Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 151 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

151 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

151 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
28
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 stars
23
1-20 of 130 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
5 Stars! Great Smoker!
5/27/2011

Customer review by JAYHAWKJAY

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by JAYHAWKJAY
by JAYHAWKJAY

Great Smoker and a great price, this thing is plenty big for a first time smoker, I read reviews on people complaining about the door to add coals and wood is too small, its seems to work fine for me, you only add coals once every hour and a half if that, I added a few heavy hand full’s of coal twice in 5 hours of smoking, get some Kingsford chips a small bag is 2.99, soak them in water/ dry and throw them on it will smoke for about 20 min or so each time 2 hand full’s, if I knew smoking was this easy I would have been doing it a long time ago, 39 bucks at my Wal-Mart, get a chimney starter it saves tons of time and food taste better with no lighter fluid.

Was this review helpful? (225) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAYHAWKJAY
WICHITA, KANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
First time BBQ smoker...
3/8/2011

Customer review by Lee10

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by Lee10
by Lee10

I maded the decision to purchase the Brinkmann smoke n grill over the weber because of the price. Also, the Brinkmann has been rated as one of the best smokers. Set up was easy...just follow the instructions and be sure to cure your new smoker. My only advise is to load up the charcoal pan full of charcoals. Then, add a few hot charcoals from a charcoal chimmey. You get a much longer burn. Do not use lighter fluid...it will only shorten the burn time and you'll have to add more coals. Also, purchase a meat thermometer. You don't not want to open the lid and lose hit during the smoking process. Besides the tips, I smoked my first chicken thighs and they turned out great! Next step is pork shoulder. Enjoy and good luck!

Was this review helpful? (121) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lee10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, great price.
3/9/2014

Customer review by Lynver

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Lynver
by Lynver

This was my second purchase of this item. The first was 15 years ago! That is how durable this smoker is. It works great and is easy to use. We smoke chicken, ham, turkey, fish. It saves money, you can smoke your own meats and create gifts baskets for friends and family on holidays. I would recommend this to anyone who likes smoked meats or who wants to try their hand at smoking meats. At this price you can't lose!

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lynver
Hollywood, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5 star with some changes.
3/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I really like this smoker. I have had it for about 2 years and use it often. I have found some ways to improve the design however which are pretty simple. The first one I found searching the internet and that was to mount the support legs on the outside of the smoker rather than the inside. If you do this you need to purchase 2 or 3 patio bricks to support the charcoal pan, these bricks are cheap. Use the bricks to support the charcoal pan then when you need to add charcoal just lift the entire smoker off of the bricks/ charcoal pan, add charcoal, and replace smoker over coals. You can also put a small grill rack in bottom of charcoal pan to improve airflow under coals. I like to control the airflow so I usually seal around lid with rolled up aluminum foil. I drilled 3 holes in the lid and installed a round damper so I can control the upper airflow and temperature easier. To make clean up easier I usually buy a $1 aluminum pan to place the meat in on the smoker racks. All of this may sound like a lot of trouble for a smoker you purchase but the additions really don't cost much and can help the performance of the smoker.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product!
12/23/2010

Customer review by seabeejen

4.0 stars 12/23/2010 by seabeejen
by seabeejen

This smoker was a great price, easy to put together, and looks more valuable than what I paid for it. We have used it once so far, and the meat turned out great! Only thing I would change on newer models is an easier way to add more coals to the bottom. Right now we have to take all the trays out to add more. The access door on the side isn't quit low enough for this.

Was this review helpful? (77) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seabeejen
Bay Saint Louis, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good product, better price!!!
6/18/2012

Customer review by Dotman1298

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Dotman1298
by Dotman1298

I never used a smoker before. I am a Diners, Drive In's and Dives addict and most of what they do is barbecue/smoking meat and I wanted to give it a shot. My father in law and I always talk Triple D so I thought on a whim that for Fathers Day my wife and I would buy him one. I bought non lighter fluid infused charcoal, lighter fluid, Jack Daniels infused wood chips and for my first time smoking, I kept it simple. I only had about 6 hrs so I chose chicken leg/thigh and some country style ribs. I did a shake and bake style rub with some seasoned salt and some chicken rub and fired up the smoker. Just used water in the pan, no added marinades. Temp never got above halfway through "ideal" but also never got below "ideal" either. Six hours later we dug in and was ecstatic how good it turned out. It was absolutely an experiment and would do lots different but re the review summary, "good product, better price". In fact, I am on line now buying my own!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dotman1298
Hagerstown, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Smokin' Grill and Smoker
8/9/2011

Customer review by Josie27910

4.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Josie27910
by Josie27910

First, regarding the top, it is not meant to fit snub. Read that a different brochure. Also you have to let coals burn before putting on meat and putting on the top. Otherwise, coals will die out. I have used multiple times already and there is a learning curve. Botton line, I love it. Ohhhh, try some turkey legs seasoned and wrapped in foil. Good eating.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Josie27910
Ahoskie, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best bang for the buck!
6/13/2011

Customer review by kmussel2k

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by kmussel2k
by kmussel2k

This grill is the ultimate cooking device. This single device allows you to cook a variety of different foods in a variety of different styles. I have been using a charcoal smoker for over 20 years and would never have anything else. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmussel2k
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT!
3/31/2011

Customer review by BClerici

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by BClerici
by BClerici

I just tried out this smoker and LOVE IT! The meat was perfect. Everybody loved the results.

Was this review helpful? (32) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BClerici
Hershey, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Brinkman Smoker
4/3/2011

Customer review by Kimos

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by Kimos
by Kimos

This grill is an outstanding grill for my needs. Smoke a turkey and ribs at the same time and yet the flavor of the meat was tasty and juicy. Highly recommended for someone who enjoys real smoke flavored BBQ.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimos
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Buy
5/6/2011

Customer review by Ladarlena

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Ladarlena
by Ladarlena

This is actually my 3rd smoker. I lost the others during Hurricane Katrina. My family was thrilled to see this old friend. Will be used at least three times a month from now.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladarlena
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great lil Smoker
3/1/2011

Customer review by Eclipso20

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by Eclipso20
by Eclipso20

If you are a novice such as i am this is a great lil smoker. It helped me win our family cook off with a nice smoked brisket. Plus the price is just right.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eclipso20
Glendora
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good starter smoker, but...
1/23/2013

Customer review by packerfannate

3.0 stars 1/23/2013 by packerfannate
by packerfannate

This isn't a bad smoker but it isn't really usable right out of the box. This was my first smoker and I had a very hard time getting the temperature up over 200 which is about the minimum to smoke safely. I moved the legs the outside and added legs to the charcoal pan so it stands independently. This allows me to life the smoker off the charcoal. The little door on the side really isn't practical for adding lump charcoal. I drilled some holes in the charcoal pan to allow better air flow and this helped get the temperature up a lot. The temperature gauge that ships is useless as it doesn't have the actual temperature. I simply drilled a new hole and installed a new one. Once I had done these things it worked like a champ. I have used it for more than 2 years now and it has made some amazing meals.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
packerfannate
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great! But follow instructions!
6/6/2014

Customer review by Twynter

4.0 stars 6/6/2014 by Twynter
by Twynter

Works great... Even though I used half the suggested amount of charcoal, the flavor was good; just took longer to smoke because it wouldn't maintain the ideal temperature. More charcoal yields higher heat so don't skimp on the charcoal. I have no complaints, but be patient with assembly.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Twynter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I actually love it
8/29/2011

Customer review by StrongYoungSingleMom24

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by StrongYoungSingleMom24
by StrongYoungSingleMom24

I love this smokers i made some jerky and it came out excellent. The only thing i didnt care for is putting it together, it was kind of difficult because of its huge round shape. Other than that it grills and smoke great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StrongYoungSingleMom24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for the price!
4/28/2012

Customer review by RicMil

5.0 stars 4/28/2012 by RicMil
by RicMil

I ordered ths online because it was not available in the store. The shipping was cheaper than me using the gas in my car to drive to Walmart! It arrived in three days. It works great, to grill, sear and smoke. Easy to maintain temperature and keep the water pan from drying out with the door on the side. Lots of room for smoking but limited on grill size.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RicMil
Clinton, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Good product for the money
5/13/2011

Customer review by MichaeltheMadMower

4.0 stars 5/13/2011 by MichaeltheMadMower
by MichaeltheMadMower

My wife bought this for me for my birthday. We used it the first time to smoke a small turkey. It worked just as expected. It was my first attempt at smoking any kind of meat. It turned out deliciously. Since then, I have used it twice as a grill, to cook steaks and salmon. That worked fine, too. So I got a smoker and grill for the price of a grill!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichaeltheMadMower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Smoker works great, was easy, and affordable!
1/3/2013

Customer review by WalmartLinux

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by WalmartLinux
by WalmartLinux

I really liked smoked meats and have wanted to try smoking myself. Several people I know have very expensive smokers, but I was not willing to spend a lot since I had no experience at smoking. I purchased the Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker and figured for the price I could just use it for a charoal grill if the smoker part did not work out. On my first attempt, after curing the smoker as directions stated, I tried smoking a pork loin and the Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker made me look like I had been smoking for years. I would recommend this product to anyone who can read the directions and follow instructions.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartLinux
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would recommend this.
1/1/2012

Customer review by exit408

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by exit408
by exit408

This the second Brinkmann charcoal smoker for us. Can't beat it for the money, (and shipping was cheap) even the stainless models have the same cooking grates as this one. I put a screw through each leg and it sits on top of the gas turkey fryer burner perfect, this works great if it is windy or you need additional heat. Or you can wrap the bottom area with some thin metal if the wind gets too bad. I added a thermometer from an old grill that actually reads temperature in degrees instead of "cool, ideal, hot". The charcoal door could be bigger, but for the price it's an excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
exit408
Hampstead,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect for the weekends!
11/19/2011

Customer review by RIMotheroftheBride

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by RIMotheroftheBride
by RIMotheroftheBride

This was a gift for my daughter and boyfriend. They have enjoyed using it on the weekends when they get together with friends. It came with everything they needed to get started and said the recipes are easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RIMotheroftheBride
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews