Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 304 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

304 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

304 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
237
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 stars
6
1-20 of 265 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews
Teriffic dinner set!
8/23/2014

Customer review by ManchesterMike

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by ManchesterMike
by ManchesterMike
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A while ago I bought the bowl when the individuals for sale. Since then I've broke many other plates in the microwave from a cheaper set (blue glass) from walmart. Once I found these I knew I had to have them. First I like the color combination, that's what drew me to them in the first place. Second, they are much more durable than the cheaper set. I've done the same things over and over that broke the previous plates, and nothing has happened to these. $40 in store, which you're not likely to see), and $35 online which is how I purchased. The small plate is quite large at roughly 8.5" x 8.5", while the larger plate is 10.5"x10.5". Brand on the back says Gibson, and they are made in china. Would I recommend them? Yes, I'm thinking of buying another set in a different color.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ManchesterMike
Southern Tier, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE my dishes!
2/6/2017

Customer review by oremmom

5.0 stars 2/6/2017 by oremmom
by oremmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been looking for dishes for a while, and I absolutely love these! The red is beautiful, and I love the modern look. The are good quality and seem pretty durable so far. I have six kids and I'm not worried about them breaking very easily. I ordered a set of 8 and another set of 4 for a total of 12. (It was cheaper that way.) They arrived on time, and none of them were damaged. They were packed really well. The dinner plate is huge, and I love it. We can eat spaghetti and salad on the same plate without the food touching, so my kids won't complain. The salad plate is just slightly smaller than a normal dinner plate, so I can use it for lunches or whatever. The bowls are big, and my 13 yr old son can finally get enough cereal in one bowl. I bought these for my 40th birthday and used the large plates and the bowls at my party as serving dishes. They looked beautiful! They have been fine in the dishwasher and microwave. They do heat up a bit in the microwave, but it's not abnormal. I would absolutely recommend these dishes. They were an amazing price for good looking and good quality dishes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oremmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful dishware, but STOP WITH THE STICKERS!!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Ryo

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Ryo
by Ryo

Please, HomeTrends/Walmart... Stop putting those god-awful 'HANDMADE!' stickers on your dishes. They are difficult to remove and like another reviewer has already said, leaves sticky glue residue all over the dish... The sticker serves no purpose besides marketing, it doesn't even have the price tag. Cut it out or find another type of adhesive to use (like the white sticker with the price tag on the bottom of the dish - that one doesn't leave residue). Otherwise, I love HomeTrends dishware. Pretty stuff. (Attached a photo of the residue all over my brand new mug I just bought...)

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ryo
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gorgeous
9/21/2010

Customer review by LovelyVoiceLady

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by LovelyVoiceLady
by LovelyVoiceLady

The pics do not do this set justice. It's a much richer red. The dishes are sturdy, well-made and gorgeous. We'll probably order another set for dinner parties.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovelyVoiceLady
DFW, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shipping Broke Some Dishes
11/11/2014

Customer review by Gemary

3.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Gemary
by Gemary

Loved the dishes, I had 6 of the cups for years now. I bought them at Walmart Store but didn't have the money to buy the box set of dishes at the time then they quit selling them at our local Walmart store. In those years there is only 1 tiny chip in a coffee cup. After reading this products reviews I took my chances since the coffee cups held up so well for me. Problem was I ordered two boxes of dishes, wanted to be sure the dishes all matched which they did but the reviews are true the dishes do come broken. I would of loved to have a replacement of the broken dishes only but Walmart store in my area said no on that to just bring the dish set back store. I kept the one box of dishes that weren't broke. They really are beautiful and eating off them you feel your eating at a nice restaurant. If Walmart would of put the box of dishes in bubble wrap and a bigger box they probably wouldn't of broke. I'm sure their losing money on people returning the box of dishes for a few broken dishes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gemary
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very happy with this purchase
5/30/2008

Customer review by HappyDaze

5.0 stars 5/30/2008 by HappyDaze
by HappyDaze

All plates fit perfectly in our cabinets, do well in the microwave and dishwasher (we have a small .07 cu. ft. microwave and the largest of the plates won’t fit in there, but the smaller plates fit nicely). Dishes are heavy, but I certainly did not expect Czech china lightness and transparency for 40$. I’ve banged plates against each other, accidentally dropped them inside dishwasher and none of them chipped. The colour is great and goes nicely with our contemporary kitchen! It looked extremely bright on the picture and I was concerned it may look a little too obnoxious, but the actual colour is a little more subdued, which we like so much! My only gripe is the giant size of the largest of the plates. No human being should be able to eat nearly as much as the large plate can fit!! I actually use them as charger plates sometimes, as well as after-dinner fruit and cheese “platters” or to serve hors d'oeuvre. Bowls are great looking and extremely versatile. Cups are great! Although they are square, their sides are a bit rounded so one does not have to sip from the corner. The inside is black so it’s a little hard to see how strong the tea is, but, again, not a big deal. All in all, we were extremely happy with the set’s appearance, quality, durability and price.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyDaze
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great dishes
2/4/2017

Customer review by dahotgrandma

5.0 stars 2/4/2017 by dahotgrandma
by dahotgrandma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had bought these previously and broke a plate ordered these as replacements. They are great dishes and very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dahotgrandma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fabulous dishes
12/20/2008

Customer review by EverythingRed

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by EverythingRed
by EverythingRed

I love these dishes! The are beautiful, sturdy, well made and very affordable. And, red, my favorite. I was suprised at the quality and its nice that there is an order sheet inside the box to order additional pieces.

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EverythingRed
Cave Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Why oh why were dishes ever round?????
8/23/2010

Customer review by madmia

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by madmia
by madmia

Though this product states not sold in stores, my local Walmart stocks it at $34 and I bought 3 sets. I absolutely adore them! All three sets stack and store so beautifully on one shelf in a large corner cabinet. My old round plates and bowls took up 2 full shelves in the same cabinet! I really don't know why dishes were ever round. They wash up very nicely, look great on my table and have ample sizing. We normally use the salad plates for meals however the very large dinner plates work very well for pasta dishes and entertaining. My everyday dishes have become really everyday, whether guests or just us. I've already purchased the 8 and 10 inch bowls as well as the large platter and am considering buying another set of dishes in case of breakage! Do not hesittate on this one! The color is true red and if you're a red lover like me you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madmia
RC,SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Value
7/21/2009

Customer review by MinnieSueZQ

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by MinnieSueZQ
by MinnieSueZQ

Wow! We are very pleased with the quality and appearance of this set; we are using the lunch plates for our dinners since they are so large! We like it so much, we may be ordering a 2nd set for family dinners! I just wish we could buy more serving pieces other that the large platter.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MinnieSueZQ
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great price - one dish was broken on delivery
11/27/2016

Customer review by Meredith

4.0 stars 11/27/2016 by Meredith
by Meredith
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the color. I bought these to add to the same set I had bought several years ago, a few had chipped with use. One big plate had a chip in it (large chunk out of it enough that the plate was unusable) when I opened the box, but it wasn't worth it to me to contact customer service since I was supplementing what I already owned. 5 stars if the one wasn't chipped. I understand these things happen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meredith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty but poor quality
2/6/2010

Customer review by ColumbusGeorgia

3.0 stars 2/6/2010 by ColumbusGeorgia
by ColumbusGeorgia

My husband and I love the look of these dishes, but very quickly found out they easily chip and break. Also, these dishes get very hot in the microwave, even if you only microwave for less than two minutes. Usually I start microwaving food in a glass dish before switching it to the red plates/bowls. These look great but I do NOT recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColumbusGeorgia
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good
1/5/2017

Customer review by Allan

4.0 stars 1/5/2017 by Allan
by Allan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My wife has been wanting a set like this for awhile. It's all bigger than I thought it would be also

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better Homes And Gardens Square Dinnerware
12/13/2016

Customer review by Silver

5.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Silver
by Silver
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived on time and a perfect addition to our table!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best of Both Worlds
4/10/2010

Customer review by CTyankeeinTX

5.0 stars 4/10/2010 by CTyankeeinTX
by CTyankeeinTX

I was looking for a red dish set, yet needed something that would last through teeagers handling from microwave, to sink, to diswasher and these do the job!! I have now owned this set for 8 months and couldn't be happier. They withstand a houseful of teens, and not one of them have a chip!! I bought 2 sets at once because sometimes it can take a while to load the dishwasher, and even with the banging around of kids putting stuff in the dishwasher these have stood up beautifully. The coffee cups are tapered a bit, and I can actually use it in my cars cup holder! Very nice for my ride to work in the morning... The larger plates are huge, and work well for something like spaghetti because you would normally have to have a separate plate or napkin for your bread, but with this set, you can include the garlic bread on the same plate! Thanksgiving was great, everyone used just one plate, and didn't need to go back for seconds, they got it on one plate! And the bowls hold one can of Campbell's Chunky Soup perfectly!! I would very highly recommend this set to anyone looking for something that has both durability and beauty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CTyankeeinTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
7/21/2010

Customer review by AllSmiles4U2

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by AllSmiles4U2
by AllSmiles4U2

Normally, I wouldn't take time to submit a review but I've had my dinnerware for over a year (when offered in the stores) & was ordering an add'l 4 pc setting & decided to send in my review. I love this set! This product is both beautiful & durable & can be used as both your everyday dinnerware in addition to feeling proud to serve your guests with them also. If you do a lot of entertaining, I'd advise you to pick up a few add'l serviing pieces in the black or red rave. Table looks great mixing the colors as the black edging shows on the rims of plates & interior of the bowls & cup (cups are mugs but probably are only 12 oz & not huge coffee mug, if that was what you were wanting but perfect size for me). I even used my dinnerware as my entertaining Christmas dishes in 2009 adding inexpensive (less than $2.00 ea.) large gold chargers to my table settings & also adding a few add'l Holiday pieces easily added in that brought everything together b/c of red, gold & black writing & Holiday pix on the few Christmas dishes I added as acccents. Much easier than putting my normal dishes away for a month to use my holiday dishes. 5 stars for from me all the way around. Okay, gonna go...need to finish ordering mine b4 you buy them all from me. = )

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllSmiles4U2
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love These Stylish Dishes
12/2/2008

Customer review by debbieandsimon

5.0 stars 12/2/2008 by debbieandsimon
by debbieandsimon

I ordered these for Thanksgiving, I ordered two sets so that I could have 8 settings. They are absolutely beautiful. The large dinner plates are huge and hold a lot of food, you could actually use the smaller salad plates instead, they also held a large amount of food. I used the smaller plates for the kids at dinner, had plenty of dishes for 11. They are so stylish and contemporary, I got tons of compliments. I would recommend to anyone. The red it deep and dark and has some inflections to it, it gives it an earthenware look. I also put them through the dishwasher and although the large plates were a tight squeeze they fit nicely after raising the top shelf of the dishwasher. They still look shiny and brand new afterward.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
debbieandsimon
Mt. Airy, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty but not functional
2/8/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 2/8/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought these a few months ago because of the color and shape. I have two plates that are now gone due to chipping in the dishwasher. Also, they get entirely too hot in the microwave. If you have the plate in for more than 30 seconds, they are too hot to remove without an oven mitt and take a good while to cool off. Food sticks to these. I have had to literally scrape off even scrambled eggs because the plate gets as hot as the food when it is placed on it. I do not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Sturdy, Beautiful, can be used as serving platters
9/1/2012

Customer review by Cinns

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by Cinns
by Cinns

I purchased these over a year ago and love them. They are great in the dishwasher and microwave. Still very pretty. And the bowls and plates are so large that I use them as serving platters. I also purchased the large serving bowl and rectangular platter, these are beautiful with fruit in them all year around. I'm ordering a second and third set for Thanksgiving this year. They are oversized, heavy and perfect for company. I use them everyday and they are all still in perfect condition. p.s. I accidently ordered 2 of the Soho Gibson Square sets, they arrived chipped and were thin and delicate. Beware because they look so much alike on the computer screen but in person they are miles apart. I use these as knock around dishes. Send leftovers to friends using the Gibsons. Stick with the Hometrends for dinner parties and dishwashers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cinns
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful color !!
11/20/2016

Customer review by Zuzy

5.0 stars 11/20/2016 by Zuzy
by Zuzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Beautiful color and excellent service

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zuzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews