Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 112 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews
Clearing the Air
12/27/2008

Customer review by StridersMom

4.0 stars 12/27/2008 by StridersMom
by StridersMom

Since I suddenly decided to break down and start filling my house with air purifiers - I can't speak to long term use. I have terrible sinus problems & allergies off and on. After rescuing 6 cats over the last 5-10 years and raising a 2yr. old, indoor, German Shepherd - It was time ! Since I have plugged in this purifier, I have certainly noticed a lot less dust, swirling danderweeds, and the air seems cleaner. Limited to smaller units because of cost - it is working great in a bit larger room than the specs have indicated. The permanent Hepa filtration is probably worth any up-charge compared to other purifiers. It is also quieter than a different brand I already had. I do not keep the "ionizer" feature on constantly because of reports that "some" ionizers can actually cause respitory damage, so if the room traffic is unusually busy - I'll kick it in while I'm out shopping, etc... Overall, my kitchen is alot better for it. I'll probably buy another for the bedroom or an add-on room, too.

Was this review helpful? (109) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StridersMom
North Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome filter for the price!!
9/14/2011

Customer review by 91bravo

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by 91bravo
by 91bravo

I did a good amount of research about HEPA VS TRUE HEPA before I got a purifier. I am in Afghanistan so the option to shop around was a no-go. I decided to buy this for the wife because she was deciding whether to give away the 2 cats she rescued or just deal with her allergies. 1 is a long hair domestic and the other is a short hair. She is very sensitive to just about EVERYTHING inluding fresh cut grass, pollen, etc. Very first day she got it, turned it on and left the apartment. Upon arrival, she felt a complete change in the air. According to her, she does not do anything different so I know it is the filter. At full speed, It's as quiet as our ceiling fans that are on 24/7. We live in Florida, on the third floor in a 1 bed/ 1 bath of 828sqft and this was better than I expected. The value is great especially since the filters last for 12 months. I am definetly going to buy another when we upgrade to a bigger apartment or a house. Well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful? (73) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
91bravo
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little machine
2/11/2016

Customer review by sarabee

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by sarabee
by sarabee

I read all the reviews before I bought this product because I know nothing about air purifiers. I'm 60 and my husband and I don't smoke and I have been having trouble with pneumonia off and on for 10 months could not get rid of the infection ever since we moved to this apartment we live in now. Finally it dawned on me let's try an air purifier so I read and researched and came across this little gem and this has a ion with it, we could only order it online great price and we received it in 3 days...I was so excited I plugged it in right next to my side of my bed, my husband dusted the room really good first and within one day I stopped coughing which I could not stop coughing know matter what the doctor gave me and the amazing part is the dust dose not come back like it did everyday here....it was dusty...my bedroom literally became dust free and everything else it says it removes....I had an x-ray last week and for the first time my lungs were completely clear! ! It's not nosey or loud at all so don't worry about that, it comes with a hepa filter and another filter that you wash about every 3 months so you won't be paying a arm and a leg for filters...hope this helps someone, take a chance you can always return it to walmart but I can bet you wont.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sarabee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value for True HEPA
10/13/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/13/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've worked in laboratories which used HEPA filtration to keep the environment sanitary and free of cross contamination. HEPA filtration is far superior to other forms as it traps smaller micron sized particles. That having been said, the Holmes True HEPA Allergen remover is a fantastic value. You only need change the HEPA filter about once a year and they sell for $39 for a pack of two. The first night I used it, my sinues opened up and I had an amazing night's sleep. Good for a bedroom size of 10 x 12 max. It was a little noisy at first but seemed to quiet down after a few hours of use. I leave it on low for constant filtration but I would recommend an AIR-O-SWISS humidifier to use with it. The two will give you the perfect, moist, allergen free environment for the best night's sleep ever!

Was this review helpful? (131) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Allergic to my own cats and I’m a smoker
1/24/2014

Customer review by krissi1231

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by krissi1231
by krissi1231
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So I read the reviews before I bought this and was slightly concerned about all the people saying how loud this unit was.. So I should start with saying that we run small fans in the summer (like a box fan or one of the fans that turn back and forth that’s a foot tall) this unit is not as loud as any of the fans.. Even on its highest setting it’s still not as loud as a household box fan. If this unit is too loud for you then you must have super sensitive ears or live in absolute silences.. Seriously this unit is not loud!! Now I use this unit in my girl cave where I usually watch TV my two cats that’s I’m allergic to lay with me on the couch. It did take about two days before I noticed a huge difference in the room but man it really cleans up the air. Now let’s add in the smoking … for those of you that smoke you know when you have put the cigarette out and you still have smoke floating around the room 40 minutes later from that one cigarette well not anymore with this unit!! Even as your smoking you can see the smoke disappearing as you go and within one to two minutes after putting it out the smoke is completely gone from the room this unit rocks!! I never shut this unit off its runs day and night not sure if that makes a difference

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krissi1231
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good air filter, similar to one recommended by CU
1/21/2014

Customer review by Hobbescat

5.0 stars 1/21/2014 by Hobbescat
by Hobbescat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of these air purifiers, they are good for small rooms, 9x9 feet. They seem to do a good job as we have a several cats and I am allergic to dust that collects on the cat hair and dander. I purchased this model as it has a true HEPA filter, an ionizer than has an on and off switch and a similar larger size Holmes purifier did very well in the Consumer Reports reviews. (CU did not review this specific model. Many other brands did very poorly on the CU tests.) I have had it for a month, it seems to work well. My allergy is better now. (Also have been vacuuming more often with definitely helps.) Overall, I am happy and ordered two more for my other rooms - I think it is better to have two small ones as opposed to one large one, the large ones are noisy and sound like a jet is taxing in your living room. The HEPA filters are $30 for two and they last for year or so. Definitely worth the extra cost to go with the true HEPA filters to get the deep micro cleaning they do - if you go with a cheap washable filter, you are not getting the same benefit. The purifier has three speed settings, I run them at high during the day and medium or low at night - I think the high speed does the deepest cleaning. Medium and low are not very noisy and can be used while sleeping, high seems a little loud for sleeping. It would be nice if they had timers, I may buy some wall socket timers - I think running them on high during the day would be fine. They are made to be ran continuously so you dont need to worry about them wearing out. It has a five year warranty too.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hobbescat
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well, not an allergy fixer.
9/9/2016

Customer review by Julia

4.0 stars 9/9/2016 by Julia
by Julia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems to work well for my smaller sized bedroom. This was a last ditch effort to not wake up miserable from allergies ( I live in FL), but alas, I cannot take it with me everywhere I go so just going through the night with cleaner air is not enough. This has helped a little, but I did not experience a significant difference in my allergies after using this for a month.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I was looking for
2/21/2016

Customer review by Thomas

5.0 stars 2/21/2016 by Thomas
by Thomas
Walmart associate

Did quite a bit of comparing before I settled on this on this little unit and found it to be just what I was looking for. It is compact, portable, and easy to move from room to room. It is simple to operate, having only two controls. One is the ionizer, which can be operated independently from the fan control which has 3 speeds. It has a hepa filter and a foam pre-filter which can be cleaned and they are both easily accessed. All in all, a good air purifier which does just what I wanted it to do.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
GREAT PRODUCT AND PRICE
4/29/2008

Customer review by LMMJ

5.0 stars 4/29/2008 by LMMJ
by LMMJ

I BOUGHT 2 AND USE THEM IN BEDROOMS AS THEY ARE GOOD FOR SMALL ROOMS. I HAVE SEVERE ALLERGIES AND WITH ALL THE POLLEN LATELY I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS. I LIKE THE FILTERS ONLY HAVE TO BE CHANGED ONCE A YEAR.

Was this review helpful? (147) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LMMJ
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
6/15/2011

Customer review by LuvOOShop

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by LuvOOShop
by LuvOOShop

I got this after my old air purifier started to die and very happy with my choice even now. I do not need to change the filter for a number of months but I bought replacements and even opened up the back to see what to expect once i do need to use it and it seems simple enough. My room is quite small so i usually keep the settings to medium and turn the ion feature on when im not home and everything is going well. Only complaint is i wanted it to be abit less noisy but hey atleast i can hear that it is working. lol

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvOOShop
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
High quality allergen removal as promised.
10/26/2012

Customer review by UberGoober

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by UberGoober
by UberGoober
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ever since I moved into my new apartment, I've been waking up wheezing and coughing from some kind of indoor allergen. After cleaning exhaustively to no benefit, I decided to purchase one of these Allergen Removers to see if it made a difference. In short - drastic change for the better! After running this in my room for less than 24 hours, I was already waking up far healthier and I have continued to breathe easy in my bedroom since, though I'm about to sue my landlord because he's unwilling to pay to remove the mold in our ventilation system. After a few weeks of solid use I would highly recommend this product to any allergy & asthma sufferer.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UberGoober
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just doesn't work
11/18/2012

Customer review by theotherwhiteguy

1.0 stars 11/18/2012 by theotherwhiteguy
by theotherwhiteguy

I have allergies, but not sure what kind since I've never been tested. I have a room that's an optimal size for this "air cleaner", but I've felt no difference. I still sneeze, have an itchy nose/throat and wake up with my sinuses irritated. Not sure if it's supposed to smell different or cleaner in the room, but there is no change. There's 3 different settings; Really low, low, and really high. The 2 lower settings must be completely useless if the highest speed is optimal for a 9x9 room. The highest setting is quite loud (due to air passing through the small chambers on the unit - visible just behind the grill in the picture) I've had the unit running for 3 days straight and the filter has collected very little physical material. I find that odd since I live in an older building plus 3 cats & a dog, there's a lot of material in the air. I'm sure if someone thinks this unit works, it's the placebo effect telling them the air is nice.

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/9/2015

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. This information has been forwarded to the appropriate department.

theotherwhiteguy
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Holmes True HEPA
5/3/2016

Customer review by Vashanna

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by Vashanna
by Vashanna

The Holmes Air Purifier is small, it packs a huge punch in eliminating smoke order, pet order and other air particles. I live next door to a heavy smoker and they have several large dogs, this machine is a life saver, especially because I have a sick child. I regret that I have not purchase an air purifier many years sooner. I highly recommend this purifier if you have smokers and pets in your building, and you suffer from allergies or hate the smell of smoke coming into your home. I have this purifier about two weeks, and immediately my family notice the different in the amount of smoke we were smelling and the pet orders. I am going to purchase this purifier for my mother.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vashanna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good
11/20/2011

Customer review by 4EverNeverCaliGrl

4.0 stars 11/20/2011 by 4EverNeverCaliGrl
by 4EverNeverCaliGrl

Not sure if this works well or not, I don't have allergies so you may want to read a review from someone who does. I bought this because the house we moved into smelled a bit weird and there may be mold. There are also two smokers who smoke outside, but I wanted to make sure my son and I while pregnant couldn't get any second hand smoking. I'm sure it works however, this one doesn't seem to take away bad smells like the other one I have for the living room which is bigger and costs a bit more.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4EverNeverCaliGrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Makes a difference with 3 Cats
5/2/2010

Customer review by LoveTheBlueRidge

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by LoveTheBlueRidge
by LoveTheBlueRidge

We have been very pleased with our air cleaner. It is very easy to clean and is quite. You just don't realize what is in the air around you until you have an air purifier. The first time I cleaned it was quite a suprise. We are very glad we purchased our Holmes True Allergen Remover.

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveTheBlueRidge
Nebo, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent loyal little machine
11/18/2015

Customer review by KDL608

5.0 stars 11/18/2015 by KDL608
by KDL608

I definitely feel I owe it to this little machine to give it a fivecdtstcrating. We bought ours almost years ago for the nursery of our six month old. We bought for the dual purpose of air purifier and sound machine. On high it produced the perfect amount of white noise that was very soothing. We ran it on hight everyday during naps and all through the night. Now four years later we've had to retire it being on it's last leg it's very noisy and changed pitches as the motor struggles to perform, but I'm sure it would've lasted much longer if I had actualy changed the filter, I'm embarrassed to say we never did! But hey you have to admit that In an age where "they don't make things like they used to", four years is a good long run for using it as often as we did! I'm planning to purchase this same little machine again!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KDL608
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ABSOLUTELY GREAT VALUE!
2/11/2014

Customer review by girlygirlny

5.0 stars 2/11/2014 by girlygirlny
by girlygirlny

Wow, wow, wow! After reading the many helpful reviews, I knew this product would be a winner ... and it is! I ran it for 1 hour in my bedroom ... walked in and the air was fresh and clean. I live with a smoker, 3 cats and we all suffer from allergies. I'm going to buy another one for my living room!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
girlygirlny
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cleans the air slow and and good
3/2/2010

Customer review by cheapshoper

4.0 stars 3/2/2010 by cheapshoper
by cheapshoper

i just got it yesterday and i love it. its a bit noisy but i sleep with a fan and a humidafer that drains out the sound of it. i like that it has three fan speeds and that u can put it in a small room and it cleans the air. i would recommend a bedroom for this product. but not to big of a room. the filter is a nice size and u only have to replace it once a year. like i said it a bit noisy but only if u have it one high fan setting. low and middle fan setting is quiter and they recommend u use the middle fan setting for everyday use. so what are u waiting for? go buy it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheapshoper
eht, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
9/3/2016

Customer review by fayeinflorida

5.0 stars 9/3/2016 by fayeinflorida
by fayeinflorida

This product made so much difference in my home. My allergies are much better now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fayeinflorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great liitle air cleaner
12/24/2013

Customer review by eviemmm17

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by eviemmm17
by eviemmm17
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have it in my bedroom. It is small, quiet and does the job for the price.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eviemmm17
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews