Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

155 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

155 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 133 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews
The Bigger Better Picture of Your Dreams!
4/25/2008

Customer review by vegasj900

5.0 stars 4/25/2008 by vegasj900
by vegasj900
Walmart associate

This is a great LCD for the price. I bought the 42" 720P and returned it for this one. The picture is outstanding! I notice a huge difference between this one and the other. I hooked up surround sound and put on a DVD and was blown away with the crisp picture. I like the fact that Sanyo offers a one year over the counter exchange if there is a problem with the T.V. most of the others are 90 day. I have tried many others and have a Sony and Panasonic in my other rooms, The picture quality on this set ranks right up there with those two. The set is just like the 720P model as far as the stand and frame style, with the buttons on the lower left side. The remote has a bit of a face lift. I do not have an HD source as of yet. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vegasj900
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Very nice television
11/29/2008

Customer review by yensenm

5.0 stars 11/29/2008 by yensenm
by yensenm

We purchased this T.V. last night to replace a 32 inch tube T.V. that was going bad. We could not be more pleased with this purchase. Picture is great, you can adjust it to suit your preference. No trouble at all hooking it up. The thing that took the longest was putting together the new T.V. stand we got to put this on. After that was up, we put the television on it and I hooked up the Directv and DVD player, turned it on and that was it! You will not be disappointed with this T.V. especially for the price! You can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yensenm
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice TV-I'm glad I bought it
6/7/2008

Customer review by sokrdad

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by sokrdad
by sokrdad

The Sanyo brand has been good to me with other items so I took a chance since the price was so reasonable for a 42". It was basic plug and play and in business. Very user friendly. The worst thing I can say is the sound is not the best. I have mine hooked to my stereo receiver and that took care of that issue. The picture is excellent and I have not had to make any adjustments so far for color, contrast etc. There is a bit of blurring in high-speed action but it's not excessive. Directv hasn't gotten the HD installed yet so I can't comment on HD from that, but I am seriously impressed by the quality of the picture playing BluRay movies and games on my PS3. I'll probably never go to a theatre again unless I dont want to wait for the DVD. I don't think you will go wrong with this TV.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sokrdad
Tishomingo, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv
12/23/2008

Customer review by tvwatcheralso

5.0 stars 12/23/2008 by tvwatcheralso
by tvwatcheralso
Walmart associate

I purchased this tv on black friday for $595.00. After installing it I was not happy with the picture so I contacted the associate in electronics at our local store. I explained that the picture was not what I expected and he assured me the tv was capable of an excellent picture as witnessed by the store model. He suggested I call the cable company to be sure I was getting a true HD signal. Sure enough, the cable tech told me my cable line had been installed for quite a while and was obsolete and would not carry an HD signal. At no cost to me, they rewired the house and wired a dedicated line to the tv. Result was a beautiful picture. I was watching a program that was an HD program about the Alaskan wilderness and the picture reminded me of 3D. It seemed as though I could walk into the tv and step into the picture. It was so clear and sharp I could see the variations on the bark on the trees.The snow sparkled like diamonds and there were wolves in the picture and I could see the hair color variations as the picture was so vivid and clear. Even at the regular price, it's a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tvwatcheralso
Copley, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great TV
12/24/2008

Customer review by gusjet

5.0 stars 12/24/2008 by gusjet
by gusjet

After a lot of research I decided to by the Sanyo 42in LCD. Great picture, nice unit, unbeatable price, for this quality. My last TV was also a Sanyo that why I was confident to but this TV, and I am not disappointed, it was everything I had hope for. I have my DVD , VCR and stereo connected to it and everything works beautifully. Of course the quality of the vcr is not up to HD quality but that's old technology but it is still viewable. Once I had comcast hook me up to HD , WOW were we delighted with the beautiful reception of this television. No matter how much I could have spent, I doubt that any TV would be better, I have seen others and this one is just as good or better. I don't think you can find a Better value out there, and further, if things are wrong walmart gives you a 1 year return policy, who can beat that. I did purchase the add'l two year contract just in case, only $59.00 it is worth it. My last Sanyo is now in my Den and still working after 12 years. All I can say is don't pass this on up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gusjet
Cape Coral, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV At A Great Price!
3/24/2009

Customer review by gazebo

5.0 stars 3/24/2009 by gazebo
by gazebo

I have been researching and looking at HD LCD TV's for a good while. I didn't want to spend a lot of money for a TV that is much cheaper in a year, so I had decided to get a 32-37 inch lcd 720p because the 1080p's were more expensive. I thought that I might come across a display maybe, at a good price. I was at the Cody, WY Wal-Mart a month or so ago, and they had this Sanyo 42 inch, 1080p lcd display at a great price, and I couldn't pass it up! It is quite impressive with great connectivity! I have seen reviews saying that it is an "entry level" HD TV...that may be true, but after using a 220 pound analog TV I am living large! I DID get the extended warranty (which I don't usually get on products) to protect my investment. I have also added the Phillips 1000 watt 1080 upconverting 1080p DVD system, which even makes the Sanyo TV better! For the money, and with good luck with Sanyo products so far, I am extremely happy with my TV! I will keep you posted. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gazebo
Cody, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
this is a very helpful product
7/26/2008

Customer review by womansbestfriend

5.0 stars 7/26/2008 by womansbestfriend
by womansbestfriend

I own this tv and i promise you nothing but enjoyment from it! I knew what i wanted in a flat panel tv when i got ready to purhase mine and honestly im so happy this is the one i chose......the color and the picture are awesome and the resolution is even better. The picture you will receive in the hd channels,you couldnt possibly ask for more out of a tv,please take my advice and purchase this tv when you are ready,im saving the money now to purchase another one exactlylike it! I hope my review will help you on purchasing ur first flat panel tv,you will not regret it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
womansbestfriend
Middletown,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HD troubles
5/4/2009

Customer review by walmartshopper8282

4.0 stars 5/4/2009 by walmartshopper8282
by walmartshopper8282

Everything worked well with the set up till we plugged in the HDMI cables. We have a ps3 and a cable box that were both hooked with HD and with both the screen would go blank and we lost audio when the channel changed or when we started up a game. The only way to fix this was to turn off the set and then turn it back on. We had the set for 2 weeks trying to figure out what we did wrong then decided to try customer support. 10 minutes later the customer support guy told us to return the set to walmart. We exchanged the set for the DP42849 model which is the same set, just newer...works great so far. Audio seems better and the screen is awesome, better than in the store. Overall good product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartshopper8282
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best TV for the Money
12/2/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/2/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a really great TV. The picture is really good. The HD picture, however, is fantastic and is better than some high end TV's I've seen. The sound is solid. It gets HD channels through a basic cable connection (no box) via the Digital Tuner (Free HD, who could ask for more). Wii looks great on this TV. And PS3 with HDMI cable looks UNBELIEVABLE... almost lifelike! Movies played on HDMI upconvert DVD player are spectactular (Transformers is as good as the theater, especially w/surround sound hooked up). The ONLY downside is the lack of advanced features (time, timer, p-i-p, etc.). Also, there is no direct switching between inputs, you must scroll through all the inputs to get the one you want. But if that is not an issue for you (as it is not with me), then I GUARENTEE you will love this TV, especially for under $900. You truly will NOT find a better TV for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/4/2008

Customer review by TVkid

5.0 stars 6/4/2008 by TVkid
by TVkid

Our new Sanyo 42" Flatscreen TV is everything we expected it to be. We love it! The picture, the sound, it's overall look! Excellent product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVkid
Edmundston NB (Canada)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Reasonable 42"
9/2/2008

Customer review by cwarren12

5.0 stars 9/2/2008 by cwarren12
by cwarren12

For those of you new at the Flat Screen Panel TV's and are clueless on where to start, make this your first stop. The picture is beyond words and, considering that there is no obvious different with 720p and 1080p with screens 50" and below, this goes perfectly well with either your PS3 or 360. If you want to hook up your PC to it, go all out as it will support the S-Video input as well. The sound, well, at times i would notice that with certain shows or games that i would play (Wii Sports) it would fade in and out. Not too drastic though. Just enough to wonder why it is doing that. That in itself is an easy fix considering you can hook up a sound system/reciever to it to eliminate that factor. To keep it short and sweet, this is an excellent deal that Wal-mart has on this TV and compared to other brands, (besides Vizio), you would be a fool to pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cwarren12
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed
9/11/2008

Customer review by MTRF

3.0 stars 9/11/2008 by MTRF
by MTRF

I went to the local Walmart to look at the different brands and chose this one because it had the best picture - yeah, in HD it does but non-HD channels look blurry. Tried to adjust it but it doesn't improve. We had it professionally installed too and the installer said that's the best picture we'd get from this TV. We'd be better off with our old CRT.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MTRF
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value and Performance
11/16/2008

Customer review by ActionSportsNut

5.0 stars 11/16/2008 by ActionSportsNut
by ActionSportsNut

This TV replaces a 15 year old 27" SANYO analog tube SDTV. My 2 previous TV's have been the SANYO brand and I have had good luck with quality, durability and value. WalMart had it for sale for $848, which was the lowest price I could find for a 42" 1080p LCD HDTV. I bought it 2 months ago, but just now have upgraded my cable service to HD. I hooked it up to one of the 3 HDMI inputs and output the sound to my stereo speakers. The picture in HD is truly excellent and the colors deep and vibrant. The 6.5 ms response time seems sufficient to avoid blurring in fast action sports and movies, and the viewing angle exceeds my needs. The sound through the built-in speakers is ok for sports where deep bass is not required, but listening to concerts or watching movies requires output to the external speakers. The only annoyance is that when switching between HD and SD channels, it is necessary to manually change both input (HDMI or RF) and PIX shape to get the image to properly fit the screen. I just leave it on HDMI and the correct PIX shape (PIX 2) for HD. I have had no problems so far and am very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ActionSportsNut
Benbrook, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/9/2008

Customer review by Mortisha

5.0 stars 12/9/2008 by Mortisha
by Mortisha

We were looking for 42" tv to replace our 27" tv in our rec room so the kids could play video games on a larger screen because they where always bugging me to play on my 55" that is in my living room. I saw this one was on sale 12/6 starting at 8am for $598 and I could not pass up, I called Wal-Mart on 12/5 and found out they only got 4 in for the sale so myself and my daughter got to Wal-mart about 6:20am on 12/6 and we where the first in line. I also checked prices on other websites and it was selling for $999. Got it home and hookup was seamless. My sons WII and Playstation 2 look fantastic. The Verizon cable box that is hooked to it is one of those small freebie boxes that they offer and the picture is not that bad considering it is not HD and I knew before hand it was not going to be a great picture but I do not mind. May hook to HD box later but like I said it was for kids to play video games on. If you have a chance to pick this up on sale believe me you won't regret it. The picture is so crystal clear when the games are being played I was blown away at how good it looks, I can only imagine how good it would look with HD cable box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mortisha
Spotsylvania, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic for under $850!
9/15/2008

Customer review by PCWizard2008

5.0 stars 9/15/2008 by PCWizard2008
by PCWizard2008

I just purchased this TV on Friday, and my decision was based on the picture quality at its PRICE RANGE. The Walmart where I purchased the TV had all their 40" to 50" sets pushing the same HD programming. They were arranged in a long row on the top shelf. I almost purchased an RCA for a higher price, until I saw how amazing the picture quality was on the Sanyo. The whites were PURE, not dingy like the RCA or Vizios. The colors were more accurate, and the sharpness was great. Even the black levels were darker than the other sets for under $1K. I have the TV connected to cable, with the free HD channels, plus a Vista Media Center PC connected through HDMI.... it looks STUNNING. EXTREMELY bright display with crisp definition. Awesome TV. I sure hope it doesn't break... I bought the 2 year extended warranty just in case.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PCWizard2008
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV !!!
8/24/2010

Customer review by EGSEGSEGS

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by EGSEGSEGS
by EGSEGSEGS

Great picture quality and features. Decent sound quality. Comprehensive I/O hookups. Easy to get up-and-running. Great price. I might get another one to use as a rather huge computer monitor(!) for my high-end computer setup, since my computer's video card has a HDMI output. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EGSEGSEGS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great picture, scant on features
4/23/2008

Customer review by tvbuyeriniowa

4.0 stars 4/23/2008 by tvbuyeriniowa
by tvbuyeriniowa

I really like the picture on this tv, I've had it for 2 weeks and it blows away the 42" vizio. the remote looks generic but does work well. there is only auto or manual for picture control, most other tv's have 4-5 different presets and manual. I wish I could shut off all the inputs I'm not using, as it is I have to shuffle through all 7 to get to the 3 I'm using. analog channels look very good, again much better than the vizio HD is excelent I have a 1080 upconvert DVD player hooked up and it is awesome. I can't wait to get a blue ray player on this thing. I wish I had another $500 to spend on a tv but I don't. this is excellent picture and sound but doesn't have things like picture in picture or freeze or several presets to choose from, no universal remote great picture though

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tvbuyeriniowa
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not bad
8/14/2008

Customer review by ItzieBitzy

4.0 stars 8/14/2008 by ItzieBitzy
by ItzieBitzy

I was looking for the best price and the best picture. Iv been in numerous Wal-Mart's before I made my purchase and this specific tv actually caught my eye every time. It was the best picture out of all the show case models even the better named products like Samsung or Sony. Sure im not spending over 1k on a tv but I do think this tv is the best for your money specially if it's your first HD TV big purchase . The day I bought it it was actually down in price so I even got the extended warranty. I was siked! The only flaw with my tv I have noticed is the picture quality during darker scenes makes the picture a little blotchy. Having an HD tv is great. Besides the dark blotchy scenes this tv is fabulous. Definitely worth the money!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItzieBitzy
Lawrence, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SAVE THE BOX AND RECEIPT!!!!!!!
11/26/2008

Customer review by Trurevu

1.0 stars 11/26/2008 by Trurevu
by Trurevu

I went to the store to purchase a 42' RCA LCD television. Noticing the picture quality of the RCA in comparison to the SANYO, I decided to go with the Sanyo. It looks so crisp and clear and bright in the store. When I got it home, it was a completely different story. It is almost like they designed this television to look real good in HD but to look horrible in non HD. All channels are not in HD. The dark scenes look absolutely terrible!!!! Everything looks so out of focus. I even had a professional technician come and make sure it was set up correctly. Even he agreed it looked terrible and it was hooked up properly. If you decide to purchase this tv, you will be returning it so save your reciept unless you have very low standards.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trurevu
Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Sanyo DP42848
11/3/2008

Customer review by 55tbird

5.0 stars 11/3/2008 by 55tbird
by 55tbird

When I first hooked it up the picture was not a good as the picture on my old 26 in. I upgraded to HD with the cable company and the HD didn’t work well. After working with the cable company I found out the old coax in my house walls wasn’t up to the quality needed for HD and to put a good picture on such a big set. We replaced the coax with the new triple shielded HD coax and the picture is outstanding on regular and HD TV. I hooked up a sound surround home theater system to provide audio. The speaker in the TV can not do justice to the quality of the picture so a separate sound system is the way to go. I added a little more contrast than the factory setting so the picture was a little more crisp to meet my taste.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
55tbird
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews