Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

130 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

130 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 120 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
Excellent Product
7/16/2010

Customer review by UbiquitiousReviewer

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by UbiquitiousReviewer
by UbiquitiousReviewer

We actually bought TWO of these, and have permanently mounted them (as one of the options shown in the pictures). We have one that is using one gate panel and two wall panels, and it blocks off a large doorway, and the other panels are being used to keep the children away from our TV and entertainment center. I was very pleased with the latch mechanisms on these doors. The push button to unlatch the door is fairly stiff, which means my husband and I can open it, but our 17 month old cannot. In addition, the door must be lifted slightly as the button is pressed. The button is situated in such a way that this can be done by one hand by an adult, but again, our 17 month old cannot do this. (He has figured out a LOT of other so-called "childproof gate" systems, but this one still baffles him). The doors can either stand open or swing closed. The only complaint I have is that one of the doors doesn't close well anymore, but I think that is due to the fact that our floor in that area is not level, and so the door isn't level. It is fairly easily to close that door manually, though, so really a minor issue. I expect that if it was leveled, we would not have that issue any more. The rest of the gate walls are pretty solid metal, and the assembly is easy and quick. I like being able to lock the panels in place after setting the angle. That makes the product very solid and prevents the kids from pushing it out of shape to be able to reach through and get things. One note if you plan to mount these to the wall- there are two types of wall hardware, ("A" and "B") and normally you'd need to have an even number of panels to make the edges match the wallmount hardware. (One panel will have both "A" edges, while the next has both "B" edges.) So to end up with a length of panels that uses the correct wall mounts, you need to have an even number of panels. If you have an odd number of panels, you need the same hardware for both ends. We got around this by using the hardware from our second kit, (We used two "A" mounts on one gate, and two "B" mounts on the second) but I believe the company also sells extra mounting pieces (for $1.00) if you need them. (Sorry if that is a bit confusing to follow, but I can't think of a better way to explain). My only wish is that this company would make a regular-width gate for normal doors with the same latch mechanism. If so, we'd buy several!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UbiquitiousReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
North State - 3-in-1 Metal Superyard Portable Play
9/1/2009

Customer review by BeebaGrl

4.0 stars 9/1/2009 by BeebaGrl
by BeebaGrl

This gate is wonderful! I formed it into an "L" shape and put it in the corner of our family room, creating a 32 sq. ft. rectangle. Then I bought a pack of those 2' x2' foam interlocking squares from Costco which also formed a 32 sq. ft. rectangle. (They were $18 cheaper than other places I found and were exactly the right amount needed.) When my son doesn't need to be locked in, I have the door bungee-corded open so he can go in and out freely. The play area is also great for containing toys so they don't end up all over the house. I do wish the gate was white instead of taupe and I also wish that the door could be moved to a different position when it's formed in the "L" shape, but other than that, I'm very pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeebaGrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super helpful! Daughter loves it!
11/13/2009

Customer review by shamrock1130

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by shamrock1130
by shamrock1130

I looked for a long time trying to find a play yard for my Daughter that was well made, safe, and easy to set up. This was it! It's 10 times better than the plastic version. Much more sturdy! My Daughter learned how to pull herself up to standing in a few days! What's great is the bars are vertical, so she can't climb up on them. She loves to sit in it and play with all her toys. However the 10 ft version was much too small for us. We had to purchase the extensions to make it 19 sq ft. It takes up my living room, but now she has room to crawl and I don't have to chase her or worry. This item works excellent if you have a large space for a living area with no doors to put up a gate. super safe and very well made. We recommend this product 100%

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shamrock1130
robbinsville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Safety at it's best.
10/25/2008

Customer review by GrammyPammy42

5.0 stars 10/25/2008 by GrammyPammy42
by GrammyPammy42

We recently purchased a pellet stove and we wanted something to keep our grandson from it. I also run a daycare and didn't want anyone getting hurt from the stove. I would highly recommend this to anyone for safety's sake. It is made of metal so it won't break down and it is sturdy once up. My husband had no troubles putting it up and we are considering buying another one for our fireplace as well. Good bang for your buck..

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrammyPammy42
Pittsfield, Me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
1/11/2011

Customer review by TinaB74

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by TinaB74
by TinaB74

This gate is excellent for securing your fireplace from little ones. It is 12 feet long, which allowed us to enclose the entire fireplace as well as our wood rack. It doesn't mount to the floor only the walls on both ends, which was great for us. Very easy to install as well since it came assembled in the box. Just unfold and bolt to wall.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TinaB74
Prescott, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded my expectations
10/29/2009

Customer review by CJBearsMomma

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by CJBearsMomma
by CJBearsMomma

When I bought this, I was very nervous about how sturdy it was going to be but I was pleasantly surprised. For anyone debating on the plastic version to save money, don't do it, the upgrade is worth it! It can be configured in many ways and also divided and used in different areas of the house. Very versatile... No complaints so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJBearsMomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Chihuahua
6/24/2009

Customer review by UndercoverUnicorn

5.0 stars 6/24/2009 by UndercoverUnicorn
by UndercoverUnicorn

I purchased this because my chihuahua had knee surgery and we had to keep him from running and also jumping on furniture. He is a very active guy!!This has worked very well. I used it as both a play pen and a room gate. It worked well as both. Also, no horizontal bars for him to get his legs stuck on or jump on with his bad knee. The door is a little tricky to use, but not difficult. I recomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UndercoverUnicorn
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A little pricey but is a GREAT product
6/28/2011

Customer review by MamaGx2

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by MamaGx2
by MamaGx2

I love it. I have twins so I bought 2 gates to provide them with a larger play area without feeling "caged in". My boys have a ball rolling around and playing in it without being restricted to something the size of a pack and play. The gate is very sturdy and excellent quality. You can tell it's not a cheaply made product. I feel I will get longer use out of it because of it's sturdiness. As much as I thought the price was a bit steep, I am glad I bought it and would recommend this product to other mothers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaGx2
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice and sturdy
1/25/2011

Customer review by Familyinthewoods

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by Familyinthewoods
by Familyinthewoods

I love this gate. We have a wood burning stove with a stone hearth that is rather large. This gate fits perfectly around it and stands up very sturdy. We did not attach it to the wall, as the directions say you should, and our 9 month old uses the gates to stand and they do not move. She even shakes them and hangs with all of her weight and they do not tip over. We also have hard wood floors and they do not scratch the floor. Althought we felt this was a bit expensive, it is a great item to have for around a fireplace. The only thing that we wish was different was that the opening was a bit larger. For my husband to open the gate to put wood in the fireplace the gate is a bit small. We usually end up just reaching over the whole gate rather than opening the door. Overall wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Familyinthewoods
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great to have it!!!!
3/19/2014

Customer review by FlyIsa

4.0 stars 3/19/2014 by FlyIsa
by FlyIsa

Gate works as is suppose. We use to contain our 1 year old. We have attached it to the wall with screws. Husband did put all together very quick. We also got the extension. As our floor is not even/flat we put some foam tile under the gate to prevent our little one to bounce the whole gate. It works making it firm. The reason for 4 stars is that the part where the screws goes is made of plastic. So far we have been using this gate for a week and everything is ok. It does helps A LOT to have your baby secure so as right now we do recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlyIsa
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product!
11/3/2008

Customer review by conserve08

5.0 stars 11/3/2008 by conserve08
by conserve08

Love this! Had to fence off a play area inside my house for my 14mo old, and this is great! Easy to set up and add on to if need be. You can relocate the gate anwhere along the fence that you need to also. Worked perfectly for our purposes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
conserve08
Preston, MD.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate for small spaces too!
6/7/2009

Customer review by JenCloey3

5.0 stars 6/7/2009 by JenCloey3
by JenCloey3

We live in a small condo. We wanted to put up a play yard, but didn't want something that would take up a lot of space in the middle of the living room. This gate is excellent if you want to install it against a wall and want something that will be durable. Our son is 10 months old and even our 3 year old neighbor plays in it and there is enough room for both of them and I don't have to worry about them breaking it. We use it as a play area for when we are doing laundry, or taking a shower... our son loves it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JenCloey3
Lake Orion, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEST GATE OUT THERE!
2/7/2009

Customer review by Smokinghot

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by Smokinghot
by Smokinghot

This gate is so great we bought two. The gate can be split up and used in different places. We use one for the top of the stairs and use the rest down stairs. It also has great resale value for when your child has outgrown it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smokinghot
Orange, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The fence seems very stout and well thought out.
11/9/2013

Customer review by GrandmaTrixie

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by GrandmaTrixie
by GrandmaTrixie

We bought this to use around a fireplace insert. Our hearth is raised, so we plan to modify both end sections by notching them, so they will fit over the hearth. The fence is made for flat surfaces. We have looked it over carefully, and think it can be modified and still have smooth edges and be sturdy enough to keep toddlers away from danger. For the price, we think this is a great product. Every home that has a hot heat source should have one. We are grandparents, and will use it when the grandkids are visiting. If we prevent even one burn, or one head hitting the edge of the hearth, it is well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaTrixie
Bend, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AWESOME Gate
6/16/2010

Customer review by CambrisMom

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by CambrisMom
by CambrisMom

We had been looking for awhile to purchase a gate that would fit the very large entries in my home, I have two. I have a 10 month old that is crawling like a mad woman. So we had researched this gate and others. Finally deciding the Northgate was the one. Other sites wanted way more. Walmart.com wanted less. plus we got it in two days for 12.00 extra! The gate is way better than I hoped super sturdy, flexible and fully adjustable. You can hook together more than one to make a play yard. I am so happy with it. The color is good as well does not clash with my decor it's kinda and off white/cream color. Very happy

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CambrisMom
Spokane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/10/2011

Customer review by MxDia23

3.0 stars 12/10/2011 by MxDia23
by MxDia23

I purchased this gate to protect my Christmas tree from a very active 2 1/2yr old. Set up was easy and I like the material but it seemed to make my son more eager to mess with the tree. It wasn't as big as I would've like it to be. I wanted to just keep it maybe to use as a playpen but I actually returned it to purchase some Christmas gifts. In my opinion this product is a bit overpriced for what you get. All in all it's a nice set if you have smaller children. My son is too strong and active and was actually pushing the gate to his desired position even though it was in a locked position. Not for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MxDia23
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would buy this again in a heartbeat!
11/30/2011

Customer review by CraftyMom2One

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by CraftyMom2One
by CraftyMom2One

We absolutely love this Playard! We have it permanently mounted around my office in the corner of the room. It keeps the kids out and is tall enough that they can't reach over the gate and get in to stuff. I love how sturdy it is. We've been using for almost a year and it shows very little signs of wear and tear. We use the door on it upwards of 10 times a day too. We recently opened it up to stretch across the room and block the baby from getting to Christmas tree, and it's doing the job wonderfully! The door latch construction is so kid proof, that not even my 4 year old is strong enough to push the button and open the door! No complaints and would recommend to anyone looking to get the most for their money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CraftyMom2One
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/18/2012

Customer review by Mom153

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Mom153
by Mom153

I bought it to block my driveway. Now when I let my mother looks after my two toddlers, I am sure that they are safe because they can not ran out to the road. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom153
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect!
3/18/2010

Customer review by JJsMom9711

5.0 stars 3/18/2010 by JJsMom9711
by JJsMom9711

Absolutely love it! We have it setup around our fireplace and stairs. Our 8 month old son loves to pull himself up and walk along it (Very Sturdy). It'll be perfect to bring with us on vacation and use as play area for him.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JJsMom9711
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
better designed and engineered than competitors
11/20/2012

Customer review by chadderbox

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by chadderbox
by chadderbox

This product is better engineered than the regalo 4 in 1. Just overall better quality even down to how to tighten the sections together. Plus the another cool feature is the gate closes automatically. Plus it seems heavy enough so far that it will not move when he trys to push the gate around. much happier with this product even though more expensive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chadderbox
sacramento ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews