Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 35 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
An 8 on a 1 to 10
7/30/2008

Customer review by liviu

4.0 stars 7/30/2008 by liviu
by liviu

Pros: -suficient power and enough speed (at full speed I almost have to run behind it or it drags me) -competitive price for an electric start -extremely easy start (even my 8 year-old daughter can start it using its pull cord) -bag has sufficient capacity Cons: -the chamber under the engine has some open holes and cut grass comes out thru them -the handle bar is too long. It is inconvenient turning around because I have to swing a lot. If is at the end of the row, I can't because I hit the fence. I have to stop @ 6 feet before, turn and start in opposite direction. Shorter handle bar would have helped. -better customer support at B&S would have helped (I called 3 times and waited 10-15 minutes before talking to a person at my 3rd call) Conclusion: Very good product for someone that has a long yard and will use it in straight lines. If you need to turn a lot, is not easy (is also a heavy machine). Think of a Suburban on the highways vs. city driving.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
liviu
Suwanee, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A GREAT USA PRODUCT
5/24/2008

Customer review by CAPTAINRON08

5.0 stars 5/24/2008 by CAPTAINRON08
by CAPTAINRON08

IT HAS BEEN A FEW YEARS SINCE MY LAST LAWN MOWER PURCHASE, SO I DID ALOT OF RESEARCH ON SEVERAL STORE WEB-SITES. I WANTED THE MOST POWERFUL ENGINE, REAR WHEEL DRIVE, POSSIBLE ELECTRIC START FOR MY AURTHORITIS. I KEPT FINDING PRICES IN THE $360.00 TO $500.00 RANGES FOR WHAT I WANTED. THEN WAL-MART SENT ME A FLYER WITH BRUTE PRODUCTS BY BRIGGS AND STRATTON WHICH I LIKED THAT ALREADY. THEY OFFERED TWO DIFFERENT WALK-BEHINE MOWERS. I ORDERED THE LARGER ENGINE AND REAR WHEEL DRIVE WITH ELECTRIC START AND ALL FOR UNDER $300.00 , PLUS SITE TO STORE FREE SHIPPING. I HAVE USED THIS MOWER THREE TIMES NOW, I HAVE TO SAY IT'S BETTER THAN ADVERTISED. THE ENGINE IS VERY POWERFUL, QUICK,EASY STARTS, ALL FEATURES ARE USER FRIENDLY, THE BEST PRICE, OTHERS WITH SIMILAR FEATURES DON'T EVEN COME CLOSE. BEST OF ALL IS, THAT'S IT IS MADE IN USA WITH GOOD OLD AMERICAN QUALITY AND VALUE. NICE TO FIND THIS STILL POSSIBLE EVEN TODAY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAPTAINRON08
EL RENO, OK.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best mower I've ever owned!
5/8/2008

Customer review by BandAngel

5.0 stars 5/8/2008 by BandAngel
by BandAngel

I shopped for months locally and on the internet before deciding on this mower. I tried and reviewed other major brands. For the money, this mower cannot be beat. The electric start is really nice and works as expected. I tried the pull cord and it cranked on the first pull. It's powerful, lightweight and very maneuverable. By the way, it's made on the same assembly line as JD**** and Sn***** push mowers. Just costs a lot less. They're getting hard to find. And you cannot beat Walmart's return policy. Get one while you can.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BandAngel
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value
5/31/2008

Customer review by DodgeRamMan

5.0 stars 5/31/2008 by DodgeRamMan
by DodgeRamMan

Brute has put together on awesome package here. Same mower as the Snapper and John Deere top of line for half the price, just the color and decals are different. Mower runs great, cuts great with tons of power. Built like a tank for many years of use. Continuing service is available from Snapper or Deere if parts are ever needed. Best value I have seen out there.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DodgeRamMan
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Big mistake.
8/2/2008

Customer review by Usedit

1.0 stars 8/2/2008 by Usedit
by Usedit

I purchased this mower 6 weeks ago. first 2 weeks thought it was great. Pulls well thought it had everything. By fourth week still good then I used pull start. So I pull start it, well it did not want to start third pull the rope gets caught up on the knob on the side of bar and frays apart instantly. I guess they figured its a key start well put the cheapest rope we can find. Used key it started finished the job. Same thing following week key start it worked. Then today key wont start it, I figured I would chance the rope, snap! broke the rope. This thing is a hunk of junk only reason I purchased it was it was the last self propelled model/ type in stock now I see why. Well see what happens with customer service now. await further review.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Usedit
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Just a Bit Sensitive for a Lawn Mower
9/5/2008

Customer review by OklahomaLibraLady

3.0 stars 9/5/2008 by OklahomaLibraLady
by OklahomaLibraLady

Positives 1) Price 2) Electric start is awesome and works every time 3) Self propelled feature is powerful and literally pulls mower along Negatives 1) Does not cut closer than 8" to front or sides of mower. Even if you bump against your house foundation or sidewalk with front or side of mower, still have 8" to weed eat. 2) Easily damaged. I was mowing on the 4th height setting, the blade caught this paper thin lattice wood slat about four inches long, and torqued the blade. Don't even think about hitting a rock. The mower cuts great on manicured lawns but not good for any lawn that is not crystal clear of any obstacles. I live in the country where rocks seem to grow out of the ground, so I have to be really careful with this mower. Or mow on such a high setting that you can't tell you've mowed your lawn. Never had this problem with same height setting old mower. Just can't seem to "take the licks" my old mower did which mowed this same property 18 years but just got too difficult to start. 3) Uses a lot of gas. Same size tank as old mower. Used to mow entire lawn (1/2 acre) on 1 and 1/2 fillups. Now takes two plus fillups to mow lawn. So--great mower for "city lawns". Might get a heavier duty mower for the country mowing I do next time around.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OklahomaLibraLady
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Buy
8/26/2008

Customer review by louonastor

5.0 stars 8/26/2008 by louonastor
by louonastor

I had a Cub Cadet mower for 8 years. It did the job. It took a liken and kept on ticking. I never even changed the plug. I messed it up hitting a tree root and bent the shaft. I started looking for the same mower. I couldn't find it at Lowes where I bought it or any other place on line. At the last, I tried Wal-Mart. I didn't find the Cub Cadet, but, I found the Brute. I couldn't believe the price. Other reviewers raved about it. I figured I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did. It is a real bargin and does a very good job. I almost feel like I stole it, it has so many features and works so well. I can't believe a $600 Honda does any better. Electric start - I'm spoiled!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louonastor
Mahopac, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
VERY GOOD
9/13/2008

Customer review by LFAF

4.0 stars 9/13/2008 by LFAF
by LFAF

I purchased this mower in July of 2008. I have used it at least once a week since. I previously had the Weed Eater Mower both were self propelled. I am not as happy with this mower's self propelled feature as I was with the Weed Eater and I find it a bit heavier and harder to trim as closely but I have used the mower's mulching, bagging and side discharge features and after mowing my yard looks great. I would recommend this mower but not for anyone who has a lot to trim or has no upper body strength. I'm just not as satisfied with the self propel feature on this mower as I was with the Weed Eater.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LFAF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
best i've ever used
9/4/2008

Customer review by malaka1

5.0 stars 9/4/2008 by malaka1
by malaka1

I have used many lawnmowers through out the years but none come even close to the performance and excellence that this one exhibits. I bought it at the beginning of the summer and since then I actually don't mind cutting the lawn. It's also the first mower I had that the grass actually fills the entire grass catcher(bag), even when the grass is wet. usually just the front of the bag fills up. All in all this is the best mower I've ever used. You won't regret buying this mower!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
malaka1
Lindenhurst, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Worth every penny!
8/27/2008

Customer review by iagramjec

5.0 stars 8/27/2008 by iagramjec
by iagramjec

If you have a bad back and are a "mature" female, this mower is just perfect. The electric start has been wonderful and I've actually managed to shave cutting time because it's such a good power mower. the maintenance and starting instructions are very clear. The grass catcher takes a little getting used to, but overall, the performance of this mower is great! My last mower was also a power mower from WalMart that had a Briggs & Stratton engine which lasted for 18 years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iagramjec
IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellant Product
7/22/2008

Customer review by LacettoSipper

5.0 stars 7/22/2008 by LacettoSipper
by LacettoSipper

This is the easiest mower I have ever used. Starts with one pull when not even using the key. The key are for days that my arthitis is acting up. Has a lot more power for a self propelled mower than I have ever experinced. I have to be careful or I find myself running behind the mower. Pulls up hills with ease. I have done nothing but rave about this mower and my friends are getting tired of hearing about it. They plan on buying one for themselves next spring.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LacettoSipper
Edwards, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Brute plus
9/22/2008

Customer review by valueshopper26

5.0 stars 9/22/2008 by valueshopper26
by valueshopper26
Walmart associate

I had high expectation from the previous reviews and I have not let the wife mow yet. I selected this model with my spouse in mind when rain and my work prevent me from mowing in a timely manner. This well built product is a pleasure use, easy to adjust between modes or height. An excellent value, I saw the name brand counter- part at a local mass merchandiser for 200 dollars more. I am now looking at more Brute products.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
valueshopper26
Melbourne,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Built by the best
7/25/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/25/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

What better way to buy a mower than one from the people who make the engines. B&S 675 engine is great and on their own body. Rear wheeled drive is fast up to 4.5mph if you can run that fast. doesnt hesitate on the thick grass and adjustment is a snap. Have to wait a while to charge the battery but then it works without priming an the first turn. Would recommend for anyone that has a lot of grass to knock down weekly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad Product
9/4/2008

Customer review by mowman

1.0 stars 9/4/2008 by mowman
by mowman

When I uppacked the mower there were some broken yellow plastic pieces in the carton. Then when I attempted to start the mower with the manual pull there was no resistance to the pull and the cord did not recoil. This was reported to the manufactrurer via email and the pull cord spool was replaced by an authorized dealer. It still does not always recoil after starting. The mower cuts OK but it is extremely noisy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mowman
Montville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Brute says it all
8/16/2008

Customer review by zarniwoop

5.0 stars 8/16/2008 by zarniwoop
by zarniwoop

Best walk behind lawn mower I ever purchased.Easy to assemble, quick battery charge time. turn key once and starts fast and with 1 try. easy 2 second switch from bag to mulch to side throw. Works in tall grass but struggles a little in wet tall grass, which I expected in wet tall grass. Outstanding mower for the price.I would defiantly buy this again & I may purchase a second one for my parents

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zarniwoop
Rochester ,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/8/2008

Customer review by peruse

5.0 stars 8/8/2008 by peruse
by peruse

We purchased the 21" Brute self-propelled lawn mower a little over a week ago. After extensive comparing to other mowers on the market, we choose this one. We couldn't wait to use it to see if our decision was a sound one. IT WAS! The mower started on the first try, so quiet, glides along with ease and mows the lawn beautifully. We expect each week of mowing will bring us the same results.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peruse
puyallup, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
a great machine
6/16/2008

Customer review by lovetomow

5.0 stars 6/16/2008 by lovetomow
by lovetomow

my husband and I have a mowing bussiness and mow all the time we got this mower for one of the yards we do because are bigger mower wouldn't fit in some parts. since we got it we fund we use it all the time because it mows even and has the 3-1 we both love the only problem we have is are wal mart does not carry the blades but other that we love and recommend this mower to everyone who ask

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetomow
Alva, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEST
6/6/2008

Customer review by GUZ08

5.0 stars 6/6/2008 by GUZ08
by GUZ08

BOUGHT IT ONLINE BACK IN MARCH....I CUT SEVERAL NEIGHBORS YARDS ALSO.....BEST MOWER I EVER OWNED.....HAVEN'T HAD TO ADD OIL YET....STARTS 1ST TIME EVERY TIME.....ENGINE SMOOTH AND QUIET......WOULD NOT BE WITHOUT SELF PROPULSION.....BAG A LITTLE SMALL BUT I DON'T BAG.......NEVER BOGS DOWN ....HEIGHT ADJUSTMANT EASY......GREAT MOWER IF YU CAN FIND ONE.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GUZ08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Lawnmower
7/28/2008

Customer review by shop34

5.0 stars 7/28/2008 by shop34
by shop34

We have only had a chance to use the lawnmower once so far, but we are very impressed. It started with the first turn of the key. At its highest speed you would be jogging to keep up with the lawnmower, it just takes off. It also handles debri, like mulch, effortlessly. It never stalled the whole time we were mowing. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shop34
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Easy Starting
9/12/2008

Customer review by CreditPayment

5.0 stars 9/12/2008 by CreditPayment
by CreditPayment

Mowing has never been a big favorite around our house. Not having a mower start up and getting exhausted before you've even cut 1 blade of grass is aggravating. This mower has proven to be great so far. Quick start up, self-propelled at my chosen speed and mulching (so I don't have to bag)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CreditPayment
Humid Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews