Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
great for big laptops
9/4/2009

Customer review by anonymousnobody

4.0 stars by anonymousnobody

the short story: excellent bag for the money if you have a big laptop. i already had a large laptop and a similar bag, so i thought the bag that i had would be adequate... i was wrong! this bag is more than capable of holding my 17.3" screen laptop, and has plenty of room to spare. could probably hold an 18" or larger screen, though those are rare. had a slightly smaller version of this bag for a few years, plenty of pockets and room to hold all other gear. padding is adequate, not sure yet if i would trust it as carry-on for an airline flight, but for day-to-day use protecting my gear on short trips, it is fine. two nitpicky things: the old bag had a media sleeve for carrying disc's, they should have included it with this bag too. secondly, large laptops can sometimes have issues due to them being flexed in the bag when carried, would be nice if the back were a little more rigid to prevent that from happening. perhaps it is harsh, but i took one star off the overall rating for those "issues".

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
anonymousnobody
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW!
11/27/2010

Customer review by shakira07

5.0 stars by shakira07

i got the bag for my boyfriend for college. he has a 17.3 hp pavillion this bag was plenty big! we read a review that said someting about having extra room to pack a set of clothes, she probably could have fit the kitchen sink in too! it works perfectly and is a sturdy material. the handles are also sew into the bag so that when there has been alot of weight on it for a long time the stiches dont rip out!its a great bag

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shakira07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
8/15/2011

Customer review by CarlF

4.0 stars by CarlF

This is my second Targus 17" XL Notebook Backpack. I bought one for my Toshiba Qosimo and this is the only backpack that could handle the massive 18" monster. I needed a backpack for work/school and I got this. my only complaint, if I had one, is the picture makes it look like there is a pouch on the shoulder strap for a cell or MP3 player, ind that is not the case. there are D rings for you to attach accessories.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CarlF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great BackPack
11/17/2008

Customer review by DrStrangyLove

5.0 stars by DrStrangyLove

Fits My Toshiba Qosmio Laptop Perfectly

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DrStrangyLove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the college student on the go!
10/3/2008

Customer review by Thesoccermom

5.0 stars by Thesoccermom

I did alot of checking around for a durable, yet light, and reasonably priced 17" laptop backpack for my son who started college this fall. At everything I looked at, I had a hard time finding just the right one to fullfill his needs. He needed one that would carry his laptop plus books and other items. When I received this item, I was truely amazed at its size! It stored everything he needed for college and then some. It is light weight and durable, too! You won't believe it, but his Playstation 3 even fit just right, WOW! Talk about hugeness! If you have a college student, this is the backpack I'd recommend. It even has a limited lifetime warranty to boot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Thesoccermom
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Targus 17" XL Notebook Backpack, TXL617
10/26/2008

Customer review by preparedone

5.0 stars by preparedone

I orded this product on a friday night and it was delivered bY wednesday the following week in great shape. I have used the backpack several times and it will haul all laptop gear plus my external harddrive and still has room for more items like school books, work information, or when I went on a recent trip it had enough room for a change of clothes and my personal items. I will admit this is a huge backpack and easy to load heavy so becareful but the straps are very well positioned and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
preparedone
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Pleased!!
5/2/2008

Customer review by Laptops101

5.0 stars by Laptops101

I originally purchased Hewlett Packard bag that WalMart had for sell for $27, but it was defective. The HP bag was POORLY designed but had sturdy build material. The Targus has GREAT design along with GREAT build material!! The bag fits my 17" widescreen Dell laptop with no issues & space to spare for extra padding if desire to add & all my other junk fits easily, I have lots of junk to tote!! Great buy, even more so for me since WalMart honored the HP price on the Targus due to HP being defective. Great bag by great manufacturer, sold by great retailer. Bag is worth the original asking price. Big bag for big laptop!! Totally happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Laptops101
Coral Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Computer Carryall
5/15/2008

Customer review by jakek

5.0 stars by jakek

This is a wonderful way to transport your computer and all of the goodies that go along with it. It is large and has many places to organize your things. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jakek
West Seneca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great laptop backpack!!
10/21/2008

Customer review by BargainHunter1005

5.0 stars by BargainHunter1005

I love this backpack! It has tons of room to carry your laptop, plus any accessories you need! At first, I wasn't sure I was going to keep it, because it seemed like there was too much room inside of it, too many pockets for what I needed. But then I took it on a trip, and I was so thankful for all the space it had to carry tons of extra stuff, like books, power strip, power cable, dvds, charging cords for other electronic media, water bottle, and more! This would make a great travel bag, or for a student who needs to carry everything in one bag.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BargainHunter1005
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Bag
2/19/2013

Customer review by cetaysha

5.0 stars by cetaysha

I just received this Bag(Targus) today and already love it. I had my Jansport since 2005, and it has not let me down not one time. The only thing that is wrong with it is the Shoulder strap kneading came apart, but other then that I love this bag(Jansport). Now for the Targus bag I love the space which I am a girls who loves room in her bag to store things. I start school next month, and since this bag is made out of nylon I know this bag is going to survive my rough handling. So thanks for making this bag I love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cetaysha
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Meets Expectations
3/1/2009

Customer review by ItsMeBraulio

5.0 stars by ItsMeBraulio

Thought it was going to be too big for what i needed it for but was perfect.. it's my very own Mobile office with lots of pockets and storage places..

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ItsMeBraulio
Lodi, Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
too big
4/2/2008

Customer review by travelforwork

4.0 stars by travelforwork

I needed a backpack for my 15.4"laptop for airline travel. I ordered this one because the smaller backpacks claimed this laptop would not fit. The backpack is very long - it almost hit the back of my knees! The laptop sleeve had several extra inches of space at the top. I returned this backpack, and kept a smaller one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
travelforwork
Detroit/Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Cannot ask for more !!!
5/28/2011

Customer review by huntv23

5.0 stars by huntv23

I was planning for a trip to India with my Twins and you can imagine, what I need to carry for the 24 hour trip. I saw the review and took a chance and was over the moon when I received the bag. The look and feel is great. Got lot of compartments to dump as much as you can. Now I am worried that the Airport folks will ask me to take certain things off this bag for weight concerns.. Cannot ask for more.. This is the BEST back pack you could get for your money.. I went for standard shipping and they shipped it in 2 days... Hats off WALMART !!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
huntv23
Newmarket, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
8/6/2011

Customer review by Gretel12

5.0 stars by Gretel12

When I found that I needed a bag for work to not only carry a computer, but what amounts to a ream of paper along with other non-computer related items (i.e., sunscreen, first aid kit, hat, long-sleeved shirt, water), I looked for something durable and Targus was my first choice based on a prior Targus purchase. I have used the bag for approximately two weeks and it is as durable as I expected. There are two pockets that are the same size and with that I am able to keep things separated and easy to find. The smaller third main compartment pocket is perfect for the extras. I have not used the pockets in the front flap because of the open design between the flap and the main three-pocket part of the bag. This design causes the pockets on the outside front of the flap to not be easily accessed with one hand when the bag is not fully packed and upright; you have to lift the flap up taut to open the small top zippered pocket. The pockets on the side of the bag are perfect...one for water bottle and one for glasses and cell phone..easy, quick access. It is comfortable to wear even when fully loaded. I do not notice any stress on any of the seams of either the handle or the carrying straps and if it is like the previous Targus bag I purchased, I think the quality will stand up to many years of wear.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gretel12
Yuma, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pack with lot's of room
12/30/2011

Customer review by Bigboy573

5.0 stars by Bigboy573

I purchased this backpack to carry both my laptop and textbooks because I was tired of feeling like a pack mule carrying multiple bags everywhere. One reviewer commented on the storage space inside and that’s what prompted me to get this particular pack. There actually is a good deal of room inside the pack. One thing I love is how easily the zippers slide. I’ve had some packs that require some strength to pull open. Mine slides open and closed with ease. My only negative comment is on the flap on the front that snaps shut with two buckles. Inside are two net pouches. Since it’s only a flap that snaps at the top of both corners rather than zips completely shut, I worry about how secure things are inside the interior pouches. If they work themselves out, they’re probably going to be lost. I wish this flap zipped shut. Other than that, I love this pack. Even knowing how the flap closes, I’d still buy it again if I had to do it over.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bigboy573
Central Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/3/2012

Customer review by Hank1087

5.0 stars by Hank1087

Exactly what I was looking - big backpack for big laptop. Nice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hank1087
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BEST PACK EVER
4/4/2012

Customer review by Searcher5000

5.0 stars by Searcher5000

I have been with computers for 25+ years and have never in all this time found a pack that can accommodate my computer and all I take with it. This Targus Pack is absolutely the best I have ever found. It is perfect for everything I need a pack to handle including but not limited to, a change of clothes, files, glasses, cd’s, office stuff, ECT, ECT. Nice material and strong, really comfortable to carry or wear as a pack. Not to forget the extra padding for my laptop which is awesome? This pack is a God send and is the most outstanding pack of all times and highly recommend it to anyone, well worth the money, very pleased. Nice job locating this Targus pack Wal-Mart; you get a 100!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Searcher5000
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent buy, but not for everything
2/2/2012

Customer review by Student

5.0 stars by Student

This backpack has been great for over a semester, the zippers and straps hold up well and it is good for my laptop, and could accommodate one much larger. However do not expect it to be waterproof (most backpacks aren't). Additionally the zipper pocket right about the "Targus" embroidering suffers a design flaw. In the picture it looks fine but if you put anything in that pocket, it sags down because the 2 retention straps and affixed below where the weight hangs. This makes that pocket annoying to use and ruins some of the style. Also I have had some minor problems with the material near the butt region, the backpack was wearing down some clothing and collecting a multitude of colored fabric remains on it. Don't take my review the wrong way though, this backpack is great and holds a laptop much more safely that I see other students with theirs, the ones without any padding in their backpack can damage their computer (they put it to sleep right as class ends and then throw in into their unpadded backpack while the harddrive is still spinning down, my girlfriend accidentally destroyed her HDD this way--even in a padded sleeve).

Student
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, huge capacity, very comfortable
8/5/2011

Customer review by johnny80s

5.0 stars by johnny80s

I have had this bag for over 5 years. It is very comfortable to wear all day even with a full load in it. It has lots of little compartments to hold little things and three large compartments for the big stuff. I can get a few days worth of cloths, my macbook pro 17inch and assorted cables and notebooks in this bag. I would definitely buy another one of these if I wear it out.

johnny80s
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the best value for your money
10/8/2011

Customer review by Kumar

5.0 stars by Kumar

I had this bag gifted to me on my birthday. I had not known Targus brand before, as I was in the USA for a very short time then. Now about the bag, it looks cool and has good quality materials and zippers. What's special about it is not it's ability to carry huge loads (>20 lbs), but the absolute ease with which you can do it. It's got a good cushioning on it's backside that lets you carry what ever you want to comfortably. I am now back to my home country and I drive a motorcycle here. Here, I use this bag for my work every week day, groceries & supplies every weekend and it just keeps going!! It's a hard worker, highly recommend it!!

Kumar
Hyderabad, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 26 total reviews