Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

175 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

175 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
131
4 stars
34
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 130 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
Love This Camcorder!
2/4/2009

Customer review by MSCEH

5.0 stars 2/4/2009 by MSCEH
by MSCEH
Walmart associate

If you are looking for a Camcorder look no more. We bought this and use it every day. To work with, it is really easy to use. The pictures I uploaded are taken with the Camcorder, in the camera feature. My husband and I are really glad we made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSCEH
Oregon, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Need Help about this Product?
1/16/2009

Customer review by LovesToShopWalMartGA

5.0 stars 1/16/2009 by LovesToShopWalMartGA
by LovesToShopWalMartGA

I bought mine online just right b4 Christmas, I got it 2 days earlier than theysaid I would. I took it out of the box and turned it on and just started recording. Its very lightwieght, the zoom is GREAT...The picture taking isn't all that wonderfull though, you have to be in a VERY WELL LIT ROOM. A few days B4 you get the product you will have to go and get a 2G or 4G Memory PRO DUO. Also you will need to buy 3 inch Mini-DVD....You can record either on the Stick or the CD, I use the STICK for the Picture taking though lol. AND REALLY PAY ATTENTION TO THIS PART : You DO NOT have to get SONY DISC for your camcorder...ANY of them work JUST FINE...and the OTHERS are CHEAPER TOO. Well I hope this was helpfull, b/c it took me 3 weeks of researching B4 I decided to just go ahead and buy this one. I'm glad I did, and you will be too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovesToShopWalMartGA
Dalton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Truly Handycam
6/7/2008

Customer review by Stornomor

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by Stornomor
by Stornomor

This camcorder is very easy to use. If you take the time to read some basic insturctions it will work well out of the box. As the directions state, a tripod is essential for long range, steady, 40X shots. The lens gathers light well. After taking pictures in a low-light, indoor situation the results were better than expected. Media storage on both disk and memory chip was as expected. I used a brand of disk other than Sony and had to format them, but the on screen step by step process was easy to follow. Finalizing the disks is also easy to follow and they played on both my PC and Sony DVD player. The provided battery is adequate to record about two 30 minute disks or a 2 gig memory chip (purchased extra) before recharging--it hasn't run down completely while recording. The computer program loaded quickly and as expected. Registration via the USB connection to internet was quite simple. This is a very simple to use camera if you just read the instructions, and it's well worth the price paid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stornomor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The quality is awesome
12/4/2008

Customer review by aniat

5.0 stars 12/4/2008 by aniat
by aniat

I love this camera, I just purchased this to send videos of my son to my parents and family-in law, because they live in PR. I already made a video and I love it. I burn the video in a DVD to send by mail and I know they are going to love it. I just have a little complaint and is not about the camera, is the software that came with to transfer video from the camera to the computer and edit them. It was a little complicated to understand how to do it, and I'm good with computers, so if you r not good at comp, you may have problem. And also, I tough that the mini-dvd would be read on the computer, but no, I have to transfer the video to the computer, and you have to be careful, because that is gonna take too much space on your computer and you have to delete everything after you burn a dvd, if you don't your computer is gonna be so slow, unless you have a lottttt of hard drive space.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aniat
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exceeded expectations
3/25/2008

Customer review by Swordman5000sWoman

5.0 stars 3/25/2008 by Swordman5000sWoman
by Swordman5000sWoman

My boyfriend bought me this camera on a lark. I've been using it to record his band Soulburn. This camera is awesome. The sound recording far exceeds anything I could have expected. Compact and easy to use this camera is absolutely wonderful. The only trouble I've had is sitting in front of my boyfriends kick drum when recording will cause the camera to keep refocusing from the vibrations...my fault not the cameras. Overall a great camera. And the zoom is awesome 40X optical...I never touch digital zoom as they pixilate too mouch so optical zoom is what I'm all about and this one is fantastic. I highly recommend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swordman5000sWoman
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
3/19/2008

Customer review by Warry

5.0 stars 3/19/2008 by Warry
by Warry

I have owned 3 camcorders now. I have enjoyed all.This one is great, the size, the simplicity, everything. I used it straight out of the box(I still have not read all instructions). I love the ease of watching on a dvd player. I look forward to using it even more than I ever did the others because of the size, also because I can make still pictures.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Warry
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good camcorder for its price
2/4/2009

Customer review by Seacell

4.0 stars 2/4/2009 by Seacell
by Seacell

I have always trusted Sony products so when it was time to replace our 5 year old Sony DCR-DVD101, I decided to buy another Sony. I chose the 610 because I have always liked the ease in recording to mini DVDs and even if editing is harder for this, right now, I don't really have time to do that (I have a 3 year old and expecting another one in April). I considered the 910 for a while but after some research, I found out that the best way to capture stills is still with a separate digital camera and not a camcorder/digital camera. The 610 has all the features I need to capture home videos. I love the touch screen. It's so easy to use and they've made it lighter! There are minor things that I liked in the older model that this model doesn't have like a strap, a remote control and the viewfinder that can be pulled up. I don't regret buying this camera and I have no complaints about the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seacell
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product
12/29/2008

Customer review by blackngoldfan

5.0 stars 12/29/2008 by blackngoldfan
by blackngoldfan

I bought this camcorder the first week of December and it has gotten a Lot of use!!! I got it right before my oldest daughters first dance recital and didn't even read the instruction manual and it was soo easy to use. The manual was easy to understand and I love the fact it can take still pictures as well. I would reccomend buying an extra battery as the one that comes with it does not last very long, but it is well worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blackngoldfan
Ottumwa, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cool Camcorder
12/21/2008

Customer review by Donzaiah

4.0 stars 12/21/2008 by Donzaiah
by Donzaiah

This is a nice camcorder. It seems to be a little more complicated to operate than I anticipated -- I'm a skimmer when it comes to reading directions. A quick-start manual would probably be advantageous for those who aren't used to operating advanced electronics like this camcorder. To it's credit, though, accessing a few of the functions that I really needed immediately were intuitive (as I own a Sony digital camera that also makes videos with similar features). All-in-all, it's a good quality camcorder with great features for the price. If you're accustomed to operating this kind of electronic gadgetry, you'll have no problem operating it and getting good results.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donzaiah
SE Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Camcorder from SONY
3/22/2009

Customer review by Memories1DayAtAtime

5.0 stars 3/22/2009 by Memories1DayAtAtime
by Memories1DayAtAtime

Sony has done it again with this camcorder. I researched camcorders for a while before making this selection and I am very pleased. I am so happy to be able to catch the memories of my children and my family. PROS Touch screen Recording options Ease of Use You do not have to use ONLY sony DVDs for recording- others are cheaper! Included 2 discs one of which helps you learn the proper way to use the camcorder to get great video, also explains a few of the features Records straight to the DVD and can be played in most DVD Players, computers and of course the camcorder. Included USB, TV cord, and battery charger. I also purchased the starter kit with carrying case, 2 dvds, and extra battery. **And probably my favorite is the fact that you can choose what quality you want like standard, high or low, and depending on which you use, you will have more recording time. Keeps you informed of battery life and how many minutes used and how many are left. Also records in sepia, negative, and a few others. There is more wonderful things about this camcorder like the zoom! CONS I was a little disappointed that it didn't have a light included. Room should be well-lit when taking pictures or videos. However does have a night-vision sort of thing that adjusts the picture a little for better viewing. A little confusing for the first few uses. Get some practice in before heading out for the real stuff =) Will need to purchase a PRO DUO (only!) memory stick / card if you plan on taking any pictures.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Memories1DayAtAtime
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
OUTSTANDING CAMCORDER!
9/22/2008

Customer review by PunkSunn

5.0 stars 9/22/2008 by PunkSunn
by PunkSunn

This is an AWESOME item! Very easy to use! Lots and lots of features! Built very well and looks really nice! BEST price on-line too! I would reccommend a 4GB or 6GB Memory Stick PRO Duo and upgrade the battery (only to ensure longer recording capabilities. As with all camcorders, battery life is cut alot with increased use of zoom). Digital camera is best used with tri-pod. All in all, this is the absolute BEST price and product in camcorders! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PunkSunn
St Clair Shores, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
11/30/2008

Customer review by tracer123

5.0 stars 11/30/2008 by tracer123
by tracer123

My first camcorder so I wasnt sure what to expect. I found it very easy to get started with. Video and picture quality are excellent. There are more features on it than I will ever use. I do recommend and extra battery and to buy sony dvd's. When using other brnds, you get an anoying message every time you start to record. Just much simpler with Sony brand. Love this camcorer and would highly recomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tracer123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/12/2008

Customer review by mom2many

4.0 stars 6/12/2008 by mom2many
by mom2many

Never having owned a video camera before, I was hoping to get one that was easy to use and this one fits the bill. It's very simple to run and takes very clear pictures. I also like the fact that it can record to both a dvd and a memory stick. I am disappointed with the battery life however, but that might be a feature to all cameras. Like I said this is my first one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom2many
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Price-Good Product
11/16/2008

Customer review by ElectronicsBuffInMT

5.0 stars 11/16/2008 by ElectronicsBuffInMT
by ElectronicsBuffInMT

Overall, I am pleased w/my purchase of this Sony camcorder. It seems to be doing the job that it was intended to do. No major problems yet. I discovered that I could not create "still" images directly onto the disc. I will have to purchase some "memory sticks" in order to do that. I like that it is really compact and light-weight, and it fits really well in your hand; and is not big and bulky. Be careful not to bump the unit while it is formatting a blank disc. This can interrupt the formatting process; and the disc will be wasted. This has already happened at least once. Could have just been a "bad" disc. Don't know yet. Will find out with more use and experience of the product. Good luck and happy filming.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElectronicsBuffInMT
someplace in Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fantastic Camera Bundled for Great price!
9/1/2008

Customer review by Wallyshoppah

5.0 stars 9/1/2008 by Wallyshoppah
by Wallyshoppah

I loved this camera! After searching numerous stores and reviews, I decided on this camera. While searching for the best deal I came to Walmart where the bundle with the case and disks CANNOT be beat. I was recording my children with this camera right out the box. If you just looking to record precious memories and good time at a great price, this is for you, I think that a professional camera person might use this as a backup, but its good enough for me. The one issue that I have with the actual camcorder is that the battery drains WAY too quickly! If you take anything away from this review, buy the bundle. It comes with a spare battery which you will use. If you have to buy a battery by itself, it will cost you $50-$60 bucks. The other issue I had with this actual purchase was the packaging of the camcorder, one word, three syllables "HORRIBLE". I bought a vacuum filter at the same time I bought the camera and it had better packaging and came in a bigger box than the camera. The camera was basically thrown in a box and shipped off, thank the people from Sony for at least having the common sense to package their own product properly. My advice for anyone buying a camcorder, get the bundle, get the extended warranty and enjoy recording, this is the best bang for you buck!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wallyshoppah
Chelsea,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Camera!
6/26/2008

Customer review by Paranormal

5.0 stars 6/26/2008 by Paranormal
by Paranormal

I just bought this camera less than a week ago, But it passed my tests with flying colors. This camera is just awesome, I use it for paranormal investigation, Like Ghost Hunters. And this is a great camera for the job. I have to use it in total darkness and it lights everything up very well and with no actual light. I love the night shot and super night shot. Even though when you have both NS and SNS on the video looks a little choppy and is delayed on the lcd screen, but still worth it and if you use just NS then the video is crystal clear. I love the touch lcd screen as well. I'd recommend this camera to anyone, It's cheap, a great value and just a all around great camera!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paranormal
Senatobia, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camcorder
2/21/2009

Customer review by Maxwell11

5.0 stars 2/21/2009 by Maxwell11
by Maxwell11

I dont usually write reviews but I feel this video camera is great. I was worried because the cost was lower then alot but Sony has done it again. Do know that you need video discs to record video and then if you want to take pictures you need to purchase a memory stick. I didnt because only using for video. Very easy to setup and use. I also love that when you take a video it shows it on the screen and you can touch the one you want instead of fast forwarding forever. One downfall that I can live with is the battery does not last very long but long enough to do what you need . Great quality if your looking for simple and easy to use !! Great buy !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maxwell11
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excelllent Camera!!
2/26/2009

Customer review by shortshop

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by shortshop
by shortshop

Very user friendly!! I'm no electronics wiz but I opened up the box, charged the camera and started using it! Mainly I wanted a video camera that would record onto a mini dvd that I could pop into DVD player and watch easily. No annoying adapter needed or weird cassette thing. Tip- You have to finalize the mini DVD on the handi-cam before you are able to play it in a DVD player.. this means no more erasing and rerecording after finalizing it. Quality excellent and so is sound. I shopped around and found Walmart had the best price tag- also purchase the soft case for handi-cam. The handi-cam is so small, fits snuggly in one hand. LOVE IT!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shortshop
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great video
4/19/2008

Customer review by NtvNYer

4.0 stars 4/19/2008 by NtvNYer
by NtvNYer

I purchased this product less than a week ago and now, I want to return it. It's not the recording or picture quality. What I'm having a problem w/is finding another battery. Wal-Mart doesn't carry them, nor does Sony and they're the manufacturer!! I've tried CircuitCity and BestBuy, they have every other model but the one that came w/the camcorder (NP-FH40).On the box it shows the replacement which sells for $99.00!, that's an excessive price to pay for any battery. Unless it's connected to a life support system. I would really love to keep this camcorder, but, eventually I will need another battery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NtvNYer
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Nice Product
8/18/2008

Customer review by Jenniferjp40

5.0 stars 8/18/2008 by Jenniferjp40
by Jenniferjp40

I bought this before we went on vacation and have had it now for about a month. I really like it and its easy to use. I havent had a camcorder for a few years now, and boy have they changed! I was able to use this camcorder with little reading of the manual. The touch screen is a very nice feature, in addition to the record and zoom buttons also being located on the edge of the screen for ease of use. We actually bought a different camcorder before this one and I ended up returning it for this one. Recording directly on DVD's is also a nice feature. I give this a "thumbs up" for sure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenniferjp40
Perryopolis, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews