Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
6
1-20 of 101 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Excellent Fire/Flood Safe
12/1/2009

Customer review by javaking255

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by javaking255
by javaking255

This is an excellent fire/flood safe and good value for the money. Couple things worth mentioning so you know what you are getting: 1) The safe is plastic and I suspect the locking mechanism would not stand up to significant punishment. Though shipping weight is listed as 140 lbs, there is no way this safe weighs anything close to that (or I am Hercules). My way of saying this is probably not the safe for you if you want to protect valuables from thieves and are without a home security system. Works well for keeping kids out however. 2) It really does only cost 97 cents to ship to your house and the delivery person was willing to wheel it into our bedroom for us. Probably not necessary for most people since it takes some room to remove the safe from all the packaging, the safe doesn't weigh that much and it actually comes with wheels and a handle installed...handy! 3) I read several reviews on Amazon.com and other websites indicating these safes often arrived damaged. I think the manufacturer has addressed this as the safe was double boxed with lots of foam. Mine arrived without a scratch. Overall a better quality safe for the price if you compare to Sentry brand one hour fire rated safes.

Was this review helpful? (82) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
javaking255
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's made out of PLASTIC.
9/19/2008

Customer review by infiniteblade

2.0 stars 9/19/2008 by infiniteblade
by infiniteblade

When I ordered this safe, I naively assumed that it was made out of steel like any good safe should be; I was very wrong. It is basically a 150 lb tupperware box with a keypad and a cheap plastic handle on it. Yes, it offers very good fire and water protection, but I really can't see it stopping a burglar that was determined to break it open. And it doesn't look nearly as sleek as the picture does when you see it in real life. I will never again buy a safe that isn't solid steel, and I wouldn't advise anyone else to do so either.

Was this review helpful? (56) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
infiniteblade
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Might as well leave the safe on your driveway
3/11/2013

Customer review by KakakarotCake

1.0 stars 3/11/2013 by KakakarotCake
by KakakarotCake

I bought this, thinking that it would give me piece of mind knowing that my valuables would be safe from burglars... Never have I been so wrong. Pros: The whole safe is lubed up with something so it is relatively hard to carry. Cons: 1. It is incredibly easy to slide on carpet. They can literally just push it out the door. 2. Not made of any metal watch so ever, just plastic... All of it is plastic. 3. Someone can easily just drill into it, or bash their way in with a sledgehammer. 4. No option to bolt to the floor. 5. Feels like it is made from the cheapest plastic China has. It literally feels like a giant toy safe for kids. 6. Leaves EVERYTHING inside smelling like some kind of oil/lubricant mixed with plastic. 7. Did I mention this safe is plastic? 8. Shelves are made of flimsy plastic that bends in when objects are on it. (I have a external hard drive and camera on the shelf, probable about 1 pound total, but it still bends.) 9. Relatively difficult to close. YOUR BETTER OFF BUYING A DIFFERENT SAFE THAT ACTUALLY WILL PROTECT YOUR BELONGINGS. Dont let the price fool yah! About $50-$75 more and you can get a much better safe. HEED MY WARNING MORTALS... Buying this will ensure your own demise.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KakakarotCake
Visalia, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Very impressed with this safe and the price!
3/12/2010

Customer review by AustinAussie

5.0 stars 3/12/2010 by AustinAussie
by AustinAussie

I shopped around and researched reviews on different safes before purchasing this safe which is the larger 2096D model with the hanging file holder and 2 shelves. I had seen the same model at Lowes for a much larger price so the Walmart price (and the 97 cents shipping to my house) seemed almost too good to be true. But it is! The safe arrived quickly and in perfect condition thanks to the beefed up packing. The removable "dolly handle" (which the manufacturer recommends removing after the safe is positioned) made it easy to maneuver despite its 140 lb weight. There are no bolts provided to secure the safe to the floor but since I only intend to store documents in the safe to protect from fire that is not a problem. The manual was concise and easy to read and I had no problem activating my new password. Plus I really like the over-ride keys provided in case the digital keypad fails or the batteries go dead (or you forget your password!). Good looking, roomy safe and GREAT value for the money!

Was this review helpful? (31) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AustinAussie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice product
9/3/2010

Customer review by hoski

4.0 stars 9/3/2010 by hoski
by hoski

I would have given this product a 5 star except for two items. One it pinches my fingers when I try to open the safe like using a normal safe handle. The way this one is shaped and positioned you can't wrap your fingers around it or they are getting pinched. The other reason is that it flashes a green light when you have entered the code correctly and it is ready to open but does not beep. I really think it needs a long beep to let you know it is ready to open. Other than that it is great. I'm currently looking for an extra shelf to put in it as I have more to put in it than I thought. I am using this for work to protect checks, banking information and back up tapes. It is heavy which is good and yes it is made of plastic but I needed something fire and waterproof. This safe fits the bill. I did tons of research till I was ready to pull my hair out. I had a hard time finding a safe this big that was waterproof. I've only had it about a week but I'm very happy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hoski
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Passed expectations
5/11/2009

Customer review by kingwoodwoman

5.0 stars 5/11/2009 by kingwoodwoman
by kingwoodwoman

This was a present for my husband and he LOVES it! Good size. Well built. Roomy on the inside. Worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kingwoodwoman
Kingwood, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disapointing
6/19/2008

Customer review by again4bargain

2.0 stars 6/19/2008 by again4bargain
by again4bargain

I had more than one reason to return this safe. 1. It arrived damaged. Apparently it was dropped on the way. 2. Shelves wouldn't stay in slots (could be a result of the damage) 3. I got an impression that it is not a thief-proof safe. It is pretty much a plastic shell with some kind of sand in it. When I pushed on the walls they actually popped all the way inside the safe. I checked walls with a magnet and there was no signs of steel. It may be a good fireproof/waterproof safe but not thief-proof.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
again4bargain
Clifonia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Convienient Safety
10/14/2009

Customer review by prudentpurchaser

5.0 stars 10/14/2009 by prudentpurchaser
by prudentpurchaser

This save is a great product at an affordable price. It is not steel but tough as steel & has the benefits of not having problems associated w/ a steel safe (rust/deformation). It has storage options for drawer, hanging file, & 3 ring binder storage. The handle makes it convienient to move, but detaches so it's not a convience for others. At about 150# it not easy to pack off & could easily be framed in or strapped w/ steel if one felt the need.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prudentpurchaser
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice for the Price
10/15/2008

Customer review by Gunnm

4.0 stars 10/15/2008 by Gunnm
by Gunnm

For the price of this safe it is an excellent value. But if you're looking for a solid-steel interior then this is not for you. Although on the outside it is build sturdy enough with metal, the door's handle is only hard plastic and the inside material lining the safe is also plastic, but it is heavy enough. You have to decide if this really matters or not. If someone were to attempt to break in, the handle be it metal or not would not make much of a difference anyway. Also the interior is not what matters when it comes down to it. It fits comfortably in my safe and holds items that in any case would be hard to reach. For a few hundred bucks more you can have some more do-dads obviously, but if you're looking for a reasonalby price safe to keep your important papers or valuable safe from a fire and water this is a good choice. Again fort knox it isn't.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gunnm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Safe to be safe
1/26/2012

Customer review by Walmartnena

4.0 stars 1/26/2012 by Walmartnena
by Walmartnena

To set up the directions were incorrect and I had to call the company for correct directions. When I turn the handle I have to be careful that my fingers do not get pinched under it. So far all works well after several months. Roller handle hard to lift off, wheels stay on so seems easier for burglars!! Nice room inside. The plastic support for files will not fit back in, I did not need it but if you do expect a problem. It does sit on bottom nicely to put loose items. Shelves hard to move, but they do adjust for height.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartnena
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice but can't bolt it down
9/10/2008

Customer review by Boneman88

2.0 stars 9/10/2008 by Boneman88
by Boneman88

Nice safe but there is no provision for bolting this bad boy down. I don't consider a safe that can't be bolted to the floor very secure. If you are only concerned about fire then I guess this is a good unit. I learned the hard way, my last safe was carried out the door by a burgular so my next safe will be firmly secured to the foundation!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boneman88
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great value for the money!!!
4/21/2008

Customer review by WaycoolBangBang

5.0 stars 4/21/2008 by WaycoolBangBang
by WaycoolBangBang

I was looking for a small easy to use safe for important documents and devices I want to keep safe. I used ship to store and the experience was very easy. The safe showed up, I got an email, I picked it up, that easy. The safe itself is simple to use, large enough to keep what I need safe yet small enough that it does not take over the room.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WaycoolBangBang
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/22/2012

Customer review by Leftlane475

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Leftlane475
by Leftlane475

This is a good product for the home. It can easily be disguised like a piece of furniture for further security. The only problem I see with the safe is the handle is kind of hard to use for people with larger hands or weaker older folks, with poor hand dexterity. Over all it is a well made product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leftlane475
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just One Design Flaw...
4/7/2011

Customer review by justmysixpence

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by justmysixpence
by justmysixpence

This is a great safe for the money. The door closes and opens with a very sound weigh and crispness. I especially admire the flush (concealed) hinges. Very sleek and modern. But there is one design flaw that impedes ease of use which I noticed from the very first time I opened it. Truth be told, I very much anticipated this hindrance just from looking at the photos of the unit online. The design of the handle does not allow for the user to grasp it with a closed fist (as one would be inclined to do when opening a safe door of this size) without striking and scraping one's knuckles sharply on the concave silver bevel immediately behind the handle. In fact, even for a fella with relatively spindly digits such as myself, it is literally impossible to complete the full 1/5th turn neccessary to unlatch the door with a full-fisted grip. In fact, the handle can only be opened (or closed) with a much less manly 'finger grip'. Interestingly enough, this shortcoming could have been completely avoided by First Alert had they left the 'high point' off the right side of the silver bevel behind the handle. I'm pretty sure there would be enough clearance for a full fisted grip if there were no bevel at all behind (or at least to the right of) the handle. Other than that - this is a great safe!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justmysixpence
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal for the Money!
7/28/2010

Customer review by misam

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by misam
by misam

It is a good solid safe that works well in the average home. We have an alarm system for the house and store the safe upstairs. It's heavy enough and would be a choir to carry it up or down stairs. Be aware that the safe is not meant for firearms or medication. With it being waterproof, the moisture is kept contained in the safe and could promote rust on metal objects. They recommend you air out the safe every two weeks. I am glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
misam
Canton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very good safe for the money
10/17/2010

Customer review by bbouvi

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by bbouvi
by bbouvi

I like the size of this safe and the operation and the fact that there is a back up way of entering the safe should the electronic keypad fail. There is more than adequate storage inside the safe. We have kept all our house and car paperwork as well as other valuables. My only complaint is that I was under the understanding this safe was attachable to the floor to make it permanent. It is not. It does have a convenient extension handle to move it however I would prefer a way to secure it to the floor.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbouvi
Northern VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Safe
9/5/2009

Customer review by ok2shop

5.0 stars 9/5/2009 by ok2shop
by ok2shop

I had been looing at this particular safe at different stores. The cost on-line at wal-mart was at fifty dollars cheaper than at the compertition plus the cheap delivery was great. I think that overall you can not beat it, Firre, waterproof and security safe. I like the digital dail better than the rotate style knob, plus you have the backup key. Have wheel and a handle to move it around makes it a snap. I use it for a number of different things. It's great deal

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ok2shop
Canyon Lake TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/28/2011

Customer review by waxamom

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by waxamom
by waxamom

Am I impressed!! I ordered my safe on May 23 and it was at my door on May 25!! Great Walmart service! Also, great product. My new safe meets all of my expectations. I am not techno-smart so I needed my son-in-law to program it for me but, once programed, it's simple to use. It's capacity is large enough to hold 69 years worth of documents and precious memories. BUT, although the built in wheels and handle make it easy to move the safe, the wheels made deep marks in my hardwood floors. This was my error and not a flaw in the product. If I move the safe again, I will use fruniture gliders underneath it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waxamom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Safe !
5/15/2011

Customer review by Guitarmike

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by Guitarmike
by Guitarmike

This is one cool little safe. For the price of keeping your valuables and keepsakes safe from thieves, fires, and floods, this is WELL worth the price. A heavy-beast, this thing isn't going anywhere quickly. It comes with 2 transport wheels and a removable handlebar to get it to its final location. You then remove the bar and store/hide it somewhere far away. I'm a 6', 180lb man, no wimp, and had a long, hard, tough time scooting this thing across the carpet in the delivery box. I didn't know that it came with wheels and a handlebar. 2 men would not be able to lift this thing and walk away with it. VERY spacious inside. Comes with 2 override keys if batteries die or forget combo. VERY happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guitarmike
Carmel Mtn Ranch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/22/2012

Customer review by Nett11

4.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Nett11
by Nett11

Nice Spacious Just wish you could bolt it to the floor

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nett11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews