Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 181 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

181 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

181 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
30
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 stars
11
1-20 of 171 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 171 total reviews
1-20 of 171 reviews
1/5/2017

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/5/2017 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The bread machine has a lot of features that are nice, but it doesn't do any good if the kneading blade doesn't last very long and then isn't available for purchase on the site from the manufacture.

An anonymous customer
Roanoke, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
instruction problem re raisin bread
6/10/2015

Customer review by DuE

5.0 stars 6/10/2015 by DuE
by DuE

For baking raisin bread with whole wheat, a step is omitted in the instruction booklet. After selecting "bake raisin" and then "whole wheat" in menu, you need to return to "select" and REselect raisin. Otherwise this machine does not beep to say when to add raisins as it is supposed to. The reality is that even this way, you're better off adding them later and then kneading the dough yourself since the machine tends to smash up the raisins even when put in "after the beep." #I'm adding this in the hope that some Panasonic person will eventually read this.# Otherwise the machine does great. I've learned to use it to make tasty 100% whole wheat bread with far less sodium than anything that can be purchased. The alternative is NO sodium bread, which is as expensive as it is dry and tasteless. The instruction booklet doesn't say how to do this, but more importantly, the machine is altogether capable of this. King Arthur's website was essential for learning how.

DuE
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE!!!!!
12/28/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/28/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a great machine. Clean up is a breeze. Bread is AMAZINGLY delicious. I could not be happier with my purchase. I did quite a bit of research before I purchased a bread machine and this one lives up to the reviews. Buying it directly from Panasonic was the way to go - they have the BEST price going.

An anonymous customer
Parsippany-Troy Hills, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great All-Around Machine
1/31/2009

Customer review by The Cooking Fool

4.0 stars 1/31/2009 by The Cooking Fool
by The Cooking Fool

This is my first bread maker, though I've used several others (Zoj, Breadman) in various capacities. I must say I am impressed with this model so far, as it ideally suits my needs. I think the overall quality of the product is good; the pan is thick (which prevents burning) and the construction seems to be quality. The only very slight complaint I have is the looseness of the lid and how it is attached to the machine, which seems just a hair looser and free swinging than it should be. The quality of the finished product is excellent; the bread is wonderful and I've gotten compliments from everyone who's tried it. A good read of the manual (which so many fail to do) provides a lot of helpful tips to extend the life of the machine and produce a good product. I contacted customer service for more information on the bread sizes, and they responded within 24 hours with the answer I was looking for. Overall, very satisfied with this product.

The Cooking Fool
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
11/30/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/30/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the fourth bread maker I have purchased from Panasonic and t makes wonserful bread and so easy to use. Never had any problems. Definitely recommend this model to anyone.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FRESG HOT BREAD
11/18/2016

Customer review by Marie

5.0 stars 11/18/2016 by Marie
by Marie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A GIFT -- WILL KNOW AFTER CHRISTMAS

Marie
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Bread and Dough!
12/28/2009

Customer review by Kelly

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by Kelly
by Kelly

I bought this breadmaker after much research on other breadmakers. I'd read the reviews and decided to buy this one. I've never regretted my decision. I've used this breadmaker to make delicious white and wheat bread as well as dough for cinnamon rolls and pizzas. Each time, the result has been perfect! It couldn't get much easier than throwing in the ingredients in dry to wet order and putting your yeast in the lid dispenser, then setting your desired settings and voila it's done! I also love the timer setting so I can add my ingredients at night and set it to have a new hot and ready loaf done by the time I wake up. I read that someone complained that the dough isn't all mixed and some is left behind, I've never had this issue and I've made at least 50 batches of either bread or dough. Plus, the price is hard to beat. I would recommend this breadmaker to anyone, and I have!

Kelly
Roy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bread doesn't rise. Lousy customer service
6/30/2016

Customer review by Jay

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by Jay
by Jay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Made two good loaves of bread. After that bread didn't rise even though I used the exact same ingredients. I called customer service the first day I had it, and the first time I used it, because the light/dark setting didn't work when whole wheat wad selected. The Panasonic rep had no idea how the machine worked and placed me on hold for 45 minutes while he tried to find out. He then tole me I would have to pay to ship it to the Panasonic repair center. I later found out on my own that the light/dark setting doesn't work when "whole wheat" is selected. Measurement in the recipes provided like 4 3/16's cups are difficult to measure. I have a huge problem with this machine and a bigger problem with Panasonic customer service having had similar support issues with a Panasonic shaver that I bought

Jay
Chapel Hill, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reliable, great value bread machine
4/6/2015

Customer review by Alamap

5.0 stars 4/6/2015 by Alamap
by Alamap

My second SD-YD250 I purchased because: 1) my first Pana lasted much longer than 3 other brands of bread machines I'd purchased, 2) it makes a 1.5 lb. loaf which is just the right amount for 2 people without spoilage, 3) the pan is higher quality - the no-stick surface and rubber seal lasts much longer than other brands, 4) the taller, narrower shape takes up a minimum of space in our tiny kitchen, 5) it's a quiet machine that won't wake you up if you're sleeping. I've been making bread machine bread for 20 years. One brand made good bread but it was really noisy. The pan seal degraded and the replacement pan cost almost as much as a new machine. The two other machines I bought lasted 13 months - exactly one month past the warranty. My Pana lasted 4 years. It still worked at the end. There was some leakage through the pan's rubber seal, (the weak point of all machines) but you could compensate by adding more liquid. We just wanted a new, completely problem free machine so bought the exact same model we'd bought before. With how long the machine lasts, it works out to be a great value among bread machines.

Alamap
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More Info, please...
5/25/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/25/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have owned and regularly used various bread machines since 1991. I have a long, wonderful history with my bread machines. I finally killed my last one and immediately went to the internet to purchase a new one. Absolute must have - only one beater. Your machine popped up as the best available. I wish there had been more information concerning the length of time to bake a regular loaf of bread! The waiting period at the beginning is totally new to me and way to long. A regular loaf takes 4 hours - I am used to 2 hours and 40 minutes! I have made two very successful loaves on the quick cycle. I have never had a yeast dispenser...don't think I will be using that feature. Any advice on skipping the long waiting period would be helpful. It is a good machine and I will get used to using it - I'm slow to change. Glad it can handle 2 1/2 pound loaves! Jackie Schnell

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bread Machine
4/4/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/4/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We love this bread machine. We began baking our own bread when we discovered our daughter had several allergies. The allergies are long gone but we still make our own bread. We make mostly wheat bread, and have tried several different kinds of bread and dough. The machine consistently makes good bread and dough. The included recipes we tried were quite good. This is the second machine we have owned. The first made hundreds of loaves over something like 8-10 years. The bread pan wore out and rather than buy a new pan, blade, and spindle, we chose to just buy another machine for about the same price as the 3 parts. The first replacement machine made quite a bit of noise and Panasonic gave us a shipping label and refund after one phone call. The second one arrived in perfect condition and works as well as our original machine.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just purchased 3 bread makers...sold one, gave one
6/27/2015

Customer review by Andy

5.0 stars 6/27/2015 by Andy
by Andy

And kept one! Years ago I had the perfect bread maker and used it for a very long time but after going back to work did not use it much so gave it away. I just retired and asked for one for Christmas and I was given a Breville. Although a nice gift I was not happy with the results so I sold it. I still was searching for the perfect bread maker. I went online and looked at all the reviews and the Zojirushi was high on the list and it seemed to promise perfect bread. I Purchased one and still was not satisfied with the results. I could not remember the brand of my perfect bread maker from years ago until my son reminded me it was a Panasonic. I gave the Zojirushi to my daughter and purchased the Panasonic. Finally the perfect bread!! This machine is half the price of the others I had tried and the results are far superior!! It seems crazy to have owned 3 bread makers in such a short amount of time and wished I would have remembered a little sooner that the Panasonic has all the bells and whistles of the more expensive ones but the results are far superior!! This machine truly makes the BEST bread! I highly recommend this machine. You will not be disappointed!

Andy
Williston, ND 58801, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bread but bakes just a few minutes too long
7/11/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/11/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bake at least two loaves of whole grain bread a week but stop the baking between 5-10 minutes before the cycle completes. If the cycle goes the complete 5 hours, the crust is much to dry, brown and hard. By stopping just a few minutes short of the 5 hours, the bread is PERFECT. Besides the nuisance of having to set a timer to stop the baking process manually, I really do like this bread machine.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Bread Machine
9/17/2013

Customer review by Chris C

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by Chris C
by Chris C

Thought it was time to write a review. I purchased this machine in 1998?? I used it to bake loaves of bread for church parties, and made countless loaves of bread. Went to use the machine this morning, and I realized it works the same today, as it did when I bought it about 15 years ago. I researched on the internet when I first started using the internet. It just quietly does a great job every time. Some tips: Wash bread pan right away after each use, but wait til it cools. Wash by soaking and use gentle rag and gently remove all dried flour (if any) Let it air dry completely before storing. I don't know if the manufacturer would recommend this, but every so often I put a small amount of WD40 on the underneath part of the bread pan where the mixer turns, and turn it manually a few times, before storage. But it works fine without this. NOTE: this is for the pan only, not the machine. I keep the bread machine on the counter out of the sun and you should keep it covered. I highly recommend this product. Everyone looks forward to getting a loaf of bread. The consistency of the dough it makes, is wonderful. I have no affiliation whatsoever with Panasonic. This is entirely an honest review. God Bless

Chris C
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love this machine, but... a little noisy
4/9/2016

Customer review by kkell77

4.0 stars 4/9/2016 by kkell77
by kkell77

I usually eat rice for breakfast, but I changed to bread.... and then... I got a stomach pain.... so I guessed... that was an ingriendet problem. I made a plan, and I bought this bread maker and organic ingredients together~~ and the result was amazing. I don't have any pain anymore~~~ and the taste was fantastic and the baking time makes everybody happy. The outside of bread is crunch and inside is so soft! The best thing of making bread is that I can choose the best Ingrid entry what I like!!!! However.... it is a little noisy when it is mixing... and the recipe inside of manual is so so...... Except two, I really love it.

kkell77
River Edge, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bread machine
2/18/2016

Customer review by Laserjock

5.0 stars 2/18/2016 by Laserjock
by Laserjock

We got this bread machine as a replacement for an old Welbuilt machine. The Panasonic is very well made, and makes an excellent loaf of bread. Very efficient at kneading the ingredients without any dry flour left over in the corners. The finished loaf slides out of the baking pan easily, and the mixing paddle doesn't get stuck in the loaf. Our only complaint is that the controls are not particularly easy to figure out without consulting the manual. After using the machine a few times, it is easy to do, but the initial settings require looking up "how to". Fresh bread daily is a great treat! The smell is fantastic, and the taste is exceptional. Very happy with our purchase.

Laserjock
Boston, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Machine!
1/24/2013

Customer review by Bakinmor

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Bakinmor
by Bakinmor

I received this bread machine for my birthday and I have made a loaf (on average) once a week for the past 6 months. I have not had a bad loaf yet I have tried many different types of bread, as well as pizza dough, bread dough and roll dough. The only thing I have had go wrong was an XL loaf that stuck to the top of the lid....the bread was still excellent, I just disconnected the top lid at the hinge and used a wet rag to clean it off. The only thing I'm wondering about is the noise it now makes when mixing and kneading........it's a very loud squeaking noise that sounds just like a turkey call! I will message customer service to see if this is a problem that can be solved before the warranty is up. Otherwise......I LOVE THIS MACHINE!!!

Bakinmor
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product
12/29/2008

Customer review by Jaimee

5.0 stars 12/29/2008 by Jaimee
by Jaimee

I am a new bread maker user. Every loaf I have made using this machine has been perfect. I especially like the recipe booklet that comes with the machine. CON: You cannot change your setting once you hit start. I made that mistake once so far. I set the wrong cycle, noticed it right after I pushed start. I unplugged the machine... the only way to clear the memory. Problem is it holds the memory for about 10 minutes in case of a power outage according to the manuel. I set the kitchen timer and waited. Plugged it back in and guess what... It still had the memory. I unplugged it again and waited 15 minutes this time. It was tough to wait while all the ingredients were sitting in the machine. O well... the bread turned out fantastic any way!

Jaimee
Marion, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Efficient little baker
2/17/2016

Customer review by hacksoft

5.0 stars 2/17/2016 by hacksoft
by hacksoft

I love the French bread this machine makes and bakes. The metal baking tray (dish?) is easily removed by its small metal handle and doesn't leak crumbs to the heating element (as my prior bread machine did). I also like the yeast being added later in the baking process by the separate compartment for it on top of the machine. This seems to improve the rising in my breads. The LCD and function selection display could be a little more clear when you are selecting " Bake" or "Dough", but that's a minor quibble. This is a very nice, relatively quiet bread machine.

hacksoft
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Panasonic Breadmaker - mostly happy
7/17/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/17/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We have made bread with this bread maker five times so far. The first two loaves were wonderful. Then the automatic adding of the yeast stopped. Once we figured out what had happened, we just added the yeast ourselves when putting the dry ingredients in the pan and have gotten delicious loaves since then. Don't think the automatic yeast adding is necessary unless baking with the timer. We don't plan to do that so won't be returning the unit - but be aware that this could be a problem. I looked at the mechanism and it looks like the rod to push the yeast release button is askew. I read other reviews with this problem also.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1-20 of 171 reviews