Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
56
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
Good consumer lens
1/1/2009

Customer review by ElGordo

4.0 stars by ElGordo

If you're going to purchase one of canon's 70-300 lenses this is the one to get. The EF-70-300 DO is ridiculously overpriced, the 75-300 is junk, and then regular 70-300 is too slow. This lens solves the problems posed by the others. It's price is good, the optics reasonable, with decent build quality and it has Image Stabilization for the problems with the speed of the lens. The 70-300 range is enormous, especially on the crop sensors cameras giving you an effective range of 112-480. Nearly 500mm! You have to spend some serious money to get any of the other canon lenses at that range. However, the image quality could be better. The colors just don't *pop*. The lense is fine, I just think that for the same money, one can get the Canon 70-200 L, a professional class lens (albeit the cheapest one). Same price, not as much range and no IS, but the quality of the images will blow you away. In Summation: Good lens, only downside is that it is not an L class lens.

Was this review helpful? (53) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Top 25 contributor
Great lens
6/3/2010

Customer review by Bronston

5.0 stars by Bronston

This lens is great. The image is clear the focus is quick and quite. The controls are easy. My wife and I have taken about 200 pictures of new born pilated woodpeckers in the nest hole from a safe distance.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bronston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Powerful, Versatile Lens for Consumer Grade Digi
8/13/2010

Customer review by PTNDSLR

4.0 stars by PTNDSLR

I own several lenses for my Canon Digital Rebel XSi, T2i, Canon EOS 7D, and this is honestly not my favorite one. However, I can't fault the overall performance of this piece, and I would recommend it being aware of its limitations. PROS - Excellent build construction. The case is metal and appears quite solid even when extended. - 300mm at a reasonable cost. Combine that with the 1.6 magnification of the common half-frame sensors found in many digital cameras, and that equates to some serious zoom. - Fairly short focal length: this is definitely a telephoto, but if you want to take portraits with it, you can get within 5' or so of the subject, even at more than 70mm. - Image Stablization: invaluable. I rarely get a blurry shot; recently I compared this lens with and without a tripod and could not notice a difference. Of course, low shutter speeds will greatly impact this feature, but it is still a must. CONS - I'm not impressed with the clarity of most pictures. The AF is quick and reliable, but it often feels like something is "missing". Pictures are not out of focus but sometimes feel excessively "soft". - Weight: if you are going to walk around a park or nature trail all day, figure a creative way to carry this thing. Not a "con" per se, but definitely a consideration. - Color just feels lackluster sometimes. I think this is a decent lens which requires careful attention to lighting and camera settings to take a truly good picture; it's less forgiving than the other lenses I use (mainly a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II & Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-4.6).

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
Decent up to 200mm
10/5/2009

Customer review by Jf11

3.0 stars by Jf11

This is a decent lens, there isn't anything too special about it. It does have IS (Image Stabilization) which is supposed to allow 4 addition stops of shake-free shooting, but I often find many shots come out soft. It must be noted that this lens beyond 200mm is noticably soft. I find it very difficult to get a sharp shot from this lens. For less than $100 more you can get the Canon EF 70-200mm F/4 L which is much higher in quality

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jf11
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Lens
12/31/2008

Customer review by PaiGrande

5.0 stars by PaiGrande

Best lens I have ever owned hands down. Still recommend shooting with a tripod for long zoom.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PaiGrande
Laramie, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
All-Purpose Lens
12/8/2008

Customer review by GreatProductReviewer

5.0 stars by GreatProductReviewer

I received my lens before Thanksgiving; I used this lens the whole time during the family get together. Outstanding all-purpose lens.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GreatProductReviewer
New Bern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Quite happy with the lens
7/26/2010

Customer review by DSLRForever

5.0 stars by DSLRForever

After debating between this and the 70-200 L series I decided to purchase this lens. I have been pleasantly surprised by the results. I also own the 17-85 and the 50mm 1.8 lenses and I have found that I have gotten the "most pleasing" results from this lens. The pictures have been very sharp from my 20D - even in the 200mm - 300mm range. I've also been happy with the quality of the bokeh. The primary drawback I see is that the AF tends to hunt a fair amount when confronted with low contrast images. That being said, I used it for some flying bird shooting at the wildlife refuge and was surprised to see how many of the shots were in sharp focus. However, it was a little bit of all or nothing. Several shots were also wildly out of focus. Since the lens is fairly slow to focus, you never know what you're gonna get with such a fast moving object against the distant sky. I had much more consistent results when shooting soccer, softball and football in the park. The AF speed did not present an issue for any of these activities and the results were excellent. I wish the lens were a little less expensive but I the prints I have gotten from my 13 X 19 printer have been worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DSLRForever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Lens
10/17/2011

Customer review by Dmwj67a

4.0 stars by Dmwj67a

Does a great job when taking pictures of football at night.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dmwj67a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lens
5/11/2010

Customer review by HikerF

5.0 stars by HikerF

I had this lens but a friends child pulled it from my bag and it was broken. This order was to replace the broken one. I ordered site to store and the lens was here VERY quickly. I just wish WalMart carried more Canon mount lenses!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HikerF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Some Lenses are Better Than Others
5/2/2011

Customer review by NicknameRequirementStupid

4.0 stars by NicknameRequirementStupid

I tested two copies of this lens. The two lenses couldn’t have been much more different. When I compared them to my low-end Canon 75-300mm lens, the first copy of the 70-300mm was less sharp (except for the range from 190 to 220mm). At 300mm, the first copy of the 70-300mm was MUCH less sharp than the 75-300mm (which is saying a lot, since my 75-300mm is extremely “soft” at 300mm). However, the sharpness of the second copy of the 70-300mm lens was approximately equal to the 75-300mm lens from 75 to 135mm, and definitely sharper than the 75-300mm above 135mm. The second copy of the 70-300mm was MUCH sharper than the 75-300mm in the 200 to 300mm range. Other observations I’ve made about the 70-300mm is that it has very little chromatic aberration, barrel distortion, or pin-cushion distortion. I read that that image stabilization feature of this lens would not cause a problem while using a tripod. That is not true. At 300mm about 1/4 of your pictures will be less sharp if you turn on the image stabilization while using a tripod. You can prove this for yourself: Place the camera on a tripod and turn on mirror lock up while using a 2-second delay (this will take camera shake out of the equation). Focus the camera carefully then turn off autofocus (this will take focusing out of the equation). Then take a dozen or so pictures of a consistently illuminated detailed, high-contrast object with and without the image stabilization turned on. In addition to making some of the images less sharp, the pictures taken using image stabilization will “move” from frame to frame. I don’t want to imply that the image stabilization on this lens is bad. As a matter of fact it’s one of the lens’ best features. But it’s best to only use it when you are hand-holding the camera. Whereas the one copy of this lens was completely unacceptable, I’m very pleased with the lens I purchased through Walmart, and would buy it again if I needed a lens that covers that range.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NicknameRequirementStupid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
All the features
7/6/2009

Customer review by Photoscenesdotnet

5.0 stars by Photoscenesdotnet

This lens has all the features I wanted - two stages of Image Stabilization and Auto Focus using ultra sonice technology in a Canon lens - always lives up to the Canon name.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Photoscenesdotnet
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/23/2010

Customer review by MKisiel

5.0 stars by MKisiel

Heavier than I expected, but takes good photos. Works great for my daughters soccer game, but not as well for focusing on closer items (i.e. flowers); however the issue could be the photographer not the lens!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MKisiel
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Impressive
8/28/2010

Customer review by Jojospics4

5.0 stars by Jojospics4

Love it in every respect. Pictures have amazing clarity. Love it. Still have a lot to learn first though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jojospics4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value for the price
6/15/2010

Customer review by camuts

4.0 stars by camuts

been using it now for about 2 months and the only complain i have is the plasticky feel on the zoom extender, weight is fine. Got some great pics @ 150mm softer pics above 150mm. will keep this lens. Now off to getting a shorter range lens.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
camuts
San francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
1/11/2011

Customer review by BurlesonTX

5.0 stars by BurlesonTX

Excellent pro-amature lens. Not professional, but excellent for daily action and adventure. Great suprise for the spouse who didn't know wal-mart sold these lens.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BurlesonTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PERFECT CHOICE
6/9/2009

Customer review by TAKING2PICTURES

5.0 stars by TAKING2PICTURES

WE PURCHASED THIS ITEM BEFORE WE WENT TO COLORADO. THIS LENS WAS THE PERFECT CHOICE FOR CAPTURING THE CLOSE-UPS THAT WE WANTED IN OUR PICTURES. THANKS CANON.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TAKING2PICTURES
HIGH RIDGE, MISSOURI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Canon telephoto lens
6/24/2009

Customer review by srrich

5.0 stars by srrich

This is a super lens for the canon 50D. Very good optics and takes a clear awesome picture. Comes with pic stabliser and AF.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
srrich
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
telephoto
3/2/2010

Customer review by camerajack

5.0 stars by camerajack

Easily attached to camera easy to use just point and shoot

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
camerajack
Chula Vista , Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Great Lens
7/26/2009

Customer review by JNUG

5.0 stars by JNUG

Great product. Definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JNUG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to operate telephoto zoom lens
6/28/2010

Customer review by TexasBluebonnetLady

5.0 stars by TexasBluebonnetLady

Since I just received the Canon EF 70-300mm IS Ultrasonic Telephoto Zoom Lens, I am just learning how to operate it. From what I have so far experienced, it produces clear bright images. I am looking forward to using it for sporting and theatrical events.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TexasBluebonnetLady
Marble Falls, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 80 total reviews