Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 172 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

172 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

172 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 128 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
Exceeded expectations
3/25/2008

Customer review by Swordman5000sWoman

5.0 stars 3/25/2008 by Swordman5000sWoman
by Swordman5000sWoman

My boyfriend bought me this camera on a lark. I've been using it to record his band Soulburn. This camera is awesome. The sound recording far exceeds anything I could have expected. Compact and easy to use this camera is absolutely wonderful. The only trouble I've had is sitting in front of my boyfriends kick drum when recording will cause the camera to keep refocusing from the vibrations...my fault not the cameras. Overall a great camera. And the zoom is awesome 40X optical...I never touch digital zoom as they pixilate too mouch so optical zoom is what I'm all about and this one is fantastic. I highly recommend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swordman5000sWoman
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
3/19/2008

Customer review by Warry

5.0 stars 3/19/2008 by Warry
by Warry

I have owned 3 camcorders now. I have enjoyed all.This one is great, the size, the simplicity, everything. I used it straight out of the box(I still have not read all instructions). I love the ease of watching on a dvd player. I look forward to using it even more than I ever did the others because of the size, also because I can make still pictures.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Warry
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Need Help about this Product?
1/16/2009

Customer review by LovesToShopWalMartGA

5.0 stars 1/16/2009 by LovesToShopWalMartGA
by LovesToShopWalMartGA

I bought mine online just right b4 Christmas, I got it 2 days earlier than theysaid I would. I took it out of the box and turned it on and just started recording. Its very lightwieght, the zoom is GREAT...The picture taking isn't all that wonderfull though, you have to be in a VERY WELL LIT ROOM. A few days B4 you get the product you will have to go and get a 2G or 4G Memory PRO DUO. Also you will need to buy 3 inch Mini-DVD....You can record either on the Stick or the CD, I use the STICK for the Picture taking though lol. AND REALLY PAY ATTENTION TO THIS PART : You DO NOT have to get SONY DISC for your camcorder...ANY of them work JUST FINE...and the OTHERS are CHEAPER TOO. Well I hope this was helpfull, b/c it took me 3 weeks of researching B4 I decided to just go ahead and buy this one. I'm glad I did, and you will be too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesToShopWalMartGA
Dalton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The quality is awesome
12/4/2008

Customer review by aniat

5.0 stars 12/4/2008 by aniat
by aniat

I love this camera, I just purchased this to send videos of my son to my parents and family-in law, because they live in PR. I already made a video and I love it. I burn the video in a DVD to send by mail and I know they are going to love it. I just have a little complaint and is not about the camera, is the software that came with to transfer video from the camera to the computer and edit them. It was a little complicated to understand how to do it, and I'm good with computers, so if you r not good at comp, you may have problem. And also, I tough that the mini-dvd would be read on the computer, but no, I have to transfer the video to the computer, and you have to be careful, because that is gonna take too much space on your computer and you have to delete everything after you burn a dvd, if you don't your computer is gonna be so slow, unless you have a lottttt of hard drive space.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aniat
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product
12/29/2008

Customer review by blackngoldfan

5.0 stars 12/29/2008 by blackngoldfan
by blackngoldfan

I bought this camcorder the first week of December and it has gotten a Lot of use!!! I got it right before my oldest daughters first dance recital and didn't even read the instruction manual and it was soo easy to use. The manual was easy to understand and I love the fact it can take still pictures as well. I would reccomend buying an extra battery as the one that comes with it does not last very long, but it is well worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackngoldfan
Ottumwa, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camcorder from SONY
3/22/2009

Customer review by Memories1DayAtAtime

5.0 stars 3/22/2009 by Memories1DayAtAtime
by Memories1DayAtAtime

Sony has done it again with this camcorder. I researched camcorders for a while before making this selection and I am very pleased. I am so happy to be able to catch the memories of my children and my family. PROS Touch screen Recording options Ease of Use You do not have to use ONLY sony DVDs for recording- others are cheaper! Included 2 discs one of which helps you learn the proper way to use the camcorder to get great video, also explains a few of the features Records straight to the DVD and can be played in most DVD Players, computers and of course the camcorder. Included USB, TV cord, and battery charger. I also purchased the starter kit with carrying case, 2 dvds, and extra battery. **And probably my favorite is the fact that you can choose what quality you want like standard, high or low, and depending on which you use, you will have more recording time. Keeps you informed of battery life and how many minutes used and how many are left. Also records in sepia, negative, and a few others. There is more wonderful things about this camcorder like the zoom! CONS I was a little disappointed that it didn't have a light included. Room should be well-lit when taking pictures or videos. However does have a night-vision sort of thing that adjusts the picture a little for better viewing. A little confusing for the first few uses. Get some practice in before heading out for the real stuff =) Will need to purchase a PRO DUO (only!) memory stick / card if you plan on taking any pictures.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Memories1DayAtAtime
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
OUTSTANDING CAMCORDER!
9/22/2008

Customer review by PunkSunn

5.0 stars 9/22/2008 by PunkSunn
by PunkSunn

This is an AWESOME item! Very easy to use! Lots and lots of features! Built very well and looks really nice! BEST price on-line too! I would reccommend a 4GB or 6GB Memory Stick PRO Duo and upgrade the battery (only to ensure longer recording capabilities. As with all camcorders, battery life is cut alot with increased use of zoom). Digital camera is best used with tri-pod. All in all, this is the absolute BEST price and product in camcorders! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PunkSunn
St Clair Shores, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love This Camcorder!
2/4/2009

Customer review by MSCEH

5.0 stars 2/4/2009 by MSCEH
by MSCEH

If you are looking for a Camcorder look no more. We bought this and use it every day. To work with, it is really easy to use. The pictures I uploaded are taken with the Camcorder, in the camera feature. My husband and I are really glad we made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MSCEH
Oregon, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Love it!
11/30/2008

Customer review by tracer123

5.0 stars 11/30/2008 by tracer123
by tracer123

My first camcorder so I wasnt sure what to expect. I found it very easy to get started with. Video and picture quality are excellent. There are more features on it than I will ever use. I do recommend and extra battery and to buy sony dvd's. When using other brnds, you get an anoying message every time you start to record. Just much simpler with Sony brand. Love this camcorer and would highly recomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tracer123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/12/2008

Customer review by mom2many

4.0 stars 6/12/2008 by mom2many
by mom2many

Never having owned a video camera before, I was hoping to get one that was easy to use and this one fits the bill. It's very simple to run and takes very clear pictures. I also like the fact that it can record to both a dvd and a memory stick. I am disappointed with the battery life however, but that might be a feature to all cameras. Like I said this is my first one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2many
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cool Camcorder
12/21/2008

Customer review by Donzaiah

4.0 stars 12/21/2008 by Donzaiah
by Donzaiah

This is a nice camcorder. It seems to be a little more complicated to operate than I anticipated -- I'm a skimmer when it comes to reading directions. A quick-start manual would probably be advantageous for those who aren't used to operating advanced electronics like this camcorder. To it's credit, though, accessing a few of the functions that I really needed immediately were intuitive (as I own a Sony digital camera that also makes videos with similar features). All-in-all, it's a good quality camcorder with great features for the price. If you're accustomed to operating this kind of electronic gadgetry, you'll have no problem operating it and getting good results.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Donzaiah
SE Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
spend your money on something else
6/23/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/23/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had a very hard time with the swithch to open and close the lens cover. It's very small and now I can't get it to close. You would think that Sony would make a better product. Also not very impressed with how it tapes. It has a hard time focusing on moving things. My advice look for a different dvd camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not what I thought it would be
3/21/2009

Customer review by nydigital

1.0 stars 3/21/2009 by nydigital
by nydigital

I was expecting something much different. I only bought it because my small digital camera does not have high quality video for TV viewing. It seems that once you finalize a disc and remove it, you cannot undo the finalizing process so the disc cannot be reused. (I tried and it kept saying that the function was not available.) Also, there is no internal memory. I thought there would be for some reason, but I guess it's not a feature with the 610 model ... only the 710 and 810, I believe. I read (on a different website) that you can't record video to the memory stick with this model either ... only still images. For this reason, I hesitate to even buy one since I will use my other digital camera for taking stills. I read the manual, but some of the features it instructs about do not seem to be available. (I.e., the internal memory setting option & the undo disc finalization.) I guess the manufacturer uses the same instructions for all three models and this one has the least functions actually available. I don't think I can return it to the store since it is an electronic item or I would do so in a heartbeat. I'd upgrade to something that has more features and INTERNAL memory if I could return this one. For the record, I am VERY computer literate and have been using my other digital video camera for years to create both TV and web viewing productions, so it's not that I am a total novice at using something like this. Just totally disappointed in myself for not researching it better. Impulse buying will get you every time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nydigital
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Truly Handycam
6/7/2008

Customer review by Stornomor

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by Stornomor
by Stornomor

This camcorder is very easy to use. If you take the time to read some basic insturctions it will work well out of the box. As the directions state, a tripod is essential for long range, steady, 40X shots. The lens gathers light well. After taking pictures in a low-light, indoor situation the results were better than expected. Media storage on both disk and memory chip was as expected. I used a brand of disk other than Sony and had to format them, but the on screen step by step process was easy to follow. Finalizing the disks is also easy to follow and they played on both my PC and Sony DVD player. The provided battery is adequate to record about two 30 minute disks or a 2 gig memory chip (purchased extra) before recharging--it hasn't run down completely while recording. The computer program loaded quickly and as expected. Registration via the USB connection to internet was quite simple. This is a very simple to use camera if you just read the instructions, and it's well worth the price paid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stornomor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sony Camcorder
6/9/2008

Customer review by bridgetto

5.0 stars 6/9/2008 by bridgetto
by bridgetto

This product is easy to use, has great sound and video quality. It is worth every cent that it cost! I have already recommended this product to all people I have come in contact with while using it! It's great to have all the options that it has for recording. I think that is one of it's major strong points.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bridgetto
Indpendence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
8/2/2008

Customer review by NICENURSE

5.0 stars 8/2/2008 by NICENURSE
by NICENURSE

This is the most user friendly camcorder. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely recommend this product to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NICENURSE
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A GREAT BUY!
8/2/2008

Customer review by mommadeedee

5.0 stars 8/2/2008 by mommadeedee
by mommadeedee

WE BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT JUST BEFORE WE WENT ON VACATION THIS YEAR. TO BE HONEST, WE DIDN'T READ THE MANUAL ON HOW TO WORK IT, BUT IT WAS SO EASY TO USE, WE FIGURED OUT ON OUR OWN!!! PLUS, I LOVE THE FACT THAT WITH JUST THE FLIP OF A BUTTON YOU CAN TAKE STILL PICTURES AND USE IT AS A VIDEO CAMCORDER WITHIN SECONDS!! IT'S NICE THAT I DON'T HAVE TO CARRY MY DIGIAL CAMERA AROUND W/ THE CAMCORDER. IT'S SOOOO EASY TO USE AND LIGHT WEIGHT. I DON'T HAVE ANY BAD THINGS TO SAY ABOUT THIS PRODUCT. IT WAS FOR SURE WORTH THE MONEY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommadeedee
armagh, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to Use
1/5/2009

Customer review by happyhandycam

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by happyhandycam
by happyhandycam

Love this camera, We have just switched from a VHS recorder that seen its last christmas to the Handy Cam. The quality was great and it is so very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyhandycam
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product for the money
12/5/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/5/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Everything I expected and more. It is ready to use out of the box and so easy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love it!!
4/7/2009

Customer review by HeNoSgIrL

5.0 stars 4/7/2009 by HeNoSgIrL
by HeNoSgIrL

I love this camcorder! The picture and sound are so clear. My boyfriend races on a dirt track, and I used this to record his races - It is so easy to use. :-) I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeNoSgIrL
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews