Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-12 of 12 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

game
1/22/2008

Customer review by jkmereview

5.0 stars 1/22/2008 by jkmereview
by jkmereview

great game--perfect for your preschooler. It teaches counting, winning & losing, turn taking and patience.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkmereview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
up and down fun
1/2/2008

Customer review by premiemom

4.0 stars 1/2/2008 by premiemom
by premiemom

I got this game for my 4 year old daughter and she loves it. It is great at teaching numbers, counting how to take turns.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
premiemom
Abbeville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Chutes and Ladders
9/28/2008

Customer review by poodlelady

5.0 stars 9/28/2008 by poodlelady
by poodlelady

What kid has not played this game in their life time.My kids did and I'm 60 years old now my grandkids are and they love it. And old time classic and favorite.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poodlelady
Decatur,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
a very fun game
7/21/2008

Customer review by mymama8

5.0 stars 7/21/2008 by mymama8
by mymama8

This game met all my expectations. Is a lot of fun to play. Even my husband like the game and as a family we enjoy it very much. I even talk to my firiends about it and purchase another one as a gift.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mymama8
Philadelphia,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for Kids
12/30/2007

Customer review by nanaof7

5.0 stars 12/30/2007 by nanaof7
by nanaof7

This product was great because of the grandkids and it had dora the explorer as figures. Be cause children understand it at 6 and up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanaof7
Nemacolin, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Execellent childrens game
1/13/2008

Customer review by Reasha

5.0 stars 1/13/2008 by Reasha
by Reasha

My kids love the game and plays for hours.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reasha
Dumfries, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great game for young kids
2/18/2012

Customer review by Genesis22324

4.0 stars 2/18/2012 by Genesis22324
by Genesis22324

This game in addition to being fun (without bells, whistles, lights or batteries) helps children learn to count, follow instructions and allows interaction with you. I played this game as a child and I'm headed out to purchase one now to play with my grandchildren. p.s. Popcorn and hot chocolate goes great with this game.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Genesis22324
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/12/2012

Customer review by Birdman73

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by Birdman73
by Birdman73

This game was selling for a great price. I figured I would purchase it for my 3 year old and my child absolutely loves it! Several times a week, it gets played. I think if you have a young kid, it could be worth the few bucks for entertainment value!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Birdman73
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What is there to say?
1/22/2008

Customer review by LaydeeV

5.0 stars 1/22/2008 by LaydeeV
by LaydeeV

It's Chutes and Ladders! :) My daughter isn't quite old enough to play it (she's 2 and a half) but this game is something that I wanted for sure in her "game closet" now and in the future. A classic!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaydeeV
Boonton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
not what i expected
9/9/2008

Customer review by tiffanyL21

2.0 stars 9/9/2008 by tiffanyL21
by tiffanyL21

it could be a good game but the pieces don't fit on the little squares you can't tell where everyone should be not a fun game for the children to play

Was this review helpful? (0) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tiffanyL21
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It is a fun game
1/17/2008

Customer review by BoardGame

4.0 stars 1/17/2008 by BoardGame
by BoardGame

This game is fun to play. My son is 4 and he likes it. I think it is a little to old for him but we play anyways. The price is right too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoardGame
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Has its Pros and Cons
7/19/2012

Customer review by VivaValleyViva

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by VivaValleyViva
by VivaValleyViva

Pros: Teaches kids how to count; Inexpensive Cons: Counting back and forth gets confusing; Often brings out the worst in kids-can be highly frustrating. The Bottom Line: Chutes and Ladders is an acceptable game, but it is not without its faults. Most board games require at least some knowledge of reading, spelling, etc., but this game doesn't require the ability to read and is designed for young children. Chutes and Ladders is like a classic game that introduces kids to board games. Basic goal: Be the first player to reach the last square on the game board and you win. The last square happens to be numbered 100 and between that square and the beginning, there are other numbered squares: Ten rows of ten squares each, to be exact. Players start just outside of square one and slowly work their way up the game board until someone reaches the 100th square. Getting to the top can be either aided or impeded depending on the space on which a player lands. If a player lands at the base of a ladder, he/she can climb the ladder to the space above, at the top of the ladder. Land on the top of a chute, and the player must slide down the chute to a lower square. Players begin Chutes and Ladders game play by selecting a token (a cardboard cutout of a person, placed in a plastic base) and then spinning the spinner device. The spinner contains the numbers one through six and whatever number the spinner points to is the number of spaces one gets to advance. Play continues, with players moving back and forth, counting up and down the rows of numbers, climbing ladders and sliding down chutes, until someone reaches the final square. Chutes and Ladders is a game made with children in mind and there are likely few among us who do not have memories of playing this game at some point in their early years. There is no reading required with Chutes and Ladders. All one needs to be able to do is count as high as six and be able to at least read the number on the spinner. Because of its basic design and strategy, Chutes and Ladders is a good introductory game to the world of board games and it's the type of game that most any child, age three and up, can figure out with minimal guidance. Those at the lower end of the recommended age range can benefit from playing Chutes and Ladders because it helps them learn to count. Kids who are older can play the game with siblings and/or friends and keep themselves entertained for at least fifteen minutes and sometimes longer [Great if you need to, say, cook dinner!]. Chutes and Ladders is a good game for teaching kids what board games are all about and it serves as a launching point for other games. For this and other reasons, Chutes and Ladders deserves at least some respect. However, I am not willing to award this game the five star rating and the rave review that others have often given. How could I possibly not appreciate the greatness of Chutes and Ladders, you ask? Well, it is because Chutes and Ladders isn't the perfect game that many believe it to be and it actually has more flaws than meets the eye. You may not notice these flaws right away, but they become more evident as you play the game with your kids. Let's begin with the game board. As stated before, Chutes and Ladders is a simple game. All the players have to do is start at square number one and gradually count their way back and forth as they climb to the final square. This sounds simple enough, but the problem is that the squares, while numbered, do not quickly indicate which way is forward and which way is backward. The game begins by moving to the right but once you reach the tenth square, you have to move up one square and then move to the left. The problem is that children will get confused and will start moving in the opposite direction. You can't blame them- they were moving to the right on the previous row and now they have to move to the left. True, the squares are numbered but kids (and actually, many adults, too) will not even notice the numbers on the squares. They will just take their token in hand and start to count the number of spaces indicated by the spinner. They often will not even realize that they are moving backward. Next, I have an issue with the frustration that comes with playing Chutes and Ladders. Now, we all agree that, when playing a game, someone has to win and someone has to lose and that learning how to lose is part of the game of life. But the problem with Chutes and Ladders is that it seems to bring out the frustration and resentment levels in kids to a greater degree than other games. A child will be close to winning and then, suddenly, he/she lands on the long chute near the top and suddenly finds himself in last place. His confidence is deflated and he feels resentful toward his opponents who are now several rows ahead. I have witnessed several games of Chutes and Ladders that ended with one player angrily walking away and refusing to finish due to the negative psychological effects of those annoying chutes. Sure, it happens in other games, too, but the hurt feelings seem to occur with greater frequency when playing Chutes and Ladders. All in all, it does get confusing when counting back and forth and the game can lead to frustration in children. However, this is something that even kids must go through and learn from! Chutes and Ladders still serves its purpose as a launching pad for the enjoyment of board games in general. I love Chutes and Ladders and it has its merits and is worthy of an introduction to a family with young kids. But at the same time, I know many who have been so frustrated with this as a kid they never want to see the board again! Take away -- try it out, the price isn't at all going to make or break the outcome. Yes I would recommend this for a friend. Yes I would purchase this as a gift for a child of a friend or a child's friend. Definitely not for those with low tolerance for all things frustrating, set backs, and downward stock markets. ha ha.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VivaValleyViva
RACINE, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month