Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-14 of 14 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Bushnell Scout 1000
8/9/2008

Customer review by Gofer60

5.0 stars 8/9/2008 by Gofer60
by Gofer60

This is a wonderful rangefinder. I highly recommend it. I did a lot of internet searching for rangefinders and finally settled on the Scout 1000. I use it for golf. I’ve played two rounds with it and taken it to the driving range. I’ve ranged flags at 240 yards. Under 200 yards, I’ve had no trouble hitting the flags very quickly. I’ve ranged trees out to 550 yards. Distances are displayed in a matter of seconds. I can easily operate the rangefinder with one hand and hit the flags. It is small, fits in the palm of your hand, and lightweight. The only complaint I could have is that case feels cheap and has a plastic clip. When in the cart, I keep it in the case in a cup holder. When walking, I keep it in a pocket in my bag. This rangefinder performs the same function as the Bushnell Tour V2 for $150 less. The differences are only cosmetic and a different brand logo on the side. The Scout 1000 has three functions. 1) Normal Mode: You can range any object and it will change distances as you move it around. 2) Target Mode: This is the same as pinseeker mode on the Tour V2. It determines the closest object and displays that distance. That’s what you need to hit pins. 3) Brush Mode: This ignores closer objects and displays distance to the farthest object. This mode is not very useful for golf. I love this rangefinder. On the first two rounds, I shot my best rounds of the year (2 strokes less on one, 39 for nine holes and a 76, 4-5 strokes less on the other). Before that, I hadn’t broke 40 on 9 holes this year or 80 for 18 holes. I can’t attribute it all to the rangefinder, but it does give you confidence in knowing exactly the distance to the pin and the distance to get over a bunker. It helps you know which club to hit and whether you should hit it easier or harder. It removes the uncertainty about the distance so you can worry about just hitting the shot. I’ve never used any other rangefinders so I can’t compare it. Most reviews say the Bushnell 1500 is better (but it’s about $400). I have played with someone using a SkyCaddie. The SkyCaddie was very quick, but it only gives distances to the front, back, and middle of the green. You still have to figure out where the flag is on the green. SkyCaddie also gave distances to bunkers, etc. If you can see it, you can range it with the rangefinder. If you can’t see it, the SkyCaddie is better. Walmart had the best price, and you can get a coupon from Bushnell for another $50 off up until 12/31/08. Just Google "Scout 1000 rebate". If you buy it, you won’t be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gofer60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a STEAL
6/23/2009

Customer review by mdub75

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by mdub75
by mdub75

If you know anyone who loves golf tell them about this product. A guy I play golf with bought the current model of this product and paid $400!! I paid $198 for this one and when we are on the golf course we receive the same information!! What a steal!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdub75
Denton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value and product
4/18/2008

Customer review by rjimenez24

5.0 stars 4/18/2008 by rjimenez24
by rjimenez24

I use this for golf and it works great. nice size, very compact. identical to golf version VR2, but $100 less. definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjimenez24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent choice
8/15/2008

Customer review by igogolf9

5.0 stars 8/15/2008 by igogolf9
by igogolf9

Very easy to use. I use it for golf and it is very accurate and actually fun to use. It is the best unit for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
igogolf9
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good value for the money
8/18/2008

Customer review by californiahunter67

5.0 stars 8/18/2008 by californiahunter67
by californiahunter67

I am very impressed with this product. More than I expected for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
californiahunter67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
9/5/2008

Customer review by hoodsiejr

5.0 stars 9/5/2008 by hoodsiejr
by hoodsiejr

I bought this for the golf course. I was able to pick up a flag from 377 yards, not that i need to but hey it works and I am certain that this is exactly the same as the V2 Tour golf model for hundreds more. The bullseye mode is the same as pinseeker mode in the golf version. Could not be happier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hoodsiejr
Elkhart, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't pay more to get the same thing!
7/13/2009

Customer review by Foooooorrrrrrreeeee

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by Foooooorrrrrrreeeee
by Foooooorrrrrrreeeee

I purchased this unit to gain yardages while out on the links. Of course, I'm using this for GOLF. I'm not sure if golfers are considered easy prey to pay more then hunters, but this product is the same as the golf edition V2 model. I played with it today and the golf cart had GPS on it. Whatever I read in the Bushnell, it matched up to the GPS in the cart. The only thing better, is I could measure out traps, front of greens and layup measurements. This has a "bullseye/target" feature that will sense the Pin. It actually picked up a tree behind it at 180 and then a second later switched to the pin measurement at 140 yards. It's a great device that will do exactly what the other Bushnell products for golf will do, except WAY LESS!!!!!!!!! This value on Wal-Mart is by far one of the best I've seen. If you play golf, this is a must have. I'm an 8 handicap and can't believe I waited this long to get one. Hit em' long and hit em' straight!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Foooooorrrrrrreeeee
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
scout 1000
11/30/2008

Customer review by OMING

5.0 stars 11/30/2008 by OMING
by OMING

Got this on sale. Better than other brand (in my opinion). Greater range in it's price class. Awesome range finder for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OMING
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Great
6/5/2009

Customer review by AppleBubby

5.0 stars 6/5/2009 by AppleBubby
by AppleBubby

I purchased this product for its use on a golf course and it works great. I have picked up flags as far as 250 yards out and could not be happier with the purchase. I have not used any of the more expensive, made for golf laser finders, but this works great for me. I have used it for 3 rounds so far and have found the distances right on. Great product and a nice price too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppleBubby
Danville, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great rangefinder
8/17/2008

Customer review by rangerdude

4.0 stars 8/17/2008 by rangerdude
by rangerdude

This is a great rangefinder...I've ranged reflective/semi-reflective surfaces at over 1000 yards and trees to 600+. Only thing to keep it from 5 stars is no ARC (elevation compensation) on this model, and it's "water resistant" instead of waterproff. Overall great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rangerdude
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for the price - Very valuable Tool
9/4/2008

Customer review by ClubChamp

4.0 stars 9/4/2008 by ClubChamp
by ClubChamp

I haven't used any other rangefinder to compare this to so this review will bias this model. I found this on WalMart for $150 less than the equivalent golf unit Bushnell makes (V2) which is well worth it. The unit is very compact and easy to use. A bit disappointing but not exceptionally so is that it's hard to hit flags over about 180 yds away with the limit being about 225. If the flag isn't waving the range may take a few tries in "bullseye" mode but once locked it, you'll know it's the closer object- that object being the flag. Ranging over 200 yds. on a flag is hit or miss - many time you'll pick up the background distance. If there are players on the green than it's not a problem, just aim at them - they can be picked up easily up to 275 yds. or more. Sometimes when I can't measure the flag, I aim at the ground near the hole. All in all it's a unit that takes one less variable out of the game. You never have to second guess the yardage so if you miss short or long you'll know it's the swing or club choice. One thing you'll discover very very fast is how long you hit those irons - precisely. Lastly, and just as important, is that it's not just limited to flags. I use it to measure bunker distance, edge of fairways, groups in front ( so I know it's clear to hit), water and other hazards. Aim it at anything and it reflects back a distance. It's a great tool. I would have rated it higher if it were just a bit easier to range flags 180-260 yds., especially 200-225. Lastly, I've measure up to about 750 yds., but the object had better be big.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ClubChamp
NE OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/2/2008

Customer review by Pingman

4.0 stars 10/2/2008 by Pingman
by Pingman

Bought range finder for golf and hunting. Works very well, nice and compact. Best value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pingman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A must have for serious hunters
12/1/2008

Customer review by aharleylover

4.0 stars 12/1/2008 by aharleylover
by aharleylover

I've been playing with this ranger finder for the last week and its terific. Fits in your shirt pocked making it easy to acess when needed quickly. Very easy to operate. The $50.00 rebate makes this a real deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aharleylover
Wild, Wonderful, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Broke first time using it
11/29/2008

Customer review by Ksgirl50

3.0 stars 11/29/2008 by Ksgirl50
by Ksgirl50

I bought this for my son's B-Day, the first time he used it a peice of it broke off. Other then that he said he really liked it, just made me feel bad about it he was so excited to use it for hunting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ksgirl50
Belton Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week