Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 93 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews
Impressive
8/28/2010

Customer review by Jojospics4

5.0 stars 8/28/2010 by Jojospics4
by Jojospics4

Love it in every respect. Pictures have amazing clarity. Love it. Still have a lot to learn first though.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jojospics4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Lens
5/11/2010

Customer review by HikerF

5.0 stars 5/11/2010 by HikerF
by HikerF
Walmart associate

I had this lens but a friends child pulled it from my bag and it was broken. This order was to replace the broken one. I ordered site to store and the lens was here VERY quickly. I just wish WalMart carried more Canon mount lenses!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HikerF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Good consumer lens
1/1/2009

Customer review by ElGordo

4.0 stars 1/1/2009 by ElGordo
by ElGordo
Top 25 contributor

If you're going to purchase one of canon's 70-300 lenses this is the one to get. The EF-70-300 DO is ridiculously overpriced, the 75-300 is junk, and then regular 70-300 is too slow. This lens solves the problems posed by the others. It's price is good, the optics reasonable, with decent build quality and it has Image Stabilization for the problems with the speed of the lens. The 70-300 range is enormous, especially on the crop sensors cameras giving you an effective range of 112-480. Nearly 500mm! You have to spend some serious money to get any of the other canon lenses at that range. However, the image quality could be better. The colors just don't *pop*. The lense is fine, I just think that for the same money, one can get the Canon 70-200 L, a professional class lens (albeit the cheapest one). Same price, not as much range and no IS, but the quality of the images will blow you away. In Summation: Good lens, only downside is that it is not an L class lens.

Was this review helpful? (56) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Top 25 contributor
Sleeper Lens!
3/26/2011

Customer review by J Chris

4.0 stars 3/26/2011 by J Chris
by J Chris

So my story is probably familiar to alot of you. Wanted a 70-200 MM and couldn't afford it so I decided to try this lens in place. That is for sure what I did. After 2 months of trying to save for an "L" lens, I finally gave up and went for this lens. Wow! What a sleeper lens for sure. Why a sleeper lens you ask? Well, very few people who have "L" disease look at this lens when they want a tele zoom. It was overlooked by me and alot of my friends as well.Actually, nobody even mentioned it once until I brought it up. Now, they are pretty impressed to say the least. Great photos and 100MM more range for under $675.00! Way to go Canon. I use this on my 7D. It's very very good for the price. The only 2 things I wish I could have had, were the non twisting barrel for a polarizer and better weather sealing. Lens is amazing for everything outdoors and with a good flash, you can achieve great results indoors as well. Until I can afford an "L" lens, this will do just fine!

J Chris
Detroit,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quite happy with the lens
7/26/2010

Customer review by DSLRForever

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by DSLRForever
by DSLRForever

After debating between this and the 70-200 L series I decided to purchase this lens. I have been pleasantly surprised by the results. I also own the 17-85 and the 50mm 1.8 lenses and I have found that I have gotten the "most pleasing" results from this lens. The pictures have been very sharp from my 20D - even in the 200mm - 300mm range. I've also been happy with the quality of the bokeh. The primary drawback I see is that the AF tends to hunt a fair amount when confronted with low contrast images. That being said, I used it for some flying bird shooting at the wildlife refuge and was surprised to see how many of the shots were in sharp focus. However, it was a little bit of all or nothing. Several shots were also wildly out of focus. Since the lens is fairly slow to focus, you never know what you're gonna get with such a fast moving object against the distant sky. I had much more consistent results when shooting soccer, softball and football in the park. The AF speed did not present an issue for any of these activities and the results were excellent. I wish the lens were a little less expensive but I the prints I have gotten from my 13 X 19 printer have been worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DSLRForever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great lens
6/3/2010

Customer review by Bronston

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by Bronston
by Bronston

This lens is great. The image is clear the focus is quick and quite. The controls are easy. My wife and I have taken about 200 pictures of new born pilated woodpeckers in the nest hole from a safe distance.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bronston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Non L Telephoto
9/7/2010

Customer review by Hotrod

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by Hotrod
by Hotrod

I have owned this lens for a few years now and used it on three different camera bodies ,7D, 50D and 350D. It is semi-slow focusing on the 50D and 350D bodies in almost all conditions but is fast on the 7D in almost all conditions except for low light where it tends to hunt at any FL except 70mm. The servo follow focus is also very good on the 7D. I have used this combo to photograph the legends race cars at Barber Raceway and Petit Lemon racers at a number of different tracks and have gotten very satifactory results (85%+ keeper rate). This lens is really sharp in every case except at the very longest range (300mm) and even there it looks sharp until I compare it to shots made with the 70-200mm L IS lens. Overall this has been the best value for the money of any lens I have owned, even considering the hassle of the rotating and extending front lens element. I highly recommend this lens for any relevant application in good light conditions.

Hotrod
Atlanta Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid
4/13/2014

Customer review by tm3308

4.0 stars 4/13/2014 by tm3308
by tm3308

I'm a photographer with a sports magazine. We cover high school sports, which means I run into a lot of less-than-ideal lighting. For state tournaments that are held in well-lit arenas, this lens performs just fine, and I've had a lot of success at outdoor events except when there is very little natural light (I shoot with a 7D). No complaints about the sharpness. I tend to get a little too much noise for my taste, but that's also a product of having a body that isn't as strong at higher ISO's as other bodies. Being on a tight budget and owning just one body, the biggest strength of this lens is its versatility. Shooting sports, I often don't have time to switch lenses, so being able to go from 300 to 70 mm on a turnover, etc., is a huge asset. I plan on getting better glass within a year (70-200), but this lens has delivered pretty solid bang for the buck. I'd recommend it to anyone who's looking to get started in sports photography.

tm3308
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Powerful, Versatile Lens for Consumer Grade Digi
8/13/2010

Customer review by PTNDSLR

4.0 stars 8/13/2010 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR
Top 25 contributor

I own several lenses for my Canon Digital Rebel XSi, T2i, Canon EOS 7D, and this is honestly not my favorite one. However, I can't fault the overall performance of this piece, and I would recommend it being aware of its limitations. PROS - Excellent build construction. The case is metal and appears quite solid even when extended. - 300mm at a reasonable cost. Combine that with the 1.6 magnification of the common half-frame sensors found in many digital cameras, and that equates to some serious zoom. - Fairly short focal length: this is definitely a telephoto, but if you want to take portraits with it, you can get within 5' or so of the subject, even at more than 70mm. - Image Stablization: invaluable. I rarely get a blurry shot; recently I compared this lens with and without a tripod and could not notice a difference. Of course, low shutter speeds will greatly impact this feature, but it is still a must. CONS - I'm not impressed with the clarity of most pictures. The AF is quick and reliable, but it often feels like something is "missing". Pictures are not out of focus but sometimes feel excessively "soft". - Weight: if you are going to walk around a park or nature trail all day, figure a creative way to carry this thing. Not a "con" per se, but definitely a consideration. - Color just feels lackluster sometimes. I think this is a decent lens which requires careful attention to lighting and camera settings to take a truly good picture; it's less forgiving than the other lenses I use (mainly a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II & Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-4.6).

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
Great Buy!
12/28/2010

Customer review by Jester

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Jester
by Jester

Awesome lens! I have been using this lens with my T2i and have been loving it! Awesome picture quality and awesome stabilization built into it (make sure to turn it off when on a tripod because the stabilization can over compensate and cause some jitters). It is a little big and heavy but with the quality that you can get with tis lens it is totally worth it. My only complaint about the lens is that it can take awhile to get the auto-focus to focus in low light. I would have to assume that with a bigger body like the 7D with more focus points than my T2 that it would do a better job, but then again I don't mind clicking the manual focus on from time to time. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a zoom lens. I know it is pricy especially for it not being an L lens but trust me it was worth every penny to me. I have taken this lens to a couple Colorado Rockies games and have gotten some amazing shots. Jester

Jester
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great low-light zoom lens
7/4/2011

Customer review by marcpbcup

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by marcpbcup
by marcpbcup

I originally purchased this as a telephoto zoom to complement the kit lens on an xSi in order to photograph outdoor sports without a tripod. I have found that it works great at the 70-200 mm range- crisp images and good contrast. I'm not very confident with manual focus yet but sometimes it's needed because AF is quite slow. The biggest downfall of this lens is that at the 200-300 mm range image stabilization doesn't compensate well enough to go without a tripod. I also found that this is my best low-light lens. Concerts and festivals at night at the 70-100 mm range (F4) turn out much sharper than other zoom lenses plus I don't have to push my way to the front anymore. I wouldn't recommend taking this to a play or symphony...it has a very loud zoom and shutter so people may get annoyed. Overall this is a great value telephoto zoom lens with great glass. An upgrade to the focusing system would make this a real winner.

marcpbcup
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lens
12/31/2008

Customer review by PaiGrande

5.0 stars 12/31/2008 by PaiGrande
by PaiGrande

Best lens I have ever owned hands down. Still recommend shooting with a tripod for long zoom.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaiGrande
Laramie, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice zoom nd macro
4/10/2016

Customer review by asel

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by asel
by asel

i m really happy with this since i bought it it really works well

asel
Sri Lanka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent up to 200mm
10/5/2009

Customer review by Jf11

3.0 stars 10/5/2009 by Jf11
by Jf11

This is a decent lens, there isn't anything too special about it. It does have IS (Image Stabilization) which is supposed to allow 4 addition stops of shake-free shooting, but I often find many shots come out soft. It must be noted that this lens beyond 200mm is noticably soft. I find it very difficult to get a sharp shot from this lens. For less than $100 more you can get the Canon EF 70-200mm F/4 L which is much higher in quality

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jf11
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Lens
10/17/2011

Customer review by Dmwj67a

4.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Dmwj67a
by Dmwj67a

Does a great job when taking pictures of football at night.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dmwj67a
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lens
3/18/2016

Customer review by roadking4436

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by roadking4436
by roadking4436

I have owned this lens for a few years and you it on my 60 D and my 5D Mark III and love it to death. This lens is a must-have in your bag. If you're shooting a sporting event or spring flowers this lens gives you sharp clear images.

roadking4436
Utah, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All-Purpose Lens
12/8/2008

Customer review by GreatProductReviewer

5.0 stars 12/8/2008 by GreatProductReviewer
by GreatProductReviewer

I received my lens before Thanksgiving; I used this lens the whole time during the family get together. Outstanding all-purpose lens.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatProductReviewer
New Bern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Lens, Period
7/7/2009

Customer review by Sam7

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by Sam7
by Sam7

I've been using this lens for nearly a year now and am more than satisfied! The autofocus is smooth and fast as expected of USM. The image stabilization is almost unbelieveable! I've got shots of birds behind small limbs that would be impossible with out it. Using single, centerpoint autofocus with the IS and the incredible sharpness of this lens makes it the most used lens I own. By using the centerpoint even when trying to shoot through small branches, have had no problems with AF searching. I primarily shoot birds, landscape, and portrait and the only thing I wouldn't recommend this lens for is protraiture...there are better choices. This is an excellent lens, period. No if, ands or buts. It rivals and IMHO surpasses the DO version. The only thing I don't like is that the autofocus is a touch loud.

Sam7
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lens for the price
6/6/2010

Customer review by danl43

4.0 stars 6/6/2010 by danl43
by danl43

I've used this lens for over 4 years on my EOS 450d and 500d. I've taken about 1500 shots with it and have found it indispensable for birds and other wildlife, landscapes, and candid portraits. Autofocus is fast and quiet. But I recently took about 30 shots of an owl and and found that only one was tack sharp. This suggested that my EOS 500d wasn't autofocusing on the selected central spot and further tests confirmed this. I've sent the camera to Canon for adjustment and I'm hoping it will solve the problem. The sharp photo shows that the lens itself is capable of very good sharpness. My point is that if your results are not quite sharp with this lens, it might be your autofocus calibration that's to blame. Bottom line: I highly recommend this lens.

danl43
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lens and price
5/29/2014

Customer review by Fotosdenada

4.0 stars 5/29/2014 by Fotosdenada
by Fotosdenada

When I purchased my 7D, I also picked this lens up for some wildlife and nature photography. With the cropped sensor, 300mm is close enough for animals that don't want to eat you... I'm impressed. Images are pretty sharp and colorful. The image stabilization works well, for the most part, and focus is usually spot on. The build quality is very nice, for a non-L. It's plastic, but it's solid plastic. The zoom ring feels nice and is just the right resistance. I was worried about lens creep, but I haven't experienced any with my lens. It's not perfect, of course... The focus is a tad slow for flying birds and the manual focus ring is somewhat loose and small. Over all, though, this is a lens I would have no problem recommending to most people.

Fotosdenada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews