Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
24
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
28
1-20 of 84 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
READ THIS!!!!!!
1/15/2009

Customer review by BikeMan1

3.0 stars 1/15/2009 by BikeMan1
by BikeMan1

These bikes do not come ready to ride out of the box! I have over 15 years as a bicycle mechanic and it takes about 30 min to a hour to properly assemble a bike out of the box. You first have to true (straighten) both front and rear wheels which requires a special tool called a truing stand and a spoke wrench. Then the axles and bottom bracket bearings have to be adjusted both requiring specialized tools. The front and rear derailleur (the two items that move the chain from gear to gear) have to be adjusted including the limit screws to keep from shifting into the spokes and ruining your derailleur. The brake shoes (the item that presses against the rim to stop the bike) must be adjusted so the brakes do not squeal(This is called toe-in) when applied and the brake arms themselves have to be adjusted centered to the rim. It takes experiance and the proper tools to assemble a bicycle and make it work properly. If assembled properly most bikes are fine. Just remember this when reading these reviews, most problems reported are from errors in assembling the bicycle not the quality of the product itself.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikeMan1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Too Shabby at All
4/16/2009

Customer review by Geebz

4.0 stars 4/16/2009 by Geebz
by Geebz

I got online to re-order this bike due to it being stolen from my fence this morning. I bought this bike over a year ago in Vancouver, WA and it has served me well. The store that I bought it from had an assembly service and I was able to have a knowledgeable staff member assemble the bike for FREE! I'm a big gal and the bike held my weight well and rode just fine after getting the handle bars and seat adjusted. The tires are great and I've had no issues with the bike. I live in a very 'wet' climate and have not had any rust issues either. I was surprised to come online today and read the mostly negative reviews for the same product. I've had a great experience with this product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geebz
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for Price Paid
4/8/2008

Customer review by Vidrogio

4.0 stars 4/8/2008 by Vidrogio
by Vidrogio

This product is good for the price paid. It did take a while to put it together even with three people helping. The parts that come already together still need to be tightened or you risk damaging the product. If you have never put a bike together before your best bet would be to buy it already put together in the store. The seat is my only complaint as it is very hard. It quite literally feels like sitting on the pointy edge of a brick from the very first second. If you have a sensative bottom then I would suggest getting a replacement seat right away.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vidrogio
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very poor purchase
5/13/2008

Customer review by takn4life

1.0 stars 5/13/2008 by takn4life
by takn4life

Ok, so I read the reviews about how the bike was bad and thought to myself, surely if you use the bike as intended...you won't have any major issues. I was wrong. I purchased both a men's and women's roadmaster and thought that it would be a good, less expensive choice. Well...all I got was CHEAP. I got them home and put them together, and not only did they ride cheaply, but all four of the tires (2 on each bike) were bent and the gears didn't work properly! I was so mad. I should have stuck with the reviews. I took them back to get new, upgraded bikes...and here's the kicker....when I walked into walmart there was a roadmaster that had just been taken back because the gears didn't work. Go with the more expensive bike.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
takn4life
Smyrna, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Pretty good and affordable, but buy a Seat cushion
9/7/2009

Customer review by NorCalAngela

4.0 stars 9/7/2009 by NorCalAngela
by NorCalAngela

Our little ones just started riding bikes and we needed bikes to keep up with them. We're not Lance Armstrong and just wanted something to ride along the kids so this was the perfect price. As the other poster said, get it Already Assembled at your Walmart. My husband got the men's one for around $75. So far so good. We have pretty rough terrain here so the bikes have lasted going up hills and rocky trails. My husband did have a problem the 2nd time around with his brakes, but he figured it out and fixed the problem. But we did call Walmart and their bike people just told us if we had any problems to bring the bike in and they'd fix any issue for free. But one thing, for the Men's bike especially, but a seat cushion. The Seats are really uncomfortable and Walmart has some good cushions for around 10-20 dollars. So far so good. Like I said, for around $70, I am not expecting a Tour De France bike. Just something affordable to keep up with the kids. So far, our family enjoyment riding bikes has far surpassed what we paid for the bikes.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NorCalAngela
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
You will need a new seat!!! OUCH!!
8/2/2009

Customer review by HoldsTheKey

4.0 stars 8/2/2009 by HoldsTheKey
by HoldsTheKey

I purchased this bike in Walmart already assembled so I didn't have the problems that most everyone else did. It rides great, awesome value but the seat is very hard and left me in pain for several days. I recently went back and bought a new seat with lots of cushion! Even with the new seat, the bike still was only about $100. I highly recommend this bike but I do warn you to purchase a more cushy seat before you get it home!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoldsTheKey
Manalapan, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Free/already assembled in store!
8/22/2009

Customer review by BocaShopperMom

5.0 stars 8/22/2009 by BocaShopperMom
by BocaShopperMom

Don't buy this on-line, unless site to store, already assembled. And get the mens version. I am a girly girl, but think the mens is made better. Go to your local super wal-mart. The bike is assembled for free. Ride it a little to make sure it is ok. I paid $78, and purchased a seat pad - yes, it needs it. Think it is great for the price! I keep it in the 6th gear for better exercise - love riding with my 3 boys... except now they want my bike!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BocaShopperMom
Boca Raton, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not worth $77
8/28/2009

Customer review by brad1234567

5.0 stars 8/28/2009 by brad1234567
by brad1234567

you might as well get the bike completely disassembled. i had to fix almost everything on this bike. the pedals and the tube blew up before recommended pressure of 50 psi and bent the wheel are the only things that broke. i had to tighten everything on the bike, it has been a month and i am still working the faults out of this bike. DO NOT BE TEMPTED BY THE CHEAP PRICE! the old roadmaster i had lasted 4 to 5 years for a 300lb man. this review is for the mens bike not listed today same model just mens instead of womens. i'm sure they are equally poor. seat very uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brad1234567
danville, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So bad it was funny!!
6/2/2009

Customer review by 27yearOldCouple

1.0 stars 6/2/2009 by 27yearOldCouple
by 27yearOldCouple

Long story short. My wife and I wanted bikes for the summer. We bought the Roadmasters his and hers 26”. A block and a half from our home, about a quarter of a mile, her chain falls of the gear. As I am laughing to get off and fix it, my pedal falls off. Now she is laughing. We ride back home to return the bikes and my other pedal cracked on the way. There was some hills, but nothing major.. all pavement. My 2 cents.. get something better with the 80 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
27yearOldCouple
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Get ready for pain
6/15/2009

Customer review by snowgirl5

1.0 stars 6/15/2009 by snowgirl5
by snowgirl5

This is a badly designed bike. The seat is so hard that it will give you a sore behind in just minutes. The tires are also not properly aligned so, when you make a turn the front tire will hit your feet while pedaling. I returned my bike and intend to buy a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snowgirl5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not like all
12/28/2008

Customer review by ufgrn01

4.0 stars 12/28/2008 by ufgrn01
by ufgrn01

I received the mens version for Christmas and use it to get home after work. I have had no problems once I got the seat and handle bars adjusted. I also had to change the seat as it feels as though you are siting on a rock. Other than those two things I am pleased with the bike and it works and rides well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ufgrn01
Parrish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Don't waste your money
9/19/2009

Customer review by nickyw10

1.0 stars 9/19/2009 by nickyw10
by nickyw10

I bought this bike because i was looking for a bike that was affordable to get me to and from work and school. I'm now beating myself that i settled for cheap. The brakes went out within the first week and I've run into people who have this bike and they seemed to have the same problem. Put in some more money and buy a bike that won't take a dump on you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nickyw10
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
EEEH!!! Not worth it save your money up.
4/13/2009

Customer review by bears48

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by bears48
by bears48

Ok first off this thing is five star garbage. I started riding and it coast maybe 10 feet if your lucky nothing was in the way either. The main thing is that i had 2 go down a curb. I wasnt speeding but i was at a good coast came down and the cheap alluminum foil rims got bent locked up on my brakes and i biffed. Some things are just worth it to go all out and spend the extra money!!!!!!!!!! Save yourself the hospital bill.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bears48
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Do Not Buy
4/20/2009

Customer review by mamaguilar08

1.0 stars 4/20/2009 by mamaguilar08
by mamaguilar08

This bike if very cheaply made. My handle bars don't stay still, no matter how many times you tighten the middle section. Also the bike changes gears without by themselves. I should've read the reviews and went with the more expensive bike. I guess I got what a paid for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamaguilar08
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returning after 2 weeks
8/7/2009

Customer review by cjnpch

3.0 stars 8/7/2009 by cjnpch
by cjnpch

Rear caliper broke in half. I guess you get what you pay for. I will return and probably upgrade.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjnpch
Canton, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
do not buy this bike!!!!
3/25/2009

Customer review by zencrash

1.0 stars 3/25/2009 by zencrash
by zencrash

this is terrable! the first ride on this bike, and the chain is popping, and causing the peddels to slip foreward because the chain is NOT properly fitted for the gears, i have tryed every gear, and the chain pops reguardless. i had a good speed going and when the pop happened i lost speed, i am taking the blasted bike back and buying a bike that is a bit more expencive and hopefully of a higher quality, even though the price was nice for a PROPERLY WORKING bike, i am a little upset at paying this much for a bike that is messed up, do yourselves a faver, buy a better bike, no not buy this bike!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zencrash
greenbrier, ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/5/2008

Customer review by themamaa

5.0 stars 8/5/2008 by themamaa
by themamaa

This bike was bought for my 69 year old Mother as a birthday present. She is using it daily to increase her leg strength. She likes the bike quite alot and it is easy for her to use after not using a bike for over 30 years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
themamaa
Forest River, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Bike Hard Seat
8/10/2009

Customer review by DukesMommy

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by DukesMommy
by DukesMommy

I purchased this bike three weeks ago for a new exercise experience. The ride is great other than the seat. It feels like you are riding on a sharp rock. I felt the effects for days. The bike was already assembled at the store and adjustments to the seat and handle bars are very easy. Overall I liked the bike well enough to go back and purchase one for my 13 year old niece. I will likely be going back to purchase a more comfy seat for the both of us.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DukesMommy
tazewell. tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
its perfect
12/28/2009

Customer review by mountainier

5.0 stars 12/28/2009 by mountainier
by mountainier

I got it for christmas and its brakes, seat , gear shift , and supenion are great and i would buy this product right away if i did not have one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mountainier
fankfort
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice
12/30/2009

Customer review by NinaE

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by NinaE
by NinaE

I bought this for my daughter online., great price. Her husband put it together. She loves it! She has no complaints. Came with a helmet too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NinaE
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews