Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

70 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

70 reviews | 4 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 stars
5
1-20 of 64 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Best bang for the buck!
6/1/2008

Customer review by BBSBOY

5.0 stars 6/1/2008 by BBSBOY
by BBSBOY

Background Unlike some AV enthusiasts who shop for the latest and the greatest, I held off my HDTV purchase until I finally have to: my 32" old CRT TV is dying. My condition of TV purchase are the followings: 1) cheap but with reasonable features, 2) can work within my existing home theater environment, and 3) can display 1080p. For example, I don't really need Picture-in-Picture, but I need to be able to change picture aspect easily. I don't want to toss out my otherwise working receiver just so I can use HDMI, which is lacking on my existing one. Also, since I waited long enough, 1080p should be my reward. Shopping Given these preconditions, there are only limited choices in the 40-47" range 1080p HDTVs made from Sony, Vizio, Sanyo and Magnavox. At both 42 and 46 inches, Sanyo's offerings are the cheapest. So that satisfied price limit. Originally I wanted to buy the 42" Sanyo, but when I went into local Walmart to check out all the TVs on display, the 46" one looks better than all other TVs there (which include Vizio and others). Later I went to Sanyo and other vendors' website to check their TV spec., I realized that my eye did not fool me: the Sanyo 46" has got a 3500:1 contrast ratio, better than their own 42" (2000:1) or 52" (1500:1). With regard to competing offers, the Vizio's 42" is good (2000:1), but their 46" is not competitive ($100 more expensive, 1000:1, and *without* dynamic contrast feature). The dynamic contrast feature was missing from the 46" Vizio model Walmart sells, which surprises me since their 42" has that. This feature helps improve contrast in an all dark or all bright situation, but won't be able to do much if your image spread the whole light intensity range. Result So I bought the 46" Sanyo for about a week now. It is easy to hook it up to my existing home theater environment. One complication compared to previous CRT TV is that now the Sanyo TV will not be just at the final passive video output end, but it will also produce digital audio which can be fed to my receiver to generate surround sound. So my connection now is to get the video from my receiver to the new TV, and also send the TV's digital audio via a coaxial digital audio cable back to my receiver. Pros 1. Extremely satisfying video quality at 1080p. Our local public TV broadcasts most of their programs in HDTV 1080p, and that picture was really great. I think the auto picture mode work fine, but you can also choose to manually adjust picture settings. I bought the Blu-Ray Terminator2 disc which comes with a home theater calibration feature, that helped me adjust this TV. 2. No nonsense extra features; the user manual is easy to read and basically what I expect from a CRT TV replacement; you don't have to set the time on the TV, for example (why was that "feature" needed on a TV is beyond me). 3. The remote has an easy button Pix which switches among four different aspect video modes to suit your particular TV station signals. Still, many local TV stations broadcast in 4:3 ratio and having such a button on the remote saves a lot of trouble; note that the Vizios require you to go into the TV menu system to change this. Cons 1. Just one composite/s-video input; I wish I could have another one for old DVD connection since the Macrovision DVD protection prevents my DVD video to be routed through my receiver. However, if you will be buying a new Blu-Ray or DVD upscaler this won't be a problem since you can use one of the three HDMI connector. On a side note I bought the PS3 as my Blu-Ray player and I like it. 2. The remote's up and down channel buttons do not stay within the type of signals you are selecting. For example, if you push up while you are in the last digital channel, it jumps to video input rather than the beginning of the first digital TV channel. Similarly, if you push down while you are in the first digital channel, it goes to the analog TV channel. There is also a INPUT button to switch signal types, so I would have limited the channel selections within each type if I had designed this remote. This is just a minor problem since you can also use the number keys to jump back to the beginning channel. Conclusion Over in all, this is the cheapest 46" HDTV 1080p I can find, and its value and quality is definitely not the cheapest. I highly recommend this TV if you are thinking about replacing your old CRT TV.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBSBOY
Ames, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Pic
5/24/2008

Customer review by bjohn

5.0 stars 5/24/2008 by bjohn
by bjohn

Replaced a (52") Magnavox rear projection TV. Have not yet upgraded to DirecTV HD....after plugging it in, I wonder if I really need to. Awesome picture using S-Video from my existing DTV box. Also bought a RCA 1080i upconvert DVD player. Connected via HDMI, this thing was absolutely crystal clear. I highly recommend at this price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bjohn
Canon City, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value HDTV
4/30/2009

Customer review by Highduster

4.0 stars 4/30/2009 by Highduster
by Highduster

This set had the best picture...brightness, color, contrast of all the sets on display in the store. But they were out of stock. The on-line order came on time and the set required no set-up other than plugging in and connecting the cable. Picture quality was as good or even better than the set in the store. And for a price 2-400 dollars less than other sets! The built-in speakers are just adequate.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Highduster
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good look...
12/19/2008

Customer review by biskit129

2.0 stars 12/19/2008 by biskit129
by biskit129

I just read a review from another buyer that sums up my experience thus far with this TV. I never do reviews on products, but I just wanted to reiterate this so buyers will be aware that this is no isolated incident. I have had two of these TVs in less then a month. The first had a spot of a few pixels that never changed color. The second TV, just died this morning. I can hear the audio but the picture flashed once on startup never to return. I am a computer tech, so yes I checked EVERYTHING in my power. Many of these TVs are defective apparently, there is a review from another guy how received a Sony for the equal price of the Sanyo from Walmart. Lets hope they will be as accomodating with me tomorrow, when I take this junk back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
biskit129
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sanyo 46"
11/10/2008

Customer review by motherof12345

2.0 stars 11/10/2008 by motherof12345
by motherof12345

If you don't have HD box, don't purchase this tv. It is being returned as we speak. Picture quality was awful except for cartoons. The color was nice sometimes but a very grainy picture. It got better if you shrunk the picture down but why pay for a 46" to watch a 32" and have a big black border. Channels were slow to change and we hated the remote.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motherof12345
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Lousy Picture Quality
12/29/2008

Customer review by skricha

2.0 stars 12/29/2008 by skricha
by skricha

Lousy Picture Quality I bought this Sanyo 46” 1080p LCD as a Christmas gift for the family. I paid $1098.00 for it. It was easy to setup and easy to use; it just did not have a great picture. Sometimes it was good, but other times lousy; from one scene to the next. The picture was bright; it was just sort of grainy and washed out whether watching digital SAT or DVD, it didn’t mater whether hooked up with HDMI, component, S, or composite video cables. It does not give you much control over the picture quality, just very basic control settings. I used to be a Cable TV and Satellite installer, so I know how to make a set look good, but I could not get this one right. I returned it to Wal-Mart for an exchange. The Visio 47” 1080p LCD was on sale. It was $215.00 cheaper, 1 inch larger, and came with a free HDMI cable (30 – 60 $ value). My family opposed me wanting to exchange the Sanyo, they thought it was fine, but they were definitely sold when they saw the difference in the picture quality after I setup the Visio. It may be that the Sanyo I had was defective, I don’t know. But it would have driven me nuts and I would have driven them nuts, so were all thrilled with the Visio.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skricha
Bloomfield, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better quality with another brand
3/13/2009

Customer review by rockwhatUgot

2.0 stars 3/13/2009 by rockwhatUgot
by rockwhatUgot

OK we have had this TV for about 2 weeks now and it has not lived up to our expectations. We were so excited to get everything hooked up but was very disappointed almost immediately. We have the HD reciever through the cable company so no one can say this guy was probably just watching regular TV and not HD, but complaining for no good reason. Oh no. We got all the hook ups and HDMI cables, etc. The TV is advertised as 1080P right? It is definately in 1080I. At some point when I was randomly hitting buttons on the remote, I came to a screen that said plain as day 1080I which is NOT what I thought we purchased. The TV itself along with the box it came in clearly displays 1080P everywhere. So the picture is nowhere near as good as it SHOULD be. Also we thought we were having bad luck with 2 different movies when the sound kept going incredibly staticy like a cell phone with very bad reception. But sure enough as I was just now trying to watch Hells Kitchen, it went all crazy again on me. The TV itself also gets very very warm. The heat radiates about 2 feet away from it. My point folks....... my gut instinct told me to spend the extra $200 and get a Sony Bravia. I was very hard headed thinking I could use that extra money towards a blu-ray player. I should have listened to my gut. Thankfully, Wal-Mart has a very generous return policy and I will be exchanging this set for that Sony Bravia that I really wanted in the first place.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockwhatUgot
Kernersville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/30/2009

Customer review by redbubba

2.0 stars 1/30/2009 by redbubba
by redbubba

Would not reccomend this tv to anyone. The picture quality is awful and the remote is very difficult to program. only owned it a few days and i would like to send this set back. very discusted with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redbubba
va.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
STAY AWAY FROM THIS!!!
3/21/2009

Customer review by opinionatedLee

1.0 stars 3/21/2009 by opinionatedLee
by opinionatedLee

I DON'T EVER GET TO SAY WHAT I THINK, BUT TODAY IS MY DAY. STAY AWAY FROM THIS TV!! IF YOU READ DESCRIPTION ON THIS YOU WILL SEE WHAT I MEAN. IS THIS TV A 2000:1 CONTRAST RATIO? OR IS IT A 2500:1 OR BETTER YET, A 3500:1. DO THEY REALLY KNOW? THE DESCRIPTION STARTS WITH A 2000:1, THE BOX SAID 2500:1, THEN THE SPEC SAID 3500:1. REGARDLESS, THE TV IS WORTHLESS. EVERY TIME WE TURN IT ON, IT HAS NO SOUND, SO YOU GO THROUGH AND END UP HAVING TO RESET THE WHOLE THING. MOST OF THE ANALOG CHANNELS ARE MUCH BETTER THAN THE DIGITAL, AND YES I UPGRADED MY CABLE BOX. MY HUSBAND HAS A THING WITH REMOTES, IF THEY DON'T DO WHAT HE THINKS THEY SHOULD HE WILL DESTROY IT, THANK GOD I WAS SMART ENOUGH TO HIDE THIS ONE. WE DIDN'T EVEN GET A MANUAL WITH THIS TV.. IN DOING SOME RESEARCH, YOU CAN GET A BETTER TV, WITH BETTER CONTRAST RATIO, (LIKE 30,000:1) BETTER FEATURES AND ALL AT BEST BUY OR HHGREGG, AROUND THE SAME PRICE. SO THIS THING IS GOING BACK, WE HAVE HAD IT ALMOST A MONTH, WE THOUGHT IT WAS US, BUT WHY WOULD I BUY A 46" LCD HDTV TO WATCH A 32" PICTURE? AND THE PIX FEATURE, WHEN YOU GO UP AND STRETCH IT, EVERYTHING GETS OUT OF WACK. GOOD LUCK IF YOU DO GET ONE THAT WORKS HALF WAY.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
opinionatedLee
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Good Value
8/8/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/8/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This TV is everything I expected it to be. I am just an average TV viewer- not a fanatic by any means. I did quite a bit of research before I bought it, so I felt confident I knew what I was getting. If there is a negative side, it would be that it does not have picture in picture. But it does have 4 different size screeen options, which I was not aware of. The sound is just okay, nothing spectacular, but I am planning to hook it up to surround sound as soon as I can afford it. Overall, this is a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
west coast, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sanyo46
12/6/2008

Customer review by junior21

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by junior21
by junior21

Bought this tv per online ad for $798 plus 2 year extended warranty for 50 bucks. Bought because of price point and assumed picture would be acceptable because I have DirecTV and HiDef. Wow was I mistaken, picture is outstanding and I will now consider other lower price models for other rooms in my house. But just a note, make sure you have a hi-def source or you will constantly wonder what all the fuss is about.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
junior21
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best TV I've ever gotten
4/9/2009

Customer review by xgreysanatomyxx

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by xgreysanatomyxx
by xgreysanatomyxx

This Sanyo 46 inch flat screen television is the first flat screen, high definition t.v. I have ever owned. It is crystal clear and has excellent sound. Simple to use, yet it has several useful features. Xbox 360, Wii and Playstation2 look great on it. The only reccommendation I would give is that you should trade in your cable box for an HD cable box. For most cablevision plans, the upgrade to an HD box is free. Most of your frequently watched channels come in high definition and it definitly makes a big difference in picture quality. Overall, Sanyo is a great brand for the every-day television watcher!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xgreysanatomyxx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sanyo 46" HDTV 1080p
12/8/2008

Customer review by savinmaven

5.0 stars 12/8/2008 by savinmaven
by savinmaven

We lucked out at the pre black Friday sale. Just happened to be at Walmart and there were these TVs just sitting there for $798. (had no clue about the sale) We just couldn't believe it so we put one on hold to think about it and returned to the store to make the purchase. We are so glad we did. After hooking up with the HDMI cable and the HD box from our cable company, the picture was PERFECT! We purchased the Phillips surround sound DVD player from Walmart as well and hooked that to the TV with the HDMI cable and WOW! We really enjoy watching movies now - it's incredible. But yes, you MUST use the HDMI cables for both the cable and the DVD player or else the picture is grainy but that is because you are not watching in true HD. We are very happy with our purchase - we love our Sanyo and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
savinmaven
Jamesburg, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Yes, yes, yes!
10/15/2008

Customer review by blossom452

5.0 stars 10/15/2008 by blossom452
by blossom452

After researching televisions...LCD v. Plasma; 720i v. 1080i and amounts of HMDI ports, I finally decided to purchase this Sanyo. I have never been happier. It took five minutes to get the set out of the box; another three minutes to read the installation manual and another three minutes to plug in the sources and watch a great picture. I selected two buttons and the set found all my audio/video sources. Wal-Mart's price beats any local store for this item by about $400. The shipping fees were extremely low.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blossom452
Dayton, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Highly recommend
2/17/2009

Customer review by highlyblessed

5.0 stars 2/17/2009 by highlyblessed
by highlyblessed

I brought this TV alittle over a week ago and i have to admit i was kind of iffy about buying this one. I went into the store in hopes of buying a 52" but they were sold out. I really wanted a big screen so bad i decied to go down to the 46" sanyo and it have got to be the best purchase ive made in awhile the picture is alittle unclear but if you buy the HDMI cord you'll see a big difference. I was so pleased with te overall picture i went out and brought a 32" sanyo the next day. The remote is as easy as a piece of cake, the manual walks you through the initial installation process. i highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
highlyblessed
Baltimore Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV
6/24/2008

Customer review by GitchyGoomee

5.0 stars 6/24/2008 by GitchyGoomee
by GitchyGoomee

I bought this TV and it is amazing. After a year of reading TV reviews and trying to find the best deal for my money this TV did all that and more. The only complaint I have is that the remote is a little to simple and could use more deatures directly built onto it. But that is just a personal preference and the remote overall is still very user friendly. For the money I also purchased the extended service agreement just to make sure I have an extra few years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GitchyGoomee
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Product
12/20/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

A very good product, bright, bold colors, good sound but expensive, I think the prices will come down in the future, just as our first TV did in the early 1950s. I have recomended it to all that have seen it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Coos Bay, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT BUY
8/17/2008

Customer review by COOKIEGOODBAR

5.0 stars 8/17/2008 by COOKIEGOODBAR
by COOKIEGOODBAR

PICTURE IS AWSOME AND THE PRICE YOU CAN'T BEAT IT .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
COOKIEGOODBAR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/22/2009

Customer review by Shonuff36

5.0 stars 2/22/2009 by Shonuff36
by Shonuff36

Purchased this LCD yesterday after about 2 months of searching and reading reviews and I am pleased with this buy. Got it home, took out the box and the stand was already installed. Only took five minutes to hook all my equipment up to it ( it took me about two hours to put tv stand together). Made a few ajustments to picture and it was just like the picture in store. Also purchased a Phillips Up-converting DVD player, picture looks great!!! Just make sure that you use HDMI cables. All in all, I am very happy and I highly recommend this LCD. Don't forget to get that extended warranty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shonuff36
Tuscaloosa, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/22/2008

Customer review by bdr1987

5.0 stars 12/22/2008 by bdr1987
by bdr1987

I bought this tv for use with my Xbox 360 and it looks beautiful through HDMI. However regular component hookups look really grainy to me. Not sure if all HDTVs do this but it is evident if you're sitting closer to it. But anything via HDMI or YPbPr looks excellent. It's very bright even with the lights turned on. I like how it has an audio out on it, so anything that goes through HDMI I can still run to my older reciever with no HDMI ports. This was actually a hard feature to find while I was browsing other 46" tvs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bdr1987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews