Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 43 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Great Little Shop-Vac
11/13/2009

Customer review by BrighterBurgher

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by BrighterBurgher
by BrighterBurgher

I initially purchased this model Shop-Vac in 2001 to pick-up stuff that I didn't want to clog my normal vacuum cleaner. Over my eight years of ownership, I have been very impressed with the power, portability, and durability of this little vacuum. My main uses included picking up cat litter, and removing pet hair that would clog my upright vacuum, but I have used my Shop-Vac for countless other spills and cleanup jobs – from picking up five pounds of uncooked rice to removing water when a pipe froze in my house. The Shop-Vac has had plenty of power for every task I've asked of it. The vacuum is fairly quiet compared to other Shop-Vac's I've used. The latches that secure the top hold strongly, which is important because the vacuum can, and likely will, tip over if pulled by the hose. This Shop-Vac includes an assortment of accessories, my favorite are the extension wands. Any 1.25” accessory should fit the hose. My crevice tool and brushes from my upright vacuum work with this Shop-Vac. Many accessories are also available from Walmart and shopvac-dot-com. I purchased the filter bags, which I highly recommend because they really help to keep the interior clean. I believe it is also worth mentioning that this Shop-Vac is assembled in the USA, and has a two-year warranty. I do not know where the plastic parts are made, but many of the motors are manufactured in the USA as well. A few caveats to consider before purchasing this vacuum: 1) Determine your intended use. This is a light-duty, consumer-grade Shop-Vac designed for home-use. The pick-up hose is only 1.25” in diameter, which is about the size of a golf ball. If your needs require picking-up larger items and extended run-times (several hours continuous), consider a larger, heavy-duty Shop-Vac. 2) The wheels need to be attached to the base of the vacuum. Once the wheels snap into place, they will be secure – but it takes a surprising amount of force before you will hear the positive engagement “click.” If the wheels are not completely secured, they will fall out. 3) This model Shop-Vac cannot use special cartridge filters such as the HEPA filter to reduce allergens. Also, you will need to be sure the foam/paper disk filters are properly installed or vacuumed dust will blow out from the back of the unit. 4) The 5 Gallon rated capacity is not accurate. The bottom-half of the Shop-Vac may hold five gallons of fluid without the top on, but once assembled for use, the actual fluid capacity is approximately 2.5 gallons. If you vacuum more than 2.5 gallons at a time, the liquids begin to exit from the exhaust ports – which cannot be good for the motor. Some maintenance tips to keep your vacuum running in top condition: A) Read the owners manual. Learn the right and wrong way to use you vac. B) Always make sure the foam filter is installed and tightly covered with a re-usable paper disk filter installed. (dry-pick up only, for wet-pick up use the foam filter alone) C) Clean/change you filters often. The filters are the main protection for the motor bearings. Those that experienced early motor failures likely didn't read the manual and had improperly installed filters. D) Don't let wet messes sit in the vacuum. Things get moldy quickly. E) Be realistic with expectations. If the vacuum doesn't seem up to a task, it probably isn't. Remember, it's a light-duty home-use product. In summary, this Shop-Vac has far exceeded my expectations. If you decide to purchase this vacuum, I hope your experience will be as positive as mine. With proper care, the vacuum should last for years. I've recently given this Shop-Vac to my sister because I've upgraded to a newer model that is working wonderfully, the Shop-Vac Brute 5 Gallon available from Walmart. I hope my review has helped you with your purchase decision, and thanks for reading!

Was this review helpful? (178) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrighterBurgher
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
i couldn't beleive it!!
2/27/2009

Customer review by drywallengineer

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by drywallengineer
by drywallengineer

i ran this vacuum for 20 months, just waiting for it to stop working on jobs it was never designed to do. when it finally failed (motor died)....i contacted the customer service rep of shopvac.com to see what a new motor would cost ,because i was so impressed with this thing that i wanted to see if i could replace the motor for less than the Wal Mart price.... they sent me a new motor with no hassle....i couldn't beleive it!!! i'll NEVER buy any other shop vac.....i subjected this thing to HOURS of intense drywall sanding through a water filter, and when it did give up, the factory said "here ya go, no charge!!"......what more can you ask?

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drywallengineer
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I could not replace it with anything else!
12/13/2008

Customer review by NickameTaken

5.0 stars 12/13/2008 by NickameTaken
by NickameTaken

I like this vac because it can be used for a lot of dirty jobs (picking up water, ash from the fireplace), very easy to take apart and clean and has a strong suction power. I also use it to clean my tile - sort of! I use a regular broom that reaches under the furniture, pile up the dirt, then pick it up with the shop vac - leaves NOTHING behind. This combination proved to work better than any floor vac I know!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickameTaken
Jax, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/20/2009

Customer review by miccat

4.0 stars 5/20/2009 by miccat
by miccat

it tends to tip over easily when pulling on the hose.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
miccat
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
little shop vac
8/17/2009

Customer review by blanketyblank

4.0 stars 8/17/2009 by blanketyblank
by blanketyblank

I should have picked out large items carefully before sucking up dead leaf debris. It worked for very small things, though.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blanketyblank
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Most Bang For Your Buck
7/27/2009

Customer review by UndergroundGuy

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by UndergroundGuy
by UndergroundGuy

I have been in construction for nearly 3 years and I have to say this product is perfect for around the house and car. I have used other wet/dry vacuums before and they are very pricey so i wanted to get a small one that I can use around the house and i found this one. It is perfect it has a lot of power for such a small vacuum and it is the perfect size for cleaning the car. I highly recommend this product for car and around the house use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UndergroundGuy
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Value
10/14/2010

Customer review by ElFinkel

4.0 stars 10/14/2010 by ElFinkel
by ElFinkel

I read the reviews before I bought it, and they agreed with what I found. It is not as quiet as I thought, but quieter than my old one. It performs well, except when I used it to clean out my stove. The ashes were too fine and ended up blowing out the machine. For all other uses, it is good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElFinkel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
a good product for the price
7/8/2009

Customer review by sheraelovetogrill

4.0 stars 7/8/2009 by sheraelovetogrill
by sheraelovetogrill

The price was great and it was just what I need for small projects around my home to clean up afterwards.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sheraelovetogrill
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Shop-Vac for the price
12/5/2009

Customer review by NMWeatherman

4.0 stars 12/5/2009 by NMWeatherman
by NMWeatherman

I live in "Dust Country" (New Mexico) and needed to get the constant dust off my carpet and its crevices. I also wanted the wet-dry option. What I was wrong about this vac: Short power cord. Limited HP...2 HP. I wish I gotten more. Only one hose tool...no crevice tool. What I liked about this vac: It is a LOT quieter than your usual Shop-Vac. The filters supplied can be washed and re-used. It is well built and is solid. Rolls around on casters easily. Shop-Vac is iconic and you won't go wrong. My next Shop-Vac will have more horsepower. This one is good for light duty in a shop or garage but is mediocre on carpet. It will do for my small apartment however. As usual, Wal-Mart's Site-to-Store saved me shipping and was very efficient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NMWeatherman
Albuquerque NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Over All it's a decent purchase...
1/14/2010

Customer review by xantippi

4.0 stars 1/14/2010 by xantippi
by xantippi

I purchased this item for my partner just days before Christmas, via the Internet. Walmart ads said that they would get this item delivered to my door BEFORE Christmas (2009) and lo & behold, they really DID. We love the product, it works very well thus far, (we have only had it since Xmas and it is now 1/14/2010)... but we are using it for a number of clean-up projects that we have around here to include cleaning up my back balcony where I keep the birdfeeders. We feed quite a few birds so the mess all over my balcony is really terrible every day. Birds are beautiful and fun to watch but they are so messy! Always tons of seed husks and bird droppings all over my balcony so I have a big clean-up every two days or so. The only down-side to this item is that there is no place ON the vacuum to carry the hose and attachments. This makes for difficulty for us here in this small apartment as we don't have much storage space as it is... so looking for a way to store the long hose and attachments has yet been unresolved. Other than that, this is a good vacuum with lots of power for this little machine. We like it very much and would recommend it to others who need a good and powerful wet/dry vac for low cost. And Kudos to Walmart for the outstanding service!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xantippi
San Francisco East Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great price
9/23/2008

Customer review by bjmd

5.0 stars 9/23/2008 by bjmd
by bjmd

lots of power in a little machine. just what i needed. does,nt take up alot of room. great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjmd
mound, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Stay Away From This One
8/19/2010

Customer review by RichTek

1.0 stars 8/19/2010 by RichTek
by RichTek

I really thought this might work. How hard can it be to make a small wet/dry vac? This one has way too short of a power cord. Because of the wheelbase it tips over ALL of the time. The top doesn't fit securely. It doesn't have enough power and the filter ring keeps falling off inside the unit. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RichTek
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT Product!
3/10/2009

Customer review by MHerron

5.0 stars 3/10/2009 by MHerron
by MHerron

This is an AWESOME shop vac! It saved me when the pump in my washing machine got clogged and had to be drained manually. I use it to clean my car, my husbands truck and to blow off our back patio (we have a HUGE tree that drops leaves and whatnot). My parents have the smaller version of this one - the one that can hang on the wall - and it's awesome too!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MHerron
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not as powerful as I expected...
11/28/2010

Customer review by mzcooky

3.0 stars 11/28/2010 by mzcooky
by mzcooky

I purchased this just a few weeks ago and have used it about 8-10 times. I purchased the "quiet" model, but it is, in my opinion, not quiet at all...I can hear it no matter where it is being used in the house. It performs ok, but is not as powerful as I expected. I have hardwood floors and use it to vacuum before mopping. I also use it for my car and it does a fair job, but is not powerful enough to get the dirt in the little crevices or around the edges. I purchased the accessories kit which does help around the curtains and corners.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mzcooky
Sedalia, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the 40 Bucks
4/9/2010

Customer review by SomewhatFrugal

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by SomewhatFrugal
by SomewhatFrugal

Bought this to do some basement clean-up and it worked great. Thought the 5 gallon receptacle would need to be changed more often than it did. My only issue with the vac was the diameter of the hose, if you need a vac to pick up large pieces of debris then this wouldn't be the vac for you. My lid and suction worked great, I don't understand what people expect when they purchase an item that legitimately costs half of what you should expect to pay for a shop-vac. This vac surpassed my expectations of a $40 machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SomewhatFrugal
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sucks up your cash
9/16/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/16/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Stay away! The bearings on these give out within a few hours of use. I wore one out vacuuming the attic in prep. for insulation. My neighbor gave me his to destroy, since it too was having bearing problems! This was all after a 3rd had died just a few weeks prior. JUNK. Spend the money on a model with a warranty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Enough
4/15/2009

Customer review by gusershoes

4.0 stars 4/15/2009 by gusershoes
by gusershoes

I purchased this product to keep the interior of my vehicle clean. I owned an older version of this product before I moved and the same size vac came with a nozzle that worked great in the car. The only nozzle included in this package does NOT work very well in a vehicle. It seems to be designed for use on a hard, flat surface. I went to the Shop-Vac web-site and couldn't find the same 'old' nozzle I had with my old Shop-Vac. Too bad I didn't keep the old nozzle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gusershoes
St. Robert, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice Little Shop Vac
11/30/2009

Customer review by OldManFromStockbridge

5.0 stars 11/30/2009 by OldManFromStockbridge
by OldManFromStockbridge

The Vac is small; but, has good suction and uses no bags; that is a plus! I find myself lifting the canister up to get closer to my work area, where the old 10 gallon shop vac had a hose long enough to reach the areas. Not a real problem as the unit is very light weight and much easier to handle that the old larger unit. I am satisfied with my purchase and if the motor lasts as long as some reviews have stated, I will be very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldManFromStockbridge
Stockbridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
RetiredguyinCoventry
12/18/2009

Customer review by RetiredguyinCoventry

5.0 stars 12/18/2009 by RetiredguyinCoventry
by RetiredguyinCoventry

The only disappointment was the size of the filtering material. It was barely able to cover the cage inside the canister. Other than that the overall quality was excellent and the machine performed oustandingly. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone especially at the price of $39.95. WalMart was good at getting the vac to me shortly after it was ordered.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredguyinCoventry
Coventry, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Worth the money
8/22/2010

Customer review by RetiredSmoker

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by RetiredSmoker
by RetiredSmoker

Have had this product 4 yrs, motor gave out, my bad. Forgot to check if the paper filter was in place. After a couple of years you might need to replace the ring that holds filter in place. Bought the rug/floor attachment at walmart, picks up dog hair like a champ. Use standard attachments for walls, etc. If I can't replace the motor, will buy again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredSmoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews