Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 151 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

151 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

151 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
28
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 stars
23
1-20 of 130 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
5 Stars! Great Smoker!
5/27/2011

Customer review by JAYHAWKJAY

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by JAYHAWKJAY
by JAYHAWKJAY

Great Smoker and a great price, this thing is plenty big for a first time smoker, I read reviews on people complaining about the door to add coals and wood is too small, its seems to work fine for me, you only add coals once every hour and a half if that, I added a few heavy hand full’s of coal twice in 5 hours of smoking, get some Kingsford chips a small bag is 2.99, soak them in water/ dry and throw them on it will smoke for about 20 min or so each time 2 hand full’s, if I knew smoking was this easy I would have been doing it a long time ago, 39 bucks at my Wal-Mart, get a chimney starter it saves tons of time and food taste better with no lighter fluid.

Was this review helpful? (256) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JAYHAWKJAY
WICHITA, KANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good product, better price!!!
6/18/2012

Customer review by Dotman1298

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Dotman1298
by Dotman1298

I never used a smoker before. I am a Diners, Drive In's and Dives addict and most of what they do is barbecue/smoking meat and I wanted to give it a shot. My father in law and I always talk Triple D so I thought on a whim that for Fathers Day my wife and I would buy him one. I bought non lighter fluid infused charcoal, lighter fluid, Jack Daniels infused wood chips and for my first time smoking, I kept it simple. I only had about 6 hrs so I chose chicken leg/thigh and some country style ribs. I did a shake and bake style rub with some seasoned salt and some chicken rub and fired up the smoker. Just used water in the pan, no added marinades. Temp never got above halfway through "ideal" but also never got below "ideal" either. Six hours later we dug in and was ecstatic how good it turned out. It was absolutely an experiment and would do lots different but re the review summary, "good product, better price". In fact, I am on line now buying my own!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dotman1298
Hagerstown, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5 star with some changes.
3/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I really like this smoker. I have had it for about 2 years and use it often. I have found some ways to improve the design however which are pretty simple. The first one I found searching the internet and that was to mount the support legs on the outside of the smoker rather than the inside. If you do this you need to purchase 2 or 3 patio bricks to support the charcoal pan, these bricks are cheap. Use the bricks to support the charcoal pan then when you need to add charcoal just lift the entire smoker off of the bricks/ charcoal pan, add charcoal, and replace smoker over coals. You can also put a small grill rack in bottom of charcoal pan to improve airflow under coals. I like to control the airflow so I usually seal around lid with rolled up aluminum foil. I drilled 3 holes in the lid and installed a round damper so I can control the upper airflow and temperature easier. To make clean up easier I usually buy a $1 aluminum pan to place the meat in on the smoker racks. All of this may sound like a lot of trouble for a smoker you purchase but the additions really don't cost much and can help the performance of the smoker.

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
First time BBQ smoker...
3/8/2011

Customer review by Lee10

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by Lee10
by Lee10

I maded the decision to purchase the Brinkmann smoke n grill over the weber because of the price. Also, the Brinkmann has been rated as one of the best smokers. Set up was easy...just follow the instructions and be sure to cure your new smoker. My only advise is to load up the charcoal pan full of charcoals. Then, add a few hot charcoals from a charcoal chimmey. You get a much longer burn. Do not use lighter fluid...it will only shorten the burn time and you'll have to add more coals. Also, purchase a meat thermometer. You don't not want to open the lid and lose hit during the smoking process. Besides the tips, I smoked my first chicken thighs and they turned out great! Next step is pork shoulder. Enjoy and good luck!

Was this review helpful? (142) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lee10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SAD
6/22/2011

Customer review by MYDaycare

3.0 stars 6/22/2011 by MYDaycare
by MYDaycare

I was not overly impressed with this smoker. I chose it based on price and reviews, so I only have myself to blame. You get what you pay for with this particular smoker. The reviews that I had read were great and so for the price I got this for my husbands father's day gift. First off there were no holes or any way to release the ash off the bottom of the coals as you're cooking. The coals will smother in the ash if you're smoking all day as we were, so my husband had to improvise. Second there was no vent or way to regulate the heat inside. This would have been a nice added feature, but I guess I needed to buy a more expensive one for this. Overall it is made of good quality material and it arrived in a timely manner as well as easy to assemble . You can fit a lot of food in it, just a bummer you can't really get to the bottom rack without removing all food and rack above, this caused some issues as well, but our first meal did turn out to be a success.

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MYDaycare
Shelbyville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great, but understand better options.
7/7/2013

Customer review by SButler83

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by SButler83
by SButler83

I bought this to prevent hauling my Weber smoker to camping trips, if it breaks or I lose somethig, it is 1/8 the cost. This thing more than does the job and doubles well as a small volume grill, but understand 2 design features that would make a more expensive smoker a better option for someone who uses it frequently. 1) The fire pan is difficult to service when smoking in comparison to the type where you can lift the top off. Having used better (and more expensive) smokers, it is definitely nice to have the upper section lift off the fire bowl so you can service the fire more easily. 2) Temperature is difficult to control in comparison to higher quality smokers, which have temperature control valves that let air in and air/smoke out, which also helps you control oxygen to control the speed that your smoker chips burn. The Thermometer on this smoker doesn't show actual temperature, only "warm-Ideal-Hot". This is not ideal for finesse smoking like a brisket, etc. Bottom line this is a great, but entry level smoker. You can cook great food on it, it's just a matter of what features you want.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SButler83
Los Banos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product, great price.
3/9/2014

Customer review by Lynver

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Lynver
by Lynver
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was my second purchase of this item. The first was 15 years ago! That is how durable this smoker is. It works great and is easy to use. We smoke chicken, ham, turkey, fish. It saves money, you can smoke your own meats and create gifts baskets for friends and family on holidays. I would recommend this to anyone who likes smoked meats or who wants to try their hand at smoking meats. At this price you can't lose!

Was this review helpful? (52) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lynver
Hollywood, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good starter smoker, but...
1/23/2013

Customer review by packerfannate

3.0 stars 1/23/2013 by packerfannate
by packerfannate

This isn't a bad smoker but it isn't really usable right out of the box. This was my first smoker and I had a very hard time getting the temperature up over 200 which is about the minimum to smoke safely. I moved the legs the outside and added legs to the charcoal pan so it stands independently. This allows me to life the smoker off the charcoal. The little door on the side really isn't practical for adding lump charcoal. I drilled some holes in the charcoal pan to allow better air flow and this helped get the temperature up a lot. The temperature gauge that ships is useless as it doesn't have the actual temperature. I simply drilled a new hole and installed a new one. Once I had done these things it worked like a champ. I have used it for more than 2 years now and it has made some amazing meals.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
packerfannate
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Smokin' Grill and Smoker
8/9/2011

Customer review by Josie27910

4.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Josie27910
by Josie27910

First, regarding the top, it is not meant to fit snub. Read that a different brochure. Also you have to let coals burn before putting on meat and putting on the top. Otherwise, coals will die out. I have used multiple times already and there is a learning curve. Botton line, I love it. Ohhhh, try some turkey legs seasoned and wrapped in foil. Good eating.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Josie27910
Ahoskie, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Surprisingly Effective For The Price
9/28/2014

Customer review by Delmarvan

4.0 stars 9/28/2014 by Delmarvan
by Delmarvan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my third one of these. The only reason I've had three is because I keep moving and "will" the smoker to a friend or neighbor as I leave (otherwise the moving van smells like smoke). I've used far more expensive smokers - several, in fact - and produce at least as good - if not better - results with this $50 wonder from Brinkmann. If you'd have told me an "unsealed" smoker (the bottom is open) would work as well as a sealed one, I'd have laughed in your face. Well, the joke was on me. This little baby cranks out some great smoked meats and 'cue. If you work it right, you start it, get the smoking chips/chunks going, pack it full of meat, and forget about it for several hours. Let the smoke do it's stuff. Then enjoy the results.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Delmarvan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The little smoker that barely could
3/3/2015

Customer review by Mooncatt

2.0 stars 3/3/2015 by Mooncatt
by Mooncatt

When I got this smoker, it was easy to put together and setup, but I wouldn't even recommend this as a beginner smoker. It's so basic, that I had a hard time keeping the temps up, even when I used hotter burning lump coal. Cooking times was drastically increased (but at least still turned out ok) over what should have been necessary with the out of the box setup. I've since seen that pretty much everyone has the same complaint and the only ways around it are to drill holes for better air flow. The last thing someone new to smoking is going to want to do is modify what they expected to be a half decent smoker. This is one of those cases where even if you are new and not sure if you'll like this style cooking, you should at least look for something better than bargain basement. The only way I'd recommend this to anyone is if they are just that limited in storage space to put the smoker when not in use and are willing to modify this one to work properly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mooncatt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Brinkman Smoker
4/3/2011

Customer review by Kimos

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by Kimos
by Kimos

This grill is an outstanding grill for my needs. Smoke a turkey and ribs at the same time and yet the flavor of the meat was tasty and juicy. Highly recommended for someone who enjoys real smoke flavored BBQ.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimos
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best bang for the buck!
6/13/2011

Customer review by kmussel2k

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by kmussel2k
by kmussel2k

This grill is the ultimate cooking device. This single device allows you to cook a variety of different foods in a variety of different styles. I have been using a charcoal smoker for over 20 years and would never have anything else. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kmussel2k
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Great Product!
12/23/2010

Customer review by seabeejen

4.0 stars 12/23/2010 by seabeejen
by seabeejen

This smoker was a great price, easy to put together, and looks more valuable than what I paid for it. We have used it once so far, and the meat turned out great! Only thing I would change on newer models is an easier way to add more coals to the bottom. Right now we have to take all the trays out to add more. The access door on the side isn't quit low enough for this.

Was this review helpful? (88) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seabeejen
Bay Saint Louis, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good product for the money
5/13/2011

Customer review by MichaeltheMadMower

4.0 stars 5/13/2011 by MichaeltheMadMower
by MichaeltheMadMower

My wife bought this for me for my birthday. We used it the first time to smoke a small turkey. It worked just as expected. It was my first attempt at smoking any kind of meat. It turned out deliciously. Since then, I have used it twice as a grill, to cook steaks and salmon. That worked fine, too. So I got a smoker and grill for the price of a grill!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichaeltheMadMower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for the weekends!
11/19/2011

Customer review by RIMotheroftheBride

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by RIMotheroftheBride
by RIMotheroftheBride

This was a gift for my daughter and boyfriend. They have enjoyed using it on the weekends when they get together with friends. It came with everything they needed to get started and said the recipes are easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RIMotheroftheBride
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I actually love it
8/29/2011

Customer review by StrongYoungSingleMom24

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by StrongYoungSingleMom24
by StrongYoungSingleMom24

I love this smokers i made some jerky and it came out excellent. The only thing i didnt care for is putting it together, it was kind of difficult because of its huge round shape. Other than that it grills and smoke great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StrongYoungSingleMom24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Buy
5/6/2011

Customer review by Ladarlena

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Ladarlena
by Ladarlena

This is actually my 3rd smoker. I lost the others during Hurricane Katrina. My family was thrilled to see this old friend. Will be used at least three times a month from now.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ladarlena
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Getting The Most Bang For Your Buck
6/8/2015

Customer review by HoboQueen

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by HoboQueen
by HoboQueen

I used to cook on this once a week & fed a lot of hungry people. It always worked perfectly, if you just leave it alone. A few tips... use an entire ten lb. bag of charcoal, stack it up like a pyramid in the charcoal pan, and make sure it's completely saturated with lighter fluid. If you do these steps correctly, you can let it smoke for 5 to 6 hrs. and never once have to open the door to check on it, or add more charcoal or water. Your thermostat should stay at the lower end of "hot". This method cooked everything I ever put on it to perfection, with that rich, reddish ring around the outside edge. Whole pork loins, huge beef rump roasts turkeys, etc. Go ahead & fill up the racks & then LEAVE IT ALONE! Opening the door or lid is the enemy of a good smoking session. I used to put assorted vegetables in the water pan, along with the water. I filled it up with potatoes, carrots, onions, whole mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, etc., then filled the pan all the way to the top with water. As the meat would cook, the juices would drip and become incorporated into the vegetables, which would give them a delicious flavor. They're the tastiest vegetables you'll ever eat. Only once did my coals seem to burn a little hot & I had to add more water to the pan in all my years of cooking this way. If you absolutely must open the door, just make it fast. Enjoy. This is a good value and works well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoboQueen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/9/2013

Customer review by DudeMomChickyBabe

4.0 stars 2/9/2013 by DudeMomChickyBabe
by DudeMomChickyBabe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the smoker/grill because we have a very small space. I liked the two in one use and I've wanted a smoker for a long while. We've used it twice as a grill. On the grill perspective, it cooks a little slower than a regular grill, but not a major time difference. Your foods have a more smoky flavor than a regular grill. I'm thinking that if the lid is cracked, that might lessen the smokiness. My 12 year old did not like the smoke flavor in her hamburger but the adults did. I thought that the hamburgers and steaks we've cooked on it so far were awesome. I tend to like my grilled foods to have more charring than we've been able to get from this smoker but most others don't like that. It definitely cooks well so you don't end up with food that is cooked on the outside and bloody on the inside.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DudeMomChickyBabe
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews