Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 190 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

190 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

190 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
127
4 stars
46
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 170 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 170 total reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews
Extending the life of the expensive filters
12/1/2010

Customer review by CleanAirGuru

4.0 stars 12/1/2010 by CleanAirGuru
by CleanAirGuru

I have had this product for two years and overall have been very pleased. My only complaint was that I needed to replace the HEPA filters more frequently than "advertised" and they are EXPENSIVE! I was speaking to a friend of mine who does HVAC installation and he suggested that I purchase a 14x25x1 HEPA 1900 Rated Air Filter and tape it to the outside of the machine as a pre-filter. WHOLA!!! A 14x25x1 Filtrete 1900 Microfiltrate HEPA filter costs approximately $20.00. I cut it to fit the intake area, and taped it around the sides with duct tape. Yes - it is ugly. But I have not had to replace the internal filters in over a year. I replace the 14x25x1 filter every 3 months. Interestingly - you can actually watch the outside filter get increasing dirty each day - which lets me know if I need to change it sooner or can go a little longer. THE AIR FLOW THROUGH THE SYSTEM IS NOT REDUCED, nor is there an increased workload on the motor to overcome the additional filter. The net result is a much improved filtration of air, and amuch reduced annual costs of filters.

Was this review helpful? (312) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CleanAirGuru
Sherman TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Oh my gosh! These have made a world of difference
10/11/2009

Customer review by CampinJon

5.0 stars 10/11/2009 by CampinJon
by CampinJon

I live in in 50+ yo house. I used to wake up nauseated, and my family exhibited chronic coughing. Within an hour, we discerned a marked decrease in respiratory distress.l Now, I have one in each bedroom, and in the family room. Noise? Certainly better than us all hacking non stop at night! BTW, don't let the HEPA filters clog! The carbon filters function quite well as "pre-filters," extending the main HEPA filters' life, and reducing the maintenance cost from $80 a month to $12!

Was this review helpful? (155) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampinJon
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
saved my life.....
12/17/2010

Customer review by Enfinite5

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Enfinite5
by Enfinite5

I would describe my self as extremely allergic, to just about everything, especially cats!!! I take allergy medications always did a decent job, however my wife wanted a cat and for whatever reason she tricked me into getting it. WORST DECISION EVER! my life was a living nightmare for the first month having it, it effected our relationship, I looked like a drug addict because my eyes were always puffed up and red and itchy! I was sneezing non stop, my throat would close up, I was'nt able to sleep. It was a nightmare to say the lease! allergy pills did'nt seem to work that well, we went out on a limb buying this as a last resort if it did'nt work I told her we had to get ride of the cat, I read reviews on REAL hepa air purifiers and they were all $600 plus dollar and there is no way I would ever spend that type of money. From the first few hours we had this on I noticed a HUGE difference, ever since I have been fine. This thing saved my life!

Was this review helpful? (120) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Enfinite5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Fresh Air - low price
3/12/2011

Customer review by chocoLotsa

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by chocoLotsa
by chocoLotsa

This is my second air purifier and I honestly love it. I debated on paying the $399 for the Oreck and decided to give this more inexpensive one a try after it was recommendetd to me by a friend. Even though my first purifier is made out of mostly metal and plastic and this one is made of a lower quality plastic in comparison to the material it is made, I find that I like this one even better. It has 4 settings and I just love it on the highest one and leave it there all the time. If you want it to be more quiet then a lower level 1-3 will take care of that. I have been using this new one for 3 weeks now and I am thinking about getting one more for the downstairs area. It does take filters and I confess that I do take my hand held vac on low to suck out the dust/cat hair a couple of times on the prefilter before I change it out. This one takes the same size filters as my first one and if you keep the black charcoal outer filter clean or changed out the hepa filter stays clean and lasts so much longer. Great product at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chocoLotsa
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Everyone Should Own One!
9/20/2010

Customer review by AllieK0527

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by AllieK0527
by AllieK0527

This HEPA purifier is great! I've struggled with allergies all my life. My husband is lucky enough not to have any allergies. My doctor had been recommending for years that I purchase a HEPA air purifier for my bedroom, but I just could not justify the price, and I figured my allergies would always be the way they have always been. After looking at the HEPA filters online at Wal-Mart I decided to buy this model and I couldn’t be happier. The first night we used it my husband and I both woke up and exclaimed to each other, “My nose isn’t stuffy!” The unit is a great price and is a reliable brand. I did my research before buying & Holmes got the best consumer reviews. About an hour before bed we turn it on the highest setting (#4) and let it run. When we’re ready for bed we turn it down to the lowest setting (#1) while we sleep. I was concerned about the square footage the unit said it cleaned as we have an open floor plan (our bedroom is about 400 sq. feet) but I don’t feel like we need a larger unit. I cannot tell you what a difference it has made for my allergies! I wake up with a clear head, feeling great. My next step is to purchase a smaller one for my office. I have already told my mom, sister and grandmother they are getting this air purifier for Christmas, I think even those without allergies (like my husband) can benefit from this unit.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllieK0527
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great Air Purifier
4/14/2014

Customer review by Coneus

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by Coneus
by Coneus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have used this air purifier now for over 2 weeks, works exceptionally well in our rec room. Like being able to replace the pre-filters and HEPA filters. Replaced a unit with a "Permanent" filter that could not be cleaned (except vacuumed) and could not find a replacement for. Another nice feature of this unit is the fan is a squirrel cage type, which we use in our forced air for our computer servers. Squirrel cage fans move more air and have bearings on both sides of the air mover. Noise is minimal for the amount of air being moved through the unit. Ease of filter installation/replacement is simple and the cost of the replacement filters are reasonable. This unit is the best we have found so far, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coneus
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/22/2009

Customer review by voiselle2b

3.0 stars 4/22/2009 by voiselle2b
by voiselle2b

You will fall in love with this this the first time you use it but as soon as you have to replace the filters for the first time you mine as well be buying a brand new unit. This unit requires 2 filters each which are around 20 bucks a piece but you can by a 2 pk for about 34 bucks then on top of that you will need the carbon filters that come in a box of 4 they are 10 bucks. Point being you are better off buying a unit with a permanent washable filter. This thing is a money trap if you want you use it all year round.

Was this review helpful? (92) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
voiselle2b
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Gets The Job Done
5/13/2017

Customer review by Bobby V

5.0 stars 5/13/2017 by Bobby V
by Bobby V
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This unit was purchased for use in the master bedroom. My wife has seasonal allergies, which prevent her from getting a quiet, restful night's sleep. Since we started using the Holmes air purifier, she now enjoys comfortable, uninterrupted sleep each night.

Bobby V
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Allergen Remover
3/13/2010

Customer review by Skepticle

5.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Skepticle
by Skepticle

Purchased this unit last month to put in the cats bathroom, due to all the litter dust. At night, took it into the bedroom. From the first night, we noticed a remarkable improvement in the quantity and color of the morning phlegm that most people wake up choking on. I actually just came online to order 3 more units! I want one in each room, so I don't have to lug the unit from room to room. The filter replacements will be expensive, but what price do you put on the air you breathe every second?

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skepticle
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
One night and already can feel the difference!
8/25/2011

Customer review by buffalony123

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by buffalony123
by buffalony123

Wow, I read all the reviews on this purifier and decided to give it a shot. I've just moved into a home where there were cats before, and I am severely allergic. Every night I'd spent in the house until last night, I woke up with asthma problems midway through the night and would be all stuffed up with difficulty breathing by morning. I ran this last night for about 4 hours before bed on high and then left it on the sleep mode overnight - what a world of difference. I slept straight through and woke up feeling completely normal. I am so impressed that I don't usually rate products but felt I should for this one!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buffalony123
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Fair product only for the price
5/13/2017

Customer review by Coverme54

2.0 stars 5/13/2017 by Coverme54
by Coverme54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Felt I ordered this with ionizer so for the price am not happy as it doesn't have it

Coverme54
Maine, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dust is limited now!
5/7/2017

Customer review by Norma and Bob

4.0 stars 5/7/2017 by Norma and Bob
by Norma and Bob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've only had our Medium Allergen Remover Air Purifier for over a month but I can see the difference in our bedroom where dust accumulated daily - it's much better! Runs quietly and efficiently too..... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Norma and Bob
Pinellas Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT PRODUCT!!!
6/4/2008

Customer review by lisarenee60046

5.0 stars 6/4/2008 by lisarenee60046
by lisarenee60046

Wow I am so impressed! My son was just tested for allergies and has a million of them. The allergist recommended that I get one of these to help him sleep at night. After missing many days of school because of a severe cough in the morning, (he has asthma), and trying this for one night, it was an amazing difference. He woke the next morning with his cough about 95% gone! Got up felt great and went to school. All because of the air purifier! I highly recommend this product! (his bedroom was approx. 12'x12')

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lisarenee60046
Lindenhurst, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Exceeded expectations
6/4/2012

Customer review by dglvr56

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by dglvr56
by dglvr56

I live in a small apartment with 4 hairy dogs. I've been waking up with sinus congestion and nausea from allergies. I plugged this machine in and within an hour could tell a difference! I haven't experienced any congestion or nausea and the room smells better. This machine was tested by Consumer Reports and while it didn't receive a great rating, it was acceptable. The price was too because I wasn't willing to spend a whole lot of money if it was just a gimmick. This machine is one I can recommend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dglvr56
Ketchikan, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Pure Air at Last
5/3/2017

Customer review by Lana T

4.0 stars 5/3/2017 by Lana T
by Lana T
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far, so great! Excellent product for the money.

Lana T
southern Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Holmes HEPA Air Purifier
10/2/2008

Customer review by Bonnie2U

5.0 stars 10/2/2008 by Bonnie2U
by Bonnie2U

As alway, Holmes has another winner! I bought my Purifier in September 2008 and it is well worth the $$. What a difference it has made regarding my allergies and typical household odors. LOVE this product, AND the Walmart pricing!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonnie2U
Chillicothe, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Good value
12/9/2009

Customer review by storm9767

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by storm9767
by storm9767

I've had many air cleaners and this one has impressed me more in a week than most have in months. The highest setting can be as loud as other air cleaners but the middle setting will push more air than most and you can barely hear it. I've bought several other air cleaners and after purchasing this one, I'd say spend the little bit of extra money on it. You can really tell it's circulating air through it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
storm9767
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Wonderful Product
6/24/2009

Customer review by monniele

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by monniele
by monniele

I needed to find a HEPA filter to help with my cat and dust mite allergies. This machine has done wonders. Not only do I notice a reduction in dust in general, but I am able to breath better. We loved this item so much we got one for our bedroom and living room!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monniele
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
A noticeable difference!
9/22/2013

Customer review by Steve1pt0

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by Steve1pt0
by Steve1pt0
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Might be a little early to review since I've only had this for about a week, but so far, very good! After one day I could definitely notice and feel a difference in the air in my large basement room. This unit seems to move a lot of air, enough that I don't feel bad at all for not getting the larger model. This unit might be loud for a small to medium sized room. It sounds like...a fan...and if it's on speeds 3 or 4 I have to either turn my TV up to hear it over the unit better or turn the fan speed down to 2 or 1. Again, this is in a large basement room. At night I like to have it run on the lowest speed as it works for some good white noise/background noise. I'm hoping that this unit reduces the amount of dust I see around the room. It gets bad rather quickly. I find myself dusting every 3 or 4 days so only time will tell if this unit helps reduce the dust or not. But either way the air feels cleaner already and feels so much better to breathe. I'm coughing less and feeling less irritated. Another thing I like is that this unit blows a pretty solid stream of air, so the air in my room is moving now and feels less stuffy. Noticeably cooler too which I like. I wouldn't say the build/materials/quality is cheap overall, but it looks and feels a little bit cheap to me, but then again, I'm picking about the things I buy. But it should be solid enough to last a long time if you are not dropping it or abusing it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve1pt0
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
powerful air filter
10/29/2008

Customer review by BakerChic

4.0 stars 10/29/2008 by BakerChic
by BakerChic

The product reviews on this site held true to the product delivered. The highest setting is a little loud and the output of air from the unit is strong. When the device is on, it's like an additional fan blowing into the room. I use this filter in a smaller room and find that it dries out the air if left on for longer periods of time, particularly while sleeping. I would recommend using it with a humidifier under these circumstances.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BakerChic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 170 total reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews