Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 346 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

346 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

346 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 343 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 343 total reviews
1-20 of 343 reviews
Typical mascara.

Customer review by jenilynevette

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by jenilynevette
by jenilynevette
Top 100 contributor

Don't get me wrong, this is a good mascara! However, its nothing over-the-top, this is my normal everyday makeup [see pictures enclosed using this product]. It is pretty, and its great for work or for normal errands, but if you're looking for something VERY dramatic, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Love love love!!!

Customer review by LizMcMullen

5.0 stars 10/6/2016 by LizMcMullen
by LizMcMullen

I simply can not say enough good things about this mascara. I have been using it for quite some time and when I saw the offer to try it for free, I jumped on the chance! I have just been loooooveing it! The color is rich, and coats each lash in one simple application. The consistency is just right in my opinion, not too runny and not too goopy. I generally like a thick mascaras though. It makes my lashes look nice and long and thick but does not clump my lashes together to look like spider lashes. I like my mascara to dry fast and this once certainly does, so don't wait too long if you want to apply a second coat...or your lashes will get clumpy. I didn't have any issues with flaking or smudge off during the day and lasts all day for me, even through my workout. No issues with removal either. I use my miceller water and it takes it all off at the end of my day. I get a lot of compliments on my lashes when I wear this mascara and often people think I have falsies on....that's how great it makes my lashes look!!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Avondale, AZ
Voluminous Mascara

Customer review by ashley1886

3.0 stars 9/20/2016 by ashley1886
by ashley1886

After trying Voluminous Original Mascara, I have to say that it is not the worst mascara I've used, but also not my all-time favorite. The color is a true rich black that really does give my eyes that extra pop. Each time I've applied the product for the past week, I haven't experienced any clumping on the brush and very little on my own lashes. Those two reasons in itself make this a mascara I would be fine to use if I didn't have any other options. Personally, I felt that the result of the mascara didn't provide as much volume as it did length. I expected my lashes to be more filled-in with a product that highlights volume. However, my lashes looked 5 times longer than they were before, which could definitely be a pro to those who are looking for that specifically. If I were in a pinch and needed to spruce up my eyes, I would use L'Oreal's Voluminous Original Mascara but would prefer something else in comparison. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Boyertown, PA
Better than you think!

Customer review by crystalkeller92

5.0 stars 10/6/2016 by crystalkeller92
by crystalkeller92

This mascara was honestly way better than I had expected. I have tried almost everything from CoverGirl and this is significantly better. It is also better than Loreal's previous mascara Voluminous (in the gold tube). So what makes it so much better? Well, first of all, it lengthens my eyelashes so much that sometimes they touch the lenses of my glasses which rarely occurs! Second of all, it does not take NEARLY as many strokes to get a lot of volume onto to my eyelashes. I used this mascara to my cousins wedding and I got a lot of complements on my eyes, partly thanks to this mascara making them stand out. Third, it cleans really well. During the day, I have never had any issues with flaking. I did not expect it (paired with the primer) to be this good. I am certainly going to keep buying it until I find something better (if I do, that is!) [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Las Vegas, NV
Vavavolume! L

Customer review by kmcruse

4.0 stars 9/23/2016 by kmcruse
by kmcruse

This Voluminous mascara is a great product. I think the brush is what makes it so great. It is perfect size and excellent bristles. I felt that pressing the bases of my lashes and spinning the brush gave me a super volume-y look that was intense but still daytime appropriate . When I used the primer, it felt too thick but it did boost the mascara as far as length. Not my favorite, but not bad. The eyeliner is great. Nice tip, good cover that twists a bit so it doesn't fly off...a good perk for a makeup bag kind of girl. Also smudging end was awesome for evening out my lines. The eyeliner was very smooth. I like it alot. I'm not an every day eyeliner person but this may make a few appearances along with the new mascara! Only other comment is that the eyeliner is extremely hard to get off even with makeup remover. All in all a great group of products. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Arlington Heights, IL
Got Lashes?

Customer review by nyanna07

5.0 stars 9/24/2016 by nyanna07
by nyanna07

I'm in love! I have naturally long eyelashes. I only use faux lashes on rare occasions. I rely on mascara to put that extra umph on my eyes. I have big eyes, & I enjoy accentuating them. I really didn't have a lot of confidence that the mascara was going to completely cover the primer. The primer was so white on my lashes, I really thought I may have to wipe some of it off my lashes so there wouldn't be residue when I applied the mascara. I never had to remove any primer. The mascara coated my lashes as if the primer was never applied. The volume added to my lashes was immediately obvious. Think I may have a new favorite mascara. No faux lashes but need that look? Voluminous original mascara to the rescue. Long lashes but need a lil something to make them pop? Voluminous original mascara is all you need. It never clumped or smeared. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Charlotte, NC
Pretty Good!

Customer review by kelseyrose143

4.0 stars 9/22/2016 by kelseyrose143
by kelseyrose143

I applied this mascara for the first time today over the Voluminous primer and I think it did a decent job. For reference, my go-to mascara is Smashbox Full Exposure, which has a similar brush to this one. Upon seeing the shape of the brush and the bristle spacing I was pretty hopeful. The only drawback to the mascara is that it took me 3 coats to get my mascara on as opaquely as I like. If you're someone who prefers a lighter, more natural looking mascara, you may really like this one! I just want my eyelashes to look really full and super dark. One of the best things about this mascara is that it didn't flake off throughout the day. Usually, by the time I get home from work I have little black specks underneath my eyes, but this mascara really held on. I'm not sure if it's due to the mascara itself or the primer, but either way I'm impressed. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Wilmer, AL
Solid Medium

Customer review by embaixa

3.0 stars 10/7/2016 by embaixa
by embaixa

I've tried a huge range of drugstore and high-end mascaras, and I truly believe you can find amazing quality on both ends of the spectrum. However, I'm not sure whether this product exactly qualifies as amazing. THE PACKAGING: I was really into the minimalist, sleek look of the packaging in this collection. Too many mascaras seem so over the to, so this was appreciated. THE WAND: The want was thinner and smaller than other mascara's I've tried, with no fancy shape to speak of. This was fine with me, but I do feel like a bigger wand shapes my lashes better (I go for fullness and volume over sheer length). It almost looked like a lower-lash mascara, for scale. THE FORMULA: It's mascara. It does the job of making your eyelashes darker and longer, but I wasn't especially thrilled by this brand. I feel that there are better ones you can get for the same price at the drugstore. Even though this product wasn't waterproof, I had a hard time getting it off of my lid when I accidentally smudged it. However, I used this in tandem with the lash primer, which is just not my thing as a whole. I might try this again if I was just using my normal routine of curling and applying a few coats of mascara. All in all, a good product, but definitely not 5x volume as advertised! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Astoria, NY
Instantly Noticeable

Customer review by wmandy

4.0 stars 10/7/2016 by wmandy
by wmandy

I got the Loreal Voluminous Mascara in Blackest Black, and I really like it. The first thing I used the mascara, I instantly noticed a difference between the eye with mascara, and the eye without. It gave my eye more volume, and my lashes were thicker and more noticeable. Like, if I were to go out in public with mascara on only one eye, you would noticed what's wrong immediately. What I'm trying to say is that the mascara definitely makes my lashes more noticeable. As I find with all mascara that gives volume, the solution for this is a bit clumpy, which is why I took off one star. However, I feel like this can be fixed if you use a lash comb to go through your lashes before the mascara dries on you lashes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

San Francisco, CA
Not a bad mascara

Customer review by mrskor10a

4.0 stars 10/7/2016 by mrskor10a
by mrskor10a

I tried the loreal voluminous original #310 black mascara. Thinks my review of the pros and cons of that product. Pros: Goes on quite smooth and dries pretty quick. Quick dry feature allows you to build up the layers of mascara for a full volume effect. Bride glides through lashes nicely without clumps. Cons: Light fragrance that does go away once dry, but can be a bit smelly when building the product. Some product can build up at rip of wand. This may cause clumps so be aware before application and clean off the tip. Overall I liked how build-able this product was. It applies nicely especially when used with their primer base and never fail eyeliner. With practice great for a dramatic eye effect [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Hazel park, MI
Great Inexpensive Mascara

Customer review by Brae11

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by Brae11
by Brae11

I heard about this product online and had to go buy it. At my walmart it is priced for just over $6 and I consider that very inexpensive as far as mascara goes. I have tried many different brands of mascara, and once I found this one I am definitly sticking with it. I have long lashes but they are not very full looking. This mascara adds volume to my lashes. It is very easy to use and does not clump or smudge. I have wore this mascara for 14 hours straight and it looked just as nice as when I applied it 14 hours earlier. Another great aspect is that it is contacts lens wearer safe. I also have very sensitive eyes and it does not irritate them at all. So this product is easy to use, suitable for sensitive eyes, looks great, and fairly inexpensive. I would reccomend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
I actually used them all.

Customer review by Mistyt215andChase

4.0 stars 9/13/2016 by Mistyt215andChase
by Mistyt215andChase

First application was pretty great for being a drug store mascara, primer and liner. I see thicker and longer lashes than I do with my more expensive mascara and liner. I don't usually use a primer but this is supposed to condition as well as plump your lashes, which has proven to be true. I'm going to have to say I've got better results with this than any other mascara I've tried. This was first application so I know a better way to do it from now on. You learn as you go with each products. I actually look like I have more than 20 eyelashes. I'm super happy with this product after my first application. Wow, actually. I'm looking again in the mirror, I may just dump those other 30 or so mascaras I have and just start buying this one. It seem to have really opened up my small eye and my lashes are super thick and not clumpy. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Cleveland, OH
The most volume you'll find at the drugstore

Customer review by alzatem93

5.0 stars 9/23/2016 by alzatem93
by alzatem93

This mascara gets five stars from me because I have been using this mascara for years now. I was given this product along with other for free from bzzagent in exchange for my honest opinion. I love this mascara and it delivers all of its claims. This mascara NEVER flakes.. this mascara NEVER clumps. I will say this, however, if you live in a very humid climate like I do (Miami), I suggest you get the waterproof version of this mascara. It is absolutely inevitable for mascara to smudge a little when you live in such a humid environment. I have long lashes that lack volume and this truly gets me looking like I have falsies on. It's incredible. Truly the most volumizing mascara you will find at the drugstore. I use this mascara over many high end brands like benefit and too faced. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Miami, FL
My new favorite

Customer review by danalove

5.0 stars 9/23/2016 by danalove
by danalove

Mascara is my daily staple, even if I don't wear anything else. This mascara delivers just what I want. I don't get any clumping, and the color is perfect. The brush head is the perfect length and width to work with. I can easily get into those tiny lashes in the corners of my eyes without poking myself. I was able to get the look I wanted with only one coat. They looked natural, like I'm not wearing mascara at all. With two coats I'm able to get extra drama, more like falsies. I'm use to having to use three or more coats of my normal mascara to get that look. I'd even fallen asleep in my mascara, which is usually asking for raccoon eyes. I was shocked that it didn't, and it's not even water proof! Removal is super easy, even with multiple coats. I'm definitely hooked! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Temple Hills, MD
Separates amazingly!

Customer review by thevirgogirl

4.0 stars 9/27/2016 by thevirgogirl
by thevirgogirl

I am not the girl you will catch spending 30-45+ mins applying foundations or even eye-shadows to perfection. Instead, you will definitely catch me spending that amount of time on perfecting my lashes! When it comes to my daily make-up routine, my mascara application takes the longest and is the most important, so it's not surprising that I expect A LOT out of a mascara. The main things I look for are: Volume, separation, and NO clumping! I do not wear falsies, and my natural lashes are very long and naturally curled. I just tried this Voluminous mascara, and my take is that it does a tremendous job with separating my lashes and adding the length! I did try the primer as well, but I am not sure how I like it just yet (as I couldn't really understand the need for it). The mascara alone worked great and did not add any clumps. However, I do apply many layers of mascara, and oddly enough, I cannot rave about the volumizing effects of this mascara; the separation and lengthening were what I got most from this product. I think applying a few more layers will start to give more volume, but I applied heavily and I know other brands that would have my lashes very full in only a few strokes. Overall, I really like this mascara, and maybe the primer will grow on me with a few more uses. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Consistent mascara lengthens and separates, and gives some volume

Customer review by pinupgrrl74

3.0 stars 10/7/2016 by pinupgrrl74
by pinupgrrl74

The Voluminous is a great mascara for every day use. When getting ready for work, I used just the mascara and it delivered longer, separated lashes nicely. When I tried for a more dramatic look, and used it on its own, it didn't deliver a great deal of volume to my lashes, which are fairly long and thick. When I used the Primer, I got a lot more volume and just a tiny bit of flaking. I would purchase this mascara again, but possibly the Voluminous mascara with the curved wand that I've seen in stores. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Turlock, CA
Stays on all day and looks great

Customer review by Cayelee

5.0 stars 9/22/2016 by Cayelee
by Cayelee

I consider myself to be a mascara snob. Every time there is a new mascara, I scour the net to read the reviews. I tried Voluminous Original Mascara with the Voluminous Primer only, I never tried it alone. I have thin light colored lashes so I like the primers with my mascara. Having said that this mascara combo is amazing. I was really worried because I usually use a waterproof mascara for staying power but I didn't need one. This mascara stayed on all day, even after a sweaty hike. It made my lashes look like lashes not creepy crawlies. It did not clump and separated them nicely. I am so glad I tried the Voluminous mascara and primer, I now have a wonderful combo to use everyday without spending a fortune. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Evanston, WY
Best at the drugstore hands down!

Customer review by nikki17

5.0 stars 10/6/2016 by nikki17
by nikki17

I have tried what seems like every mascara at the drugstore and this one blows all of them out of the water! I always have a tube in my bag. This mascara looks to have a very basic wand, but it is the blackest of black in the darkest shade. It volumizes and lengthens my lashes beautifully! It doesn't flake on me or smudge but stays all day. I refuse to spend 25 bucks on a mascara when this holy grail is there. lol i highly recommend and I need to try the brown next!

Vermilion, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big things come in little packages!

Customer review by Margo447

5.0 stars 9/20/2016 by Margo447
by Margo447

I think this is a great product. I am actually pretty impressed and I am a hard customer to please. First, I was able to use this mascara. I have sensitive eyes and some mascara products make my eyes itch, this product was great. It stayed on my lashes all day which most mascaras do not due to me always having to purchase waterproof makeup because I have such oily skin. I wore this mascara over my natural lashes and this product without a doubt absolutely gave me volume and definition. Of course the primer helped but that is for a separate review. Anyhoo, I would actually purchase this product and reccommend it to others. BzzAgent said that this was not a typical campaign, well BzzAgent, big things come in little packages. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Connecticut, CT
Best Mascara for Me!!!

Customer review by apatel26

5.0 stars 9/14/2016 by apatel26
by apatel26

This is hands down the best mascara I've ever used. From time to time, I will stray and buy an expensive brand, however I am always disappointed and mad at myself for spending so much.Try this L'Oreal Paris Voluminous Original Mascara if you want thick, lush lashes.The color is very rich. when I apply it, it coats every strand with its dark, beautiful goop that makes my eyelashes look sexy, long, and full. It is very creamy, not dry like some mascaras are (even when first opened). when I take it out, the tip contains a tiny bit of mascara on it or in other words, the tip contains more of the 'goop'. this works for me because I use that to apply it to the edges, making my eyelashes appear even fuller and resulting in a wing tip sort of look (for the eyelashes). [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

North Brunswick, NJ
1-20 of 343 total reviews
1-20 of 343 reviews