Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 24 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Overwhelmed...
11/18/2008

Customer review by teleche

5.0 stars 11/18/2008 by teleche
by teleche

I bought a Vizio 41 inch flat telly last Christmas. I loved it. Sept 15th of this year it was stolen (home invasion) and I was heart-broken. Finally, after waiting and researching, I saw a Vizo 46 inch for sale at the same price as the 41 inch. Wowie! I had my heart all set and gung-ho to get my Vizio 46 inch telly. Last minute, I ask the young clerk, what he thought. "Which is the better." as I noded to the display of televisions. With out a doubt, hands down, the SHARP 46 inch. Oh, yeah! Picture is incredible. Colors are so rich and lushes. Resolution in crystal clear. The contrast is 7500 cintrast ratio compared to most that are only 2000/3500 contrast ratio which gives a better and smoother look to the screen during movement or action. Great volume and volume control. Get this...The black is really black. I never realized what that meant until now. It's energy efficient which is a plus. When you turn it off, there is not light that stays on and drains your electricity. I truly am thrilled with this SHARP television. Did, I mention that it's only 3 inch thick. Oh ,my goodness! Oh dear, this modern technology is mind boggling.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teleche
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
100% Satisfied
5/1/2008

Customer review by vegasj900

5.0 stars 5/1/2008 by vegasj900
by vegasj900

This LCD is great. I am very happy with my purchase. Plenty of hook up`s, very nice sound, and a super SHARP picture make this a great choice. I tried a 42" Philips LCD 1080p, and a Sanyo 42" LCD 1080p. The Philips had a great picture, but i was very unsatisfied with the sound. The Sanyo was ok, but was lacking menu and control options, So I decided to spend a few more bucks and all I can say is WOW! You get what you pay for. This set has super rich colors. The menu is simple to use and makes it very easy to make adjustments or changes. I don`t have anything negative to say about this set or the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vegasj900
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
disappointment
12/1/2008

Customer review by asaint

2.0 stars 12/1/2008 by asaint
by asaint

After much research, my husband and I purchased this TV on 11/23. After hooking it up to the HD cable box on 11/24, the picture was not at all impressive. The speakers had a loud chiming noise coming from them. It would silence after a while, and would return after turning the channel. Also, the picture would flicker quite a bit when set on a channel. Maybe we were unfortunate, and purchased a defective TV. We exchanged the TV for a Sony Bravia, and are so glad we did. We are both sitting here, amazed at the picture. The channels without HD are still better than the HD channels on the Sharp. This sharp was a huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asaint
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent HDTV
11/29/2008

Customer review by Trini2debone

5.0 stars 11/29/2008 by Trini2debone
by Trini2debone

I had my doubts when I chose this LCD HDTV over the Sony Bravia. I compared them side by side at the store and it seemed the Sharp Picture quality was better but this was in the store. When I took it home I was pleasantly surprised that the picture quality was even better when I hooked it up to my HD cable box. I later found out this TV had a 7500:1 contrast ratio as compared with the similar Sony that only has a 2500:1 ratio. This made the Sharp far better at displaying rich color, especially during sports and cartoons. You can really see the difference. Sound Quality was also a lot better than expected. Didnt even hook up the surround yet and it sounds great. Just remember to adjust the bass, and trebble at higher volumes. I would recomend this TV over the Sony 46". Oh and the price wass right too!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trini2debone
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An all-around great value
8/9/2008

Customer review by Tonkowner

5.0 stars 8/9/2008 by Tonkowner
by Tonkowner

Having used the product for approximately six weeks now, I am convinced that I made the right purchase. Picture quality, sound, and features (offerings and ease of use) all surpassed my expectations (not to mention a perfect fit on my mantle). Of course, the premier test was how it handled pre-season football and the Olympics...it gets an A+.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tonkowner
Gruver, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/22/2008

Customer review by ForCryinOutLoud

5.0 stars 10/22/2008 by ForCryinOutLoud
by ForCryinOutLoud

I like this tv. We have owned it for two weeks and the picture is very good. The major problem is you must have great cable reception or you will get a constant flickering, blue light at the top of your screen on certain channels as the unit searches for more power. Unfortunately, these are channels we typically view. I called support and was told Sharp requires alot of cable power and I should contact our cable company to request a booster. I did and they added one. Problem persists so I guess there is no fix. I believe the tech support because we never have a problem when watching dvd's. It seems so strange because the channel and volume selection (the ominous blue light) flickers on these channels even though the picture seems so perfect. This is a definite design flaw Sharp will have to address because the word will certainly get out and people will avoid this product. I searched online and found another person who voiced their resentment as this problem drives them to the verge of insanity. Decidedly, this annoyance may force us to take it back and exchange for a Sony or Vizio. We have a few more weeks to decide. This is a $1500 investment (with tax and additional warranty) and decisions have to be made that we will have to live with. What a shame when it has such terrific potential.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ForCryinOutLoud
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Psst...Want a great 46" TV?
10/23/2008

Customer review by Hoohah

5.0 stars 10/23/2008 by Hoohah
by Hoohah

Having "settled" for this model in lieu of other choices that weren't available in store (not Walmart), I am very satisfied with the quality and ease of use of this product. Start-up was easy, and the picture and sound are excellent using my DirecTV HD services. Great item from Sharp at a great price. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hoohah
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TWO THUMBS UP
8/26/2008

Customer review by dblm

5.0 stars 8/26/2008 by dblm
by dblm

We looked at all the 1080 big screens for months and we are delighted with this selection.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dblm
Bristol Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV experience
10/31/2008

Customer review by imo35

5.0 stars 10/31/2008 by imo35
by imo35

I have had this Sharp tv for one week now and have been very pleased with my investment. I did not compare the display with others in a store; I did all my research on-line and ordered the tv on-line. I figured I would pay a little more for a Sharp (the earliest innovator of LCD technology), and even though this is not an Aquos model, this tv has everything I need. Looks awesome hooked up to PS3 games (have not watched a Blue-Ray movie yet though), and Dish HD satellite reception is very good as well. I highly recommend this tv if you are looking for a quality LCD flat screen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imo35
jackson, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What a bang 4 ur buck
11/2/2008

Customer review by 66redmustang

5.0 stars 11/2/2008 by 66redmustang
by 66redmustang

Watching sporting events what a picture and the sound.Had a 32 inch in the room nothing like this 46 inch.A very good buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
66redmustang
Philadelphia,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Grade A
7/3/2008

Customer review by xtim59x

5.0 stars 7/3/2008 by xtim59x
by xtim59x

This model is one of Sharp's most recent introductions to the LCD market, which is why it is difficult to find reviews for it online. The picture quality of the LC46SB54U w/out HD connected is decent, but not outstanding...as it is a mid-grade model (Non-Aquos). However, with the HD connected, the picture quality is amazing...Very clear, beautiful rendering of colors, including deep blacks and bright whites. I strongly recommend modifying the factory picture settings, making sure to significantly reduce the sharpness to roughly (-7), and also reduce the brightness and backlight settings, to achieve the optimum picture. The 6ms response time makes it so there is minimal ghosting when watching sporting or fast moving events. This was a common problem for LCD's in general, which Sharp did a great job fixing. Thus far, I am very pleased with my investment in this television...It actually looks better than many of the top models offered by other brands that have been on the market over the past year or so. I strongly recommend purchasing this TV...Great Price...Great Quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xtim59x
Fall River, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY SHARP
11/5/2008

Customer review by alex4our

5.0 stars 11/5/2008 by alex4our
by alex4our

I order this product on-line which was a breeze,very easy to hook up, to HD cable, picture quality is off the chain, watching sport was so life like, i also have it hook up to surround sound system, which give it a theater fill, a good investment

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alex4our
Atl,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
An excellent HDTV
11/8/2008

Customer review by SatisfiedInGrove

5.0 stars 11/8/2008 by SatisfiedInGrove
by SatisfiedInGrove

This is my first LCD HDTV, so I can't compare it to others I have owned, but we have been very satisfied with everything about this TV. The picture and sound are excellent, the HD definition is great. The remote control is user friendly. I would highly recommend this Sharp TV. It is lightweight and easy to move. It has numerous input jacks and HDMI inputs. For the money, I don't think you can beat it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SatisfiedInGrove
Grove, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
9/6/2008

Customer review by jdrinnc

5.0 stars 9/6/2008 by jdrinnc
by jdrinnc

We purchased this LCD 2 weeks ago, and are thoroughly pleased with our purchase. I was a little hesistant at first due to it only having 2 HDMI inputs; however, since I am using an AV receiver (Onkyo TX-SR606) there was really not a need for more than 1 because all of my inputs are routed from the device to the AV receiver and then sent via 1 HDMI cable to the LCD tv. The color on this LCD is very good, especially when viewing Blu-ray DVD's. When used with an antenna, the "over the air" HD channels are stunning! I currently subscribe to Directv and I am planning to upgrade to the HD package. The sound is also good, but I use my AV receiver to really get outstanding surround sound. I shopped around for quite some time before actually purchasing this model. I purchased a wall mount and placed this unit above my fireplace above the mantel. It is the perfect size and looks great in the living room. I would also recommend purchasing the Wal-Mart 2 yr. extended service plan (only $79.88 on this model). It covers a lot of things-just hoping I never have to use it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdrinnc
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is the one for me, and you!
11/14/2008

Customer review by boyzero

5.0 stars 11/14/2008 by boyzero
by boyzero

It really took me about a year to decide what i was going to do as far as upgrading to an LCD/Plasma tv. My first choice was the 42" Vizio. Everything was great but after a while i felt the 'sound' quality should be better, and i was getting a black fuzzing bar on top of the screen everytime the picture had a bright background or background turned white. I think it was just a bad unit. It is a good starter tv though. So before i returned it, i did a lot of research on this 46" Sharp and another 46" Toshiba. I chose this model due to having a wider screen vertically. And all i can say is, you get what you pay for! The picture quality is superior to others. You just have to play with the picture settings to get it the way you like it. It also has a great feature i use a lot when the little one watches cartoons. It dims the contrast lighting so picture isnt so bright and not so bad on the eyes. On the Vizio, (something i hated the most) you have a big blue menu screen 'in front' of the picture, which it makes very hard to adjust the picture settings. You have to preset, exit menu, if you dont like, menu, preset again, exit again, and if you dont like it, you have to do it again. I was very impressed on the sound quality, on how you can adjust the bass/treble in the menu and just listening to it to suite your likings. Sound is great! Much better than the Vizio. Features are easy to navigate thru and overall, a very good choice! I do like how the black border around the screen is very thin compared to my old Vizio. It looks like you have more screen vertically rather than a 3" belt wrapped around it(Vizio). Complare this to others before you buy and you'll see what im talking about. It gives it a more cleaner look. I took my measuring tape with me and it helped me decide. Open Both pictures of this and any other set here and compare. you'll have to print them out in color and see for yourself. Overall, this is the best choice for me and for what im looking for. I have a PS2 with a component cable and games look awsome. I just cant wait till i get my PS3 this xmas with HDMI! THis is the one to get!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boyzero
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/19/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/19/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This was a great purchase. The Sharpe 46" meets everything I was looking for in an HD TV. I purchased the TV before it went on Sale. Once it had arrived, I was given the new sale price. Can't beat that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV
11/28/2008

Customer review by twotimesty

5.0 stars 11/28/2008 by twotimesty
by twotimesty

I have a Sony LCD in my room, so when I went shopping for a t.v for the family room I was focused on a Sony until my eyes caught the crystal clear picture from this Sharp 46" LCD. The details are spectacular. I highly recommended this TV to anyone looking for a LCD...Better than Sony...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twotimesty
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy it!
11/29/2008

Customer review by Kingpin1755

5.0 stars 11/29/2008 by Kingpin1755
by Kingpin1755

I just purchased this item on the Black Friday special and its truly an amazing TV. I personally think that it gives the competitors a run for their money. The TV looks awesome when playing my XBOX 360 in vibrant mode and I love fact that the TV has a USB input so you can update your set with the newest software updates down the road

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kingpin1755
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NO REGRETS
11/30/2008

Customer review by BIGJOEFROMMEMPHO

5.0 stars 11/30/2008 by BIGJOEFROMMEMPHO
by BIGJOEFROMMEMPHO

I researched the internet reading reviews on many TV's from many stores for several weeks and finally decided this was the best TV for the money. I have no regrets. It performs beyond expectations. The colors are great and and the clarity is good. The sound is ok but I don't have surround sound. If I did it would probably sound better. I do have a have my earphones attached because I am hearing impaired. Understand however that some programs are not as good a quality as some others but that is not the TVs fault. Especially old movies etc. I have Comcast with a HD box. It was easy to set up. I did buy the extended warranty for 2 years just in case. I highly recommend this TV. I am ashamed to say we keep this TV on all the time except when we are at work but it has never failed us.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGJOEFROMMEMPHO
COLLIERVILLE TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Exceptional
11/30/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/30/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this TV on 11/21/08. I loved it. It has some of the best sound on a TV I have ever heard. The picture is just wonderful. Unfortunately I jumped the gun and purchased it right before the Thanksgiving sales. There was a Sony Bravia 46" at the same price. I ended up exchanging it and buying the Bravia because I had just purchased a Sony Blu-Ray player and, besides the excellent picture, they sync wonderfully. Sony Bravia, Sony Blu-Ray... Anyways lookin back in comparison this Sharp has 7500:1 Dynamic compared to the Sony 2500:1 contrast ratio and the Sharp has a 6 ms response time compared to the Sony 8ms. The big seller to me though was that the Sony has 3 HDMI inputs compared to the Sharp's 2 because I have an XBOX 360, Cable box, and a surround sound that need HDMI. Too small of a differene to notice for me but some may gripe. The Sony's "blacks" are darker and richer in my opinion but all in all I would love to have this Sharp back. Too close to call in an overall battle but life or death this Sharp means business.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews