Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 866 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

866 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

866 reviews | 4 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
417
4 stars
217
3 stars
125
2 stars
56
1 stars
51
1-20 of 863 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 863 total reviews
1-20 of 863 reviews
LOVE my L'Oréal mascara!!
4/7/2017

Customer review by Karinda

5.0 stars 4/7/2017 by Karinda
by Karinda

I have used this mascara for over a decade and refuse to use any other brand or formula! I LOVE what it does for my natural eyelashes!!

Karinda
, Juneau Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
A little pop of color
4/12/2017

Customer review by Minew80

4.0 stars 4/12/2017 by Minew80
by Minew80

When I saw the offer for the L'Oréal voluminous mascara I was so excited to try a new mascara product, I didn't notice that it wasn't just the tube that was blue. As soon as I clicked to accept I realized that it was blue mascara that I signed up for, and I was a little worried. I have hazel eyes with dark lashes, so I didn't know what colored mascara would look like on me. I tried it as soon as it arrived and was pleasantly surprised when I saw that it actually showed up on my lashes after applying the primer, but was also a little concerned that it might be too noticeable. To mute the blue a little bit but still keep it as an accent I figured out that putting some black on the lower portion of the lashes and letting the blue show on the tips is a great combination. I don't know if anyone else has noticed the little color pop or not, but I'm having fun with it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Minew80
Sumter, SC
Received free product:Yes
Lash primer AND blue mascara
4/13/2017

Customer review by AshleeBrooke

3.0 stars 4/13/2017 by AshleeBrooke
by AshleeBrooke

First of all, I didn't think the blue would actually show and all I can say is, "Wow" because the color really popped against my skin. The process of getting there, however, was a struggle. I had to put multiple layers of the primer on because it wouldn't stay on my eyelashes. I though the paste was too thin for applying it to my eyelashes so I needed to do two coats in order to have the white show up. Next, I applied the blue mascara and this too, took a while to cover and stick to the white primer, but I will say, that afterwards the mascara looked awesome. I think it's also important to note that it took a very long time to be able to find the perfect lighting to show the blue mascara. I had to stand right underneath a light in order for the blue to become more viewable. If not, the mascara took on more of a black tone which eliminated all the hard work to get the blue hue in the first place. Unfortunately, I have to down grade the number of stars because soon after the mascara was on my eyes, it felt too thick and heavy. I'm not sure that I'd spend all the time it took to apply this mascara process. Plus, it's electric blue and I don't have many brightly colored outfits to pair this style of makeup with. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from L'oreal Consumer Care - 4/18/2017

Hi Ashlee! Thank you so much for trying out these two products. We appreciate you sharing your honest opinion with us. If your lashes feel too heavy after application, we recommend using one coat of the primer. Be sure to apply the primer and mascara to one eye at a time, assuring that the primer does not have the chance to dry. We hope this suggestion is helpful!

AshleeBrooke
Dartmouth, MA
Received free product:Yes
Amazing mascara
5/12/2017

Customer review by Rosie25

5.0 stars 5/12/2017 by Rosie25
by Rosie25

Wonderful mascara. It is intense black. Has no flaking or smudging. The brush espérate and lengthen your lashes without clumping. This is my favorite.

Rosie25
Homestead, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Green
Gender:Female
Typical mascara.
11/23/2012

Customer review by jenilynevette

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by jenilynevette
by jenilynevette
Top 100 contributor

Don't get me wrong, this is a good mascara! However, its nothing over-the-top, this is my normal everyday makeup [see pictures enclosed using this product]. It is pretty, and its great for work or for normal errands, but if you're looking for something VERY dramatic, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenilynevette
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Top 100 contributor
A great true blue!
4/13/2017

Customer review by xoKimberly

5.0 stars 4/13/2017 by xoKimberly
by xoKimberly

If you want to rock some blue lashes, I would definitely suggest the L'oreal Voluminous Blue Mascara. First, let's begin with some crucial mascara essentials. The product went on so smooth. It lasted throughout my day. And, taking it off was simple. The mascara came off so easily with my make-up wipe and there was no leftover mascara on my lashes come the next morning. As for the color itself? It is amazing! It's a bit dark when it goes on but the second light catches it, you see the gorgeous blue tint to your lashes. The only downside for me is that it's not cruelty free, so I wouldn't purchase it. However, if that's not a factor for you, I give it two thumbs up! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

xoKimberly
Port Orange, FL
Received free product:Yes
My black eye lash is blue!
4/12/2017

Customer review by Dream4ever82

5.0 stars 4/12/2017 by Dream4ever82
by Dream4ever82

I think the L'Oreal 5x volume mascara is one of the most brilliant mascara made on the market. What a treat to wear a mascara that comes in blue. AND the mascara makes the eye lash volume 5 times more, which was the great part. What was less appealing about this product was that the clump was left on my eye lash. However, It was easily removable with my fingers. I really enjoyed wearing the blue mascara around town. It was something different and new in my life. My family enjoyed and had fun seeing me have eye lashes in blue. What an ingenious product made L'Oreal! I have recommended them to my family and especially to my friends already (^o^)/ [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Dream4ever82
Colorado Springs, CO
Received free product:Yes
Blue Mascara
4/12/2017

Customer review by marysol

4.0 stars 4/12/2017 by marysol
by marysol

Trying the L'Oreal Voluminous Blue Mascara was my first experience with a colored mascara other than black. I loved it although at first its really intimidating wearing blue mascara, this was perfect for spring break. I decided to play it safe and wore neutral eye-shadow, false top lashes and then smoked out my bottom lash line with a purple eye-shadow, applied the L'Oreal lash primer and applied the blue mascara to my bottom lash line. My husband loved it and I will continue to wear this blue mascara all spring and summer. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

marysol
Hanford, CA
Received free product:Yes
not the best, but good
4/14/2017

Customer review by Naominamd

3.0 stars 4/14/2017 by Naominamd
by Naominamd

This mascara doesn't look amazing with brown eyes but it would look good with grey, green, or blue eyes. It gets kind of clumpy but it lasts the entire day and is kind of hard to take off. You need makeup remover to take it off, not just water. Also, its best you use it on just the roots of your eyelashes not the tips or the whole lash. It could get really heavy. Overall, it has great color, just isn't going to curl or elongate your lashes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from L'oreal Consumer Care - 4/18/2017

Hey there! We recommend pairing this product with our Voluminous Lash Primer to help fight against clumping. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the color of the mascara. We hope you will also try the Voluminous Original in a different shade such as Black Brown or Black. We will be sure to pass your comments along to others in the company. Thanks for taking the time to reach out to us!

Naominamd
Kings Point, NY
Received free product:Yes
Love the Blue!
4/13/2017

Customer review by ambermcph

5.0 stars 4/13/2017 by ambermcph
by ambermcph

I really liked this mascara. I was a little self-conscious about leaving the house in it, thinking my 46 year old face was too old to pull it off. I paired it with neutral and copper eye shadow. While I wouldn't use it for daily wear, I would certainly go back to it for special occasions. My 20 year old daughter tried it out as well and she really ROCKED it! The mascara itself is a good product, definitely providing thick, voluminous lashes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ambermcph
Lawton, OK
Received free product:Yes
Don't forget the primer!
4/12/2017

Customer review by Jade_rodriguez

5.0 stars 4/12/2017 by Jade_rodriguez
by Jade_rodriguez

In the picture you will notice my right looks way better than my left eye. For my right eye, I used the primer while on the left eye I didn't use the primer. The primer is great because it shapes your lashes and gets them in position for the blue color. I have never used this voluminous brand before, I love the length it gives my lashes. I go to a lot of concerts so this blue mascara is a great thing to have. It's fun, flirty, and makes your face pop with color. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jade_rodriguez
Garden Grove, CA
Received free product:Yes
Very clumpy
4/17/2017

Customer review by hrw239

2.0 stars 4/17/2017 by hrw239
by hrw239

If you really want the blue to show you have to apply multiple layers. However, when you apply multiple layers the mascara begins to get really clumpy and the lashes begin sticking together. It's also difficult to cover each lash so you end up with a mixture of both black and blue lashes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 4/19/2017

Hello hrw239! Thank you for giving the Voluminous Original Mascara - Cobalt Blue a try! We appreciate you taking the time to review this product and provide us with a picture of your results. We consider direct consumer feedback like yours priceless. It helps us improve our products and deliver the best-in-market products we strive for!

hrw239
West Columbia, SC
Received free product:Yes
Beautiful Blue
4/16/2017

Customer review by FluffyWolfie

5.0 stars 4/16/2017 by FluffyWolfie
by FluffyWolfie

I absolutely LOVE the beautiful blue pigment in this mascara! It's so amazing. This mascara doesn't flake and gives my lashes a beautiful butterfly effect. I received so many compliments from friends and strangers! It's perfect to use now in the spring and summer. I love it!! I will repurchase once I finish it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

FluffyWolfie
Jersey City, NJ
Received free product:Yes
Bright, bold, Intense color!
4/12/2017

Customer review by tcadair1

4.0 stars 4/12/2017 by tcadair1
by tcadair1

Wow! This blue mascara sure does stand out! And not only is it bold, it did extend my lashes to make them look longer and fuller. I applied this over top of the primer and it looked silly and bold. It was easy to apply, no clumping and stayed on all day. Removing it was a little bit harder than I am use to, but not terrible. The removal and the fact I wouldn't wear this color on a daily basis, made me only give it 4 stars. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

tcadair1
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Received free product:Yes
Color me bright
4/14/2017

Customer review by Sdesiderio14

3.0 stars 4/14/2017 by Sdesiderio14
by Sdesiderio14

Anyone who knows me knows I love to play with colors when it comes to mascara and eyeliner. This blue was gorgeous and went perfect with my dark brown eyes. The only downfall for me was that the mascara did not last very long threw the day. I am constantly working with customers and I cannot have my mascara flaking. The primer was awesome. I would totally by the primer again. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from L'oreal Consumer Care - 4/18/2017

Hi there! Thanks so much for taking the time to try out these two products. We are sorry to hear the Cobalt Blue started flaking. We will definitely be forwarding this feedback along to others on our team. We're thrilled to hear you loved the primer! It definitely helps to thicken and lengthen the lashes. We are so happy we got to hear from you!

Sdesiderio14
Tonawanda, NY
Received free product:Yes
Surprisingly subtle
4/18/2017

Customer review by Pfeiffer400

4.0 stars 4/18/2017 by Pfeiffer400
by Pfeiffer400

What I loved about the Voluminous Blue Mascara was how I decided I could actually wear this everyday! As a new mom I was thinking this would be very far fetched for me but I actually like it. Would definitely reccomend.i also liked that it added volume without the dreaded clump. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Pfeiffer400
Egg Harbor, WI
Received free product:Yes
Blue Mascara
4/18/2017

Customer review by io_m34

4.0 stars 4/18/2017 by io_m34
by io_m34

Fun color! I was able to add a couple of coats without clumping my eyeashes together. I really like the brush. I'm able to thicken up at the lash line. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

io_m34
Berwyn, IL
Received free product:Yes
L'Oreal Voluminous Blue Mascara
4/15/2017

Customer review by sshad10

4.0 stars 4/15/2017 by sshad10
by sshad10

This L'Oreal Voluminous Blue Mascara is a super pretty color, however, I felt it was a bit of a young look for me. It had a good consistency and doesn't seem to weigh lashes down like some. It's a very good mascara for lengthening and thickening lashes. Works well with the accompanying lash primer!!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

sshad10
Mannington, WV
Received free product:Yes
Didn't love it
4/11/2017

Customer review by kilund

2.0 stars 4/11/2017 by kilund
by kilund

If you're looking for blue mascara the color of this is awesome which is where one star comes in. The second star is for the primer/base. It definitely makes my lashes look longer and fuller. Sadly the blue mascara itself made my lashes clump together and took away from everything the primer did. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from L'Oreal Consumer Care - 4/17/2017

Hello kilund! Thank you for giving the Voluminous Original Mascara - Cobalt Blue a try! We appreciate you taking the time to review this product and providing us with a picture of your results from using the product. It helps us improve our products and deliver the best-in-market products we strive for!

kilund
Dallas, TX
Received free product:Yes
My opinion
4/12/2017

Customer review by Nessa_10687

3.0 stars 4/12/2017 by Nessa_10687
by Nessa_10687

This mascara is nice and in my opinion its ok to wear sometimes but not something I would wear everyday. The color is cute. And it doesn't clump so that's a plus. Over all I would have to say its good if your looking for a change. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from - 4/17/2017

Hi Nessa_10687! Thank you for trying our Cobalt Blue Mascara! We are so happy you liked the color. We understand if you did not want to wear this shade for everyday. We would recommend checking out this product in a more traditional shade like black or black brown. You can click on the link below to check out our current shades: http://www.lorealparisusa.com/products/makeup/eye/mascara/voluminous-original-mascara.aspx?&shade=Black-Brown

Nessa_10687
ENOSBURG FALLS, VT
Received free product:Yes
1-20 of 863 total reviews
1-20 of 863 reviews