than "advertised" and they are EXPENSIVE! I was speaking to a friend of mine who does HVAC installation and he suggested that I purchase a 14x25x1 HEPA 1900 Rated Air Filter and tape it to the outside of the machine as a pre-filter. WHOLA!!! A 14x25x1 Filtrete 1900 Microfiltrate HEPA filter costs approximately $20.00. I cut it to fit the intake area, and taped it around the sides with duct tape. Yes - it is ugly. But I have not had to replace the internal filters in over a year. I replace the 14x25x1 filter every 3 months. Interestingly - you can actually watch the outside filter get increasing dirty each day - which lets me know if I need to change it sooner or can go a little longer. THE AIR FLOW THROUGH THE SYSTEM IS NOT REDUCED, nor is there an increased workload on the motor to overcome the additional filter. The net result is a much improved filtration of air, and amuch reduced annual costs of filters.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (321)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Oh my gosh! These have made a world of difference
10/11/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live in in 50+ yo house. I used to wake up nauseated, and my family exhibited chronic coughing. Within an hour, we discerned a marked decrease in respiratory distress.l Now, I have one in each bedroom, and in the family room. Noise? Certainly better than us all hacking non stop at night! BTW, don't let the HEPA filters clog! The carbon filters function quite well as "pre-filters," extending the main HEPA filters' life, and reducing the maintenance cost from $80 a month to $12!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (158)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
saved my life.....
12/17/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would describe my self as extremely allergic, to just about everything, especially cats!!! I take allergy medications always did a decent job, however my wife wanted a cat and for whatever reason she tricked me into getting it. WORST DECISION EVER! my life was a living nightmare for the first month having it, it effected our relationship, I looked like a drug addict because my eyes were always puffed up and red and itchy! I was sneezing non stop, my throat would close up, I was'nt able to sleep. It was a nightmare to say the lease! allergy pills did'nt seem to work that well, we went out on a limb buying this as a last resort if it did'nt work I told her we had to get ride of the cat, I read reviews on REAL hepa air purifiers and they were all $600 plus dollar and there is no way I would ever spend that type of money. From the first few hours we had this on I noticed a HUGE difference, ever since I have been fine. This thing saved my life!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (124)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fresh Air - low price
3/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my second air purifier and I honestly love it. I debated on paying the $399 for the Oreck and decided to give this more inexpensive one a try after it was recommendetd to me by a friend. Even though my first purifier is made out of mostly metal and plastic and this one is made of a lower quality plastic in comparison to the material it is made, I find that I like this one even better. It has 4 settings and I just love it on the highest one and leave it there all the time. If you want it to be more quiet then a lower level 1-3 will take care of that. I have been using this new one for 3 weeks now and I am thinking about getting one more for the downstairs area. It does take filters and I confess that I do take my hand held vac on low to suck out the dust/cat hair a couple of times on the prefilter before I change it out. This one takes the same size filters as my first one and if you keep the black charcoal outer filter clean or changed out the hepa filter stays clean and lasts so much longer. Great product at a great price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Everyone Should Own One!
9/20/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This HEPA purifier is great! I've struggled with allergies all my life. My husband is lucky enough not to have any allergies. My doctor had been recommending for years that I purchase a HEPA air purifier for my bedroom, but I just could not justify the price, and I figured my allergies would always be the way they have always been. After looking at the HEPA filters online at Wal-Mart I decided to buy this model and I couldn’t be happier. The first night we used it my husband and I both woke up and exclaimed to each other, “My nose isn’t stuffy!” The unit is a great price and is a reliable brand. I did my research before buying & Holmes got the best consumer reviews. About an hour before bed we turn it on the highest setting (#4) and let it run. When we’re ready for bed we turn it down to the lowest setting (#1) while we sleep. I was concerned about the square footage the unit said it cleaned as we have an open floor plan (our bedroom is about 400 sq. feet) but I don’t feel like we need a larger unit. I cannot tell you what a difference it has made for my allergies! I wake up with a clear head, feeling great. My next step is to purchase a smaller one for my office. I have already told my mom, sister and grandmother they are getting this air purifier for Christmas, I think even those without allergies (like my husband) can benefit from this unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Air Purifier
4/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have used this air purifier now for over 2 weeks, works exceptionally well in our rec room. Like being able to replace the pre-filters and HEPA filters. Replaced a unit with a "Permanent" filter that could not be cleaned (except vacuumed) and could not find a replacement for. Another nice feature of this unit is the fan is a squirrel cage type, which we use in our forced air for our computer servers. Squirrel cage fans move more air and have bearings on both sides of the air mover. Noise is minimal for the amount of air being moved through the unit. Ease of filter installation/replacement is simple and the cost of the replacement filters are reasonable. This unit is the best we have found so far, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/22/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You will fall in love with this this the first time you use it but as soon as you have to replace the filters for the first time you mine as well be buying a brand new unit. This unit requires 2 filters each which are around 20 bucks a piece but you can by a 2 pk for about 34 bucks then on top of that you will need the carbon filters that come in a box of 4 they are 10 bucks. Point being you are better off buying a unit with a permanent washable filter. This thing is a money trap if you want you use it all year round.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (93)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
One night and already can feel the difference!
8/25/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wow, I read all the reviews on this purifier and decided to give it a shot. I've just moved into a home where there were cats before, and I am severely allergic. Every night I'd spent in the house until last night, I woke up with asthma problems midway through the night and would be all stuffed up with difficulty breathing by morning. I ran this last night for about 4 hours before bed on high and then left it on the sleep mode overnight - what a world of difference. I slept straight through and woke up feeling completely normal. I am so impressed that I don't usually rate products but felt I should for this one!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent unit!
9/30/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I put it on 4 the first night and for the first time in several months my nasal passages were clear when I woke up!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Product !
9/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Now that I have 2 of this in my house together with the other Holmes purifier that I have, I know that the air in my house will be cleaner. I’m looking forward to using this on the coming more years to come. This will really help me control my allergies. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Allergen Remover
3/13/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this unit last month to put in the cats bathroom, due to all the litter dust. At night, took it into the bedroom. From the first night, we noticed a remarkable improvement in the quantity and color of the morning phlegm that most people wake up choking on. I actually just came online to order 3 more units! I want one in each room, so I don't have to lug the unit from room to room. The filter replacements will be expensive, but what price do you put on the air you breathe every second?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT PRODUCT!!!
6/4/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wow I am so impressed! My son was just tested for allergies and has a million of them. The allergist recommended that I get one of these to help him sleep at night. After missing many days of school because of a severe cough in the morning, (he has asthma), and trying this for one night, it was an amazing difference. He woke the next morning with his cough about 95% gone! Got up felt great and went to school. All because of the air purifier! I highly recommend this product! (his bedroom was approx. 12'x12')
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect to clean the air ❤️
9/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was bought as I can't find anymore filter for my Old Canister Holmes HAP580 that I have for almost 20 yrs --and it still works great. ❤️Please make it again! Anyway, with all the fires in our area which produces a lot of smoke, I can breathe clean air in my house especially with my allergies. It's a bit loud but it's alright as I know it's really working to filter the bad air. I just leave it on #2 setting all day. I love it so much that I just ordered 1 for my son, and another 1 for me. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceeded expectations
6/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live in a small apartment with 4 hairy dogs. I've been waking up with sinus congestion and nausea from allergies. I plugged this machine in and within an hour could tell a difference! I haven't experienced any congestion or nausea and the room smells better. This machine was tested by Consumer Reports and while it didn't receive a great rating, it was acceptable. The price was too because I wasn't willing to spend a whole lot of money if it was just a gimmick. This machine is one I can recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Holmes HEPA Air Purifier
10/2/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As alway, Holmes has another winner! I bought my Purifier in September 2008 and it is well worth the $$. What a difference it has made regarding my allergies and typical household odors. LOVE this product, AND the Walmart pricing!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
12/9/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had many air cleaners and this one has impressed me more in a week than most have in months. The highest setting can be as loud as other air cleaners but the middle setting will push more air than most and you can barely hear it. I've bought several other air cleaners and after purchasing this one, I'd say spend the little bit of extra money on it. You can really tell it's circulating air through it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful Product
6/24/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I needed to find a HEPA filter to help with my cat and dust mite allergies. This machine has done wonders. Not only do I notice a reduction in dust in general, but I am able to breath better. We loved this item so much we got one for our bedroom and living room!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A noticeable difference!
9/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Might be a little early to review since I've only had this for about a week, but so far, very good! After one day I could definitely notice and feel a difference in the air in my large basement room. This unit seems to move a lot of air, enough that I don't feel bad at all for not getting the larger model. This unit might be loud for a small to medium sized room. It sounds like...a fan...and if it's on speeds 3 or 4 I have to either turn my TV up to hear it over the unit better or turn the fan speed down to 2 or 1. Again, this is in a large basement room. At night I like to have it run on the lowest speed as it works for some good white noise/background noise. I'm hoping that this unit reduces the amount of dust I see around the room. It gets bad rather quickly. I find myself dusting every 3 or 4 days so only time will tell if this unit helps reduce the dust or not. But either way the air feels cleaner already and feels so much better to breathe. I'm coughing less and feeling less irritated. Another thing I like is that this unit blows a pretty solid stream of air, so the air in my room is moving now and feels less stuffy. Noticeably cooler too which I like. I wouldn't say the build/materials/quality is cheap overall, but it looks and feels a little bit cheap to me, but then again, I'm picking about the things I buy. But it should be solid enough to last a long time if you are not dropping it or abusing it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
powerful air filter
10/29/2008
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product reviews on this site held true to the product delivered. The highest setting is a little loud and the output of air from the unit is strong. When the device is on, it's like an additional fan blowing into the room. I use this filter in a smaller room and find that it dries out the air if left on for longer periods of time, particularly while sleeping. I would recommend using it with a humidifier under these circumstances.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Glad I purchased
12/26/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Holmes Allergen Remover we purchased has helped tremendously. We turned it on about 2 hours before retiring for the night and you could really tell a difference in the room. I would recommend this to anyone if you are bothered by allergies or lots of sinus drainage at night.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643922, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-