Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 84 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Overall --- I love it
3/9/2009

Customer review by Preston71

4.0 stars 3/9/2009 by Preston71
by Preston71

I bought this bicycle off the clearance rack for $165 as apposed to the list price of $329. A GREAT deal!! Now owning the bike and having rode it would still suggest the product to anyone for the full price. My wife bought a woman's 26" Comfort/Cruiser style bicycle. We have logged @20miles on our new bicycles so far and are looking forward to logging many more. Just this morning we went for a 4 mile ride at a rather rapid pace to start our new exercise regiment. It felt great. The Mongoose Blackcomb suits my style. The assembly of the bike was almost flawless and my wife's bike was flawless. I would suggest that anyone that does not have experience working on bikes start with a simpler model. Adjusting the front derail er was the only adjustment that I had to make to access all of the gears available. I was overly impressed seeing as how I expected to have to make many adjustments to both bikes. I do have one small problem with the bike that most won't experience. I'm 6'2", 240lbs and have discovered that I can not raise the seat up to the optimal height to get a FULL leg extension. The seat only allows so much rise before deeming unsafe. A friend of mine who is the average 6' 190lbs rode the bike with a full leg extension (which made me envious). I have had back problems for many years and was worried that the forward style riding would cause me problems but have discovered that it feels quite comfortable. The seat was a lot more comfortable than I expected being a skinny Sport style seat and I was surprised to have not had a great pain in the rear. lol. I recently was surprised when my wife brought home a Bell Gel seat cover home for me and would HIGHLY recommend it for those of us of the larger persuasion. (also available at Wal-Mart in the accessories area) Other things that I have added to the bicycle are front and rear lights and a wedge bag for under the seat which also carries my bicycle multi tool and emergency repair kit and a small pump which attaches to the bike very easily. (also all available at Wal-Mart) The dual shock (front and rear) makes for a smooth ride. I have put the bike through many obstacles and been quite pleased with the bikes ability to withstand the abuse that it was designed to. The gears are very simple to operate and with little to no adjustment and will provide a proper gear change every time even after bumps. The disc brakes on the bike are a blessing. They provide instant stopping power when it is needed (and trust me, you'll need it) The 28 gears provides for a wide range of capability in elevations and terrains. When in the high gear I have been able to reach speeds of @ 25mph with little problem (faster speed could be reached on a long straight away with a little more push from the operator) Suggestions; Purchasing chain oil. Purchasing a Gel seat cover. Pros; The overall construction and operation of this bike are simple and easy to operate and maintain. Most everything you would expect out of a mid range expense mountain bike and more. Dual suspension makes for a smooth ride. Cons; If you are taller than 6'1" you will not be able to get a full leg extension and keep the seat at the manufactures safe height.

Was this review helpful? (112) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Preston71
Gainesville, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid Deal...
7/28/2009

Customer review by wmcmillen

5.0 stars 7/28/2009 by wmcmillen
by wmcmillen

I was looking at buying a Dawes bike from a web reseller for about $350.00. While doing some research on that bike I came across an article that led me to this bike. I hadn't seen it in my local Wal-Mart, but the reviews and articles had me interested. Surprisingly I was able to find 1 last unit at a rural Super Center. I paid right at $170.00 for the bike. I have had to tune it - easily done. I have also changed the tires to my favorite Kendra’s (this bike comes with a decent pair of Kendra’s, but tires can be like shoes and I wanted to change them out.) Disk Brakes - my bike had a sticky residue left on the front rotor - removed the rotor and cleaned with standard brake cleaner. Went ahead and did the same for the back. Made adjustments to the linkage and the brakes are working great. My back derailleur was actually good without adjustment - it was my front that was way out. I also agree with the other writers here - plan to go through ALL connections and check that they are secure. I have changed out the seat - nice stem set with this bike. I have also added front handle pegs from another bike I had. My opinion of the front stem on the bike is that it does not set the handlebars at a comfortable height. Realize there is no height adjustment - this bike is closer to a pro MTB assembly and to adjust the angle and height you will need to replace the stem and possibly bars. Check out Jenson USA for some good replacements. That is my next planned adjustment. Years ago I was a serious rider with a pro bike, but age and weight lead me to riding for casual fun (and trying to get back into shape). I think this is a great bike for $ value. If you’re riding 1000's of miles down mountain trails then my guess would be you wouldn't be shopping at Wal-Mart for that type of Bike, just like I hope my surgeon doesn't shop at Wal-Mart for instruments he uses in the Operating Room... Get the right tool for the right Job. From what I can see with this bike is that I will get 100's of good riding miles with a few adjustments and maintenance.

Was this review helpful? (62) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wmcmillen
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AMAZING BICYCLE
7/15/2010

Customer review by wizardlover

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by wizardlover
by wizardlover

The Mongoose Blackcomb is such an amazing bike; I bought this bike for the stated price on June 28, 2010. This bike fits my needs fairly well, however after going 200+ miles on it; I have figured out that a road bike would be better for me. With this bike I go on about a 20 mile bike ride every morning. This bike is very sturdy. When I first got the bike I was scared by all of the horrible reviews. At first the bike was in kind of bad shape, but that was all fixed with some maintenance and some adjusting, and now the bike runs quite smooth. With this bike I have figured that it would be quite good on the open mountain, however I have never really tried it, and I mainly just ride on the road. However if you’re planning on doing some heavy mountain biking I wouldn’t count on this bike, because it’s a whopping 46 pounds…it’s very sturdy though. The full suspension is pretty amazing it makes it very bouncy. Now for the seat… I was really worried about all the bad reviews on how the seat was horribly uncomfortable, but the seat was a major upgrade compared to the one I had on my previous bike, and is actually quite comfy. This bike is very nice; however I kind of regret it just because it’s not that good for what I’m using it for. Once again I only ride on the road, and I realize now that a road bike would have better suited my needs. I come to this conclusion because when I am on the biking trail these guys on road bikes always pass me up. Overall the Mongoose Blackcomb is an amazing bike and I’m sure I won’t upgrade to a road bike for a while, so this bike will surely provide me with hundreds of good bike ride to come.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wizardlover
Springville, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
26" Blackcomb Bike
8/30/2009

Customer review by tysdaded

5.0 stars 8/30/2009 by tysdaded
by tysdaded

My wife and I purchased one of these bikes for our son 4 years ago at the local Wal-Mart store. He has ridden the heck out of it and it has held up very well. I recently had the need for a new bike myself and decided to buy a Blackcomb. With full frame suspention, the bike is one of the most confortable I have ridden. The gear shifters are great, there is no need to look down to find a gear and it is very nice to have front and rear disc brakes. The peddle arms are slightly longer than that of the average bike making hill climbing less of a challange. Over all I could not be happier with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tysdaded
Bangor, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/30/2010

Customer review by cntrysthbst

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by cntrysthbst
by cntrysthbst

with about 2500 miles on both bikes, one newer and one older, nothing has broke, my wife and I love these bikes. We are very ruff on ours, jumps, speed, water, mud, beach, hard trails, it doesnt matter, for the most part we make our own trails. It can play hard and ride soft, adjusting the shocks of course. If you buy one go through it, read about it, they are simple to adjust and work on if you take the time. Helps to have a little tool kit for adjustments if need be. Awesome bikes! maybe this will help, maybe not, we've had expensive mountain bikes and these have done just as good. It does not matter what bike you buy - you have to take care of it, tune it, and maintance it whether it be expensive or not, we saved about 60 dollars buying this newer one instead of replacing a failed assb thing on our last high dollar mountain bike. on top of that we saved about 3200 buying these instead of buying what we had before and have had more fun. we were getting tired of always taking our other bikes to the shop to have them worked on and who knows when we got them back most of the time, and paying almost every time, now after the savings and learning these bikes, there is really nothing bad about them at all.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cntrysthbst
south florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Reservations
9/13/2009

Customer review by Mountainwheels

3.0 stars 9/13/2009 by Mountainwheels
by Mountainwheels

A Great Value. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who isn't qualified to assemble and set bikes up themselves. Or to anyone who doesn't have access to someone who can do this for them. I had to true my wheels and torque my spokes. I had to remount my tires. I had to adjust the derailleurs, front and rear. I had to adjust the brakes. I had to adjust the cables. I had to lubricate and adjust the bearings. I had set the seat, suspension, and bar for my size and weight. I either already knew how to do all of this from past experience or I figured it out as I went through the bike from one end to the other before riding it. When I got throuugh, I had a bike which, in my opinion, was equivalent in value and usefulness to bikes costing 4 to 6 times as much as this bike. But if I hadn't been able to do all of this, I would probably have had little more than a fairly useless and not very satisfactory pile of pretty unuseable components. And mine had supposedly been put together and adjusted to ready to ride status at the store. But I knew that was a joke when I bought it so that wasn't a problem for me. I've had it a little over a year. I don't ride as much as I'd planned or I'd like, but I do a mix of roading, commuting, trail riding, and light to medium mountain biking on it fairly regularly. I change tires and other equipment to suit the season and the current riding purpose. I've lighted it up and probably ride as much at night as during the day because that's when I have the most time to ride for pleasure. Although a little heavier than most, so far it keeps up with and shows up well against the $2,000 plus bikes that I often ride with. And as some of those expensive name droppers fall out, it's proving to be more durable than some. I bought it to give the dual suspension thing a try and picked it because it was upgradeable if I didn't like what was on it. So far, aside from brake pads and tires, all I've done is add to the original. It works fine for me. But I dare say it wouldn't for someone who isn't into bike maintenance and setup. I like it and I'd buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mountainwheels
NC northwest mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Whatever you do: DON'T OVERDO IT!
3/24/2008

Customer review by SegoviaSUTA

4.0 stars 3/24/2008 by SegoviaSUTA
by SegoviaSUTA

I have owned this bike for about a year. The main issue that I have with it was that it gave me only about 3000 miles, all of which I put into it over about 9 months time. After this time, the hub that the pedals ride on, started to ease out of the socket, and since then, the ride quality has not been the same. This could mainly be, again, due to the fact that I put 3000 miles on it, riding it every day, subjecting it to the kind of beating that any mountain biker would subject their rig to. If you buy this bike, go easy on it. Don't act in a professional manner, and expect it to hold up like a pro-quality bike forever. It may hold up for about a month or so, but do it more often than that, and you'll kill it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SegoviaSUTA
Plainview, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike
3/21/2011

Customer review by TekoaReign

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by TekoaReign
by TekoaReign

This is a great bike. Two things before you take it out for a ride: 1.) Make sure to get the right adjustments made before you take it out. It took awhile to get everything adjusted, but once I did the bike rode great. 2.) You will probably need to get a better seat. The handle bars are very nice (didn't need to replace them). And the quick release tires are very helpful. I'm a casual rider, so I don't know how the bike would do on mountain trails, but it worked great on the paved path and little rides through the back yard.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TekoaReign
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great bicycle, but it does have issues
7/10/2011

Customer review by JenniferNY

4.0 stars 7/10/2011 by JenniferNY
by JenniferNY

Mine came in Bright Red Metallic and it looks beautiful. The first thing that I did was buy a more comfortable seat. Walmart had one made by Bell that has 5 flashing LED's on it for visibility. It has an ON/OFF switch plus auto-off after about 5 minutes of no movement to save batteries. The second thing that I bought was a Hot Wheels Fast Lane Digital Speedometer made by Bell. It has four functions, two of which are visible at one time. They are Speed, Odometer, Distance(Trip Odometer that is re-settable), and Elapsed Time. It was marked down to just below $10 and I am glad that I bought it. It is nice to know how far I ride every day and also how fast I am going. It was very easy to install, the only thing that I recommend is that you do your own wheel run out so you get an accurate speed and mileage reading. The sizes in the instructions are a bit vague. The bicycle was completely assembled, but did need adjustments to ride it. Both the front and rear wheel bearings were set way to tight and that caused the bicycle to come to a stop quite quickly as soon as you stopped pedaling. Also both the front and rear deraileur's were not adjusted correctly. All of the cables needed to be adjusted also. I ride the bicycle just about every day for between five and ten miles and with all of the adjustments made it is a pleasure to ride and I have well over 100 miles on it so far. The suspension works great and does an adequate job of keeping the bumps to a minimum(I do not ride mine in a traditional Mountain Bike environment. I use it mostly on the street and on local bicycle paths). And with all of the adjustments made most every thing works OK. The disc brakes work very well, but once I made a long descent the rear brakes developed a squeaky/squealing noise that is now present any time you use the brakes quite a bit. Another annoyance with the brakes is that I cannot get the rear caliper to center on the rotor properly and one pad is always rubbing on the rotor slightly causing a slight drag. I am also noticing that the spokes are not as taught as I would think they should be and will probably need some attention very soon before it develops wheel wobble. After about ten miles one of the chain links separated and I was worried that if one link separated so soon it might happen to another one so I chose to install a new chain. Even though there were a number of problems, they were all relatively minor annoyances rather than major issues. I only paid $150 for mine at an after christmas special so I have no real major complaints overall, especially when taking the price into account.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JenniferNY
Lockport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not so great even for price
8/22/2009

Customer review by judog44

3.0 stars 8/22/2009 by judog44
by judog44

I paid $300 USD plus tax so it was like $350. For $40 to $50i could have got a lot better bike. I hear some paid only $228, at that price this is a reasonable buy but not for $300 plus tax. Horribly assembled, cheap heavey parts. Like is said for a little more money you can get twice aS MUCH bike somewhere else. I do not recommend buying any bicycles from Wal-mart ever, i have learned my lesson.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
judog44
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great bike for the price
10/30/2010

Customer review by MR2010

4.0 stars 10/30/2010 by MR2010
by MR2010

I got this bike on April 24th 2010. I now have 848 miles on it, I have had a few issues with the gear adjustment but overall for the price it is the best bike around. I have road mine all over the state in oklahoma and have taken it to colorado and kansas and have not yet even had a flat. The tires are great and the frame is unbreakable. I say this is a great beginner bike. Also a great bike for intermediate rider.....I will say this though I rode it back in August 90 miles in 6 hrs and after 90 miles it would be nice if it was not so heavy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MR2010
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/12/2008

Customer review by mdcmartin

2.0 stars 8/12/2008 by mdcmartin
by mdcmartin

bike is great. love the ride and it stop great.. but after a couple of ride the chain start to slip and would not stay in gear

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdcmartin
Philadelphia Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
happy customer
8/25/2010

Customer review by happywithmongoose

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by happywithmongoose
by happywithmongoose

i figured its about time for a review ....ive owned this bike for 3 years and only had minor problems (i.e. GEARS )and yes a lot of people complain about them .but when changed ,the bike works well .have rode over 2000 miles on the bike onroad and offroad (slaughterpen bentonville,hobbsstate park )and the seat is'nt to bad but not the best .with little maintenance the bike can last a long time ..3 yrs and still in pretty good condition,and yes i would recommend to other people

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happywithmongoose
rogers,ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great bike.
10/17/2011

Customer review by Ninjaboy1

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Ninjaboy1
by Ninjaboy1

I searched for months to find this bike. And finally found this one. I did the site to store ordering. When I got it home and was assembeling it I found that the instructions on the side of the box were ignored and the fork was bent in shippng. One call to the manufacturer and they sent a new fork. I did spend about three hours truing and tuning the bike once it was all assembled. I changed out the seat and stem and added a waterbottle and lights. I took it on a 30mile ride. I'll probably upgrade the seat post and ad a gel cover to the seat but the bike is the finest I have had. I'm enjoying it throughly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ninjaboy1
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great but had some trouble
6/19/2009

Customer review by mongooseman2496

4.0 stars 6/19/2009 by mongooseman2496
by mongooseman2496

I got this bike a few months ago and it was great! After about two weeks a new bicycle came out of mongoose that was a little bit cheaper for the same for the same amount of things that my bike came with. I thought that mabey I could get some money out of the deal but then decided not too. About a week later I viewed a picture of this bike from a week before and I compared it to my bike. this new bike has a much better frame with more support for the same weight as my bike. It would be like I'm getting a much better bike and I'm getting money out of it too. So that settled it I got the new one and returned mine and the new one was ten times better. If your interested, the bike is called the Mongoose Snare. Thanks for reading!

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mongooseman2496
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike for the price.
6/7/2011

Customer review by Gatorss

4.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Gatorss
by Gatorss

I did site to store shipping. When the bike arrived I went up to sign for it and they assembled it free of charge. The bike was what i expected and more! The only thing i had to do is adjust the disc brakes more to my liking. I highly recommend this bike for beginners and novice riders, be it on road or mild off road riders.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gatorss
Kokomo, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for
6/9/2010

Customer review by Radius360

3.0 stars 6/9/2010 by Radius360
by Radius360

If you need a glorified beach cruiser to roam around, this will be a great buy. If you plan to use the for actual mountain biking, even occasionally, look elsewhere. The gears and brakes and fork are as cheap as they come and even with my local bicycle shop tuning the bike, the gears have constant problems. Save your money and buy a good $300 uniframe instead and get yourself some decent tires and gear. It will save a lot of money in the long run.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Radius360
Sherman Oaks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike at the price
9/16/2008

Customer review by Fibu

4.0 stars 9/16/2008 by Fibu
by Fibu

For the price this bike is awesome. No problems so far and assembly was simple. Haven't taken it on any trails yet, but on the road it's been very comfortable and seems very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fibu
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike
8/20/2011

Customer review by Idaho36

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Idaho36
by Idaho36

Pros Full suspension Duel disk brakes Smooth Ride Very Sturdy Price!!!!! Cons Weight (kind of heavy because of the suspension) Cant mount bike lock Handle grips hurt, would recommend replacing them after purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idaho36
Idaho Falls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
1/6/2010

Customer review by cow1

5.0 stars 1/6/2010 by cow1
by cow1

I bought this bike as a christmas gift for my son. He absolutely loves it. I had read reviews that it is very hard to assemble, so I had our local bicycle shop to assemble it for me. It only cost me an extra 20 dollars. I was thrilled and he is happy. great gift.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cow1
Jacksonville Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews