Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

155 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

155 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 133 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews
Nice TV-I'm glad I bought it
6/7/2008

Customer review by sokrdad

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by sokrdad
by sokrdad

The Sanyo brand has been good to me with other items so I took a chance since the price was so reasonable for a 42". It was basic plug and play and in business. Very user friendly. The worst thing I can say is the sound is not the best. I have mine hooked to my stereo receiver and that took care of that issue. The picture is excellent and I have not had to make any adjustments so far for color, contrast etc. There is a bit of blurring in high-speed action but it's not excessive. Directv hasn't gotten the HD installed yet so I can't comment on HD from that, but I am seriously impressed by the quality of the picture playing BluRay movies and games on my PS3. I'll probably never go to a theatre again unless I dont want to wait for the DVD. I don't think you will go wrong with this TV.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sokrdad
Tishomingo, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv
12/23/2008

Customer review by tvwatcheralso

5.0 stars 12/23/2008 by tvwatcheralso
by tvwatcheralso

I purchased this tv on black friday for $595.00. After installing it I was not happy with the picture so I contacted the associate in electronics at our local store. I explained that the picture was not what I expected and he assured me the tv was capable of an excellent picture as witnessed by the store model. He suggested I call the cable company to be sure I was getting a true HD signal. Sure enough, the cable tech told me my cable line had been installed for quite a while and was obsolete and would not carry an HD signal. At no cost to me, they rewired the house and wired a dedicated line to the tv. Result was a beautiful picture. I was watching a program that was an HD program about the Alaskan wilderness and the picture reminded me of 3D. It seemed as though I could walk into the tv and step into the picture. It was so clear and sharp I could see the variations on the bark on the trees.The snow sparkled like diamonds and there were wolves in the picture and I could see the hair color variations as the picture was so vivid and clear. Even at the regular price, it's a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tvwatcheralso
Copley, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
this is a very helpful product
7/26/2008

Customer review by womansbestfriend

5.0 stars 7/26/2008 by womansbestfriend
by womansbestfriend

I own this tv and i promise you nothing but enjoyment from it! I knew what i wanted in a flat panel tv when i got ready to purhase mine and honestly im so happy this is the one i chose......the color and the picture are awesome and the resolution is even better. The picture you will receive in the hd channels,you couldnt possibly ask for more out of a tv,please take my advice and purchase this tv when you are ready,im saving the money now to purchase another one exactlylike it! I hope my review will help you on purchasing ur first flat panel tv,you will not regret it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
womansbestfriend
Middletown,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed
9/11/2008

Customer review by MTRF

3.0 stars 9/11/2008 by MTRF
by MTRF

I went to the local Walmart to look at the different brands and chose this one because it had the best picture - yeah, in HD it does but non-HD channels look blurry. Tried to adjust it but it doesn't improve. We had it professionally installed too and the installer said that's the best picture we'd get from this TV. We'd be better off with our old CRT.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTRF
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
6/4/2008

Customer review by TVkid

5.0 stars 6/4/2008 by TVkid
by TVkid

Our new Sanyo 42" Flatscreen TV is everything we expected it to be. We love it! The picture, the sound, it's overall look! Excellent product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVkid
Edmundston NB (Canada)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HD troubles
5/4/2009

Customer review by walmartshopper8282

4.0 stars 5/4/2009 by walmartshopper8282
by walmartshopper8282

Everything worked well with the set up till we plugged in the HDMI cables. We have a ps3 and a cable box that were both hooked with HD and with both the screen would go blank and we lost audio when the channel changed or when we started up a game. The only way to fix this was to turn off the set and then turn it back on. We had the set for 2 weeks trying to figure out what we did wrong then decided to try customer support. 10 minutes later the customer support guy told us to return the set to walmart. We exchanged the set for the DP42849 model which is the same set, just newer...works great so far. Audio seems better and the screen is awesome, better than in the store. Overall good product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartshopper8282
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Bigger Better Picture of Your Dreams!
4/25/2008

Customer review by vegasj900

5.0 stars 4/25/2008 by vegasj900
by vegasj900

This is a great LCD for the price. I bought the 42" 720P and returned it for this one. The picture is outstanding! I notice a huge difference between this one and the other. I hooked up surround sound and put on a DVD and was blown away with the crisp picture. I like the fact that Sanyo offers a one year over the counter exchange if there is a problem with the T.V. most of the others are 90 day. I have tried many others and have a Sony and Panasonic in my other rooms, The picture quality on this set ranks right up there with those two. The set is just like the 720P model as far as the stand and frame style, with the buttons on the lower left side. The remote has a bit of a face lift. I do not have an HD source as of yet. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vegasj900
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great TV !!!
8/24/2010

Customer review by EGSEGSEGS

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by EGSEGSEGS
by EGSEGSEGS

Great picture quality and features. Decent sound quality. Comprehensive I/O hookups. Easy to get up-and-running. Great price. I might get another one to use as a rather huge computer monitor(!) for my high-end computer setup, since my computer's video card has a HDMI output. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EGSEGSEGS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
42in Sanyo 1080p
5/29/2008

Customer review by Associate2316

5.0 stars 5/29/2008 by Associate2316
by Associate2316

Great TV great price, comes with 3 HDMI ports and 3 video ports fully 1080p with HD tuner so you don't have to buy a HD receiver. Had Sanyo TV's for about ten years never had a problem with them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Associate2316
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Buy Extended Warranty
8/24/2008

Customer review by jens22

4.0 stars 8/24/2008 by jens22
by jens22

I will be returning this Television after about 10 hours of use over the first 48 hours I have had it. The sound fades in and out, and sometimes completely goes out. I really like the picture wish I had some more HD channels to watch. After about 3 hours of use for some reason the television just turned off on its own?????? I will try to exchange it for another but while I am at the store making my return I will be purchasing the Extended Warranty that Wal-Mart offers for Plasma and LCD TV's.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jens22
ST LOUIS MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
xbox 360 and ps3 1080i only
3/21/2009

Customer review by gadgetdad1975

2.0 stars 3/21/2009 by gadgetdad1975
by gadgetdad1975

I have an xbox 360 and I was able to use 1080i but not 1080p when I called Sanyo they said that this TV is unable to display in 1080p using the xbox 360 and the PS3 they can only display in 1080i. Well I purchased this product assuming that it displayed in 1080p because it says it on the TV and on the box, but apparently the TV is 1080i not 1080p according to Sanyo. Don't believe call them yourself and or do a google search on this TV using the model number DP42828. The 1080i still looks good but if I wanted 1080 i I would have purchased a cheaper TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gadgetdad1975
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
read the fine print
1/19/2009

Customer review by hardworkingmom2

1.0 stars 1/19/2009 by hardworkingmom2
by hardworkingmom2

I PURCHASED THIS TV TWO YEARS AGO AND JUST LAST YEAR BEFORE THANKGIVING IT WENT OUT. I ALSO PURCHASED THE THREE YEAR WARRANTY. READ THE FINE PRINT BECAUSE SANYO DOES NOT HAVE PARTS TO FIX THE TV IF IT BREAKS DOWN. IT IS JAN 19,2008 AND I AM JUST GETTING THINGS RESOLVED WITH THE WARRANTY CO. THEY HAVE OFFERED A TOSHIBA IN REPLACEMENT BUT YOU DON'T GET A WARRANTY IN CASE IT BREAKS. YOU CAN GET A REFUND BUT NOT A FULL REFUND ONLY FACE VALUE. WHICH IS WAY LESS SINCE THE TV'S HAVE GONE DOWN DRAMATICALLY. BEFORE YOU BUY ANY TV FOR SUPERBOWL. BUYER BEWARE. THE WARRANTIES ARE NOT WHAT YOU THINK. THEY WERE PROBABLY HOPING MY WARRANTY EXPIRED BEFORE THE TV DID.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hardworkingmom2
EAST ST. LOUIS, ILLINOIS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the bucks
11/16/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/16/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this tv due to the price and quality of Sanyo. Boy, what a big let down. I only had this tv for 59 days and it went completely out. Called Sanyo corporation and they told me to take back to store. When I got to the store a customer was also returning a sanyo 52 in hdtv. His product did the same to him and he had already returned one before this 52 in. Got another brand of tv and it was cheaper by far. Not to mention that it has alot more better picture,sound,qualityand many more features. Wolud not purchase another Sanyo to save my soul.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Smiths, Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
47 inch Sanyo LCD TV
5/28/2008

Customer review by nettieshops

1.0 stars 5/28/2008 by nettieshops
by nettieshops

This was the worst product I bought. The sound fades in and out all the time. 6 months after I bought this TV the picture tube went out. I returned the TV and bought a different TV from a different manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nettieshops
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Picture Quality of any 1080P HDTV's
5/6/2008

Customer review by Bruuuuce

1.0 stars 5/6/2008 by Bruuuuce
by Bruuuuce

This TV was in the center isle, with no display to view, we almost passed it up for that reason. But decided after looking at the specs that we would try it. That was a mistake, that had the worse picture of any HDTV we have seen, now I know why it didn't have a display model. We took it back and got a Vizio, much better picture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bruuuuce
SE Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Welcome Home!!!!
12/5/2008

Customer review by wing71

5.0 stars 12/5/2008 by wing71
by wing71

I just recently returned from Iraq with the U.S. Army. My wife had asked me what I wanted as a surprise. I told her I wanted a Big screen T.V.. My wife went and purchased a Sanyo 42" 1080p LCD. I walked in and nearly fell over at the sight of the T.V. upon my return home. I am very impressed with the picture and the audio on it. I was expecting she would have paid well over a thousand but it was cheaper than what I expected. Thank you Sanyo, Wal-mart, and my wife for making a returning soldier very happy!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wing71
Avon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
12/6/2008

Customer review by redshoat

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by redshoat
by redshoat

Just bought this set, brought it home hooked it up and watched the football games. Did not need to adjust anything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redshoat
Dierks Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best LCD TV Under $1000
8/2/2008

Customer review by Worland

5.0 stars 8/2/2008 by Worland
by Worland

The screen is brighter than any other LCD on the market. In this price range, it offers very good video resolution and refresh rate. Standard cable/satellite video looks a bit blurry. You'll definitely want to upgrade your cable to HD. Standard DVD's look fantastic; HD DVD is superb. Like all LCD's, video looks better the further away you are from the TV. Give yourself at least 8 feet between TV and viewers. Audio is powerful at 10W, but there is no way to adjust treble/bass. The set-up menu is very basic with few user selectable options. There are numerous (7) video inputs of all types. You'll have to spend $500 more to get a better TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Worland
Worland, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sanyo 42"LCD HDTV 1080p
6/10/2008

Customer review by Cooltom

5.0 stars 6/10/2008 by Cooltom
by Cooltom

I did a lot of searching on 42" LCD HDTV 1080P and I like the Sanyo TV the best . Great Picture and Great value for the price. This TV is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cooltom
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV
2/8/2009

Customer review by MillionDollar

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by MillionDollar
by MillionDollar

When i first bought the tv i have to say i was a little not convince about it. I was hoping i made a good decision about buying it and i am glad i did. A lot of people complain about the sound, if you buy a tv like this, you have to buy a sorround system. Picture wise, i have dishnetwork and they have their Hd reciever and wow it looks awsome, it like if you are inside the tv. Super picture with that. Without the hd reciever still looks good but not great like with the reciever. So far it's been a great Tv, got to watch the super bowl in it and it was awsome. I recommend this tv 100%, great price, picture (with HD reciever) great sound (with sorround system) i cant ask for anymore.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MillionDollar
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews