Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 207 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

207 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

207 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
164
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 189 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews
Serves its purpose well
12/15/2009

Customer review by Nanananagoodbuy

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by Nanananagoodbuy
by Nanananagoodbuy

We have a wide staircase and needed to find a sturdy gate that was would fit. We also needed the tension aspect as opposed to having to put screws into the staircase. The gate works well, swings either way and was easy to assemble. ( I assume it was easy.....my brother put it together while I was making Thanksgiving dinner!) He didn't complain.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanananagoodbuy
God's Country, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love DreamBaby gates!
1/10/2010

Customer review by MomToMyPrincess

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by MomToMyPrincess
by MomToMyPrincess

This is the second DreamBaby gate I have purchased. We have the extra tall gate for my daughter's room to keep the cats out. We purchased this gate for the opening to the family room to keep my daughter contained and safe from the kitchen, etc. As a pressure mount, this gate takes literally 2 minutes to set up and is very secure. My daughter is 14 months old and she hangs on it and shakes it, and it doesn't budge. You have to follow the directions, the gate will looked crooked at first, but as you twist each side it will level itself and closes perfectly every time. I love that it swings both ways and closes by itself. I never have to worry if the gate is shut because I can hear it click into place. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomToMyPrincess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
great product
9/4/2010

Customer review by acms107

5.0 stars 9/4/2010 by acms107
by acms107

My specific problem in choosing a safe and suitable gate was to find a gate that would work between wrought iron railings for an indoor staircase. The end posts on the railing are typical 1" square pieces and I wasn't sure the tension pieces would fit well enough to stay in place, or that the posts could withstand the tension. I found no reviews for any gates that mentioned working with wrought iron on both sides, one side virtually free-standing, but this sounded like it might work. I really does beautifully! Plus, the white gate looks very nice with my already-white railings. Very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acms107
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Effective and easy to install
6/28/2010

Customer review by lawhog09

4.0 stars 6/28/2010 by lawhog09
by lawhog09

We got this gate to span a five-feet entryway between our livingroom and kitchen. Based on reading reviews and the Q&As on this website, I thought it came with the proper pieces to cover that distance. It did not. I had to spend an extra $50 ordering extension pieces from Target.com (because Wal-Mart doesn't sell them). Once those came in, though, the gate was easy to put up and effectively keeps my very mobile 8-month-old where I want her. It is secure for her to pull up on and is pretty easy to open and close with one hand.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lawhog09
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Be Careful
11/27/2009

Customer review by clooneysmom

3.0 stars 11/27/2009 by clooneysmom
by clooneysmom

The thing you need to know about this gate is that is not adjustable to fit any size doorway. It comes with extra side panels to make it wider but it will only adjust an inch or so on either side so is limited. And the adjusting has to be done while you're holding it up in the opening. It also is designed so you need to tighten it repeatedly before the latch post will meet the opening so the gate will catch. It seems heavy duty and looks nice. The opening gate is handy. But I think it could have been designed better. I'm using it without the wall cups which I didn't want to leave screwed into my wall due to appearance. And I want to use the gate in different places.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clooneysmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply FABULOUS
11/11/2012

Customer review by CJHott

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by CJHott
by CJHott

I shopped around for quite a while to find gates that would expand over our wide doorways/hallways and these work like a charm. We have 2 small dogs and we can now keep them confined. I was worried about the width between the spindles, it's 2 1/4" so they can't get through. Installation was a snap and didn't require hardware on the wall and the swing door is just fantastic. The gates are pricey, that's why I only gave the Value 4 stars. We've had them installed for a month now and have had no problems with them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJHott
West Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Gate for Puppies and Toddlers
9/8/2009

Customer review by DiaperDude

4.0 stars 9/8/2009 by DiaperDude
by DiaperDude

I bought 2 of these to assist in housebreaking our new puppy, and for containing our 7 month old daughter who is very close to crawling. We also have a three year old and a five year old, who need to be able to move about the house freely (they each figured out how to use them in about 30 seconds). My wife also made it clear that the gates must look asthetically pleasing in the house (and she has impeccable taste). These gates satisfied all of the requirements mentioned above, and everyone is happy with them. Frankly, I was slightly nervous about ordering a product that was only available online, and that I could not go and actually see in a store, but I bit the bullet and ordered it anyway. I was not disappointed at all, and the product works as advertised (no "surprises"). The only issue we had was in placing the gates in a part of the wall that was not entirely stable, which produced a nail pop, so we moved it. Since it is pressure mounted, it might be a good idea to use a stud-finder and try to mount the gate right on a stud, just to be sure. All in all it is very sturdy, and we like the product. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiaperDude
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Various extensions included was a plus.
6/22/2012

Customer review by Mom813

4.0 stars 6/22/2012 by Mom813
by Mom813

Overall I am happy with this gate. Our hallway is 48" and the gate fits with 2 of the 3 extensions that are included. One thing that wasn't really specified in the description was whether or not there would be hardware to install or things to screw in to your walls. I thought since it said pressure mounted that there would be no hardware to install, but there are these small mounting cups you are supposed to screw to your wall or stairway first. We haven't put them up because we didn't want to screw into our walls. The fit is okay without, we thought it was secure, but the baby can bump the bottom of the gate and it gets cockeyed! The top doesn't budge. We have baseboard trim that I guess is slippery compared to the textured wall above, so I see why it slips. I just seems a shame to have to screw in to our trim... Not sure what we are going to do about this problem. I love that the gate swings both ways and closes automatically.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom813
Delta, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate!!!
9/18/2012

Customer review by Magg1e

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Magg1e
by Magg1e

This is my second gate, the first one I got was a screw-mounted type because I thought thats what we needed for top of the stairs. Recently we painted and fixed the walls and I didn't want to make new holes in the wall. This gate works perfectly in my 46" opening, very sturdy and easy to operate! The $0.97 shipping was super fast, I placed my order late Thursday afternoon and got the package Saturday morning, and it took only about 10 minutes to install!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Magg1e
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Well-Made Product
7/29/2012

Customer review by LovinValue

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by LovinValue
by LovinValue

We needed a gate for the top of our stairway to protect our infant granddaughter when visiting. The problem is that the opening is wider than standard (43" at top and 41" at bottom). We initially tried the Regalo wide gate, but it was light and a bit rickety. I was able to jam a rubber door stop in the bottom to solidify it, but it was still a bit worrisome -- the instructions even advise against use at the top of stairs. We then turned to the Dream Baby product. While twice the price, it is a much heavier and more stable product. We are using a pressure mount, but it is very firm and stable. The only drawback is the automatically-shutting gate, particularly since we need it open most of the time. However, I took a white wire clothes hanger, broke a piece off, and bent each end back -- this can easily be used to hold the gate open. (The manufacturer could easily include a similar item for a few pennies and should do so). All in all, we are very happy with the product thus far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovinValue
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice gate, alittle short for top of stairs...
10/8/2008

Customer review by kim93257

3.0 stars 10/8/2008 by kim93257
by kim93257

This is a nice gate, I originally purchased and installed it as an top of stairs gate. I ended up returning it and exchanging it for a taller gate. I thought it was alittle short for my active toddler who loves to climb. I would recommend this gate if you prefer a shorter style gate for pets or small children or for single story homes. But for a growing child I prefer the taller ones.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kim93257
Porterville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
They work well
12/14/2009

Customer review by 10000FootClub

5.0 stars 12/14/2009 by 10000FootClub
by 10000FootClub

I am an extremely picky individual, but I can tell you with all honesty that this gate is absolutely fantastic. They’re not the most stylish gate if that’s what you’re looking for, but they’re not ugly either. They are sold and with the combination of extensions between the extra wide gate and regulator gate, they fit any opening from 27” up to ?” depending on how many extensions you have. We had 4 left over. They open in both directions and automatically close and latch. We bought 4 regular size and 1 extra wide for a 50”opening. Installation was easy. I would say the only down fall that I have experience with them so far, theres not a way to lock them open, if you needed to, for example, when carrying in groceries or something like that. What I did is I went to Harbor Freight and bought a container of small 10” stretch cords and hooked them on the gate to keep it open when needed and you can leave them on the gate hooked to the outside where the baby can’t get to them.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10000FootClub
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/25/2010

Customer review by jayhawkfan93

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by jayhawkfan93
by jayhawkfan93

Great quality gate. Made the right decision in choosing DreamBaby over other popular brands. The gate latch could be a little quieter, if you let the gate go behind you and an infant is sleeping, it can be a loud click. Minor flaw, that would not stop me from buying it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jayhawkfan93
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Godsend to those caring for toddler children
10/17/2013

Customer review by mrs8578

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by mrs8578
by mrs8578

This gate system is really a great tool for closing off areas from babies and toddlers. It provides the barrier for the children, possibly some pets, but not cats, and it allows the adults to use the latched gate to move back and forth with relative ease. You have to get accustomed to how the gate works, pushing the latch release, pulling up slightly on the gate, then swinging it open. It is nicely hinged and swings open easily once unlatched. We needed two of the 17.5" extensions to close our nearly 75 inch opening, but it worked like a charm. Be sure to get a good measurement on your opening and do some calculating to be certain you get the proper combination of extensions. Also be sure to read everything. At first it will appear as the gate is bent, but it tells you why that is the case and explains what will happen when it is installed properly. The pressure mounting hardware is 100% awesome. No drillling, no hammering, no tools, no damaging walls. And if you get it installed properly, it is quite sturdy. Totally worth the money when compared to the craziness and chaos we had in trying to use other furniture and things to make a blockade.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrs8578
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sturdy gate!
4/19/2012

Customer review by Ehollis23

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Ehollis23
by Ehollis23

We bought one if these from amazon, and tried to savd money by getting a cheaper one also. This one was WELL WORTH THE MONEY and fabulous!! We replaced cheaper gate with this new one Nd this is also the very cheapest Price you can find this gate!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ehollis23
Fredericktown, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate for wide spaces!
2/1/2014

Customer review by shalmartwopper

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by shalmartwopper
by shalmartwopper

Fits our 43" hallway perfectly. It's tall but not too tall - I'm 5'5" and can step over it. Glad we picked this one. It's a great deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shalmartwopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love, love, love this gate!
1/28/2009

Customer review by LoveMyBabyLily

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by LoveMyBabyLily
by LoveMyBabyLily

My sister bought this gate for me for Christmas 2007. At the time my daughter was 6 months old and barely crawling. Now she is 19 months old and is all over the place. I have a very large opening at the top of the stairs (the living room, dining room, and kitchen are all on the second floor), and this gate was the perfect fit! Easy to install, stylish, and very easy to use! I since lost the baby gate in our house fire at the end of September. We will be moving back into our house this week, so I ordered the same baby gate from Walmart, at a much better price then Target (my sister paid about $40 more when she ordered it from Target). My only complaint is that the gate just arrived and it was broken. The switch to open the gate had broken off. I have now ordered a 3rd one, and am hoping it will be in perfect shape when it arrives. All in all, order this gate from Walmart and you will have a beautiful, SAFE baby gate!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyBabyLily
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/15/2012

Customer review by CLS012

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by CLS012
by CLS012

I have a 48" opening so I was having a hard time finding a gate to fit. I found and ordered this one. When it came it looked like it was bent up, but it's not. My husband Actually had to install the gate because of how tight it fits in the opening. The directions tell you to use both of the extensions with a 48" opening. It is an extremely tight fit! If the opening were any smaller at all the gate would not fit. We have had it up for about 2 weeks now and have been very happy with it. The gate does open easily so it would not be good to use with toddlers but for our dog it works great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CLS012
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great stair gate
7/12/2012

Customer review by mimioffive

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by mimioffive
by mimioffive

This works wonderful for my staircase. Keeps the dogs and grandkids from climbing up, but is easy to access even with one hand! A great buy, definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mimioffive
Cherry Valley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/18/2013

Customer review by Neil51

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Neil51
by Neil51

Very impressed with the quality of the rails and gate--heavy duty and the enamel finish appears to be very durable. The locking latch on the gate is a very nice feature, as our grandson is unable to push the gate open. We purchased an extension and are using this gate in an area that's 63" wide--so far it's stood up to our 18-month old grandson's pushing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neil51
Forsyth, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews