Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

83 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

83 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
17
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
26
1-20 of 79 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
6/18/2012

Customer review by DARKEYES1957

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by DARKEYES1957
by DARKEYES1957

I've used these pencils for a very long time, and they are a pretty good bargain at roughly $2 each compared to other pencils. As the other reviewers stated, they are hard. All that is necessary to soften the tip is to hold it above a lighter for a few seconds. I always approach my lower lid slowly to make sure that it's not too hot. It's actually easy to feel the heat before you touch your lid. With a little practice, you figure out the best way to do it. As for the sharpener, there is nothing wrong with it either. You just have to take a couple of swipes starting on the side with the most wood. You're only permitted to make a couple of turns; otherwise, a chunk of the tip will crack right off. You usually can't get a super nice point like a lead pencil. Again, with a little practice, you learn how to best do that too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DARKEYES1957
St. Clair Shores, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
1/11/2016

Customer review by mcloveskey

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by mcloveskey
by mcloveskey

Issues must have been resolved because I just picked these up for myself and my sister at Christmas and they're as good as ever. Recommend to everyone

mcloveskey
Moncton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
A great brow pencil for redheads
12/22/2015

Customer review by amoore9984

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by amoore9984
by amoore9984

It fills in all of the bare patches and gives my brows a great shape. The soft blonde shade is a perfect match for my light red eyebrows.

amoore9984
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Long time buyer
7/15/2013

Customer review by Truebeigeglow

4.0 stars 7/15/2013 by Truebeigeglow
by Truebeigeglow

Normally i use a better eyebrow enhancer than this one so i only buy it as a backup whenever im in a tight budget. The price is acceptable especially when an extra pencil AND a sharpener is added. The sharpener works well. Although CoverGirl claims that it can be used as an eyeliner i totally disagreed once used on my eyebrows the first time. I dont if its a joke but the material in the pencil is kinda hard so only use on eyebrows! I use midnight brown and it the color looks great on me. It also makes my eyebrows look natural and not phony like. Overall i'd say this is good eyebrow liner.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Truebeigeglow
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great for Brows
2/7/2013

Customer review by Diploshopper

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Diploshopper
by Diploshopper

This pencil is hard, yes, but that makes it perfect for filling in or adding color to your eyebrows. I'm a redhead and I use light brown to fill in and define my brows. The color lasts all day. Can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diploshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Natural Looking
2/12/2013

Customer review by Juleah

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Juleah
by Juleah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have thin eyebrows, problem solved with light strokes with this pencil, looks very natural and not drawn on. Stays on all day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juleah
Allen, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard and no color
2/26/2012

Customer review by SunsetroseAZ

2.0 stars 2/26/2012 by SunsetroseAZ
by SunsetroseAZ

Ordered light blonde....no color at all really. and the product is very hard, hard to use

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunsetroseAZ
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Garbage
5/5/2012

Customer review by Suze301

1.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Suze301
by Suze301

This is my first review - and I only am writing this because I do not wish for anyone else to spend $3 on a sharpener. this liner is garbage.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suze301
College Park, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
WHAT'S WRONG???
1/17/2014

Customer review by Imltullch

1.0 stars 1/17/2014 by Imltullch
by Imltullch

What is wrong with your product!I have been using Midnight Black eyeliner for 20+ years, no problems. Now it keeps breaking/cracking. PLEASE GO BACK TO THE ORIGINAL FORMULA!! Look at remarks, MANY people are DISSATISFIED. LISTEN TO YOUR CUSTOMERS!!

Imltullch
Hudson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hello, are you there "Jenn"?
10/23/2013

Customer review by MsKelley

1.0 stars 10/23/2013 by MsKelley
by MsKelley

Like many writing a review, I have been a loyal customer for years. Your brow pencil change made people unhappy enough to write a review on your website. I noticed no response from "Jenn" on any of these reviews. Good-bye Covergirl. Hello NYC,ELF....

MsKelley
Kansas City, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Go back to original!
11/18/2013

Customer review by deedee1

1.0 stars 11/18/2013 by deedee1
by deedee1

Are you aware how bad this is now? I am/was a user for MANY # of years! Now it is wrong in ALL areas: sharpening, eats & breaks pencils!crayon is not the same,impossible to create the brows I once had. Are you changing this product back/original?

deedee1
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not the Same Anymore!
6/4/2013

Customer review by CeeBee

1.0 stars 6/4/2013 by CeeBee
by CeeBee

I never take the time to write reviews but I, like others, have been using this for years. For the past few months the quality has been awful. Smudges when you sharpen, smells and feels like crayon. Not happy! Now I have to find a new brand to use.

CeeBee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ruined!!!
5/26/2013

Customer review by JulieV

1.0 stars 5/26/2013 by JulieV
by JulieV

These pencils has been ruined! I've used this product for many years and loved it. Now its a clay/crayon like pencil that clogs the included sharpener, and your brows look bad. Its like I'm using a brow pencil by Crayola. Please change them back!

JulieV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for brows
10/21/2010

Customer review by Margerydoll

4.0 stars 10/21/2010 by Margerydoll
by Margerydoll

Midnight brown matches my eyebrows (more black than brown) without looking like I have penciled them. It is however, too hard of a pencil to use as eyeliner unless you soften the tip up by using a lighter or something. Not bad for the price, though.

Margerydoll
Covington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terribly Disappointed
7/23/2013

Customer review by Jeterbug

1.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Jeterbug
by Jeterbug

I used this pencil for 13 years, but this new formula is TERRIBLE! I use to receive so many compliments on my well-defined brows, but this new formula is so soft, waxy, and smudgy...I can't get the defined, sharp, feathery brow lines I use to!

Jeterbug
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible on the lashline
12/28/2011

Customer review by Laceyk

1.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Laceyk
by Laceyk

Originally bought this pencil set because I wanted a lighter brown for my lashline. No matter how hard I pressed I could not get any color on my lashline. Even tried to heat and still could not get color. This pencil set will be going in the trash.

Laceyk
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
probably wont buy it again
5/31/2009

Customer review by gem2094

3.0 stars 5/31/2009 by gem2094
by gem2094

its hard to use for my waterline so i use a lighter & warm it up for 2-3 secs so that its slightly melted. & its easier to apply to ur waterline DO NOT melt it and then go to apply it to your eyes! you will get a huge clump of eyeliner in your eyes

gem2094
riverside,cali
Would recommend to a friend? No
WHY THE CHANGE?!
8/9/2013

Customer review by UpsetConsumer1

1.0 stars 8/9/2013 by UpsetConsumer1
by UpsetConsumer1

I am super upset at the changes you made with this product. Obviously by the other reviews, I am not the only one! This pencil doesn't sharpen well and it does NOT make my brows look flawless like the original pencil. PLEASE CHANGE IT BACK!!

UpsetConsumer1
Seward, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not For Dark Brunettes!
2/1/2013

Customer review by ChinaCat

1.0 stars 2/1/2013 by ChinaCat
by ChinaCat

I was hoping for a natural looking brow liner... I was so disappointed. :( I bought the darkest brown (midnight brown), and it was still WAY too light for my brows, looks so fake! But black is too harsh! Works for lining waterline, but that's it.

ChinaCat
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for brows, bad for the lashline.
2/17/2012

Customer review by CeeKay

3.0 stars 2/17/2012 by CeeKay
by CeeKay

As I have very fine brows I thought this would help give me some definition on the brows. However it is very hard and not the easiest to apply but with a little effort it was applied. Sadly this is way to hard to even think about using as a liner.

CeeKay
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews