Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 149 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

149 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

149 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
9
1-20 of 127 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Good Safe but no Bolt Down Kit
7/10/2015

Customer review by momingv

4.0 stars 7/10/2015 by momingv
by momingv

I ordered this safe as it had all the features I wanted including a bolt down kit, but when it arrived the safe was damaged and we had to send it back. Sam's handled the return well, and initiated shipping out another safe as soon as the 1st one was picked up by Fed Ex. (By the way, Fed Ex seemed ill-equipped to handle this delivery, one driver, no hand truck, my husband had to help him get it off the truck, and we had to help again to put it on the truck for the return, 2nd delivery they sent out 2 people to get it off their truck.) 2nd safe arrived just a few days later in good shape, even though this one was the same model, it appears First Alert changed it and no longer includes the bolt down kit. I liked the safe overall and did not want to go through the hassle of packing it up and returning it again so we decided to keep it. The handle and wheels are great to help locate the safe where we wanted it in the house, but concerns me that it will also make it easier for a thief to take out of our house.

momingv
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Qualified Review
8/13/2015

Customer review by Chuck798

5.0 stars 8/13/2015 by Chuck798
by Chuck798

As everyone knows, a one day, month or even 6 months will have nothing to do with the valued judgment of a safe, other than you can lock away documents in them, there is adequate room and the price was a good value. Its quality in being waterproof and fireproof, hopefully, will never have to be proven. What I can say is that it is roomy, locks solidly and easily with its digital access code and, compared to those I've seen as I shopped, is an outstanding value. If the fireproof and waterproof claims ever are tested, I'll provide additional feedback on the product. Thus far, its performance appears to be flawless and I'm very happy with its value.

Chuck798
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
What was as expected (almost)
3/27/2014

Customer review by Edwin

4.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Edwin
by Edwin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It has only been here 2 days. Set up is fairly simple especially once the directions are read properly. Did not realize it does not bolt to floor (maybe another reading issue) therefore I think theft prevention is somewhat compromised. After the entry code is keyed in the handle has to be moved to the left to relieve strain on the lock for it to unlatch and then moved to the right to retract the locking bolts. If not done quick enough the process needs to be repeated. Perhaps that will work itself out with use. It does have a good fire protection rating and that is what I bought it for. It does come with wheels and removable handle that make it easy to put in place.

Edwin
PEPPERELL,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Safe!!!
8/14/2015

Customer review by Zoiebear

5.0 stars 8/14/2015 by Zoiebear
by Zoiebear

We were so so surprised with the size of this safe. It is huge. Plenty of room. Easy set up instructions for the password. Also comes with a key in case the password is lost. Shelves inside make it nice for storage arrangement. It is very well made. Both fire and water safe. Will fit in a closet and comes with the bolts to bolt it to the floor. Heavy enough no one can carry it out. It does have a carrier with wheels that can be removed when you find the right spot for your safe. Very good buy. Worth every penny. We would highly recommend this safe.

Zoiebear
Swanton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
great safe for home use
9/12/2015

Customer review by MikedNC

5.0 stars 9/12/2015 by MikedNC
by MikedNC

I decided having this item shipped made the most sense since there was no way to carry it home easily. I was concerned about it being damaged in shipping with all the horror stories I have read about shipping safes. The safe arrived in good condition and it was easy to setup. The detachable hand truck feature was handy to help maneuver the safe into the house. I then removed the wheels and handle as expected. Good deal having this shipped!!!

MikedNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Purchase for my needs
12/28/2013

Customer review by Anticipation

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Anticipation
by Anticipation

I was looking for a fire safe that was large enough to hold paperwork and other items of value. The safe arrived in just a couple of days and in good condition. This safe is large enough (140 lbs) to provide some security from theft as it will require 2 people to move it. The digital lock allows the safe to be opened in less than 5 seconds. I have had this for about a month and opened and closed it everyday with no problems. It would have been nice to have the capability to secure the safe to the floor.

Anticipation
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Waterproof Fire Safe
8/13/2015

Customer review by nickname2015

4.0 stars 8/13/2015 by nickname2015
by nickname2015

I live in a flood zone and needed a waterproof safe to protect papers and photos in case of a fire or flood. This safe was about the only one I could find that offered both types of protection. The seal looks adequate enough. I was disappointed in the plastic folder hanger and shelves that come with the safe but since I do not plan to be in the safe all the time it should work out ok. Overall this safe should hopefully serve us well.

nickname2015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well built
11/29/2015

Customer review by Tommytx

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by Tommytx
by Tommytx

Heavy to move, need to people for stairs. Small wheels will leave and impression on hardwood floors, use a dolly. Simple to set up and change code, spare key is a bonus. Probably a bit large for what I need it for but it works well. Delivery wouldn't go up 5 stairs to get it to the porch, they left it in the yard.

Tommytx
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Damaged on delivery
7/25/2015

Customer review by Gene072515

1.0 stars 7/25/2015 by Gene072515
by Gene072515

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! This product is not durable at all! The first one I received on Jul 05, 2015 had a small damage in the top back corner (see image marked 1st). I requested for an exchange and Sam's was very efficient in delivering the new item on Jul 14, 2015. Unfortunately, the 2nd one was worse (see image marked 2nd). Now I have two damaged safes that have yet to be picked up!

Gene072515
Downers Grove
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Safe!!
12/18/2015

Customer review by Julie

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Julie
by Julie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this safe for work and it is heavy but it was easy to program and will do the job..

Julie
Frederick,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safe
2/25/2015

Customer review by passgreat

5.0 stars 2/25/2015 by passgreat
by passgreat

We ordered this safe on line from Sam's Club because me and my hubby had no way to buy one and get it home so way not just order it and have it delivered straight to our home. So it was delivered we unpack it, It was in good condition was easy too put in the place we made for it. Was easy too set the combination and yes it was a great deal.

passgreat
Louisville, KY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Seems to be a good purchase
8/12/2015

Customer review by NCPatriot

5.0 stars 8/12/2015 by NCPatriot
by NCPatriot

Outer box a little beat up but the packing and protection inside is great. Easy to open and they have it set so you can roll it out of the box if you open it correctly. heavy, some plastic. The handle is a little cheap as are the shelves - plastic. I think it will be a good safe.

NCPatriot
Waynesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice unit
5/22/2015

Customer review by wagiera

5.0 stars 5/22/2015 by wagiera
by wagiera

Setup is easy and logical. Putting the batteries inside is a curious oddity since they do die. Easy to unpack. Everyone got a kick out of the fact that it had wheels and a handle for easy rolling out of a building. :-)

wagiera
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Seems to be a great safe
8/18/2015

Customer review by viper404

5.0 stars 8/18/2015 by viper404
by viper404

I've only had the safe for a short time but it seems to have all the features I need and it came at a great price.

viper404
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent small safe
12/5/2014

Customer review by BruceH

5.0 stars 12/5/2014 by BruceH
by BruceH

The handle and wheels made it easy to move to the location from the box and then it can be removed so others won't find it as easy to move now that it is twice as heavy and secured

BruceH
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Was Returned to Walmart
7/2/2014

Customer review by VSC65

1.0 stars 7/2/2014 by VSC65
by VSC65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was Badly Damage during shipment,the side of the safe was busted and some kind of powdery kind of cement or sand is leaking.Never trsted the safe,its looks nice but looks like made of plastic,can't stand the punishment of shipping.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VSC65
Sayreville,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very impressed with this safe and the price!
3/12/2010

Customer review by AustinAussie

5.0 stars 3/12/2010 by AustinAussie
by AustinAussie

I shopped around and researched reviews on different safes before purchasing this safe which is the larger 2096D model with the hanging file holder and 2 shelves. I had seen the same model at Lowes for a much larger price so the Walmart price (and the 97 cents shipping to my house) seemed almost too good to be true. But it is! The safe arrived quickly and in perfect condition thanks to the beefed up packing. The removable "dolly handle" (which the manufacturer recommends removing after the safe is positioned) made it easy to maneuver despite its 140 lb weight. There are no bolts provided to secure the safe to the floor but since I only intend to store documents in the safe to protect from fire that is not a problem. The manual was concise and easy to read and I had no problem activating my new password. Plus I really like the over-ride keys provided in case the digital keypad fails or the batteries go dead (or you forget your password!). Good looking, roomy safe and GREAT value for the money!

Was this review helpful? (48) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AustinAussie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice product
9/3/2010

Customer review by hoski

4.0 stars 9/3/2010 by hoski
by hoski

I would have given this product a 5 star except for two items. One it pinches my fingers when I try to open the safe like using a normal safe handle. The way this one is shaped and positioned you can't wrap your fingers around it or they are getting pinched. The other reason is that it flashes a green light when you have entered the code correctly and it is ready to open but does not beep. I really think it needs a long beep to let you know it is ready to open. Other than that it is great. I'm currently looking for an extra shelf to put in it as I have more to put in it than I thought. I am using this for work to protect checks, banking information and back up tapes. It is heavy which is good and yes it is made of plastic but I needed something fire and waterproof. This safe fits the bill. I did tons of research till I was ready to pull my hair out. I had a hard time finding a safe this big that was waterproof. I've only had it about a week but I'm very happy.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hoski
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent safe
7/17/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an excellent safe for the purposes I need it to server. The setup was easy using the included instructions. I do have 2 small negatives that prevent it from being perfect. 1 - The shelves & hanging folder hardware which are all plastic. Would have been better to have a sturdier material for this, but it's a small issue. 2 - The wheels don't really remove (somehow I an interpreted it otherwise). Rather, the handle does, and easily. Again not a big issue but it would have been better if the wheels/handle could have been on the front as that way it is makes it easier getting the safe into place. But even my wife has managed with that so it's nothing to be very worried about. The one thing I haven't tried yet is using the emergency key. I can only assume it works as expected. The shipping from Walmart is off the scale. It arrived at the front end of the period estimated and you can't beat $0.97 shipping costs instead of free to the store was not a difficult choice.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Fire/Flood Safe
12/1/2009

Customer review by javaking255

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by javaking255
by javaking255

This is an excellent fire/flood safe and good value for the money. Couple things worth mentioning so you know what you are getting: 1) The safe is plastic and I suspect the locking mechanism would not stand up to significant punishment. Though shipping weight is listed as 140 lbs, there is no way this safe weighs anything close to that (or I am Hercules). My way of saying this is probably not the safe for you if you want to protect valuables from thieves and are without a home security system. Works well for keeping kids out however. 2) It really does only cost 97 cents to ship to your house and the delivery person was willing to wheel it into our bedroom for us. Probably not necessary for most people since it takes some room to remove the safe from all the packaging, the safe doesn't weigh that much and it actually comes with wheels and a handle installed...handy! 3) I read several reviews on Amazon.com and other websites indicating these safes often arrived damaged. I think the manufacturer has addressed this as the safe was double boxed with lots of foam. Mine arrived without a scratch. Overall a better quality safe for the price if you compare to Sentry brand one hour fire rated safes.

Was this review helpful? (93) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
javaking255
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews