Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

93 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
24
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
28
1-20 of 84 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
READ THIS!!!!!!
1/15/2009

Customer review by BikeMan1

3.0 stars 1/15/2009 by BikeMan1
by BikeMan1

These bikes do not come ready to ride out of the box! I have over 15 years as a bicycle mechanic and it takes about 30 min to a hour to properly assemble a bike out of the box. You first have to true (straighten) both front and rear wheels which requires a special tool called a truing stand and a spoke wrench. Then the axles and bottom bracket bearings have to be adjusted both requiring specialized tools. The front and rear derailleur (the two items that move the chain from gear to gear) have to be adjusted including the limit screws to keep from shifting into the spokes and ruining your derailleur. The brake shoes (the item that presses against the rim to stop the bike) must be adjusted so the brakes do not squeal(This is called toe-in) when applied and the brake arms themselves have to be adjusted centered to the rim. It takes experiance and the proper tools to assemble a bicycle and make it work properly. If assembled properly most bikes are fine. Just remember this when reading these reviews, most problems reported are from errors in assembling the bicycle not the quality of the product itself.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BikeMan1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good and affordable, but buy a Seat cushion
9/7/2009

Customer review by NorCalAngela

4.0 stars 9/7/2009 by NorCalAngela
by NorCalAngela

Our little ones just started riding bikes and we needed bikes to keep up with them. We're not Lance Armstrong and just wanted something to ride along the kids so this was the perfect price. As the other poster said, get it Already Assembled at your Walmart. My husband got the men's one for around $75. So far so good. We have pretty rough terrain here so the bikes have lasted going up hills and rocky trails. My husband did have a problem the 2nd time around with his brakes, but he figured it out and fixed the problem. But we did call Walmart and their bike people just told us if we had any problems to bring the bike in and they'd fix any issue for free. But one thing, for the Men's bike especially, but a seat cushion. The Seats are really uncomfortable and Walmart has some good cushions for around 10-20 dollars. So far so good. Like I said, for around $70, I am not expecting a Tour De France bike. Just something affordable to keep up with the kids. So far, our family enjoyment riding bikes has far surpassed what we paid for the bikes.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorCalAngela
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not Too Shabby at All
4/16/2009

Customer review by Geebz

4.0 stars 4/16/2009 by Geebz
by Geebz

I got online to re-order this bike due to it being stolen from my fence this morning. I bought this bike over a year ago in Vancouver, WA and it has served me well. The store that I bought it from had an assembly service and I was able to have a knowledgeable staff member assemble the bike for FREE! I'm a big gal and the bike held my weight well and rode just fine after getting the handle bars and seat adjusted. The tires are great and I've had no issues with the bike. I live in a very 'wet' climate and have not had any rust issues either. I was surprised to come online today and read the mostly negative reviews for the same product. I've had a great experience with this product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geebz
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for Price Paid
4/8/2008

Customer review by Vidrogio

4.0 stars 4/8/2008 by Vidrogio
by Vidrogio

This product is good for the price paid. It did take a while to put it together even with three people helping. The parts that come already together still need to be tightened or you risk damaging the product. If you have never put a bike together before your best bet would be to buy it already put together in the store. The seat is my only complaint as it is very hard. It quite literally feels like sitting on the pointy edge of a brick from the very first second. If you have a sensative bottom then I would suggest getting a replacement seat right away.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vidrogio
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very poor purchase
5/13/2008

Customer review by takn4life

1.0 stars 5/13/2008 by takn4life
by takn4life

Ok, so I read the reviews about how the bike was bad and thought to myself, surely if you use the bike as intended...you won't have any major issues. I was wrong. I purchased both a men's and women's roadmaster and thought that it would be a good, less expensive choice. Well...all I got was CHEAP. I got them home and put them together, and not only did they ride cheaply, but all four of the tires (2 on each bike) were bent and the gears didn't work properly! I was so mad. I should have stuck with the reviews. I took them back to get new, upgraded bikes...and here's the kicker....when I walked into walmart there was a roadmaster that had just been taken back because the gears didn't work. Go with the more expensive bike.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
takn4life
Smyrna, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Free/already assembled in store!
8/22/2009

Customer review by BocaShopperMom

5.0 stars 8/22/2009 by BocaShopperMom
by BocaShopperMom

Don't buy this on-line, unless site to store, already assembled. And get the mens version. I am a girly girl, but think the mens is made better. Go to your local super wal-mart. The bike is assembled for free. Ride it a little to make sure it is ok. I paid $78, and purchased a seat pad - yes, it needs it. Think it is great for the price! I keep it in the 6th gear for better exercise - love riding with my 3 boys... except now they want my bike!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BocaShopperMom
Boca Raton, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
26 inch womens mt. bike
12/28/2008

Customer review by Trynthia

4.0 stars 12/28/2008 by Trynthia
by Trynthia

The bike is fine, easy to put together. There was rust on the connector for the handlebars and the gears. The rust was not noticed until it was all put together. We have dealt with the rust, and would not have kept it if my child would have been at home instead of with us and if it wasn't for being so close to Christmas that we would not have received a different one in time for it to be her present. I ordered a blue bike and received a purple one. If there was one at the store in blue, I would have exchanged it there. I was not informed that they did not have the bike in blue like I ordered and given the chance to accept purple or another color on my own. The main problems with this bike is the rust and the warehouse shipping the wrong product and not advising me that there was a problem with shipping the item as I had ordered.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trynthia
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You will need a new seat!!! OUCH!!
8/2/2009

Customer review by HoldsTheKey

4.0 stars 8/2/2009 by HoldsTheKey
by HoldsTheKey

I purchased this bike in Walmart already assembled so I didn't have the problems that most everyone else did. It rides great, awesome value but the seat is very hard and left me in pain for several days. I recently went back and bought a new seat with lots of cushion! Even with the new seat, the bike still was only about $100. I highly recommend this bike but I do warn you to purchase a more cushy seat before you get it home!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoldsTheKey
Manalapan, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not worth $77
8/28/2009

Customer review by brad1234567

5.0 stars 8/28/2009 by brad1234567
by brad1234567

you might as well get the bike completely disassembled. i had to fix almost everything on this bike. the pedals and the tube blew up before recommended pressure of 50 psi and bent the wheel are the only things that broke. i had to tighten everything on the bike, it has been a month and i am still working the faults out of this bike. DO NOT BE TEMPTED BY THE CHEAP PRICE! the old roadmaster i had lasted 4 to 5 years for a 300lb man. this review is for the mens bike not listed today same model just mens instead of womens. i'm sure they are equally poor. seat very uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brad1234567
danville, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So bad it was funny!!
6/2/2009

Customer review by 27yearOldCouple

1.0 stars 6/2/2009 by 27yearOldCouple
by 27yearOldCouple

Long story short. My wife and I wanted bikes for the summer. We bought the Roadmasters his and hers 26”. A block and a half from our home, about a quarter of a mile, her chain falls of the gear. As I am laughing to get off and fix it, my pedal falls off. Now she is laughing. We ride back home to return the bikes and my other pedal cracked on the way. There was some hills, but nothing major.. all pavement. My 2 cents.. get something better with the 80 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
27yearOldCouple
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Get ready for pain
6/15/2009

Customer review by snowgirl5

1.0 stars 6/15/2009 by snowgirl5
by snowgirl5

This is a badly designed bike. The seat is so hard that it will give you a sore behind in just minutes. The tires are also not properly aligned so, when you make a turn the front tire will hit your feet while pedaling. I returned my bike and intend to buy a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowgirl5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Don't waste your money
9/19/2009

Customer review by nickyw10

1.0 stars 9/19/2009 by nickyw10
by nickyw10

I bought this bike because i was looking for a bike that was affordable to get me to and from work and school. I'm now beating myself that i settled for cheap. The brakes went out within the first week and I've run into people who have this bike and they seemed to have the same problem. Put in some more money and buy a bike that won't take a dump on you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nickyw10
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Not like all
12/28/2008

Customer review by ufgrn01

4.0 stars 12/28/2008 by ufgrn01
by ufgrn01
Walmart associate

I received the mens version for Christmas and use it to get home after work. I have had no problems once I got the seat and handle bars adjusted. I also had to change the seat as it feels as though you are siting on a rock. Other than those two things I am pleased with the bike and it works and rides well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ufgrn01
Parrish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Absolute JUNK
11/14/2009

Customer review by princess71572

1.0 stars 11/14/2009 by princess71572
by princess71572

My husband and I bought these bikes (one male and one female) and they were terribly uncomfortable. The seat was awful, so we bought new seats and the ride was much better. Within a couple of months (of weekend only riding...about a mile or 2 at a time), we started having tube problems; we replaced tubes no less than 3 times for each bike. We also had brake problems; the brakes on his bike are completely gone and the ones on mine are almost completely gone. We haven't ridden them in a while and just sold them for a few bucks to get them out of our house. If you insist upon buying this bike anyway, you should also know that it is really too tall for someone 5' tall or less. I am 4'11" and I couldn't reach the ground (while sitting on the seat) unless I had my "tall" shoes on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
princess71572
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Cheapest bike, but you get what you pay for.
5/21/2008

Customer review by AfiA

2.0 stars 5/21/2008 by AfiA
by AfiA

My husband and I thought that buying new bikes would be the best bet with rising gas prices. In purchasing these bikes, price was the pull force. I bought the bikes on Sunday and we ride them everyday after we get off work for about an hour. On Tuesday (2 days later), the left pedal shattered into pieces. Also, the seat is EXTREMELY hard, so you'd be better off either buying a more expensive bike, or buying a replacement seat. It feels like you are sitting on a concrete bike seat. Lastly, I should have known to buy a different bike because a friend bought the same one and had the pedal shatter on her too. I'm going to call the customer service people for the company that produces the bike and hope they send me a replacement pedal...But I strongly doubt it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AfiA
Cleveland, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you paid for
7/8/2008

Customer review by ThePriceTellsAll

1.0 stars 7/8/2008 by ThePriceTellsAll
by ThePriceTellsAll

This bike was a gift to my fiance and I returned the product after she rode it only 3 times (riden less than 10 miles total). Not only was the seat very uncomfortable, but the shifters required all your strength to change the gears. Finally, when she was able to shift the rear gear, the rear derailer got caught up in the wheel spokes, significantly bending the rim and derailer. I understand the bike was priced relatively cheap, but I expected to be able to use the bike more than 3 times. I returned the bike and bought the NEXT Avalon comfort bike, which was only slightly more expensive and a much better bike (seat, suspension, shifter, over it is much better, very satisfied so far). Hope this helps, just remember, you get what you paid for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThePriceTellsAll
Piney Point, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Blown Away, Part 2
6/5/2008

Customer review by FloridaResident

1.0 stars 6/5/2008 by FloridaResident
by FloridaResident

Well, I guess you get what you pay for. Front rim is all bent up, will not straighten up. Seat is harder than a rock. We just put it together, I was putting away the tools and BAM, the back tire blew out before I had even gotten a chance to ride it. Yes, I checked air pressure while filling it up so it wasn't that we had put to much air in, I say just a cheap tube inside and maybe spokes poking through to it. Disappointing as well, picture clearly shows a blue bike in color which I was expecting and the one I got is purple. I went back to see if I perhaps made an incorrect color choice but it didn't give me that option. Beware, I don't think this is a smart buy, it's going back. Only have had it for 2 days and never got to ride it at all!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaResident
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
very disapointing
2/2/2009

Customer review by nkarrt

2.0 stars 2/2/2009 by nkarrt
by nkarrt

I was very disappointed when I got my bike in. As soon as I took it out of the box you could clearly see both tires were warped badly.There is no way this should have been missed when it was boxed. I waited over 2 weeks for my bike to come in then I had to wait another 2 weeks because I could not get the tires replaced I had to return the whole bike and none of the stores had any. Thats why I had to order it inline in the first place. I had to keep going to different stores until I found a store that got a bike in like mine. It would have been nice if I could have gone into a walmart and had the 2 tires replaced instead of waiting for a bike to come in. If ever I want to get anything like this again I would definately not order online.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nkarrt
Largo,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EEEH!!! Not worth it save your money up.
4/13/2009

Customer review by bears48

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by bears48
by bears48

Ok first off this thing is five star garbage. I started riding and it coast maybe 10 feet if your lucky nothing was in the way either. The main thing is that i had 2 go down a curb. I wasnt speeding but i was at a good coast came down and the cheap alluminum foil rims got bent locked up on my brakes and i biffed. Some things are just worth it to go all out and spend the extra money!!!!!!!!!! Save yourself the hospital bill.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bears48
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Great product at a great price!
5/17/2009

Customer review by Kimster

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by Kimster
by Kimster

My daughter fell in love with this bike in the store - but we didn't purchase because there was no price on the bike and the bike had a flat tire. My husband and I looked on line and found the bike and had it delivered via site to store. Initially i thought it was going to be a headache putting this bike together. I think it took my husband all of 35 to 40 minutes to put it together (but then again he's no rookie in putting together bikes as we have 2 daughters). All he had to do was put the tires on, adjust the brakes and put the handle bars on. It REALLY was not that HARD!!! He also had to inflate the tires - which is minor. My daughter had been riding this bike everyday with no problems or complaints...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimster
Upper Marlboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews