Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
174
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 201 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 201 total reviews
1-20 of 201 reviews
Serves its purpose well
12/15/2009

Customer review by Nanananagoodbuy

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by Nanananagoodbuy
by Nanananagoodbuy

We have a wide staircase and needed to find a sturdy gate that was would fit. We also needed the tension aspect as opposed to having to put screws into the staircase. The gate works well, swings either way and was easy to assemble. ( I assume it was easy.....my brother put it together while I was making Thanksgiving dinner!) He didn't complain.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanananagoodbuy
God's Country, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
They work well
12/14/2009

Customer review by 10000FootClub

5.0 stars 12/14/2009 by 10000FootClub
by 10000FootClub

I am an extremely picky individual, but I can tell you with all honesty that this gate is absolutely fantastic. They’re not the most stylish gate if that’s what you’re looking for, but they’re not ugly either. They are sold and with the combination of extensions between the extra wide gate and regulator gate, they fit any opening from 27” up to ?” depending on how many extensions you have. We had 4 left over. They open in both directions and automatically close and latch. We bought 4 regular size and 1 extra wide for a 50”opening. Installation was easy. I would say the only down fall that I have experience with them so far, theres not a way to lock them open, if you needed to, for example, when carrying in groceries or something like that. What I did is I went to Harbor Freight and bought a container of small 10” stretch cords and hooked them on the gate to keep it open when needed and you can leave them on the gate hooked to the outside where the baby can’t get to them.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
10000FootClub
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well-Made Product
7/29/2012

Customer review by LovinValue

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by LovinValue
by LovinValue

We needed a gate for the top of our stairway to protect our infant granddaughter when visiting. The problem is that the opening is wider than standard (43" at top and 41" at bottom). We initially tried the Regalo wide gate, but it was light and a bit rickety. I was able to jam a rubber door stop in the bottom to solidify it, but it was still a bit worrisome -- the instructions even advise against use at the top of stairs. We then turned to the Dream Baby product. While twice the price, it is a much heavier and more stable product. We are using a pressure mount, but it is very firm and stable. The only drawback is the automatically-shutting gate, particularly since we need it open most of the time. However, I took a white wire clothes hanger, broke a piece off, and bent each end back -- this can easily be used to hold the gate open. (The manufacturer could easily include a similar item for a few pennies and should do so). All in all, we are very happy with the product thus far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinValue
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Various extensions included was a plus.
6/22/2012

Customer review by Mom813

4.0 stars 6/22/2012 by Mom813
by Mom813

Overall I am happy with this gate. Our hallway is 48" and the gate fits with 2 of the 3 extensions that are included. One thing that wasn't really specified in the description was whether or not there would be hardware to install or things to screw in to your walls. I thought since it said pressure mounted that there would be no hardware to install, but there are these small mounting cups you are supposed to screw to your wall or stairway first. We haven't put them up because we didn't want to screw into our walls. The fit is okay without, we thought it was secure, but the baby can bump the bottom of the gate and it gets cockeyed! The top doesn't budge. We have baseboard trim that I guess is slippery compared to the textured wall above, so I see why it slips. I just seems a shame to have to screw in to our trim... Not sure what we are going to do about this problem. I love that the gate swings both ways and closes automatically.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom813
Delta, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love DreamBaby gates!
1/10/2010

Customer review by MomToMyPrincess

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by MomToMyPrincess
by MomToMyPrincess

This is the second DreamBaby gate I have purchased. We have the extra tall gate for my daughter's room to keep the cats out. We purchased this gate for the opening to the family room to keep my daughter contained and safe from the kitchen, etc. As a pressure mount, this gate takes literally 2 minutes to set up and is very secure. My daughter is 14 months old and she hangs on it and shakes it, and it doesn't budge. You have to follow the directions, the gate will looked crooked at first, but as you twist each side it will level itself and closes perfectly every time. I love that it swings both ways and closes by itself. I never have to worry if the gate is shut because I can hear it click into place. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomToMyPrincess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Effective and easy to install
6/28/2010

Customer review by lawhog09

4.0 stars 6/28/2010 by lawhog09
by lawhog09

We got this gate to span a five-feet entryway between our livingroom and kitchen. Based on reading reviews and the Q&As on this website, I thought it came with the proper pieces to cover that distance. It did not. I had to spend an extra $50 ordering extension pieces from Target.com (because Wal-Mart doesn't sell them). Once those came in, though, the gate was easy to put up and effectively keeps my very mobile 8-month-old where I want her. It is secure for her to pull up on and is pretty easy to open and close with one hand.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lawhog09
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Gate for Puppies and Toddlers
9/8/2009

Customer review by DiaperDude

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by DiaperDude
by DiaperDude

I bought 2 of these to assist in housebreaking our new puppy, and for containing our 7 month old daughter who is very close to crawling. We also have a three year old and a five year old, who need to be able to move about the house freely (they each figured out how to use them in about 30 seconds). My wife also made it clear that the gates must look asthetically pleasing in the house (and she has impeccable taste). These gates satisfied all of the requirements mentioned above, and everyone is happy with them. Frankly, I was slightly nervous about ordering a product that was only available online, and that I could not go and actually see in a store, but I bit the bullet and ordered it anyway. I was not disappointed at all, and the product works as advertised (no "surprises"). The only issue we had was in placing the gates in a part of the wall that was not entirely stable, which produced a nail pop, so we moved it. Since it is pressure mounted, it might be a good idea to use a stud-finder and try to mount the gate right on a stud, just to be sure. All in all it is very sturdy, and we like the product. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiaperDude
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love, love, love this gate!
1/28/2009

Customer review by LoveMyBabyLily

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by LoveMyBabyLily
by LoveMyBabyLily

My sister bought this gate for me for Christmas 2007. At the time my daughter was 6 months old and barely crawling. Now she is 19 months old and is all over the place. I have a very large opening at the top of the stairs (the living room, dining room, and kitchen are all on the second floor), and this gate was the perfect fit! Easy to install, stylish, and very easy to use! I since lost the baby gate in our house fire at the end of September. We will be moving back into our house this week, so I ordered the same baby gate from Walmart, at a much better price then Target (my sister paid about $40 more when she ordered it from Target). My only complaint is that the gate just arrived and it was broken. The switch to open the gate had broken off. I have now ordered a 3rd one, and am hoping it will be in perfect shape when it arrives. All in all, order this gate from Walmart and you will have a beautiful, SAFE baby gate!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveMyBabyLily
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product
9/4/2010

Customer review by acms107

5.0 stars 9/4/2010 by acms107
by acms107

My specific problem in choosing a safe and suitable gate was to find a gate that would work between wrought iron railings for an indoor staircase. The end posts on the railing are typical 1" square pieces and I wasn't sure the tension pieces would fit well enough to stay in place, or that the posts could withstand the tension. I found no reviews for any gates that mentioned working with wrought iron on both sides, one side virtually free-standing, but this sounded like it might work. I really does beautifully! Plus, the white gate looks very nice with my already-white railings. Very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acms107
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Be Careful
11/27/2009

Customer review by clooneysmom

3.0 stars 11/27/2009 by clooneysmom
by clooneysmom

The thing you need to know about this gate is that is not adjustable to fit any size doorway. It comes with extra side panels to make it wider but it will only adjust an inch or so on either side so is limited. And the adjusting has to be done while you're holding it up in the opening. It also is designed so you need to tighten it repeatedly before the latch post will meet the opening so the gate will catch. It seems heavy duty and looks nice. The opening gate is handy. But I think it could have been designed better. I'm using it without the wall cups which I didn't want to leave screwed into my wall due to appearance. And I want to use the gate in different places.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clooneysmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall a Good Buy
4/2/2008

Customer review by FatherOfTwo

4.0 stars 4/2/2008 by FatherOfTwo
by FatherOfTwo

I like the gate pretty well. We wanted one with a foot pedal, but couldn't get it wide enough to fit above the stairs (at least in our price range). This gate was a good price for a wide fit gate and it was really easy to setup. It opens by using your thumb to pull back on a plastic slider and pulling up on the gate, which is fairly easy to do. My only complaint is that it was a bit of a chore to try to get the gate lined up just right so that when it swings shut it fully latches. There's a plastic piece for the latch that doesn't get fully inserted into the latch hole unless you gently push down on the gate once closed. I worked on getting it just right for several minutes and finally settled on just visually making sure it latches fully whenever we use it. Otherwise, it seems pretty sturdy and meets our needs. However, unless you have a very wide opening, my previous experience would suggest you get a gate with a foot pedal for ease of use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FatherOfTwo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Godsend to those caring for toddler children
10/17/2013

Customer review by mrs8578

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by mrs8578
by mrs8578
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate system is really a great tool for closing off areas from babies and toddlers. It provides the barrier for the children, possibly some pets, but not cats, and it allows the adults to use the latched gate to move back and forth with relative ease. You have to get accustomed to how the gate works, pushing the latch release, pulling up slightly on the gate, then swinging it open. It is nicely hinged and swings open easily once unlatched. We needed two of the 17.5" extensions to close our nearly 75 inch opening, but it worked like a charm. Be sure to get a good measurement on your opening and do some calculating to be certain you get the proper combination of extensions. Also be sure to read everything. At first it will appear as the gate is bent, but it tells you why that is the case and explains what will happen when it is installed properly. The pressure mounting hardware is 100% awesome. No drillling, no hammering, no tools, no damaging walls. And if you get it installed properly, it is quite sturdy. Totally worth the money when compared to the craziness and chaos we had in trying to use other furniture and things to make a blockade.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrs8578
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely Love!
3/4/2016

Customer review by Taytayxo

5.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Taytayxo
by Taytayxo

I love this gate! It fits the entrance to my kitchen which was 49" with the only one extension! I had to adjust a lot and in order to get it set I needed an extra set of hands, but it is well with it! Wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taytayxo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/19/2008

Customer review by dhardawa

5.0 stars 4/19/2008 by dhardawa
by dhardawa

I have searched for months for a good gate for between my kitchen and living room. The space is wide so my choices were limited. After trying a retractable gate that ripped huge chunks of drywall out of my wall, I opted for a pressure mounted gate. I read the reviews and chose this one with high hopes. I installed it last night and, so far, am very pleased. It was simple to assemble and installation was a breeze. It fits VERY tight and there is no way it is going anywhere. The release on the gate will take some getting used to and it is spring loaded so it closes on its own which is nice, but will be a pain when the baby is in bed and I still have to open the door every time I want to walk into the kitchen, but other than that, I'm very happy. Just a note, if you have quarter round, this gate will not work. It must sit flat on the floor and the pressure mounts are too low to install over the quarter round.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dhardawa
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice accent to a drab doorway
4/4/2016

Customer review by JacesMiMi

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by JacesMiMi
by JacesMiMi

I bought the gate to keep my one year old grandson away from the glass curio cabinet and front door. I liked that it was tension mount but it is a wide doorway and would slip a little with each open and close of the gate so we decided to permanently install it. I actually like how it looks in the wide, some what drab opening to the foyer area. I also like that it keeps the cats and dog out of that area too. Yes, the cats can just jump over it but they stay clear of it. The dog likes to greet guests by jumping on them as they walk in the door so the gate gives the guest a chance to get prepared for their greeting!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JacesMiMi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gate!!!
9/18/2012

Customer review by Magg1e

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Magg1e
by Magg1e

This is my second gate, the first one I got was a screw-mounted type because I thought thats what we needed for top of the stairs. Recently we painted and fixed the walls and I didn't want to make new holes in the wall. This gate works perfectly in my 46" opening, very sturdy and easy to operate! The $0.97 shipping was super fast, I placed my order late Thursday afternoon and got the package Saturday morning, and it took only about 10 minutes to install!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magg1e
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Nice gate, alittle short for top of stairs...
10/8/2008

Customer review by kim93257

3.0 stars 10/8/2008 by kim93257
by kim93257

This is a nice gate, I originally purchased and installed it as an top of stairs gate. I ended up returning it and exchanging it for a taller gate. I thought it was alittle short for my active toddler who loves to climb. I would recommend this gate if you prefer a shorter style gate for pets or small children or for single story homes. But for a growing child I prefer the taller ones.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kim93257
Porterville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Simply FABULOUS
11/11/2012

Customer review by CJHott

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by CJHott
by CJHott
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I shopped around for quite a while to find gates that would expand over our wide doorways/hallways and these work like a charm. We have 2 small dogs and we can now keep them confined. I was worried about the width between the spindles, it's 2 1/4" so they can't get through. Installation was a snap and didn't require hardware on the wall and the swing door is just fantastic. The gates are pricey, that's why I only gave the Value 4 stars. We've had them installed for a month now and have had no problems with them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CJHott
West Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not toddler proof
6/1/2008

Customer review by ILovetoScrap

3.0 stars 6/1/2008 by ILovetoScrap
by ILovetoScrap

It is a durable gate and is standing up well to my kids shaking on it. But it only took my three year old a day to figure out how to open the gate. It is stll fine for my 1 year old.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILovetoScrap
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect
4/7/2016

Customer review by Titina

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Titina
by Titina

Really good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Titina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 201 total reviews
1-20 of 201 reviews