Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

84 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

84 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
27
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 stars
13
1-20 of 69 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Great A/C, bit noisy.
6/30/2008

Customer review by nakashi

4.0 stars 6/30/2008 by nakashi
by nakashi

After shopping around for a portable a/c, I came across this on the Wal-Mart website. This a/c was bigger than what I expected from the picture. This is a quite a big unit, and noisy too. It is about the size of a small room fridge, but a bit shorter. During the cooling mode you can actually 'feel' the condenser kicking it. The room actually shakes, or rumbles a bit when it does. Aside from that, the a/c unit is very adequate at doing its job. But the noise level is equivalent to an industrial grade fan or bathroom vent permenantly on in your room. The other nifty functions are the windows exhaust kit includes with the unit and no water drains are required. The window kit is easy to install, but will need to take a brief look in the manual if you never installed such kit. The only complaint I have about this unit is most of the important controls are on the remote. So if you lost the remote, you will lose a lot of important functions like timed-off or cooling-mode.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nakashi
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointing
7/8/2008

Customer review by WalmartShopper826

2.0 stars 7/8/2008 by WalmartShopper826
by WalmartShopper826

We bought this AC for our daughter who is away at college. She lives in a city and there are security bars on the windows so it seemed that a portable air conditioner would work out better than a window air conditioner. Unfortunately, the window vent is surprising large, so it is about 1/2 the height of a window air conditioner and our daughter had to move the security bars in order to install the window vent (not good for security). The unit was supposed to be self-evaporating, however, there must be some sort of water tray, because it would fill up within 2 hours of operation. A beep would go off and the unit would turn off. There is no easy way to drain the water and no instructions were included on how to do this anyway. While the unit cooled the room nicely, it would not stay on for an extended period of time. So I returned the unit to Walmart. Customer Service was great and there was no problem in getting a refund. We are going to check about getting a window unit and some other kind of security bars for the apartment window.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopper826
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
6/7/2008

Customer review by titansfootball

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by titansfootball
by titansfootball

Units works great I use it in my popup camper. It turn the 90 deg temp down to 75 deg very fast. The only problem the height is closer to 24" than 17" and won't fit under my counter top.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
titansfootball
Puryear, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Happy Consumer
7/10/2008

Customer review by HappyConsumerII

5.0 stars 7/10/2008 by HappyConsumerII
by HappyConsumerII

I bought this portable air conditioner on a leap of faith. I specifically bought this to cool down my bedroom because I felt my air unit in the living room couldn't handle the job of cooling down my bedroom. I live on on a third floor apartment and needless to say, the amount of heat I experience is a lot worse compared to living on the first floor. I already have a dual heating-cooling unit in my apartment. However, I felt the air unit I have in my apartment was only efficient in cooling down my living room and did not provide the cooling I like to have when I sleep at night. This unit is reasonably priced but I feel for the amount of the BTU'S, the unit could have been a little less expensive. However, after shopping around for this unit, I found Wal-Mart offered the lowest price on this unit and offered free shipping if you are willing to utilize the "Site-To-Store" option. Okay, down to the basics. This unit is a 7,000 BTU air conditioner. This unit is idea for cooling-down a bedroom or a mid-size room. If you are looking to cool down an entire floor, I would suggest buying a unit with a higher BTU. Besides cooling, the unit also can be switched to a dehumidifier mode or can be used as a fan as well. I definitely like the unit and I find the unit is not too noisy. However, if you are a light sleeper and you are looking for unit to cool your bedroom, you might want to reconsider buying this unit. The unit offers three-speeds of cooling, will cool as low to 61 degrees, and also has a timer in which you can adjust how long you are looking to run the unit. The unit also comes with a remote, which operates on two-AAA batteries. The unit also utilizes an auto-evaporation feature in which you don't have to worry about any excess water leaking out or ruining any sort of near by personal items. There is also an air-filter included and the instructions recommend you should clean the filter at least once a week or depending on usage. Okay, the down side of owning this unit. In order to use the unit for cooling, you definitely need a window to set-up the exhaust kit included. This unit will not work appropriately if you do not install the exhaust hose. The exhaust extends up to 5-Feet and you will have to also attach a port on to the outer frame of a window in order to attach the exhaust hose. Also, the other downside of this unit is the only way to adjust the speeds, air-temperature or modes on the unit is to use the remote. You can definitely power on or power off the machine by a touch button but that is another draw back to keep in mind. Over all, this unit works perfect for me. Because I live in an apartment, I could not install a typical air-unit in my window and this was my alternative option. I would recommend this unit is definitely idea if you live in a condo or apartment where you have limited windows. Note though, even though I do have the exhaust hose attached to my bedroom window, I am still able to open my bedroom window on cooler nights for air. I did attempt at first as to buy an air-cooler machine which is NOT an air conditioner. I only found though the air-cooler machine was only a glorified fan and did not offer me the level of cooling I like to have when I sleep at night. If you are looking for alternative cooling, don't have the window space for a conventional window-unit or so forth, I definitely recommend to spend the extra $100.00 and buy an air conditioner for yourself.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyConsumerII
Lisle, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great addition to camping
6/13/2008

Customer review by TentCamper

5.0 stars 6/13/2008 by TentCamper
by TentCamper

I purchased this portable air conditioner to use inside my tent. I love camping in a tent but not roughing it. The air conditioner could not keep up in the 97F, middle of the day heat, but at night worked great. Product for money and portability - you cannot beat this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TentCamper
Southwest Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
A real kool product
8/26/2008

Customer review by rzack

5.0 stars 8/26/2008 by rzack
by rzack

Commercial Air Cooler by Haier, Portable Air Conditioner With Remote, Black, 7000. I use it in my 7' cabover camper (Camper not wired for air conditioning). I can use my Honda 2000 generator to run it or plug directly into the RV electrical hookup box at any camp ground (State or Federal). Brings the heat in the camper down to 64 degrees when its 103 degrees outside. When I'm not camping, I use it at home in my bedroom. Makes the room just right on a very hot day (works perfect with the main house A/C). I like the fan ONLY option. I use that a lot. Very user friendly. Easy to setup and operate. Not loud when in operation. Hardly notice the increase in the electric bill. Excellent buy for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rzack
Olympia, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product as described
6/22/2008

Customer review by AnonymousHonestReview

5.0 stars 6/22/2008 by AnonymousHonestReview
by AnonymousHonestReview

Easy pick up at store. Easy Set up. We use this A/C in the bedroom of a ranch house with central air. Normally the bedroom was difficult to cool even with central air, but with this A/C unit it is the coolest room in the house. We don't need to waste energy freezing the entire house to stay comfortable in one room. In over two weeks of use the unit has been maintenance free & we have not had to drain water.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnonymousHonestReview
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More air than cool
5/26/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/26/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It's a very noisy and not very efficient unit. I have the air condition for one month and used 5 times. A lot of air comes out even on a low setting, but takes a long time to reach the temperature that I have set it for. So far, it actually didn't reach below 74 degrees. It's also very big for a portable unit. The stiff plastic air duck makes the unit sticking out away from the the window.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rego Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
nooo
5/21/2009

Customer review by rkr04901

1.0 stars 5/21/2009 by rkr04901
by rkr04901

I bought this over a year ago for hot and humid weather in Maine. This unit hard a hard time keeping a small room cool. It blows out cold air, but for some reason couldn't cool down a room. I do not recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rkr04901
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Not what I expected
5/31/2009

Customer review by fishingfever

2.0 stars 5/31/2009 by fishingfever
by fishingfever

The portable AC does not cool all well as I expected. It is used in a small bedroom and I disappointed in its ability to cool only one room

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishingfever
Jackson , Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Garbage
5/17/2008

Customer review by DeegansTroop

1.0 stars 5/17/2008 by DeegansTroop
by DeegansTroop

Hooks up easy but doesn't cool at all! I would be suprised if this thing could cool a closet. Air blowing out isn't very cold. Product reviews all said good things and I thought I could trust the people but apparently not. I wish I just could have wasted my money on something that works, like $400 worth of ice or something.

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeegansTroop
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My Experience With This Portable A/C
7/4/2008

Customer review by GrammyKay

3.0 stars 7/4/2008 by GrammyKay
by GrammyKay

This is my 3rd portable a/c and my first Haier. It was purchased for use in my kitchen where its' handy compact size is adequate for the task. It arrived well packed and started right up. I have another brand portable a/c that has worked well for several years with auto evaporation, but this one does not. During its' first use and after only a couple of hours use the alarm went off, the motor cut out and I had to open the drain and dispose of much water. It must now work with a drain tube that I have installed. I consider this a big enough problem to award it only an AVERAGE rating and I am very disappointed with the inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammyKay
Acton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not bad for the money
5/2/2008

Customer review by Abazabba

3.0 stars 5/2/2008 by Abazabba
by Abazabba

I haven't had much of a chance to use it yet. I plugged it in the other day, it took a bit to cool off but once it got going I could feel the cool air clear in the kitchen. I'm using it in a space twice what it's rated for and I it seems to work just fine. As far as durabillity, I'll find out by the end of summer. It runs smooth and quiet too, no vibration and I don't have to turn my TV up to hear over it. Much better than box fans making my apartment sound like an airport and just blowing hot air around! Also much better than having to mount one in the window, when I'm not home I can just take the vent out and LOCK my apartment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abazabba
Creswell, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It does the trick
6/22/2008

Customer review by CamperJohn

4.0 stars 6/22/2008 by CamperJohn
by CamperJohn

I bought this for my pop-up camper knowing perfectly well the camper had zero insulation. However, on my first trip the outside temp. was 91 degrees and within 2hrs this item had the temp down to a very comfortable 76 degrees (note: the camper was not in the direct sun). It is not light, but does have handles on the side for lifting and coasters on the bottom as well. In such a small space as the camper, the unit seemed just a little loud...but I wrote that off due to the closeness of the small camper I have. Very pleased with the item. It took about 2 1/2 weeks for it to be delivered to the store (I ordered on-line).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CamperJohn
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works great
9/11/2010

Customer review by Beleiver1

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by Beleiver1
by Beleiver1

I have a very large upstairs bedroom that gets up to 90 Degrees in the summertime. Since we got this the room stays at a comfortable 74 degrees. No problems and no fuss, this machine has worked great for two years now.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beleiver1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Dissatisfied
7/22/2008

Customer review by WalmartlShopper

1.0 stars 7/22/2008 by WalmartlShopper
by WalmartlShopper

I was really excited about receiving this but my excitement quickly turned to disappointment as soon as I plugged the unit in. First off, I expected some noise but this unit is LOUD! It also emitted a strange smell that wouldn't go away. Finally, and most importantly, it just wouldn't cool a relatively small room. It just ran and ran and never reached a satisfactory temperature. I could have overlooked the noise and the smell if it at least cooled the room but this was not the case. My only alternative was to return the unit which I did after only using it for a couple days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartlShopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Decent for the Price, but LOUD
5/12/2008

Customer review by VAWallyWorldShppr

4.0 stars 5/12/2008 by VAWallyWorldShppr
by VAWallyWorldShppr

Bought this AC because our HOA will not allow window AC units and our central air is old and doesn't cool our bedroom on the 3rd floor very well. The AC's window attachment is easy to put together and is not noticeable at all from the outside. The hose that runs to the unit is big, about 5 or 6 inches in diameter, so unless large hoses go with your decor, you may want to plan to hide it with curtains or something. The unit itself is pretty big and heavy although the wheels do help move it around. The black finish looks much nicer than the white or tan units. The remote is good to have, but there are no controls on the unit itself so you have to be very careful not to lose it. My #1 complaint and the reason I took away stars in the rating is the noise this thing makes. It has 3 speeds for the AC: running car engine, accelerating semi truck, and jet taking off. Not a good purchase for the room you are trying to sleep in. We try to run it on high before we go to bed to cool the room down, then turn it off before we go to sleep. It would be a fine purchase for a living room or play room or something. Overall, we're not unhappy with this purchase. The price was right so we can't complain too much, and didn't consider returning the unit. It also seems like it is well built and should last for a few years. I would recommend this unit to someone who isn't able to pay a couple hundred more for a smaller quieter AC.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VAWallyWorldShppr
Northern VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not What I Expected
7/7/2008

Customer review by BLR05

2.0 stars 7/7/2008 by BLR05
by BLR05

Even in a small space this AC did nothing for cooling. In the description it is states the AC is dripless and does not require draining a pan. This is ABSOLUTELY not true. After running for about 3 hrs the unit automatically shuts itself off because it is filled with water and needs to be drained, and that's not the worst part. The drain valve is so close to the floor the only thing I could use to place under it is a baking pan, which does not hold water very well. I had to get up in the middle of the night twice to do this. I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLR05
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BARELY COOLS
7/10/2008

Customer review by TAOche

1.0 stars 7/10/2008 by TAOche
by TAOche

In my 11'X16' completely closed bedroom this unit on HIGH running for hours will only cool the room by 5 to 7 degrees. And if the outside temp goes up so does the inside room temp. I had an air conditioner tech come to the house and look at it. He said nothing was wrong with the unit. That all these inside portable air conditioning units with only 1 exhaust hose and no intake hose are extremely inefficient and 5 to 10 degrees difference is about you can expect so his advice; If you don't buy a 2 hose model then DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TAOche
Eugene, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just one little problem
5/25/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/25/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a great product but there is one little flaw in the window exhaust kit. Even at it's smallest...it is too big for a standard size window. I solved the problem by removing the sliding panel and just using the panel with the exhaust hole and moving it to a smaller window. I have a tiny gap to duct tape over but for the most part it is a great value. It was very easy to set up (window kit not withstanding) and is very easy to move from place to place. No heavy lifting is a big bonus.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews