Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 171 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

171 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

171 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
101
4 stars
37
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 stars
9
1-20 of 152 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews
Picture Quality
5/10/2008

Customer review by AvrJoe

5.0 stars 5/10/2008 by AvrJoe
by AvrJoe

I purchased this antenna last year around November. It took me about 5 hours to assemble and mount to my home. I also bought the Phillips programmable antenna rotor to go with it. After everything was installed, and I turned my TV on for the first time and auto tuned it to the antenna, I could not believe the clarity of the picture. I never realized the poor picture quality I had before with my cable TV provider. The HD digital signal comes across the antenna with outstanding clarity. It actually caused me to purchase a new LCD HDTV last February so I could get the full spectrum and benefits of the signal. I will note that the digital signal does not seem to be effected by which way the antenna is pointing, so I'm not sure if the rotor is necessary if buying fo digital signals. I'm very happy with this antenna and the picture quality it delivers.

Was this review helpful? (272) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AvrJoe
Mobile Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than radio shack
6/26/2009

Customer review by gtrzan

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by gtrzan
by gtrzan

I bought this antenna to replace one I had previously bought at radio shack, because I wanted to maximize the range of stations I would receive when the digital conversion occured. This antenna pulled in more stations. When aimed midway between Baltimore and Washington, I can pick up stations from both 60 miles away in West Vtrginia.

Was this review helpful? (136) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gtrzan
Falling Waters, Wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceeds expectations
7/31/2009

Customer review by Encinitan

5.0 stars 7/31/2009 by Encinitan
by Encinitan

The antenna maker claims a 65-mile range; I am getting stations from about 100 miles distant. Assembly was easy. Finish is quite good. Delivery faster than expected. Amazing video and audio quality. I only wish there was an option for a taller, sectional mast. Otherwise, a terrific buy for anyone wishing to view over-the-air broadcast TV.

Was this review helpful? (132) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Encinitan
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Teriffic antenna for multiple bands & applications
11/8/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Most of my DTV stations are on UHF. One is on VHF. They are about 20 miles away with tons of large trees in the way. With the existing rabbit ears and loop antenna inside the house, my brand new Samsung plasma HDTV would cut in and out on several channels. Even placing the rabbit ears and loop in the window nearest to the direction of the broadcast stations only helped a little. I purchased this antenna and had planned to install it on my chimney. It was easy to put together and is made well. It is also MADE IN THE USA by Audiovox. I put it up in the rafters inside my attached garage and tested it out. Worked well. I permanently installed it by drilling holes into the mounting mast and secured it to my roof rafters. I then secured the antenna up in the rafters as high as I could get it, and pointed it toward the transmitter towers in Milwaukee. I added brand new RG-6 cabling to a 4-port GE plug-in amplifier. I then connected these outputs to my HDTV and my stereo receiver. Both of them work AWESOME on ALL available channels from the list that I received from ANTENNAWEB.ORG. I actually received 90% signal or better on all channels of TV, and even pick up signals from 30 miles in the opposite direction of where I have the antenna pointed. Even with an amplified TERK indoor FM antenna in the window, I could not keep a "stereo" lock on most radio stations. This solved my issues there as well on ALL available FM radio stations. I plan to hook this up to receive my NOAA Weather Radio broadcasts as well on my emergency radio. Bottom Line: This thing is HUGE, but works GREAT.

Was this review helpful? (137) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
North of Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect Antenna for The Price
1/23/2011

Customer review by KyleT

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by KyleT
by KyleT

For digital TV signal, you either receive perfect picture and sound quality or nothing. There is no such thing as something in the middle. The bigger the antenna the stronger and consistent signal you will receive. Remember that TV signal doesn’t penetrate matter very well. It can not go through hills or big buildings. It would reflect or bounce off concrete walls, metal siding or trees. The TV signal becomes unstable when there is windy weather because trees are bent from side to side. In this case, the bigger the antennas, the less TV signal will move off the antenna’s receiving elements. When digital TV signal strength drops, you will see nothing on your TV until the signal strength reaches back to certain level. I am very happy with this antenna. Even with its huge size, I could assemble it in my attic with ease because of the 3-piece design. Picture and sound quality for TV programs broadcasted in HD is very much the same as coming from a Blueray player. Another thing you should know that the older R59 coaxial cable does not work with HDTV. You will need to have at least R6 coaxial cable. With TV antenna, you save thousand of dollars in the long run. You should invest in the highest quality cable out there. Go with the RG6/U Quad Shield coaxial cable instead. If the length of the cable reaches above 50 feet or cable needs to be split into 2, 3 or 4 TV, make sure you add a TV signal booster. I use (Motorola) TV signal booster and see clearly a few more TV station that was not there before.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KyleT
Mill Creek, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good antenna for the money. Goodbye cable.
8/15/2012

Customer review by FreeTVRocks

4.0 stars 8/15/2012 by FreeTVRocks
by FreeTVRocks

This antenna was a good one for the price. It advertised that it would receive broadcast signals from 60 miles away, and it sure does. I am getting many channels that are around or above 60 miles away, and I have no boosters or amplifiers of any kind. I even have one splitter on the coax cable, which lowers signal strength somewhat. Don't believe some of the reviewers who said this was difficult to assemble. Just look at the pictures, and it's very simple. The only problem with it, if there is one, is that it is quite large and a little hard to climb a ladder while holding. Also, it comes with a mast (the long pole), but you'll have to make sure you have some way to attach that mast to your house. You could do that with a roof or wall mount that you'll have to buy separately. Stop paying those expensive cable bills and get an antenna already. For the cost of two months of cable, I have all the equipment I need (this antenna, roof mount, coax cable, and cable clips) to get all the network broadcasts in my area.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreeTVRocks
Hillsdale, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I put it in my Attic.
1/17/2012

Customer review by Meamigo

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by Meamigo
by Meamigo

This Antenna was exactly what I was looking for. I would have purchased it a year ago if they had it in any of the stores. I intended to put it on a mast outside but looking at the packaging I saw it could go into my attic. So that is where I put it. It was easy to put together and installation was quick and painless. I have a wood and shingle roof, Im not sure how it would do if you have a metal roof. It can be easily taken back down and put outside if needed. If you intend to put it in your attic, you will need a large unobstructed attic space. This antenna is very wide. I now get 26 channels for free and the picture clarity is excellent. Attic installation will keep the wind from blowing it around. The wind is a big problem in my area because of hurricanes. At first I only got 20 channels but I searched again a week later and found 6 additional channels. You will need to measure the distance from your intended antenna spot and your TV and purchase the cable seperately. It does come with an adapter so you dont need anything else.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meamigo
Jacksonville NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great for me @ 50 miles on VHF and UHF
1/21/2013

Customer review by Papawsplace

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Papawsplace
by Papawsplace

The picture shows a lower beam that this antenna does not have but the antenna works great. I replaced a 20 year old antenna after fighting with poor reception after the stations went to digital signals. This antenna is about 2/3 the size of my old one but picks up all the stations in my area and does a great job. My home is in a low area with hills in all directions and lots of trees between me and the station towers. I had purchased a 10db amplifier which is still hooked up but when adjusting the antenna on top of the house with a hand held tv the amplifier was not in use and I still picked up all the stations. I think antennas biuld up corrision over time and loose their ability to work well. Also check your cables for shorts or opens with an ohm meter to insure a good signal to your set. Also my old antenna was 30 feet in the air and this one is only 20 feet up and is still much better than the old larger one. Still using the signal amplifier to split the signal to 3 tv sets.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Papawsplace
Central Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
rolling woodsy area
10/9/2013

Customer review by porgeusa

4.0 stars 10/9/2013 by porgeusa
by porgeusa

We're about 60 miles from the towers we need and surrounded by miles and miles of tall pines and oaks. The ground is rolling hills - nothing steep. We have the tower about 25' in the air. We get ABC, NBC, CBS,12.2, 12.3, PBS (20.1 and 20.3), 26.2 and 6.2. all of the stations are crystal clear. occasionally we get pixelation (weather? wind? signal strength?) on the 12.2, 12.3 channels. An amplifier doesn't seem to make any difference so we're not using one. The antenna replaced the old RCA antenna that was hit one too many times with falling branches. The old one gave us another year or two with bent prongs and eventually one broken one. But when we had to start putting masking tape on too many we lost some reception. We bought it from Walmart because the price was good online (much more $ in store) and we knew we could bring it back if it didn't work. We had to bring the first one we ordered back to the store because it was already bent. We exchange it for a good one with some confusion over the huge dif. in price between online and in-store.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
porgeusa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What's not to like?
12/21/2010

Customer review by TimSul

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by TimSul
by TimSul

30 miles from Tampa, with the antenna height only 15 ft, I get 27 channels FREE. Radio Shack charges DOUBLE the price for a comparable unit. Hook it up in an afternoon and dump your cable/satellite connection for good.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TimSul
Coastal Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HUGE Antenna
3/3/2010

Customer review by StephieG

4.0 stars 3/3/2010 by StephieG
by StephieG

This antenna works about the same as my 30 mile antenna however this 60 mile one does keep the signal consistently so it was worth the trouble. It is huge and hard to put together. Pieces do now fit well. You need about a clear 16 x 16 area to work in to put it together. When completed it needs about 12 x 10 clear space to be mounted.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StephieG
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT ANTENNA
12/12/2013

Customer review by smalltownWV

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by smalltownWV
by smalltownWV

We purchased this antenna over a year ago and are very happy with it. We tried a more expensive antenna and got less channels. This one even took a spill off the roof, landed in the yard and looks a little mangled from a wind and snow storm last winter but still works perfectly, so I guess I have to say that it is very durable also! Also, according to the signal maps we are not supposed to get any signal or channels at all because of our exact location and all the mountains around us. We get at least 8 channels aiming to the north, all of which we are not supposed to be getting! We tried this at both ends of our roof before getting signal...so don't give up too easily. If we got signal just about anyone should get signal with this antenna. Set up was easy but would have been easier had we known exactly where to aim it and at what height(some came in high and some low), so good luck and be patient.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smalltownWV
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
i love it
7/15/2007

Customer review by milfordma

5.0 stars 7/15/2007 by milfordma
by milfordma

at first i bought a product from a local electronics stoe for 70.00.it didnt work.i ordered the antenna from walmart on line and a phillips rotator for the antenna. i am happy with the results. every body has ugle dishes on there roof here .i dont. i love walmart.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
milfordma
kinston,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good antenna....very happy with it...
9/4/2013

Customer review by cdom

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by cdom
by cdom

I followed the instructions and it took me about 1 hour to install it on the roof. But be very carefull about grounding the antenna and also about the part of static electricity. I already had all the cables and installation ready from my old Dish receptor, so I already had the grounding and the static cable connections ready. I inserted the pole that came with the antenna into the stomp (short pole) from my old dish and put some bracelet around to tight the two poles together. I used a rubber coupling that has a metal bracelet at the two ends to hold the two poles together and pointed the antenna to the right place on the horizon and that was it. If you don't ground the antenna properly, you may end up frying your TV's if a storm hits it. I can see all channels in my area and they are showing crystal clear. Walmart delivered at the store about a week after I ordered online for free....thanks wal....

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cdom
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well.
4/7/2012

Customer review by Frank1111

4.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Frank1111
by Frank1111

First: Bunny rabbit antennas would not work at my home. Because I live in a high wind area and didn't have a ladder around, I decided to install this antenna in the attic. Although my attic is large, it was difficult to install around the trusses. This antenna would be way easier to assemble if you are planning on using it on a roof and can put together outside without the space limitations. I was able to complete the installation in a couple of hours. The only complaint I have about assembly: The directions say the sections are supposed to be labeled in red to indicate the front. For two of the three sections it was very difficult to figure out/find the labels. Other than that the assembly is pretty straight forward. I used a website to determine which direction the antenna needed to face. I get six channels with ABC, CBS, and Fox in HD. I have an excellent picture and am very pleased. I would definetely recommend this antenna. The price was reasonable and it does exactly what I hoped it would.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frank1111
Michigan, U.P
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/29/2011

Customer review by hipoint45acp

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by hipoint45acp
by hipoint45acp

I receive excellent reception from all of the Atlanta stations with this antenna. I have an inline signal/splitter booster and have four TV's with excellent picture quality with this antenna.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hipoint45acp
Romw, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
work good
4/8/2008

Customer review by chadillac

5.0 stars 4/8/2008 by chadillac
by chadillac

works well in the atic

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chadillac
arlington, tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/14/2012

Customer review by ChickenFeeder

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by ChickenFeeder
by ChickenFeeder

The range on this antenna was greater than advertised. I now pick up stations over 100 miles away and receive abc,nbc,cbs,fox and pbs and also some independent channels.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChickenFeeder
Panama City, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/3/2012

Customer review by Alleycalley

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by Alleycalley
by Alleycalley

This is a great antenna. The picture quality is better than Verizon Fios. It picks up at least 80 channels here in Dfw. This antenna picks up the low power channels such as Hot Tv and Rtv. Lot's of classic shows. These were not on cable. It also gets This Tv. I like it and I do not miss cable at all. Why pay to watch tv anyhow.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alleycalley
Garland,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works great in Attic
4/13/2010

Customer review by MSforestry

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by MSforestry
by MSforestry

I live in central Miss. The 4 TV stations are about 35 miles away and are all relatively in the same direction from my house. I bought the antenna and put it in the attic to avoid the eye sore of a roof mount. I bought the 60 mile range antenna as I read that being in the attic hurts reception. It works great. I get all 4 stations with a signal strength ranging from 88 to 94. It helps that all the stations are in within about 15 compass degrees of each other and I had room to point it in that direction, as I would not be able to rotate the antenna in the attic. I did not measure it but it looks about 8 feet long and about 6 feet wide. It comes with a 5 ft. mast. I had planned to screw it into a rafter, but I noticed a Christmas tree stand up in the attic and I just put the mast in it and set it on the floor. Assembly was easy and took about 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MSforestry
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews