Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 162 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

162 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

162 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
28
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 stars
34
1-20 of 136 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Great "Bang For The Buck"
4/21/2008

Customer review by FHSoldier

4.0 stars 4/21/2008 by FHSoldier
by FHSoldier

I bought this TV on a whim, in order to complement a 42" Vizio Television I bought a few weeks before. It's a great "Bedroom TV" size, although I think it's a bit small for most living rooms. I purchased the TV for $538 at my local Wal-Mart. The boxed TV is surprisingly light. Included is the TV (LCD) Panel, a stand, a remote control, five phillips screws and associated washers, and two AA Batteries (for the remote). Unpacking the TV was simple. You lay the box on the floor and slide the television out. There are four styrofoam pieces that hold the unit in the box. The LCD is shipped double wrapped in a protective foam bag, to prevent any scratching. The remote, manual, screws, and batteries are in a protective bag taped to the TV wrapping. The Stand comes wrapped in a foam bag, and encased in cardboard to protect it. Once the LCD panel is unwrapped, the stand attaches with five phillips screws to the bottom of the unit. Assembly took less than two minutes, but a phillips screwdriver is an absolute necessity when purchasing this unit. Slide in the two heavy duty locking tabs, then put in the screws. Simple. The remote control is very attractive, with a glossy finish, and all available functions labeled clearly. The keys are very responsive, yet require a deliberate push to register, which I thought was an excellent touch. As soon as the input (in this case, standard coaxial cable) is connected and the television is turned on, the onboard software guides you through channel scanning and setup. By default, the television displays standard "Pan and Scan" 4:3, but two presses of the display button on the remote control puts it in the proper aspect ratio. There are plenty of inputs, including 1 HDMI, 2 Standard AV, 2 composite, and S-Video. Inclusion of a digital audio input was a very nice touch. The television can be operated without the remote, with basic function keys located on the top of the unit. (Which may be an annoyance if the TV is placed in an enclosed entertainment center). Personally, for the price, this television is an excellent value. The contrast ratio (1000:1) is better or equal to similarly-sized consumer-quality TV's that are priced higher. The only shortcoming I could find is the lack of a second HDMI port. With more and more consumer electronics shipping with HDMI, and the fidelity of an HDMI signal as opposed to other inputs, I am surprised it did not ship with a second HDMI input. I would have gladly sacrificed one AV input and both component inputs for the inclusion of a second HDMI port. This isn't a TV I would use for a high-end home theater setup, but hooking up standard cable, a DVD player, and a PS3 or Xbox 360, this unit should prove more than adequate. In conclusion, this LCDTV is an excellent value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FHSoldier
Fort Hood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Incredible purchase!
4/26/2008

Customer review by RockwallTXguy

5.0 stars 4/26/2008 by RockwallTXguy
by RockwallTXguy

You just can't get a better deal ANYWHERE! I've searched through many retailers for a name brand LCD TV at a reasonable price point but just couldn't find one until I looked at wal-mart.com The HD picture looks great! With the money I saved on the TV purchase, I got an HD upverter DVD player to bring my regular DVDs to HD quality. The picture is so clear and I am totally satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockwallTXguy
Rockwall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't overlook this product!!! Great deal!!!
5/22/2008

Customer review by mr777

5.0 stars 5/22/2008 by mr777
by mr777

I had origanly purchased this product based largley on price. I was looking for a larger tv and had a low buget in mind. I've found that this is the largest HDTV I could find for the price I had in mind. I've had this HDTV for about 10 months now and love it!!! No problems at all. I went into the store to check it out before I bought it and compared to other brands of simular size, i didn't notice any great diffrance in picture quality. I set it up and the picture looks good from all veiwing angels and is great for watching movies in the dark. Standard TV is pretty grainy, but that's to be expected. I've ran Component and HDMI. HDMI is truly the way to go. 1080 looks amazing!!! I don't really have anything negitave to say about it. Yeah... it's not one of the higher end names like Sony or Phillips, etc. But for the price, Emerson has put out a great product. It may not have all the features of bigger names, such as RGB connections and the picture & sound settings are pretty basic to say the least. It has only 1 HDMI connection which can be a little anoying if you are trying to run multiple sources on it. My mother just bought a 32" Vizio and honestly I can't tell any great differance bettween the two other than the Vizo has a whole lot more picture features that are pretty confusing and complex and don't really alter the picture that greatly. Oh yeah... It's also a lot more expensive!!! I've even put them side by side and played around with the picture settings. I'd actully pick my TV over her's! The Emerson has a very smooth picture and I've noticed the Vizio at times can almost have a too digital looking picture to it. If that makes sence. It's hard to explain what I'm trying to say. Also, I think the sound in the Vizio is pretty bad in comparison. The so called "souround" feature on it makes it sound too pitchy almost like you're in a tin can or something. I think the sound on my Emerson is great. Nothing spectacular but I run my sound through a souround system anyway, and why wouldn't you if you're going to have an HDTV. Overall, you just can't beat what you're getting the price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mr777
Galt, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the price?
11/29/2008

Customer review by CheapSkate2

3.0 stars 11/29/2008 by CheapSkate2
by CheapSkate2

I picked this emerson unit up on black friday for 388.00 If you want a very cheap 32" LCD then I don't think you can beat the price. Pros: Price Cons: must scroll through all of the inputs everytime you go past 99 on the channel up-down button to get back to ch 3. to get to HDMI 1 you must cycle through video1 video2 component1 etc. every time no tilt or swivel on the base - limited right to left range of the remote picture quality makes my VIZIO 32" plasma that I also got at Walmart look absolutely stunning and the vizio doesn't have any of the annoyances mentioned above either. nowhere do they list the "response" time - I would not be surprised if it were 12ms or more. The emerson seems a lot grainer, a lot less detail in darker shadow areas of picture. In fact, I have an older RCA standard def analog LCD tv that looks as good as this supposedly HD unit. I bought this as second display for a PS3 that is hooked up to a projector - am not sure if I should return it and spend an xtra 100 or so for a diff tv. I am disappointed in the picture quality but I guess its what one should expect in a $388 32" tv. I would not buy this as my main tv to watch - you are better off spending a bit more on a Vizio, Sony, RCA, etc.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CheapSkate2
CT-USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS TV!!!!!!!
11/10/2008

Customer review by TVguy123456

1.0 stars 11/10/2008 by TVguy123456
by TVguy123456

I bought this tv on 11-04-08 and returned it on 11-09-08 because the picture quality is HORRIBLE. The sound quality is good but the picture is pathetic. The price is great but you get what you pay for. I returned this tv 5 days after I bought it and got the Sony Bravia 32" and it is a great tv. Trust me spend the extra $100 and get the Sony.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVguy123456
Greenwood, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy
1/16/2009

Customer review by ProductReview999

5.0 stars 1/16/2009 by ProductReview999
by ProductReview999

I bought 2 of these TVs. Loved the price and loved the brand. I was looking for a 32" TV for the bedroom in my primary home and wanted a 32" TV for my weekend home. This TV satisfied both needs. There are many inputs for multiple devices. My home TV is connected to satellite service and my 2nd TV is hooked up to regular cable. The picture is great on satellite HD channels and even good on regular cable. The TV weighs like 20 lbs, so transporting it was no problem - I just wish someone could have moved my old tube TVs! Not sure what else to say but since this is the first time I've bothered to write a product review, I would say the product is worth an evaluation by anyone who once an HDTV at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProductReview999
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
would never buy again
6/2/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/2/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After having less than 1 year, the "main board" went out. Parts were covered but labor wasn't. It was going to cost me more than a third of the price of a new TV to pay labor on a "found out later" plug in part. Funai, the parent company, would do nothing to get the price "fair". They wouldn't try to investigate it or anything else. I was left holding a TV not worth fixing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
puxico, mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
be ware don't get fooled
11/1/2008

Customer review by damagedgoods62

1.0 stars 11/1/2008 by damagedgoods62
by damagedgoods62

Well i bought this 32" Emerson tv at wal-mart in march 2nd 2008 it worked great,good picture ,sound,etc. but oct.30th. i went to turn it on and it wouldn't turn on,i noticed the standby light wasn't on. Took the tv set in and had it looked at.They told me the power source was burnt out and that it was a common problem with the Emerson 32"sets. (cost more to fix it than to buy a new set) Wow it only lasted 8 months .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
damagedgoods62
Brainerd,Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Please read! Very helpful information below!
5/26/2009

Customer review by MomOf4Kids2008

3.0 stars 5/26/2009 by MomOf4Kids2008
by MomOf4Kids2008

I went to the store to buy a Vizio or a Sanyo but the store was out of everything even at there warehouse. So knowing the reviews was 50/50 on this one I stood there and debated. Needless to say I took my chances cuz the price was right. The picture is very grainy but after playing around with the settings I got it to look a little better. BUT HERE ARE THE SECRETS! There is a setting for energy save mode. If you put this setting on "energy save mood off" the tv really brightens up and makes the picture a little more clear. Then after playing around more and more with the settings I came across a "home and retail" setting. OMG! The "home setting" helps save energy and makes it appear on the darker side but the "retail setting" draws more power and REALLY REALLY brightens the tv up alot! I was debating to exchange this but for the price and after finding that "reatail/home" setting it was a whole another world. So I think I can deal with it now after this, for the price. The "retial setting" makes it look like how the tv's look in the stores ha imagine that! The sound is not to bad but we have it hooked up to our surround sound and it sounds awesome. Overall I'd give this a 4 star but it's yet to be debated between a 3 star or a 4 star. So it's your call. If your looking for a budget tv this maybe it for you. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOf4Kids2008
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor quality
11/13/2008

Customer review by omega5

2.0 stars 11/13/2008 by omega5
by omega5

This television worked wonderfully for about 6 months. It now has 6 vertical green lines all the way through the picture. It is bad enough that the tv needs replaced. The sound quality is not great. The picture was always VERY dark. I would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
omega5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ausome TV
4/14/2009

Customer review by Ausometv

5.0 stars 4/14/2009 by Ausometv
by Ausometv

I love this TV, it is ausome!! Very lightweight, and very easy to set up. Great picture and sound. I would recomend this to everone, a great product for such a great price!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ausometv
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome product
3/23/2009

Customer review by Alyssa3135

5.0 stars 3/23/2009 by Alyssa3135
by Alyssa3135

I have only had this product a couple hours, but I can still say that it is awesome! It is a great value for a great product. The only thing I have to complain about is that I didn't get the screws to connect the tv to the stand, but that wasn't a big deal; we had a few in the junk drawer just like everybody does. I recomend this product to anyone that wants a tv for a low price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alyssa3135
55987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Emerson 32" HD t.v.
4/10/2009

Customer review by QueenofToast

5.0 stars 4/10/2009 by QueenofToast
by QueenofToast

I bought this t.v. last December and it's amazing. The picture is crystal clear with my dish network HD service, it hurts your eyes the picture is so perfect. I have no complaint about the sound quality and it has as many features as a higher cost t.v. I had a hard time choosing between this one and the Samsung and I'm so glad I bought this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueenofToast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
just plain garbage
11/4/2008

Customer review by nomorewalmartever

2.0 stars 11/4/2008 by nomorewalmartever
by nomorewalmartever

I purchased this tv when my lg that I got at Best Buy was in the shop. It did not last four months before it stopped working. This might not have been too bad if they did not make it an ordeal to get service. The closest service center is over an hour away and I have to find packaging large enough to repack to send it to the service center. I would recommend that no one buy emerson products.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nomorewalmartever
Newark Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Deal
6/6/2008

Customer review by LebanonOz

5.0 stars 6/6/2008 by LebanonOz
by LebanonOz

5 star ratings are based on comparison with the same size 720p lcd sets. They are not a comparison to high end 1080i/1080p sets. I looked at and played with the settings on all of the 32" LCD HD TVs at my local Wal-Mart on 3 different occasions. I was able to make this one look very good with the feed they had going to all of the TVs in the store. It was as good as or better than the more expensive 32" 720p LCD TVs. I finally bought one and am pleased with the results so far at home. As with all HDTVs, there is no wow factor with the Standard Definition(SD) channels, but they are acceptable. HD channels are very nice. Although I am not a videophile I am sensitive to color tones, sharpness, and brightness/contrast. I will not be using a calibration disk on it. I made it look good to my eye and that is what counts for me. Based on the specs the only disadvantage would be brightness is 360 versus 450 or 500 for most other sets but that did not affect my ability to make it look good. Out of box it was a little too red and little too bright for me - I dialed those back and am happy with the picture. Speakers are 5 watts versus 10 to 15 watts on the more expensive units, but volume output is fine and the speakers actually had a little more bass than some of the other TVs I compared too. Keep in mind that a little more bass is actually nothing to write home about with the small speakers in this class of TVs. I don't know if it has a QAM tuner (to get digital channels off the standard analog cable feed) since I don't know whether our cable company supports it. It did not find any digital channels when we did autoscan with it plugged into analog cable (with no cable box). I don't see any mention of QAM in the manual. The menu and setup is easy to use and intuitive. The remote is well thought out with dedicated buttons to: - Change the display from standard, full, zoom, etc - Change the input selection(antenna, HDMI, etc). - Capture still image - Display channel Info - Audio: Stereo, Mono, language selection - Sleep Timer - Last Channel, Mute, Volume, Channel, number pad, navigation pad, setup and power. Based on my experience, this is a great deal. You can get the TV plus the extended warranty for less than the base price of the more expensive brands and I think the picture quality is just as good as the other 720p 32" LCD TVs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LebanonOz
Lebanon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
really nice tv for price!
1/5/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this tv recently. love the picture quality. good tv for price. no problems so far!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
albuquerque
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Super product for a Super price...
8/5/2008

Customer review by tucg15

5.0 stars 8/5/2008 by tucg15
by tucg15

I was looking for a decent 32' hdtv set for my bedroom and didn't want to spend a huge amount of money and man did I find one! The picture on this tv is awesome. I didn't need full 1080 because I have a larger tv that is 1080 in the living room so the 720 was perfect. This picture is so comparable, if not down right better, than so many sets that were at least $200-300 more I am amazed. I used the money I saved to buy an extended warranty, real nice tv stand and hdmi cables. I HIGHLY reccommend this tv. You cannot beat the price and you will not be at all disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tucg15
Garwood, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awsome Buy
10/16/2008

Customer review by matwiej2

5.0 stars 10/16/2008 by matwiej2
by matwiej2

Great price for a fantastic flat screen TV. I have only had it for a couple of weeks but it is very user friendly and the picture is great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
matwiej2
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than some
1/6/2009

Customer review by pyie

5.0 stars 1/6/2009 by pyie
by pyie

I exchanged my sanyo for this and am liking it ! Its simple and better thought out on its menu and the channel scan that the higher name brands. picture good, sound good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pyie
Denver Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT BUY!!
6/13/2009

Customer review by chdedyta

5.0 stars 6/13/2009 by chdedyta
by chdedyta

I bought this TV Black Friday online. Got it and set it up and have been happy ever since. I would recommend this TV to anyone on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chdedyta
Coon Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews