Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 293 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

293 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

293 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
229
4 stars
38
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 stars
6
1-20 of 254 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 254 total reviews
1-20 of 254 reviews
Teriffic dinner set!
8/23/2014

Customer review by ManchesterMike

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by ManchesterMike
by ManchesterMike
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A while ago I bought the bowl when the individuals for sale. Since then I've broke many other plates in the microwave from a cheaper set (blue glass) from walmart. Once I found these I knew I had to have them. First I like the color combination, that's what drew me to them in the first place. Second, they are much more durable than the cheaper set. I've done the same things over and over that broke the previous plates, and nothing has happened to these. $40 in store, which you're not likely to see), and $35 online which is how I purchased. The small plate is quite large at roughly 8.5" x 8.5", while the larger plate is 10.5"x10.5". Brand on the back says Gibson, and they are made in china. Would I recommend them? Yes, I'm thinking of buying another set in a different color.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ManchesterMike
Southern Tier, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful dishware, but STOP WITH THE STICKERS!!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Ryo

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Ryo
by Ryo

Please, HomeTrends/Walmart... Stop putting those god-awful 'HANDMADE!' stickers on your dishes. They are difficult to remove and like another reviewer has already said, leaves sticky glue residue all over the dish... The sticker serves no purpose besides marketing, it doesn't even have the price tag. Cut it out or find another type of adhesive to use (like the white sticker with the price tag on the bottom of the dish - that one doesn't leave residue). Otherwise, I love HomeTrends dishware. Pretty stuff. (Attached a photo of the residue all over my brand new mug I just bought...)

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ryo
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gorgeous
9/21/2010

Customer review by LovelyVoiceLady

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by LovelyVoiceLady
by LovelyVoiceLady

The pics do not do this set justice. It's a much richer red. The dishes are sturdy, well-made and gorgeous. We'll probably order another set for dinner parties.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovelyVoiceLady
DFW, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy with this purchase
5/30/2008

Customer review by HappyDaze

5.0 stars 5/30/2008 by HappyDaze
by HappyDaze

All plates fit perfectly in our cabinets, do well in the microwave and dishwasher (we have a small .07 cu. ft. microwave and the largest of the plates won’t fit in there, but the smaller plates fit nicely). Dishes are heavy, but I certainly did not expect Czech china lightness and transparency for 40$. I’ve banged plates against each other, accidentally dropped them inside dishwasher and none of them chipped. The colour is great and goes nicely with our contemporary kitchen! It looked extremely bright on the picture and I was concerned it may look a little too obnoxious, but the actual colour is a little more subdued, which we like so much! My only gripe is the giant size of the largest of the plates. No human being should be able to eat nearly as much as the large plate can fit!! I actually use them as charger plates sometimes, as well as after-dinner fruit and cheese “platters” or to serve hors d'oeuvre. Bowls are great looking and extremely versatile. Cups are great! Although they are square, their sides are a bit rounded so one does not have to sip from the corner. The inside is black so it’s a little hard to see how strong the tea is, but, again, not a big deal. All in all, we were extremely happy with the set’s appearance, quality, durability and price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyDaze
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shipping Broke Some Dishes
11/11/2014

Customer review by Gemary

3.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Gemary
by Gemary

Loved the dishes, I had 6 of the cups for years now. I bought them at Walmart Store but didn't have the money to buy the box set of dishes at the time then they quit selling them at our local Walmart store. In those years there is only 1 tiny chip in a coffee cup. After reading this products reviews I took my chances since the coffee cups held up so well for me. Problem was I ordered two boxes of dishes, wanted to be sure the dishes all matched which they did but the reviews are true the dishes do come broken. I would of loved to have a replacement of the broken dishes only but Walmart store in my area said no on that to just bring the dish set back store. I kept the one box of dishes that weren't broke. They really are beautiful and eating off them you feel your eating at a nice restaurant. If Walmart would of put the box of dishes in bubble wrap and a bigger box they probably wouldn't of broke. I'm sure their losing money on people returning the box of dishes for a few broken dishes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gemary
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fabulous dishes
12/20/2008

Customer review by EverythingRed

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by EverythingRed
by EverythingRed

I love these dishes! The are beautiful, sturdy, well made and very affordable. And, red, my favorite. I was suprised at the quality and its nice that there is an order sheet inside the box to order additional pieces.

Was this review helpful? (65) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EverythingRed
Cave Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Value
7/21/2009

Customer review by MinnieSueZQ

5.0 stars 7/21/2009 by MinnieSueZQ
by MinnieSueZQ

Wow! We are very pleased with the quality and appearance of this set; we are using the lunch plates for our dinners since they are so large! We like it so much, we may be ordering a 2nd set for family dinners! I just wish we could buy more serving pieces other that the large platter.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MinnieSueZQ
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty but poor quality
2/6/2010

Customer review by ColumbusGeorgia

3.0 stars 2/6/2010 by ColumbusGeorgia
by ColumbusGeorgia

My husband and I love the look of these dishes, but very quickly found out they easily chip and break. Also, these dishes get very hot in the microwave, even if you only microwave for less than two minutes. Usually I start microwaving food in a glass dish before switching it to the red plates/bowls. These look great but I do NOT recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColumbusGeorgia
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Why oh why were dishes ever round?????
8/23/2010

Customer review by madmia

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by madmia
by madmia

Though this product states not sold in stores, my local Walmart stocks it at $34 and I bought 3 sets. I absolutely adore them! All three sets stack and store so beautifully on one shelf in a large corner cabinet. My old round plates and bowls took up 2 full shelves in the same cabinet! I really don't know why dishes were ever round. They wash up very nicely, look great on my table and have ample sizing. We normally use the salad plates for meals however the very large dinner plates work very well for pasta dishes and entertaining. My everyday dishes have become really everyday, whether guests or just us. I've already purchased the 8 and 10 inch bowls as well as the large platter and am considering buying another set of dishes in case of breakage! Do not hesittate on this one! The color is true red and if you're a red lover like me you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madmia
RC,SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
many plates cracked
11/23/2015

Customer review by XNYboy

1.0 stars 11/23/2015 by XNYboy
by XNYboy

Someone must have dropped the box since quite a few of the plates were chipped or broken

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XNYboy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best of Both Worlds
4/10/2010

Customer review by CTyankeeinTX

5.0 stars 4/10/2010 by CTyankeeinTX
by CTyankeeinTX

I was looking for a red dish set, yet needed something that would last through teeagers handling from microwave, to sink, to diswasher and these do the job!! I have now owned this set for 8 months and couldn't be happier. They withstand a houseful of teens, and not one of them have a chip!! I bought 2 sets at once because sometimes it can take a while to load the dishwasher, and even with the banging around of kids putting stuff in the dishwasher these have stood up beautifully. The coffee cups are tapered a bit, and I can actually use it in my cars cup holder! Very nice for my ride to work in the morning... The larger plates are huge, and work well for something like spaghetti because you would normally have to have a separate plate or napkin for your bread, but with this set, you can include the garlic bread on the same plate! Thanksgiving was great, everyone used just one plate, and didn't need to go back for seconds, they got it on one plate! And the bowls hold one can of Campbell's Chunky Soup perfectly!! I would very highly recommend this set to anyone looking for something that has both durability and beauty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CTyankeeinTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
7/21/2010

Customer review by AllSmiles4U2

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by AllSmiles4U2
by AllSmiles4U2

Normally, I wouldn't take time to submit a review but I've had my dinnerware for over a year (when offered in the stores) & was ordering an add'l 4 pc setting & decided to send in my review. I love this set! This product is both beautiful & durable & can be used as both your everyday dinnerware in addition to feeling proud to serve your guests with them also. If you do a lot of entertaining, I'd advise you to pick up a few add'l serviing pieces in the black or red rave. Table looks great mixing the colors as the black edging shows on the rims of plates & interior of the bowls & cup (cups are mugs but probably are only 12 oz & not huge coffee mug, if that was what you were wanting but perfect size for me). I even used my dinnerware as my entertaining Christmas dishes in 2009 adding inexpensive (less than $2.00 ea.) large gold chargers to my table settings & also adding a few add'l Holiday pieces easily added in that brought everything together b/c of red, gold & black writing & Holiday pix on the few Christmas dishes I added as acccents. Much easier than putting my normal dishes away for a month to use my holiday dishes. 5 stars for from me all the way around. Okay, gonna go...need to finish ordering mine b4 you buy them all from me. = )

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllSmiles4U2
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love These Stylish Dishes
12/2/2008

Customer review by debbieandsimon

5.0 stars 12/2/2008 by debbieandsimon
by debbieandsimon

I ordered these for Thanksgiving, I ordered two sets so that I could have 8 settings. They are absolutely beautiful. The large dinner plates are huge and hold a lot of food, you could actually use the smaller salad plates instead, they also held a large amount of food. I used the smaller plates for the kids at dinner, had plenty of dishes for 11. They are so stylish and contemporary, I got tons of compliments. I would recommend to anyone. The red it deep and dark and has some inflections to it, it gives it an earthenware look. I also put them through the dishwasher and although the large plates were a tight squeeze they fit nicely after raising the top shelf of the dishwasher. They still look shiny and brand new afterward.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
debbieandsimon
Mt. Airy, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty but not functional
2/8/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 2/8/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought these a few months ago because of the color and shape. I have two plates that are now gone due to chipping in the dishwasher. Also, they get entirely too hot in the microwave. If you have the plate in for more than 30 seconds, they are too hot to remove without an oven mitt and take a good while to cool off. Food sticks to these. I have had to literally scrape off even scrambled eggs because the plate gets as hot as the food when it is placed on it. I do not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Sturdy, Beautiful, can be used as serving platters
9/1/2012

Customer review by Cinns

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by Cinns
by Cinns

I purchased these over a year ago and love them. They are great in the dishwasher and microwave. Still very pretty. And the bowls and plates are so large that I use them as serving platters. I also purchased the large serving bowl and rectangular platter, these are beautiful with fruit in them all year around. I'm ordering a second and third set for Thanksgiving this year. They are oversized, heavy and perfect for company. I use them everyday and they are all still in perfect condition. p.s. I accidently ordered 2 of the Soho Gibson Square sets, they arrived chipped and were thin and delicate. Beware because they look so much alike on the computer screen but in person they are miles apart. I use these as knock around dishes. Send leftovers to friends using the Gibsons. Stick with the Hometrends for dinner parties and dishwashers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cinns
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
To good to give up!
5/18/2012

Customer review by ShelliBear35

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by ShelliBear35
by ShelliBear35

I LOVE these dishes. They have held out without a single break or scratch for over 9 months (you just have to double check to make sure that they are fine when they come out of the box - I had a few that came with pits and had to exchange them). I've been slowly collecting the accessories (platters and serving bowls), but the last time I went in to Wal-Mart to pick out my new addition, I found that the stores are clearing them out. It seems that like most popular items, it is no longer going to be sold. So, I'm buying everything I can get my hands on (even considering getting another set of dishes in case something falls to the floor or I have a huge family get-together. My only real complaint about this set is that the lunch size dishes and dessert bowls (the smaller plates and bowls) are what I would consider a "normal size" dish. I would love for there to be smaller plates and bowls that match (I have had to settle with a bowl that is the same color red, but has no black). I BEG Wal-Mart to keep this product in stores, and I BEG the manufacture to extend the line.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShelliBear35
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the money
1/15/2010

Customer review by bamamom520

5.0 stars 1/15/2010 by bamamom520
by bamamom520

I have my kitchen decorated in Coca Cola. I was wanting something that would match, and tie into the more contemporary side of my kitchen also. This set fit perfectly! They do look a little bubbly on the black side and the cups are not perfect on the lines but if you read it says each one is unique. I wish I would have gotten the sheet in mine to order additional peices. May be bc I bought them in the store. But overall I am very pleased with what I got for the money. They are plenty big, durable, and heavy. Just wish I could get more of them.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bamamom520
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth your money!!!!
6/6/2008

Customer review by compton

2.0 stars 6/6/2008 by compton
by compton

I bought this set because my husband loved the color red. The red looks great but the Black on the inside of the cups, bowls and under the plates looks like they were spray painted on with spray paint!!! Not only that the first night we used them, we washed them in the dishwasher and they chips all over on the edges!!! Not worth it!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
compton
Little Falls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Sturdy and Stylish!
5/25/2011

Customer review by Styletta

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by Styletta
by Styletta

I love this set of dishes! These dishes are sturdy and stylish! You can use them for special occassions or you can use them everyday. I think special dishes should be for special people and that is why we use them every day. My husband loves them because of the color and because they handle so well. The dinner plates are really large and my food looked lost on the plate, but my husband didn't have that problem. I now use the salad plate as my normal plate. You can drink coffee out of the cups without it being awkward- someone mentioned them being square- but the lip is smooth and it drinks just like any other cup except that it is larger and you can enjoy more coffee or tea. They fit in the dishwasher and goes well in the microwave. Love these dishes!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Styletta
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not quite as described
7/18/2011

Customer review by leclady

3.0 stars 7/18/2011 by leclady
by leclady

These dishes are advertised as Hometrends. I ordered them to match a set I purchased in the store which were Hometrends. The ones delivered from the online order are actually labeled Gibson and there are slight differences. I did not want the hassle of taking them back so I am keeping them, but I am a bit disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leclady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 254 total reviews
1-20 of 254 reviews