Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

19 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

19 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

37%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-19 of 19 total reviews
37%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Very poor performing lawnmower
6/15/2016

Customer review by frustrated

1.0 stars 6/15/2016 by frustrated
by frustrated

You get what you pay for! Don't do it. Here we go: firstly, add oil to the engine, it doesn't ship with oil in the engine! (I think this is so they can turn them on their sides and upside down in order to fill containers from Asia to max capacity and not have oil leaking everywhere. Sad isn't it!). Very, very, very, frustratingly hard to start when hot. Start it, and don't shut it off until you're finished. Good luck! The FWD belt slips off the pulley frequently. Just take the belt cover off and leave it off so you can pry the belt back on regularly. The fuel tank is so small. So small. It lasts about 35 minutes. Mine won't start anymore. When I last parked it, it was working 'normally', now it won't run. Yes, it has fuel. Do not buy this product. I've had it for one year. Go buy a Honda or Toro. That's where I'm headed.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frustrated
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best mower I have ever owned
6/24/2016

Customer review by JeffT

5.0 stars 6/24/2016 by JeffT
by JeffT

I was shocked to see the low ratings this mower has, maybe I was just the lucky one. I have had this mower for five years and it still works like a dream. Even after sitting all winter first pull and it starts. It is a little too bulky to maneuver around obstacles, but it has no problems cutting through tall thick grass. The only thing I have had a problem with is the replacement blades. They do not seam to be sharp enough, but a little grinding and its like new.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeffT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ok mower
5/9/2008

Customer review by averageguy74

3.0 stars 5/9/2008 by averageguy74
by averageguy74

I bought this mower nowing it was the second most expensive mover that walmart had to offer aside from the Brute twin but with electric start. The setup was a breeze and the first mow was awesome. On the second mow is when I started having problems. The bar that goes between the two rear wheels that holds the rear bag on kept vibrating loose and the bag would fall off. Secondly, when you went to push the mower the handle devoloped about 6 inches of play that would allow the handle to move up and down. Im sure these are easy to fix or replace but the reality is...for 238 dollars I could have chosen a better built mower. D+

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
averageguy74
puyallup, wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Wheel Broke Off Brute Lawn mower
4/9/2008

Customer review by Mower

2.0 stars 4/9/2008 by Mower
by Mower

The back wheel broke off after 10 mintutes of use on level ground! It is made of plastic. Returned it. Fairly easy to start. To stop the self-propelled front wheels, you have to release the handle part way, but not all the way or else the mower shuts off (and you have to re-start the whole thing again). This gets a little tricky when you try to mow up against something and have to start and stop a lot. The bag is on the smaller side, so you have to empty it frequently.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mower
Would recommend to a friend? No
self propelled lawn mower model 7800806
8/10/2015

Customer review by flip

1.0 stars 8/10/2015 by flip
by flip

very dissapointed have the machime for about 3 years change my back wheels twice and change the assembly,contol box twice which cost me 73.00 dollars each . i say like everyone else the only thing good about this machine is it start good would not recomended to anyone

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flip
Would recommend to a friend? No
Brute 22" Lawn mower
4/19/2008

Customer review by ttboy

1.0 stars 4/19/2008 by ttboy
by ttboy

Bought the thing this morning. Won't start. Have call into Briggs, and a blister on my finger from trying to start it. Wife is angry because she didn't want to spend the money in the first place, neighbors are probably laughing. tom

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ttboy
Aurora, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
POOR PRODUCT
7/29/2008

Customer review by TEXNORTH

1.0 stars 7/29/2008 by TEXNORTH
by TEXNORTH

MOWER CRANKS VERY GOOD. CUTS VERY GOOD. REAR WHEELS ARE THE DOWNFALL OF THIS PRODUCT. MINE HAVE BROKEN OFF TWICE NOW.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TEXNORTH
HIGH POINT, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Poor design - drive transmission
5/26/2008

Customer review by Dryly

1.0 stars 5/26/2008 by Dryly
by Dryly

When using the mower a front wheel got tangled in high grass which stopped the wheel while the motor was still running and drive engaged. The motor commenced to sheer the nylon worm drive gear in the transmission. Mower had less that 4 hours use. The belt drive runs a shaft with a steel worm gear. It drives a nylon worm gear on the axle. If a wheel gets stalled for any reason the motor will grind off the nylon gear before you can stop the engine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dryly
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Keep Looking...
4/20/2008

Customer review by PKTexas

1.0 stars 4/20/2008 by PKTexas
by PKTexas

Brute 22” self-propelled mower Review/reason for return 1. The only redeeming qualities for this mower is that it starts first pull every time with ease, performs well on straight back and forth mowing in an open area (although it is very slow), and looks nice. 2. When not using the self-propelled feature to mow around landscaped areas, the mower lives up to the name, Brute. It is very difficult to maneuver without the self-propelled feature engaged. 3. The mower is too tall and does not trim around landscaped areas very well increasing the need for additional weed-eating. The engine sits at 20” compared to my old mower which sits at 16” when set at the same cut-height position. 4. The bagger is a nightmare. Although it really is “dust- free”, it does not matter when the manufacture decided to have 2 holes in the bag. As soon as you release the band to dump the clippings, all the dirt goes right in your face. Also, it is very difficult to empty the bag. When my normal procedure is to simply empty the bag into the bed of my truck while standing on the ground, with this bag it was necessary to climb into the bed of the truck each time the bag had to be emptied. Very poor design. 5. The self-propelled feature works well however it is extremely slow and shifting the lever is awkward. Mowing time was increased greatly compared to my old mower. 6. Fuel capacity must either be very low, or the mower is a fuel hog. Frequent refueling is necessary.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PKTexas
Possum Kingdom Lake, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Choice!
4/15/2010

Customer review by LoveThisMower

5.0 stars 4/15/2010 by LoveThisMower
by LoveThisMower

As a single mother trying to do everything, I absolutely LOVE this lawn mower!!! It took all of 15 minutes to remove it from the box and set it up. I probably should have waited to fertilize until I bought this, so sadly the grass was very tall and I didn't have any problems! Maybe I'll get around to reading the papers that were in the box eventually.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveThisMower
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
cheap wheels
4/6/2008

Customer review by catyo

3.0 stars 4/6/2008 by catyo
by catyo

easy to put together but when I went to push it out in the back yard one of the cheap plastic wheels broke and I had to go buy one at Walmart for $20.00. Easy to start.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catyo
rhome,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Superior Product
4/23/2008

Customer review by CrazyKel

5.0 stars 4/23/2008 by CrazyKel
by CrazyKel

I've had my Brute for 2 months now and absolutely love it. I don't care for the bagging because it is way to small of a bag......you have to empty frequently.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyKel
Morganton,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
just okay
8/5/2008

Customer review by curlyfrize

3.0 stars 8/5/2008 by curlyfrize
by curlyfrize

Owned about 10 mowers in my life and this is the first one that failed to start within the first year. TIP: if this mower fails to start for you, try this, it worked for me.....under the top plastic shroud to the motor are 2 different springs with wires. Just slightly pry up the shroud with one hand and flip the lever attached to 1 of the springs in the direction towards the air filter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
curlyfrize
Liberty, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
decent mower
4/13/2008

Customer review by jjohn

3.0 stars 4/13/2008 by jjohn
by jjohn

Decent mower, I found however that the front wheel drive barely gets any traction. if you want a push/drive mower that gets decent traction and pulls well get a rear wheel drive model. It did start on the first pull out of the box. I have a cub cadet rear wheel drive that was two years old that the engine blew on last year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jjohn
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
ok, but...
8/18/2008

Customer review by domesi

4.0 stars 8/18/2008 by domesi
by domesi

the front wheel pull-power does not seem enough and does not dig in very well, slipping a bit...as well as the overall power to mow a heavy lawn. the given hp and specs should be enuf to do the job, but it does it only with difficultly and strains all the way. easy to put together. and starts with a pull, as specified.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
domesi
SW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
runs great
5/27/2008

Customer review by dudefromemporiumpa

4.0 stars 5/27/2008 by dudefromemporiumpa
by dudefromemporiumpa

Real good mower, starts on the first pull every time.It has more than enough power.The self propelled works great on are hill,and the bag is easy to dump,or to change over.The back tires are a little cheap, but no problem yet with them.Over all a nice mower for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dudefromemporiumpa
Emporium pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good mower
5/3/2008

Customer review by mazoo

5.0 stars 5/3/2008 by mazoo
by mazoo

Took 15 minutes to start mowing. Assembly was real easy. Engaging the drive belt is different than most. I expect some people will like it better and some won't, as when it's engaged you don't hold it. On my unit the wheel did not fall off.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mazoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not sure about this
5/26/2008

Customer review by notoday

3.0 stars 5/26/2008 by notoday
by notoday

starts easy but does not mow up against buildings to well. have to keep stopping then restart the mower. bag is small also. Is cheap made.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
notoday
Eustis, Neb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Badpurchase
4/20/2008

Customer review by Sorrypurchase

2.0 stars 4/20/2008 by Sorrypurchase
by Sorrypurchase

The first time I used this mower the rear wheel broke off,and it didn't want to stay running. It acted as if it wasn't getting gas.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sorrypurchase
Romney,WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week