Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-16 of 16 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great cooker for everyday use
7/21/2010

Customer review by mum2shop

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by mum2shop
by mum2shop

First, this is great cooker for everyday use. Also, good for a small family. I bought this in early december 2009. no peeling of notstick coating yet. Things I like about the cooker - I can leave the cooker on and forget it, it turns of automatically and no need to unplug the plug. It doesn't burn much rice on the bottom but still little. Easy to store in the cabinet or large drawers. The only disadvantage - i like to add 2.5 cups of water per cup of basmati rice. when i use 2 to 2.5 cups of rice with 6 cups of water, while the rice is cooking lot of water comes out the glass lid and leaves a mess outside. It will be nice, if there was hole on the glass lid for the water or pressure to leave. Panasonic designed the lid to be little smaller for the water or pressure to leave. Price is very good, check yourself on panasonic website and other competitors like Tar... and more. The package arrives quickly and without a damage. I saw this same cooker in Panasonic showrooms in India when I visited my family. It's cost 1/2 the price here - Good. I like this cooker overall. It's good for small family and single person. I will give all 5stars if it leaves no mess on the counter.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mum2shop
Hudson, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
perfect amount
3/6/2012

Customer review by newricecooker

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by newricecooker
by newricecooker

Perfect for an individual or family of less than 3-4 who may enjoy rice once or twice per week in "normal" amounts. As a gift, I received a much larger (5-20 cup) rice cooker which I felt was way too much on a routine basis (esp. for an individual or couple), so I read almost every review for different products before ordering this machine. So far (using Jasmine rice only), having mastered the rinsing of the rice, soaking for about 25 minutes, and the rice to water ratio (water about 3/4 inch above the rice level), I am extremely impressed with the final product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newricecooker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Produces Good Rice
12/11/2015

Customer review by Reno

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Reno
by Reno

I found this rice cooker to be easy to use and produces good quality rice.

Reno
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Returned to store
1/5/2013

Customer review by Airboss1998

1.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Airboss1998
by Airboss1998

We did not even try this - it may work great, but it is advertised as coming with a steamer basket, AND IT DOES NOT. It also does not appear to have a keep-warm function, at least it has no indicator light to show that. Returned to store and am ordering another unit (Black & Decker). Will hope it includes advertised items.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Airboss1998
Avon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
8/20/2013

Customer review by nickname20013

1.0 stars 8/20/2013 by nickname20013
by nickname20013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The write up for this product says it comes with a steamer basket and a rice scoop. It came with neither. I didn't really care about the scoop, but I was very interested in using this as a vegetable steamer as well as a rice cooker so I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nickname20013
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent product
11/2/2015

Customer review by walmartdotcomxxx

5.0 stars 11/2/2015 by walmartdotcomxxx
by walmartdotcomxxx

if it werent for the reviews i would not have purchased this..this rice cooker is excellent so far..no need to soak rice i just put in rice and water and its perfect..after trying a few of the other rice cookers that just stop working after a few uses i was skeptical about gettin another..but this one works awesome and the rice does not stick to the bottom at all so no waste..i've been having a couple months now but so far its the best cooker ..you wont be dissapointed..i would definetly recommend this..i only cook rice in it so cant tell about other things it cooks but again this is the best

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartdotcomxxx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple and great
12/7/2014

Customer review by CAdada007

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by CAdada007
by CAdada007

We were looking for a cooker without warm function since we do not like to unplug the wire or worse eat burnt out rice. This is an excellent cooker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAdada007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One of the BEST little cookers I have EVER bought.
8/31/2015

Customer review by Mrs. Liz

5.0 stars 8/31/2015 by Mrs. Liz
by Mrs. Liz

I skeptically bought the no-frills little Panasonic rice cooker over 5 years ago before my wedding so I know it's at least that old. Initially, I was just looking for a more convenient way to make sticky rice for sushi / sashimi without screwing it up. This cooker does that and more with a simple click. I've even recently made polenta in my rice cooker. My rice cooker experiments largely go well! I've used it to make just about any "stovetop" (not instant) boxed or bag of grains including jambalaya (using pre-cooked meat / leftovers - I have not tried cooking meat in it). I don't have a large kitchen or stove so this saves space in my cooking area and is one less thing to worry about while juggling cooking and cleaning when I get home. Takes only a few minutes to set it up, pour the ingredients in, click the switch and let it cook. It is easy to clean too. I really love my little rice cooker and when it finally gets worn out, I plan to replace it with another just like it even though other models have more features, for myself and husband (2 people) it's more than enough. I do find it works best when you make at least 2 cups of rice and use the scoop they include to measure with. Hope this review helps you - I won't be going back to making rice any other way!

Mrs. Liz
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
returned
2/27/2014

Customer review by callmechicken

1.0 stars 2/27/2014 by callmechicken
by callmechicken
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

made 2 batches with this cooker. the first batch was undercooked. the second batch of rice was scorched on the bottom. was going to try a 3rd, but realized using a rice cooker shouldn't be so unpredictable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
callmechicken
Woodland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply works great!
9/10/2013

Customer review by waz04

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by waz04
by waz04
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second one that I have bought, not that there is anything wrong with the first one. On the contrary, we needed one for our vacation home. This cooker does exactly what it is supposed to do, with a minimum of effort. Place the rice and water in the pot, press down the switch, and that's it! It will also cook rice mixes from packets, even those that tell you to bring the water to a boil first. You can skip that step with this cooker. I've had the first one I bought for over five years, and it is still in like-new condition.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waz04
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No steam basket
8/15/2015

Customer review by OBEYGOD

1.0 stars 8/15/2015 by OBEYGOD
by OBEYGOD

On the web site description says Steam Basket for vegetable, but there is none. And no warmer option. I will return it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OBEYGOD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Service support needed
3/24/2014

Customer review by Gurzala

4.0 stars 3/24/2014 by Gurzala
by Gurzala

The product AUTOMATIC COOKER model No.SR-WA18H is a very good model and it has given faultless service for nearly FIVE YEARS to me. However, the bottom metallic portion of the cooker is corroded now. I am looking for a part replacement (I wish to keep the product because of its good service). But I am unable to get service centre in the Western/Northern part of Bangalore City, INDIA. G.R.Ramanath

Gurzala
Bangalore, INDIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality
2/19/2013

Customer review by Olivia

1.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Olivia
by Olivia

After less than one year the non-stick coating on the insert has started to chip and pit. I have taken very good care of this rice cooker, have only used the plastic rice spoon included, yet the non-stick coating is coming off on the bottom. I am very disappointed because other than this, the unit has performed well.

Olivia
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Rattletrap
12/28/2011

Customer review by tad

1.0 stars 12/28/2011 by tad
by tad

spend a little more, get a little more. Even though I followed directions to a tee (rinsing rice, measuring, seating the bowl) -- it spewed water all over my counter. taking it back if i can find a retailer in my area.

tad
Monclova, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice
1/3/2009

Customer review by Tex

4.0 stars 1/3/2009 by Tex
by Tex

This is a good, basic, rice cooker. It will do everything I needed in a small unit. My only disappointment is the lack of a steaming basket.

Tex
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple and easy to use
6/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This rice cooker is very easy to use. Just add your rice and water, press the button, and the rice is automatically cooked to perfection.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes