Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

96 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

96 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

44%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
19
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 stars
36
1-20 of 91 total reviews
44%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
6/18/2012

Customer review by DARKEYES1957

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by DARKEYES1957
by DARKEYES1957

I've used these pencils for a very long time, and they are a pretty good bargain at roughly $2 each compared to other pencils. As the other reviewers stated, they are hard. All that is necessary to soften the tip is to hold it above a lighter for a few seconds. I always approach my lower lid slowly to make sure that it's not too hot. It's actually easy to feel the heat before you touch your lid. With a little practice, you figure out the best way to do it. As for the sharpener, there is nothing wrong with it either. You just have to take a couple of swipes starting on the side with the most wood. You're only permitted to make a couple of turns; otherwise, a chunk of the tip will crack right off. You usually can't get a super nice point like a lead pencil. Again, with a little practice, you learn how to best do that too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DARKEYES1957
St. Clair Shores, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Why change a good thing?!
7/14/2016

Customer review by Jennifer44

1.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Jennifer44
by Jennifer44

Please please please bring back the old formula!! The new one is the worst and doesn't apply to skin at all. So disappointed!! I've been using the old formula for close to 30 years!

Jennifer44
Pompano Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Browless Again!
6/22/2016

Customer review by Browless

1.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Browless
by Browless

4 Recent purchases from 3 different stores. Point falls out of barrel and/or crumbles when applied. No refund w/o receipts-->10 year customer--GONE!

Browless
Greater Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Horrible formula change!
6/21/2016

Customer review by BG215435

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by BG215435
by BG215435

Extremely disappointed that the formula was changes. I've used this eye liner for 15 years and will be looking for a new product (non-cover girl.)

BG215435
Livonia, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible, new formula??
6/21/2016

Customer review by Firebabe

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Firebabe
by Firebabe

It was perfect before. Now breaks easily and doesn't go on

Firebabe
Salmon Arm, BC
Would recommend to a friend? No
unnoticeable
6/18/2016

Customer review by jsand

1.0 stars 6/18/2016 by jsand
by jsand

I bought this as an eyeliner, as I don't like a real thick line, but this is nonexistent! I line and line and line and it still doesn't show up!

jsand
Delphos
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Good makeup pencil
6/25/2016

Customer review by JBJB

4.0 stars 6/25/2016 by JBJB
by JBJB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Superior to Maybelline, which is too soft.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBJB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible Now
6/12/2016

Customer review by Toddie79

1.0 stars 6/12/2016 by Toddie79
by Toddie79

This brow pencil used to be great, but the quality is just terrible now. Please, please go back to the old design

Toddie79
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
Product changed
6/9/2016

Customer review by Amster

2.0 stars 6/9/2016 by Amster
by Amster

Product changed shorter pencil,breaks easily, goes on lighter. I am disgusted. After using this for years I will be looking for another brand :/

Amster
Shamokin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Not that good anymore
5/25/2016

Customer review by enm2

1.0 stars 5/25/2016 by enm2
by enm2

Midnight brown is lighter than it used to be, pencil breaks easily now. Used to be better quality. Looking for a different brow pencil now.

enm2
Iowa City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
Formula change
5/18/2016

Customer review by Nomofleek

1.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Nomofleek
by Nomofleek

I have been buying the midnight Brown from Covergirl and recently the pencils have gotten gross full of oils and waxes and break easily. why did you do this to us?

Nomofleek
Lafayette, LA 70508
Would recommend to a friend? No
Long time buyer
7/15/2013

Customer review by Truebeigeglow

4.0 stars 7/15/2013 by Truebeigeglow
by Truebeigeglow

Normally i use a better eyebrow enhancer than this one so i only buy it as a backup whenever im in a tight budget. The price is acceptable especially when an extra pencil AND a sharpener is added. The sharpener works well. Although CoverGirl claims that it can be used as an eyeliner i totally disagreed once used on my eyebrows the first time. I dont if its a joke but the material in the pencil is kinda hard so only use on eyebrows! I use midnight brown and it the color looks great on me. It also makes my eyebrows look natural and not phony like. Overall i'd say this is good eyebrow liner.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Truebeigeglow
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Unusable
5/6/2016

Customer review by AwfulBrows

1.0 stars 5/6/2016 by AwfulBrows
by AwfulBrows

This formula change is awful, to the point of making this product unusable. The pencil is waxy and breaks while sharpening. The sharpener is strange (exposed blade?!) and doesn't work at all.

AwfulBrows
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Combination
One of my favorites
5/5/2016

Customer review by CRenee

4.0 stars 5/5/2016 by CRenee
by CRenee

This area is a battle for me because of thin vanishihng eyebrows. This is a good pencil that is easy to soften and feather to look natural.

CRenee
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Great for Brows
2/7/2013

Customer review by Diploshopper

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Diploshopper
by Diploshopper

This pencil is hard, yes, but that makes it perfect for filling in or adding color to your eyebrows. I'm a redhead and I use light brown to fill in and define my brows. The color lasts all day. Can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diploshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Natural Looking
2/12/2013

Customer review by Juleah

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Juleah
by Juleah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have thin eyebrows, problem solved with light strokes with this pencil, looks very natural and not drawn on. Stays on all day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juleah
Allen, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
1/11/2016

Customer review by mcloveskey

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by mcloveskey
by mcloveskey

Issues must have been resolved because I just picked these up for myself and my sister at Christmas and they're as good as ever. Recommend to everyone

mcloveskey
Moncton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
A great brow pencil for redheads
12/22/2015

Customer review by amoore9984

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by amoore9984
by amoore9984

It fills in all of the bare patches and gives my brows a great shape. The soft blonde shade is a perfect match for my light red eyebrows.

amoore9984
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Hard and no color
2/26/2012

Customer review by SunsetroseAZ

2.0 stars 2/26/2012 by SunsetroseAZ
by SunsetroseAZ

Ordered light blonde....no color at all really. and the product is very hard, hard to use

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunsetroseAZ
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Garbage
5/5/2012

Customer review by Suze301

1.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Suze301
by Suze301

This is my first review - and I only am writing this because I do not wish for anyone else to spend $3 on a sharpener. this liner is garbage.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suze301
College Park, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews