Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-11 of 11 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Well Worth the Three Hours
8/30/2009

Customer review by EireLady

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by EireLady
by EireLady

When I first watched this, I had the 1995 version with Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet fresh in my mind. I didn't think that any other rendition of the story could top that one, but this one was just as good-- if not even better! The mood of the film is calming and quiet, the cinematography is very nice, and the music is appropriate and lovely. The actors are well chosen and very likeable, and this movie expands some of the situations in the story to give them more flavor, such as including more dialogue and scenes between MaryAnn and Willoughby. I think I like Colonel Brandon better in the older film than in this one, but all the other characters were very good. If you want to curl up and relax at home with chocolate, this is a good movie for you!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EireLady
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/1/2008

Customer review by tkba

3.0 stars 8/1/2008 by tkba
by tkba

I really liked this version of Sense and Sensibility, it went along with the book better than the last one that was made. If it wasn't for the first scene where a teenager is being seduced I would have given it five stars. Not a family friendly movie due to the first scene.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tkba
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Sense and Sensibility
9/19/2009

Customer review by werkau3

5.0 stars 9/19/2009 by werkau3
by werkau3

I love this one!!! I have watched it several times since I purchased it and am spell bound every time. I recommend this version very highly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
werkau3
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!
1/3/2015

Customer review by nora1

5.0 stars 1/3/2015 by nora1
by nora1

This is a wonderful adaptation. I am a huge fan of the Emma Thompson version, but this one is great as well. The setting/scenery is beautiful and the actors are wonderful. I agree with one reviewer that the opening scene was not necessary, but besides that it is great and one I will watch over and over. The cover for this is very nice and looks almost like a book and comes with the movie Miss Austen Regrets. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nora1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Pretty Good
4/29/2008

Customer review by According2Hart

4.0 stars 4/29/2008 by According2Hart
by According2Hart

Although I enjoyed the overall affect of Ang Lee’s version of Sense & Sensibility; this BBC Masterpiece Version captures the real heartache of the story. The culmination of the relationship between Marianne and Colonel Brandon at the end felt more natural then just happenstance. Most of the young men in the story are really good looking; and there's nothing wrong with a great story and a little eye candy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
According2Hart
Sacramento, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I have formed an attactment!
12/5/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/5/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this movie, it is so refreshing to watch a movie that isnt full of violence and nastiness. Tastefully done, and the characters are fantastic in their roles. I have watched it over and over and I love that time era. If you like Pride and Prejudice, you will love Sense and Sensibility.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Jane Austen Must-Have!
4/25/2009

Customer review by NeedItNow

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by NeedItNow
by NeedItNow

Oh my I love this Austen version the way it really captures the relationship between Elinor & Edward. The other version did not hone in on the details of the ever-building attraction and love between the two. And how different the dimeanor of Willoboughy (sorry wrong spelling) is from the other movie. In Short WHoooaaa.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeedItNow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/13/2009

Customer review by jjrccr

5.0 stars 1/13/2009 by jjrccr
by jjrccr

This is the perfect gift for Jane Austin purists. The price is the lowest I've found for a new purchase. I recommend this dvd for yourself or as a gift to your loved ones.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jjrccr
Cedar City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very good!
1/2/2009

Customer review by hopelessromantic1

5.0 stars 1/2/2009 by hopelessromantic1
by hopelessromantic1

This is my favorite version of Sense and Sensibilty. The actors are extremely talented...especially the actor who protrays Col. Brandon. This one is definately a keeper!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hopelessromantic1
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Totally captivating
1/16/2014

Customer review by Ritajaniemae

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by Ritajaniemae
by Ritajaniemae

Of the two versions viewed of this Jane Austen novel on TV, this is the best. It totally captures what her novels are all about and the scenery is breathtaking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ritajaniemae
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
6/8/2009

Customer review by IndianPaintbrush

5.0 stars 6/8/2009 by IndianPaintbrush
by IndianPaintbrush

A must have for Jane Austen fans! Checked prices on internet; Walmart had the best price around.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndianPaintbrush
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year