Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 356 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

356 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

356 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
237
4 stars
68
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 stars
28
1-20 of 293 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 293 total reviews
1-20 of 293 reviews
5/27/2008

Customer review by Zakarysmom

5.0 stars 5/27/2008 by Zakarysmom
by Zakarysmom

We actually just bought this t.v. for my mom who stays at home alot and decided to buy a new t.v. We shopped around alot and just happened to see this t.v. in the store and were very surprised by the price. The picture is wonderful. We actually played a 20 year old Disney VHS movie and I was very surprised at how great it looked. We just bought one of the HDTV antennas to get over the air channels and for the stations that are already broadcasting Digital the picture is amazing. I am curious to see if it lasts because this is a fairly new name brand, but they seem to be getting fairly good review. I would definetly recommend this t.v. for the price. The only thing I would say could be better is the sound, but most people already have surround sound anyway.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zakarysmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Looks great!
6/16/2008

Customer review by Adeleda

5.0 stars 6/16/2008 by Adeleda
by Adeleda

Just bought this and so far it's working fine. We bought it at the store and compared to more well known brand names... this plasma's picture looked far better. We do not have a large living room and it does get warm, so better to have space around it. We plugged the Xbox 360 into it and it looks amazing! We had never seen COD4 look so real. The Wii looks pretty good too, better than our old tv for sure. The sound when playing music isn't the best but I think it can be adjusted. I really hope it lasts for many years. It was worth the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adeleda
Hammond, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Vizio 42" Class Plasma HDTV with Built-in Tuner
6/24/2008

Customer review by mdbnj

5.0 stars 6/24/2008 by mdbnj
by mdbnj

Great bang for your buck. Picture, sound, and ease of use are all very good. Took a chance with an "off brand" and was pleasantly surprised!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdbnj
Jackson, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY GOOD PRODUCT
8/18/2008

Customer review by zimmett

5.0 stars 8/18/2008 by zimmett
by zimmett

8/18/08 My wife and I purchased this product on August 11. I find the product to be of excellent quality. Some reviews claimed the black comes out a bit grey, not true. I read a number of reviews on other websites before buying. Our previous TV was some 25 years old, excellent picture, but we felt the color was going out. Sound is fantastic. Picture is excellent. My wife looked at the LCD and claimed the picture was not as sharp as the plasma. Be sure to use RCA jacks when setting it up for truer stereo. 42 inch screen is a bit large so be sure you have sufficient space for this TV. Overall, the quality is excellent, the picture fantastic, and the features are very good. We did consider the 42 " Samsung, but it costs some $110 more. I also realize that Vizio has not been around all that long but we were willing to take that chance. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a good TV at a very low price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zimmett
St. Marys, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product
11/15/2008

Customer review by Husker1981

5.0 stars 11/15/2008 by Husker1981
by Husker1981

I've wanted a flat screen television for a long time and my old magnavox's picture was going out, I decided to read the reviews about Vizio. It's price for a 42" plasma is a great one and it exceeds all of my expectations, I don't have HD and it looks great!! I brought it home and unpackaged it, then all i did was plug the a/v wires into the back and it downloaded everything else. What I like the most about it is that it's so easy to set up and it's perfect. I've read reviews about plasma's vs. LCD's and since my lighting in my house is darker it's suggested that a person should get a plasma, which was a gread idea. I hope it lasts for a long time. Joel Computer Student Nebraska

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Husker1981
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, Awesome picture
2/20/2009

Customer review by Thedaof5

5.0 stars 2/20/2009 by Thedaof5
by Thedaof5

If your reading a review someone wrote just recently saying that "dead tv's" are a problem with this brand/model, don't belive it. We have owned this tv for 8 months now, and have had no problems at all. The fact that he recommends buying the Sony brand, frankly makes me think he has his own motives, as Sony has been looking to buy Vizio for the last year, and Vizio isn't budging. Another little known fact, Vizio is the #1 seller of LCD tvs, largely thanks to their relationship with Walmart. This tv has a beautiful, clear and impressive picture. It shows motion images flawlessly, and has an incredible black light balance, giving you true high quality plasma definition. Keep in mind, this is a plasma tv, and as with all plasma screens, tv or otherwise, you have to manage the burn -in effects; don't leave a dvd menu screen on repeating itself, don't leave any bright images, white, orange, yellow on screen continuously for hours, and so on - common sense things for anyone who has used plasma screens in the past, and a heads up for those who haven't. Even if this happens, it has a built in screen cleaner to remove burn ins, and you can help yourself even more by buying a full screen dvd to play for 35 - 60 minutes when you notice any burn issues. This will clear up the burn ins, and give you a lifetime of high def plasma tv enjoyment. For the money, this tv can't be beat. Another recommendation, buy the Vizio 3ft or 6 ft HDMI cables for around $27 or $35 respectively. They are heavy duty (weight and guage), and work great with this tv. Ultimately, the choice is yours, but I can tell you that this tv has done everything we have asked of it and more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thedaof5
Mid Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome!
7/11/2008

Customer review by agustaves

5.0 stars 7/11/2008 by agustaves
by agustaves

I just got this last week, hooked up my xbox 360 and it has been hard to pull myself away. Amazing picture and for under $750 an even more amazing buy! I am a loyalist for vizio tv's and this one absolutely lived up to my high standards.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
agustaves
boise, id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
7/22/2009

Customer review by ChiefIlliniwekfan

5.0 stars 7/22/2009 by ChiefIlliniwekfan
by ChiefIlliniwekfan

Watching football at a sports bar I noticed how clear the picture was..... better than at home. All the televisions in the place were Vizios, had to have one . Its been almost a year now, I have no regrets buying this plasma tv . Watching sports in HD at home is fantastic especially with surround sound. When I got it home ,I thought it was too big for my living room. Its perfect !!! The plasma tv is heavy (62lbs)and it gets warm ,but its worth it weight in gold for the entertainment value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChiefIlliniwekfan
Bloomington/Normal,Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This tv is worth the value!!!
11/7/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/7/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is for the people who arent sure weather or not to purchase this TV.I too myself was very skeptical because Vizio is a new name.But I read thru the reviews of people who already had them and did some company research and decided to take a chance.So far so good! Remember its only 720p,opposed to 1080p like some, so the clarity is great but not excellent.You will need at least digital cable or High def if possible.Use either a S-video cable or an HDMI chord(both available at Walmarts)Using either of these cords,gives a much clearer picture & defines the lines better.Keep in mind,most people have reg cable or digital so you will not get the full benefits of this Plasma HDTV.It is designed for high def,but works just fine without.You cannot use the HDMI chord to transmit reg/digital cable to this tv because most cable channels are not High def yet so it doesnt pic up the signals for all channels.So Use the chords for better picture quality and transmit cable thru your regular chord.Also keep in mind THIS IS A WIDESCREEN!WHICH MEANS WHEN MOVIES, OR TV SHOWS ARENT BROADCAST IN THAT VERSION, YOU WILL SEE LESS OF THE PICTURE ON TOP AND BOTTOM.NOT ALL MEDIA IS DESIGNED FOR WIDESCREEN.But the tv has 3 settings to change from standard view, wide and panoramic.Hope this was helpful.P.s. I think Vizio will make higher end electronics more affordable for people like us,give them a try.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
2/16/2009

Customer review by suthrn

1.0 stars 2/16/2009 by suthrn
by suthrn

i bought this tv on feb 12 2009, it quit workin on feb 15 2009.its a "great value", but like the old sayin, you get what you pay for.GARBAGE!!!!!!!!!!! returned it and got the phillips 42".the phillips has a better pic and its 1080p.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suthrn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Not Good
12/9/2008

Customer review by nkrause11

1.0 stars 12/9/2008 by nkrause11
by nkrause11

Me and my husband bought this T.V. 2 weeks ago. It looked great in our living room the picture quality was alright and the audio was not good. After 2 weeks of minimal use. The T.V. would not turn on anymore. The power button on the T.V. itself and on the remote would not turn this T.V. on. Very cheap product! I wouldnt reccomend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nkrause11
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/1/2009

Customer review by favguyofelectro

5.0 stars 2/1/2009 by favguyofelectro
by favguyofelectro

I like the tv. it was good for the money. The picture is ok but could be better and the sound is okay. BUT OVERALL I LOVE THIS PRODUCT.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
favguyofelectro
Anaheim,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT BUY
7/30/2009

Customer review by Carkyshea

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by Carkyshea
by Carkyshea

We took a long time and finally decided on the Vizio 42" and we are so pleased. Bought on line with a bundle package with speakers and HDMI Cable. The price was excellent and as a family we are completely happy. Thank you Walmart for the great entertainment that we are receiving.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carkyshea
San Angelo, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV
2/6/2009

Customer review by MOJO7877

5.0 stars 2/6/2009 by MOJO7877
by MOJO7877

THE PIC IS GREAT THE BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK XBOX 360 WILL NEVER BE THE SAME LOL

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOJO7877
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
1st Plasma
7/18/2009

Customer review by MsHogan

4.0 stars 7/18/2009 by MsHogan
by MsHogan

I am very happy with the tv. Sometimes the picture isn't that great but I guess that might be because I haven't hooked up the HD factor yet. But using it as a regular tv it looks pretty good. This is my first flat screen plasma. It looks great, and I get great reviews. It was so easy to install. We just plugged it up and it was ready to go. No hard work! It is quite amazing that for so much technology it is so thin and light yet the tv I had before, I needed 3 people to lift it out and that was the old tv...lol.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsHogan
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
only 4 months
11/18/2008

Customer review by skyline123

2.0 stars 11/18/2008 by skyline123
by skyline123

i am really dissapointed with this tv, the image retention is horrible, it only has a white screen to get rid of it, and still i worry about it.. i have direct tv hd set up with it, it really shows the poor pic quality, the sound is also poor, i need turn it up half way and i can barely here it, it also has an annoying buzzing on bright images, i cant play my PS3 for more than an hour because the image retention kicks in, oh and definetly do not buy it if you are going to use it as a computer monitor. overall im very unsatisfied with this plasma tv. if you want a cheap plasma then this is your tv, but remember you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skyline123
Albaquerque, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy!
6/13/2009

Customer review by dmfc

1.0 stars 6/13/2009 by dmfc
by dmfc

This TV was a horrid purchase. The color is terrible. When we called tech help to see if it was just a problem with adjusting the balance, they said "colors look different to everyone, it is probably just you." My response "What color is Sponge Bob? Because on this TV 5 adults and 4 children all agree he is green and the grass is blue." They did offer to send us a part if we would email them pictures of the problem.. They had no answer when asked who would install the part so the warranty would not be violated. I returned the TV as fast as I could and spent the extra $200 to get a model that actually has the capability of a YELLOW Sponge Bob AND green grass at the same time! (Also; the TV was never tipped, tilted, or placed on its side by us... what happened while still at the store I do not know. I will add that of the 5 adults who tried to fix the color 3 are technicians that adjust TV and monitor colors for a living.)

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmfc
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Not again, I'm done
3/18/2009

Customer review by doglvr2

1.0 stars 3/18/2009 by doglvr2
by doglvr2

I purchased the Vizio 42" Plasma on-line and had it shipped to my local store - they had none in stock! I had a great picture for 5 min then I only had 1/2 a picture. It had a loose connection inside (hit it and you got the picture back). Returned it to the store. The next day another Walmart had them in stock so I took a shot! Guess what? No picture at all this time - returned it. That's it, last try. I don't know if it is just Vizio plasma's or what (I have a 22" LCD that is great). I will be buying a name brand!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doglvr2
Northern Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
mine broke in like 8 months
3/16/2009

Customer review by cowboyfanatx

1.0 stars 3/16/2009 by cowboyfanatx
by cowboyfanatx

i actually got the 32 inch plasma but did not see it here any longer vp 322 .got it in june 08 .was fine to about a month ago it took a bit to turn on after that.it would turn on & off & finally stay on. so i would turn on once a day & leave on all day. well today it wont do anything.im sure gonna be a pain to get fixed even with year warranty from vizio.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cowboyfanatx
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/2/2008

Customer review by BPaige

1.0 stars 12/2/2008 by BPaige
by BPaige

Very unsatisfied with this product. We purchased our Vizio exactly one month today. It had been working fine until today. It shut off and will not come back on. I read other reviews and see that several other people are having this same problem. I do not recommend this product to anyone and will NEVER buy another Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BPaige
Tyler, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 293 total reviews
1-20 of 293 reviews