Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

73 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

73 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 stars
9
1-20 of 60 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Hook Up PC Speakers
11/18/2008

Customer review by PastorMike

4.0 stars 11/18/2008 by PastorMike
by PastorMike

Just bought this TV for the bedroom two weeks ago. First off.. I called Emerson.. the TV did not have any HDMI connection for HD TV.. Emerson told me that this model.. while able to receive analog and digital signals with the tuner is NOT an HDTV. The 19" model that sells for 228.00 at Wal-Mart IS HDTV. That aside.. the picture is fantastic.. the DVD player is great.. TAKE THE TIME and change the factory settings on the picture.. READ the owners manual. The only downside.. the sound reminded me of an old AM radio. I noticed the TV has a Stereo Headphone jack.. so I picked up a pair of Altec PC speakers.. plugged them in.. and WOW... this little set is now our go to for watching movies on the built in DVD. I spent just under $15.00 for the speakers.. and just was amazed. Far better now than our big set in the living room. So.. if you buy this TV.. go a few aisles over and pick up a good pair of computer speakers and plug them in. Wal-Mart has the Altec Lansing speakers with a sub woofer for under $25.00.. that set up just rocks.. and set the DVD player to Surround 1.. you will be amazed. Would recommend this TV to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PastorMike
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, Great Value
6/1/2008

Customer review by Kickboxer

5.0 stars 6/1/2008 by Kickboxer
by Kickboxer

Excellent picture quality, light and compact. The sound could be better but for a kitchen counter, it is perfect. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kickboxer
Parkland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Emerson,service is not their game !!
2/11/2009

Customer review by DV57

1.0 stars 2/11/2009 by DV57
by DV57

I bought an Emerson tv with DVD player. TV was 3 months old , on the third movie the DVD player stopped working.I followed the warranty procedure , took the TV to an authorized service center. They ordered the parts to fix it three times. Emerson never sent the parts. I called Emerson , they told me the parts were not available for their authorized service center. (Imagine that ) and that they will not send me another TV, or give me a refund or send the parts to repair it , or would they pick the TV up to fix it them selves. 6 months later I picked the TV up from the service center and went to Walmart with this problem with Emerson ( Where I bought the TV ). The people at Walmart listened to my problem and took the TV back , gave me store credit towards another TV ( NOT AN EMERSON ) A BIG THANKYOU TO WALMART. To anyone thinking of buying an Emerson, DON'T it's not worth the aggravation if it stops working.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DV57
Quakertown PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Awesome TV, close to perfect!
8/16/2008

Customer review by Geekygamer

5.0 stars 8/16/2008 by Geekygamer
by Geekygamer

I am very happy with my purchase. Set up was easy, and the manual is very clear. I am using regular cable, and this television has great picture quality. The screen resolution is sharp and the colors are great. A downside is that with LCD TVs darker scenes and images are a little harder to make out. The sound is what you would expect for a small TV, not great, but not bad either. This is easy to fix with small computer speakers. I used my old tiny Sony computer speakers, and now my sound is superb. I love the built in DVD player. It is very convenient, and worth the price. I have not tried using my PC with the TV, yet. If you plan to, make sure you buy or already own a VGA and a mini-audio cable. The TV’s remote control does take a little time to get used to because the buttons aren’t arranged as they usually are. Its size and lightweight makes this TV ideal and safe for kitchen, bedroom, or dorm use. If you are looking for a small TV, this one is wonderful. I defiantly recommend buying this TV over a slightly bigger one (22” to 26”) because you will get a better quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geekygamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Space saver
6/5/2008

Customer review by Catsfan

5.0 stars 6/5/2008 by Catsfan
by Catsfan

Very pleased with size of Tv and picture quality is excellant.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catsfan
taylorsville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good TV
2/13/2009

Customer review by serenity851

4.0 stars 2/13/2009 by serenity851
by serenity851

This TV is for my children's room and it is great. They are able to use the tv by themselves and are able to operate the DVD no problem. The only issue is the sound is tinny, but on all the LCD TV's we own the problem is the same. I don't necessarily think the problem is with this particular TV, but a proble with all flat screen LCD tvs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
serenity851
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Honest Opinion
3/1/2009

Customer review by JawsMcBling

4.0 stars 3/1/2009 by JawsMcBling
by JawsMcBling

Having this tv for a few months i have to say it is good to own. The price is fair for this product. The sound is good but for my opinion i would have to say its better for a small bedroom than a living room. The picture is something that u can enjoy it, if you dont like the picture u can always adjust it. For the only flaw that i have with it is with the games, it has a very tiny delay time. The delay isnt so bad for any other games besides guitar hero, The delay is something you have to get use to, after you get use to it youll be fine. So all in all this is a good product to buy and i do recommend buying it. Remember this is my own opinion ur experience will be different from mine so remember that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JawsMcBling
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You do need PC Speakers, :)
2/17/2009

Customer review by no1Uknow

4.0 stars 2/17/2009 by no1Uknow
by no1Uknow

I was looking for a small TV/DVD combo for my bedroom, and came across this one. The previous review was EXTREMELY helpful, and just as he suggested, I purchased the Altec speakers and VIOLA! He wasn't kidding, you truly do need speakers, unless you like the AM Radio sound (I don't, have a Sony Bravia in my living room and live for sound). Aside from that, picture quality is perfect, as is the built in DVD. Once you READ THE MANUAL, and follow the set-up instructions, you're good to go. I had no problems whatsoever with my set. If you're gonna complain, as some have, then splurge the big $$ on an expensive set. Great deal!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
no1Uknow
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good buy with some limitations
4/30/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/30/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Having previously purchased an Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV (Model SLC195EM8), I was already aware of the limited audio out capabilities -- no standard stereo L & R outputs. I am running out of the headphone jack into a stereo system, and the sound is great. Changing channels is quite a bit slower in Digital mode. My biggest disappointment was that, although listed as an HDTV on the Walmart web site, the TV is not an HDTV. It is capable of receiving HD signals and converting them to standard format. No bid deal -- I don't intend on getting an HD provider, but Walmart should not list it as an HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Midwest Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product for a short time
10/13/2008

Customer review by GIIgirl

1.0 stars 10/13/2008 by GIIgirl
by GIIgirl

I bought this tv Dec 2006, the TV was great for the price. But it only lasted til Oct 2008. Emerson was not helpful at all with getting the TV fixed. Thank god I purchased the extra warranty but now I have to ship the TV to their shop to have it repaired. This TV had very low usage time. They seemed to be making TVs more disposable these days. I won't buy an Emerson every again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GIIgirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Taking it back
11/4/2008

Customer review by kl46

2.0 stars 11/4/2008 by kl46
by kl46

Just bought the emerson tv/dvd combo yesterday. First off, there are no codes to program with my satellite remote control. Emerson was no help at all, none. Dish wasn't either. Said no codes available for that tv. That's why I use one remote for a tv...don't want to use a different one just for sound etc. As far as audio goes. It is terrible. The little under the counter set I have in kitchen is much better. So, it's going back asap. I won't be purchasing another Emerson product again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kl46
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a deal
11/25/2008

Customer review by RGM1

5.0 stars 11/25/2008 by RGM1
by RGM1

I purchased this TV today. Very easy setup. Only had to put the stand onto the TV. The speakers are not very good. Not a problem, since I bought the TV for the bedroom. I only watch it when my neighbors are to loud. I love the DVD player as part of the TV. I bought my first DVD player about a year ago. I had a TV in the bedroom, but I wanted to be able to watch DVDs. Now I can. Very good picture, and the instructions are easy to follow from the manual. For the price it can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RGM1
Mascoutah, Illionois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not so good
1/30/2009

Customer review by Happy74

2.0 stars 1/30/2009 by Happy74
by Happy74

I was given this TV for Christmas 2008 and I was SO disappointed. It picked up very few channels and the sound quality was TERRIBLE. Someone described it as an old radio sound and they were SO right. For a kids room it may be ok but if you are looking for overall good quality, I DO NOT recommend this TV. I took it back and went to Sam's and bought a Magnavox 19" and I love it!!! It was a little more money, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy74
Would recommend to a friend? No
not so good
12/3/2008

Customer review by AMS44067

3.0 stars 12/3/2008 by AMS44067
by AMS44067

nice light weight TV, easy to set up, sound alright. Tried to play DVDs that I have recorded from TV, most of them don't play, although the manual says the player plays DVD R and RW, it DOES NOT. Played a store bought DVD, had to adjust all settings, picture was all red/blue/purple and way too dark. I will probably return it for a different one. WalMart gives me 15 days to decide. I have it for 3 days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AMS44067
North Olmsted, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
3/5/2009

Customer review by irishrose

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by irishrose
by irishrose

I ordered this product via Walmart Site to Store service and had it in 10 days. The T.V. itself is easy to set up and with my Dish Netwirk connection the picture is great. I took someone's suggestion and also ordered the Altec PC speakers. I could not be any happier with my selection. Only hope that i can say the same thing a year from now. I ended up spending about half of what i thought i would.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irishrose
Pensacola, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor
11/13/2008

Customer review by bradnjan

1.0 stars 11/13/2008 by bradnjan
by bradnjan

Bought it today, hooked it up, and it goes back tomorrow. Picture is passable, sound is about as good as a radio from the $1 store, and the DVD player will not play video CDs (like every other DVD player I've used will). Since I bought it for my wife's playroom for her to practice her video CD karaoke, it is useless. Very disappointed at the poor quality overall.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bradnjan
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/24/2009

Customer review by Diva4Sho

4.0 stars 2/24/2009 by Diva4Sho
by Diva4Sho

I wasn't sure if I wanted to get this product because I didn't know how good the quality would be. But for the price I said "what the heck." It's in my kitchen and I am very satisfied so far. As for the sound I guess if I wanted to I could add surround sound or something. Overall, I'm satisfied and it shows a nice picture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diva4Sho
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
PLEASE Read reviews B4 purchasing TV!! (I DIDN'T)
4/15/2009

Customer review by GunnyJ

1.0 stars 4/15/2009 by GunnyJ
by GunnyJ

I purchased this last Oct 08, and I should had returned it but somehow I decided to keep it. It's not worth it. TV is very nice, HOWEVER, the VOLUME always goes down in the middle of the show, etc. The Digital channels can be heard better, but the regular channels (cable) must turn volume higher in order to listen to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GunnyJ
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Speaker Sound
3/20/2009

Customer review by TWAteacher

1.0 stars 3/20/2009 by TWAteacher
by TWAteacher

The speaker system is inadequate. Because it had a DVD included, my cable system remote (FIOS) was unable to comply with the various product numbers and we are limited to how high we can adjust the volume. Some programs, perhaps those that are not HD, sound muffled and we have to strain to hear what is being said.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TWAteacher
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/22/2008

Customer review by Muffin24

3.0 stars 12/22/2008 by Muffin24
by Muffin24

Nice little TV with DVD player. Bought for bedroom and do wish it was a few inches bigger. Picture is fairly clear, just don't stand right in front of it. Plays DVD's real well. Could have been priced cheaper for the size but at the time I didn't want to spend any more. Overall would recommend for a small room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muffin24
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews