Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 43 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Great Little Shop-Vac
11/13/2009

Customer review by BrighterBurgher

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by BrighterBurgher
by BrighterBurgher

I initially purchased this model Shop-Vac in 2001 to pick-up stuff that I didn't want to clog my normal vacuum cleaner. Over my eight years of ownership, I have been very impressed with the power, portability, and durability of this little vacuum. My main uses included picking up cat litter, and removing pet hair that would clog my upright vacuum, but I have used my Shop-Vac for countless other spills and cleanup jobs – from picking up five pounds of uncooked rice to removing water when a pipe froze in my house. The Shop-Vac has had plenty of power for every task I've asked of it. The vacuum is fairly quiet compared to other Shop-Vac's I've used. The latches that secure the top hold strongly, which is important because the vacuum can, and likely will, tip over if pulled by the hose. This Shop-Vac includes an assortment of accessories, my favorite are the extension wands. Any 1.25” accessory should fit the hose. My crevice tool and brushes from my upright vacuum work with this Shop-Vac. Many accessories are also available from Walmart and shopvac-dot-com. I purchased the filter bags, which I highly recommend because they really help to keep the interior clean. I believe it is also worth mentioning that this Shop-Vac is assembled in the USA, and has a two-year warranty. I do not know where the plastic parts are made, but many of the motors are manufactured in the USA as well. A few caveats to consider before purchasing this vacuum: 1) Determine your intended use. This is a light-duty, consumer-grade Shop-Vac designed for home-use. The pick-up hose is only 1.25” in diameter, which is about the size of a golf ball. If your needs require picking-up larger items and extended run-times (several hours continuous), consider a larger, heavy-duty Shop-Vac. 2) The wheels need to be attached to the base of the vacuum. Once the wheels snap into place, they will be secure – but it takes a surprising amount of force before you will hear the positive engagement “click.” If the wheels are not completely secured, they will fall out. 3) This model Shop-Vac cannot use special cartridge filters such as the HEPA filter to reduce allergens. Also, you will need to be sure the foam/paper disk filters are properly installed or vacuumed dust will blow out from the back of the unit. 4) The 5 Gallon rated capacity is not accurate. The bottom-half of the Shop-Vac may hold five gallons of fluid without the top on, but once assembled for use, the actual fluid capacity is approximately 2.5 gallons. If you vacuum more than 2.5 gallons at a time, the liquids begin to exit from the exhaust ports – which cannot be good for the motor. Some maintenance tips to keep your vacuum running in top condition: A) Read the owners manual. Learn the right and wrong way to use you vac. B) Always make sure the foam filter is installed and tightly covered with a re-usable paper disk filter installed. (dry-pick up only, for wet-pick up use the foam filter alone) C) Clean/change you filters often. The filters are the main protection for the motor bearings. Those that experienced early motor failures likely didn't read the manual and had improperly installed filters. D) Don't let wet messes sit in the vacuum. Things get moldy quickly. E) Be realistic with expectations. If the vacuum doesn't seem up to a task, it probably isn't. Remember, it's a light-duty home-use product. In summary, this Shop-Vac has far exceeded my expectations. If you decide to purchase this vacuum, I hope your experience will be as positive as mine. With proper care, the vacuum should last for years. I've recently given this Shop-Vac to my sister because I've upgraded to a newer model that is working wonderfully, the Shop-Vac Brute 5 Gallon available from Walmart. I hope my review has helped you with your purchase decision, and thanks for reading!

Was this review helpful? (178) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrighterBurgher
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/20/2009

Customer review by miccat

4.0 stars 5/20/2009 by miccat
by miccat

it tends to tip over easily when pulling on the hose.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miccat
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I could not replace it with anything else!
12/13/2008

Customer review by NickameTaken

5.0 stars 12/13/2008 by NickameTaken
by NickameTaken

I like this vac because it can be used for a lot of dirty jobs (picking up water, ash from the fireplace), very easy to take apart and clean and has a strong suction power. I also use it to clean my tile - sort of! I use a regular broom that reaches under the furniture, pile up the dirt, then pick it up with the shop vac - leaves NOTHING behind. This combination proved to work better than any floor vac I know!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NickameTaken
Jax, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
i couldn't beleive it!!
2/27/2009

Customer review by drywallengineer

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by drywallengineer
by drywallengineer

i ran this vacuum for 20 months, just waiting for it to stop working on jobs it was never designed to do. when it finally failed (motor died)....i contacted the customer service rep of shopvac.com to see what a new motor would cost ,because i was so impressed with this thing that i wanted to see if i could replace the motor for less than the Wal Mart price.... they sent me a new motor with no hassle....i couldn't beleive it!!! i'll NEVER buy any other shop vac.....i subjected this thing to HOURS of intense drywall sanding through a water filter, and when it did give up, the factory said "here ya go, no charge!!"......what more can you ask?

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drywallengineer
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
little shop vac
8/17/2009

Customer review by blanketyblank

4.0 stars 8/17/2009 by blanketyblank
by blanketyblank

I should have picked out large items carefully before sucking up dead leaf debris. It worked for very small things, though.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blanketyblank
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Most Bang For Your Buck
7/27/2009

Customer review by UndergroundGuy

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by UndergroundGuy
by UndergroundGuy

I have been in construction for nearly 3 years and I have to say this product is perfect for around the house and car. I have used other wet/dry vacuums before and they are very pricey so i wanted to get a small one that I can use around the house and i found this one. It is perfect it has a lot of power for such a small vacuum and it is the perfect size for cleaning the car. I highly recommend this product for car and around the house use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UndergroundGuy
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great price
9/23/2008

Customer review by bjmd

5.0 stars 9/23/2008 by bjmd
by bjmd

lots of power in a little machine. just what i needed. does,nt take up alot of room. great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bjmd
mound, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
a good product for the price
7/8/2009

Customer review by sheraelovetogrill

4.0 stars 7/8/2009 by sheraelovetogrill
by sheraelovetogrill

The price was great and it was just what I need for small projects around my home to clean up afterwards.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sheraelovetogrill
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Value
10/14/2010

Customer review by ElFinkel

4.0 stars 10/14/2010 by ElFinkel
by ElFinkel

I read the reviews before I bought it, and they agreed with what I found. It is not as quiet as I thought, but quieter than my old one. It performs well, except when I used it to clean out my stove. The ashes were too fine and ended up blowing out the machine. For all other uses, it is good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElFinkel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
GREAT Product!
3/10/2009

Customer review by MHerron

5.0 stars 3/10/2009 by MHerron
by MHerron

This is an AWESOME shop vac! It saved me when the pump in my washing machine got clogged and had to be drained manually. I use it to clean my car, my husbands truck and to blow off our back patio (we have a HUGE tree that drops leaves and whatnot). My parents have the smaller version of this one - the one that can hang on the wall - and it's awesome too!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MHerron
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Stay Away From This One
8/19/2010

Customer review by RichTek

1.0 stars 8/19/2010 by RichTek
by RichTek

I really thought this might work. How hard can it be to make a small wet/dry vac? This one has way too short of a power cord. Because of the wheelbase it tips over ALL of the time. The top doesn't fit securely. It doesn't have enough power and the filter ring keeps falling off inside the unit. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RichTek
Would recommend to a friend? No
sucks up your cash
9/16/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/16/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Stay away! The bearings on these give out within a few hours of use. I wore one out vacuuming the attic in prep. for insulation. My neighbor gave me his to destroy, since it too was having bearing problems! This was all after a 3rd had died just a few weeks prior. JUNK. Spend the money on a model with a warranty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
not very helpful
2/24/2009

Customer review by camperfan

2.0 stars 2/24/2009 by camperfan
by camperfan

this product does not have a very powerful suction. I have replaced the filter and foam and still I get little suction. Also the lid comes off very easily. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camperfan
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
So far so good
5/31/2010

Customer review by barustu

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by barustu
by barustu

Got this shop vac for my carpeted front porch. Runs quiet and doing a good job. Only used dry, haven't need to use wet yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barustu
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
very convenient
11/9/2010

Customer review by Oregonian02

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by Oregonian02
by Oregonian02

I was tired of hauling the house vacuum outside to clean the car, pumphouse, and shed. This vac answered ALL my problems, AND was extremely affordable! It even does a great job on my dogs (Golden Retriever and Chesepeak Retriever) they love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oregonian02
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does a Great Job
6/21/2009

Customer review by RoseJones

5.0 stars 6/21/2009 by RoseJones
by RoseJones

Nice vacuum, good power & picks up well. Very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoseJones
Irving, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good Product
4/19/2009

Customer review by Ford08

5.0 stars 4/19/2009 by Ford08
by Ford08

Good because i use it to clean up behind my Puppy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ford08
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Little Shop Vac
11/30/2009

Customer review by OldManFromStockbridge

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by OldManFromStockbridge
by OldManFromStockbridge

The Vac is small; but, has good suction and uses no bags; that is a plus! I find myself lifting the canister up to get closer to my work area, where the old 10 gallon shop vac had a hose long enough to reach the areas. Not a real problem as the unit is very light weight and much easier to handle that the old larger unit. I am satisfied with my purchase and if the motor lasts as long as some reviews have stated, I will be very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldManFromStockbridge
Stockbridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awsome Product
10/31/2009

Customer review by hisbabygirl367

5.0 stars 10/31/2009 by hisbabygirl367
by hisbabygirl367

The product was easy to use and works great. Would recommend to anyone. Do wish that it had come with more attachments though but it is just fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hisbabygirl367
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Clean Sweep
4/30/2010

Customer review by gooberdoll

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by gooberdoll
by gooberdoll

Product exactly as expected and works better than expected. Lightweight and suction is top notch. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gooberdoll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews