Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 234 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

234 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

234 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
149
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 stars
14
1-20 of 191 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 191 total reviews
1-20 of 191 reviews
Good for Digital Cable
6/29/2008

Customer review by Sherlockett

3.0 stars 6/29/2008 by Sherlockett
by Sherlockett

I don't have a cable box but I have cable, basic cable. I get analog stations which are good but kind of grainy. One of the features scans for channels analog and DC and others like HD. One feature that is good is you can change the size of you picture by pressing the pixel button to make the picture smaller or bigger if it does not appear the way you want it. The color is different from station to station and some have too much color. It is not easy to adjust, I am not sure how to do this yet. The delete channels was kind of confusing for me once it scanned the stations. I think they should me this easier. If you delete channel 03 on your analog stations it deletes it on you DC cable stations which run different example: Delete channel 03 on analog station then on the cable station DC-03-1 WFSB HD , DC 03-3 WFSB Ne, will all get deleted. The Digital station are really good quality. As far as the video I have my VHF/DVD hooked up to the TV. The videos come out grainy both VHF and DVD. There are 2 or 3 video station and lots of plugs on the side to plug in audio and other stuff. I have not used them yet. Oh one interesting thing. I have a filter on my line because I just have basic cable I have been getting some On Demand stations some intermittently. The cable company checked and said when they switch over to DC completely I won't get them. I would say read more reviews before buying but in general you can get very good DC quality pictures.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sherlockett
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!!
2/9/2009

Customer review by lacrosse988

5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by lacrosse988
by lacrosse988

I wanted a economic television that had quality and this was my choice! I have had this product for a little over a year now and I love it! I would strongly recommend this television for gamers who are on a budget or for college students who want something bigger than a 20"

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lacrosse988
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I hope you brought extended warranty with this TV
11/12/2008

Customer review by frommel2u

1.0 stars 11/12/2008 by frommel2u
by frommel2u

I purchased this Sanyo LCD HDTV in August of 2007. In October of 2008 my TV stop working all together. Sanyo's Customer Service Rep told me that manufacturer warranty had expired and there nothing they can do for me. I told Sanyo's customer service rep I think it's unfair to spend $500 for a TV to only fail two months after the warranty expired. The manager got involved and he said that if I am willing to pay for labor, Sanyo will cover the cost of replacement parts. The labor cost to get this TV fix is going be around $275-$300. I don't know what is included or excluded in the extended service warranty, so, be careful. I cannot afford to get this TV fix. I just spend $500 last year and I at the point where I just want to throw the Sanyo LCD HDTV away in the dumpster. But, in the meantime the Sanyo LCD HDTV sits on my floor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frommel2u
Hammond, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
loved it!
9/1/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/1/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this TV for the main purpose of playing my Wii. I didnt want something overly HD because I dont think its necesairy. This TV is a great size for a bedroom or other room, and has very accesable plugs, and has a nice style remote. Its very easy to set up, you only need to screw in 2 screws on the back for the bottom stand(unless you want to wall mount, then its not necesairy) and within about 3 minutes, it was up and running rock band. I really enjoy this TV and I use it almost every day, I reccomend it to anyone who is looking for a reasonable great TV that is worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Sherburne, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product.
12/1/2008

Customer review by Willz

5.0 stars 12/1/2008 by Willz
by Willz

I've owned this t.v. for a little over a year now and so far its working like a champ. No problems what so ever. Initial set up can get a little confusing but if you have Comcast cable like me go to your menu and scan for analog channels and then digital channels (which will take longer ). Good thing about this tv is it will display whatever your neighbors are watching on digital, haha. Playing Blu-Ray movies and Xbox 360 is amazing considering the price for an LCD 26' HDTV 720. Digital channels are nice but HD channels are amazing. analog channels are decent, kind of fuzzy sometimes but I got used to it. **Do not buy this tv is you plan on using it for Analog channels** which will go out by next year anyway. I've read a couple of the reviews which the product failed on them so I would recommend getting that warrenty at Walmart. I didn't get it myself but you might get a that bad apple. Bottom line is its a good tv for the bedroom,kitchen,hang out area,and gaming.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Willz
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far, so good.
5/13/2008

Customer review by Angler2

4.0 stars 5/13/2008 by Angler2
by Angler2

Worked fine out of the box on both "C Band" (big dish) satellite and local channels. My only complaint is that the instructions could be a little more detailed as to digital tuning on local stations. However, after a little trial and error, everything works fine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angler2
Coastal NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding Quality
2/2/2009

Customer review by MnGP

5.0 stars 2/2/2009 by MnGP
by MnGP

I am a retired TV producer-director. I bought this HDTV to connect to my cable box. It has excellent features, including outstanding definition and frequency response. The front speakers add presence and are a distinct asset, absent on competitors. Picture quality is superb. Sanyo has an excellent history. Performance equals if not surpasses my 62-inch DLP Mitsubishi in my media room. I am impressed with effortless setup, numberous inputs, up-close picture definition, rich, true colors, and magnificent track record~!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MnGP
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SANYO BUILT A GREAT PRODUCT !!
11/15/2008

Customer review by Thia751

4.0 stars 11/15/2008 by Thia751
by Thia751

This SANYO 26" LCD HDTV is the best value of any electronic purchases I've made in recent years. The SANYO has an Absolutely Awesome Picture Quality. The Sound exceeds my expectations even when listening to Music Channels. It was very easy to set up & connect to my DVD player/recorder as well as the Direct TV box. Caution, read the Sanyo directions carefully, they can be a little confusing. Now, I know why Walmart had recommended a universal remote. I finally realized that I had to use my Direct-TV remote to command the channels & the SANYO remote for the On/Off & Volume Controls. That was the only problem, & the directions should have mentioned this. So, you might want to save yourself some time and buy the Universal Remote recommended. Overall,I am very pleased. I'm also looking forward to mounting it on the wall. (optional mounting kit) My friends, family & neighbors say they would also like this SANYO for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thia751
Smyrna, Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/13/2009

Customer review by Hapysnowman

4.0 stars 1/13/2009 by Hapysnowman
by Hapysnowman

Im going to write another review later so dont think this is the final one! I just bought this tv and used it for like a day, with no hdmi cables. I watched one movie and played some games on my PS3. In menus and still frames the picture was great, and I thought the sound was pretty good too, dont see how some people dont like it. The dvd I watched looked really good too. PS3 games however looked JUNK. Lots of ghosting, and one major issue was a slight lag between the ps3 controller and the tvs response. When I was watching the movies, one thing I noticed was that the image seemed a bit too stretched out, people's faces were a little too wide. Im getting HDMI cables this afternoon, and will play some more games and watch a few blu rays before I review this again. I think its a great tv, aesthetically looks a lot nicer than in the picture displayed. If the controller lag and the stretchy image dont go away Im returning it however, because its pretty irritating. But as I said I havent gotten an HDMI cable yet. Look for my next review for the full scoop!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hapysnowman
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice, overall
4/28/2008

Customer review by dodgeguy360

4.0 stars 4/28/2008 by dodgeguy360
by dodgeguy360

This set has great picture quality, but the sound leaves a lot to be desired. Unless you have an auxiliary system to hook the audio to, better skip this one, if sound quality is an issue. The plastic cabinet rattles with certain frequencies/volume of sound. A little less than I had expected of Sanyo.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dodgeguy360
Southport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Deal
8/15/2008

Customer review by JoanS

5.0 stars 8/15/2008 by JoanS
by JoanS

Our first HDTV -- my husband called it a "tester." Had been looking and researching for a month, then Walmart had this 26" on sale for $399. Picture looked great in store so I took it home. Had it out of the box and working great in 15 min. We had "expanded service" with Comcast. Picked up alot of extra channels, but alas was missing TCM, FNC, and CNN. Comcast couldn't imagine why (my other TV's picked them up). Because they couldn't figure out how to fix the problem (since the line coming into the house should have them on all TV's) they offered to upgrade to digital for only 60 cents a month more than we were paying (with a free digital box). Took them up on the offer and the TV works great (200 channels + music). Even the old black and white shows on the TV channels (Maverick, Bonanza, etc.) are good. Now, when my hubby agrees to $6.50 more a month we'll order the HD service! Very satisfied with this TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoanS
Pottstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very satisfied
11/25/2008

Customer review by simplynatural

4.0 stars 11/25/2008 by simplynatural
by simplynatural

I bought this Sanyo TV about 3 months ago. I am very, very satisfied with it. The picture quality is fantastic...even more fantastic considering that its $397 price was the lowest around. However the best part is the over the air reception. I am 44 miles from the broadcasting stations and get perfect picture/sound from 5 of the digital TV broadcasters almost all the time...and often get a good signal from another 5 or so digital stations. With a previous HD LCD TV from another manufacturer I couldn't get any digital over the air signals. My antenna is an old UHF bowtie antenna loop, mounted in the attic of my 2 story house...separated by maybe 30 feet of coax cable from the TV. I did add a Radio Shack inline amplifier to make 1 or 2 of the weaker stations more available. The TV has never given me any problems, the remote's menu is intuitive and easy to use. The sound is adequate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simplynatural
Chicago NW suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Back-up Computer Monitor
12/2/2008

Customer review by a1parkranger

5.0 stars 12/2/2008 by a1parkranger
by a1parkranger

I picked this unit up to use in my home office and placed it next to my main computer monitor. I love the dual use capability of being able to spread my computer work across both monitors at once AND/OR click the remote and watch television programming while working on the computer. I have this unit successfully outputting 1440x900 via my ATI All-In-Wonder video card even though the literature states that this 26" TV won't do it (purportedly only the 19" supports this higher resolution). I love it! FTW, the 26" is probably about as big as one wants to go if using as a CPU monitor. Minimum viewing distance is just over 3ft, yet I often sit at about 2.5ft from the screen when at the desk without too much discomfort. CPU-DVD movies do not seem to play well when using as monitor. Not a problem for me, as I use a stand-alone Magnavox DVR that upconverts just fine. This requires a separate sound system. I am not able to tap into the CPU's 5.1 system because of the above noted incompatability. Probably my video card doesn't like showing movies on the "secondary" monitor -- video&sound varies in speed/distortion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
a1parkranger
Well North of San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good value
11/13/2008

Customer review by sydrine

5.0 stars 11/13/2008 by sydrine
by sydrine
Walmart associate

i bought this last week for my son for christmas. i hooked it up to make sure everything worked o.k. it has a good picture and sound/volume is better then some people indicate,maybe the rooms they have set it up in are a lot bigger, but sounds just fine in mine and i am half deaf:). we did have a problem getting the xbox to work correctly on the t.v.after fooling with it for an hour we called tech support(which is out of u.s. of course) and they were of no help whatsoever.we hooked the 360 back up to the other t.v. and changed the setting from 1080p to 720 on the xbox to see if that would make a difference and then hooked it back up..it then worked fine. also,when you first set up this t.v.,you have to hook everything up to the tv --i.e.game consoles,dvd players etc.. and have them turned on...so when you run the channel setup you also will need to set up the av items as well.took 30 minutes for us to catch that in the instructions.overall i am happy with this t.v. and there are plenty of connection options on the tv for folks like me that have more then just a dvd player and it even has a headphone jack which is nice.good value for the money paid

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sydrine
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Love this TV
5/10/2008

Customer review by KimmieCgirl

5.0 stars 5/10/2008 by KimmieCgirl
by KimmieCgirl

I did lots of research before I bought this TV. I was all set to order a "no so known" 26" LCD HDTV w/ DVD brand online. I stopped by Wal-Mart just for a final look. I found a comprable RCA I was considering. The sales associate talked me out of it for this reason...what if the DVD player breaks?? There goes both! So I got this Sanyo and hooked up my $30.00 DVD player. It's a great size for my Condo, it fits perfectly into my Entertainment Center. The picture and sound are great. And the price was nice!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimmieCgirl
Arlington Heights, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price
1/18/2009

Customer review by dezgie

5.0 stars 1/18/2009 by dezgie
by dezgie

We researched many different brands of LCD TV's before we bought one. We were all set to buy a larger and more expensive TV but we just couldn't do it with one paycheck. We didn't want to wait for as our old TV just stopped working. We walked in to Wal-Mart, saw this Sanyo on sale and picked it up, not knowing a thing about it. We were pleasantly surprised with the picture quality and sound. The picture quality far surpasses anything we expected and we are thrilled with our decision to buy this TV. The sound quality is pretty good but a surround sound system would be better obviously. The initial setup and first time use of this TV was very easy and simple. Nice remote, nothing fancy but functional. The only difficulty we had was with getting the PS3 to output through HDMI but that is an issue with the PS3 and not the TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dezgie
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Nice TV
3/6/2009

Customer review by tintoyguy

4.0 stars 3/6/2009 by tintoyguy
by tintoyguy

We searched for many months to find a replacement TV for the bedroom and bought this one a few days ago. The TV sits on a high shelf and we needed one with a good vertical viewing angle. This, and a Sony (over $150 higher), were the only ones we saw that looked good from the angle which we watch. A number of companies state their TV viewing angles are 176 or 178 degrees, but this and the Sony were the only two that were correct. Anyway, the TV is great; the initial scan picked up all the local channels through straight cable hook up. We have Time Warner digital cable but not using a cable box for this TV; just the RF hookup. The HD digital stations are super, but the analog channels appear a bit grainy. Possibly this will improve after the conversion. We have no external devices hooked up, so I can't comment on that. There is one thing that is somewhat annoying and it was mentioned in another review that I ran across somewhere; the remote has no dot or dash button, so if you are watching, say channel 8, and you want to see it in HD (8.1), you have to jump through some hoops to get there. I mastered it in a few minutes, but it still is annoying. In summary; this is a very nice TV and serves our purpose well. I'm very critical and this maybe is not as good as a Sony (a lot cheaper though), but as stated earlier, the viewing angle sold me. Hope I wasn't too lengthy, but reviews have helped me and I hope this one will help others. BTW, the price dropped $20 since I purchased it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tintoyguy
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS TV!!
11/26/2008

Customer review by waterlover87

1.0 stars 11/26/2008 by waterlover87
by waterlover87

Approx. 15 months after purchasing this television, the inverter (sp?) board went out, preventing any picture from coming on. I've never needed an extended warranty, since I have always invested in good-quality products, and didn't buy one when I bought this product. It's going to cost approx. $250 to have this T.V repaired. I'm opting to cut my losses, buy a different brand, and remember the poor quality of Sanyo televsions (and possibly other Sanyo products?) in the future.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waterlover87
Would recommend to a friend? No
Surprising Quality & Value
5/14/2008

Customer review by HiPo65

4.0 stars 5/14/2008 by HiPo65
by HiPo65

Purchased this HDTV after researching for a 26" under $600. Compared to others in this category the Sanyo had the best contrast ratio and features. My local WalMart did not carry this model in the store but I could order it on line for pickup or delivery to my home. Wanted to see the actual product before purchase and was able to find one at a competitor. Quality of picture was great! Decided to order online at WalMart.com as the competitor was over $100 higher! Received at my local WalMart within a week and did not have to pay any shipping charges! Set up was easy with good set up instructions provided with the set. One thing, in order to get the best picture from the set you need HD service otherwise the picture is less than what you would receive on a non HD set. This is a must. With the HD service I would highly recommend this set. The only draw back is the sound quality leaves alot to be desired. You must keep the volume set high. I resolved this with a Home stereo system hooked up to the set purchased from my local WalMart. Sound is now acceptable. Great HDTV set at a WalMart price! Currently have a 46" Sanyo on order from WalMart for the family room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HiPo65
Flower Mound, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Grat Value Great HDTV !! (;
2/1/2009

Customer review by martin420

5.0 stars 2/1/2009 by martin420
by martin420

I bought this Sanyo HDTV about one week ago and I love it, i would recommend this product to anyone wanting a great value and at the same time want a quality picture and sound. I was very impressed with the Sanyo Tv. It works great with my cable provider and works great with my PS3. I have a upscaling DVD player and the picture upscaled is supurb. All in all this HDTV is a grat value and a steal to buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
martin420
Grants Pass, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 191 total reviews
1-20 of 191 reviews