Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 124 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

124 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

124 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 stars
19
1-20 of 121 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews
Great Cruising Bike
5/5/2008

Customer review by jah1078

5.0 stars 5/5/2008 by jah1078
by jah1078

I've wanted to buy a bike for years now and get back into shape. My wife bought me a bike (not this bike) for our anniversary this year, and it needed to go back to the store, rear tire had some issues. Once I got to the store, I saw this cruiser and had to have it. It's durable, I'm a big guy, and I needed to make sure that this frame would support my frame, and it does. The 7-speed system is great and easy to use, and over all the bike it great. I did replace the seat however, again I'm a big guy and that little ole seat wasn't fitting my big ole seat, but an extra $20 for comfort is worth it. Good Bike, Good Price, Quality Unit.

Was this review helpful? (84) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jah1078
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product
6/8/2008

Customer review by Maver

5.0 stars 6/8/2008 by Maver
by Maver

I saw this bike at the local walmart and was impressed with the "European" look of it. It is a tall bike, aluminum frame, fairly lite, nice wide handle bars, rear rack, 7 speed Shimano rear derailers with twist shifting, llinerar hand brakes that work well, and nice large wheels with substantial tires, 700 45c (28 x 1.75). There is no suspension but the large wheels and 1.75" tires help compensate. Not a bad ride. The bike rolls very freely, no drag. It shifts smoothly altought the twist shifter feels a little stiff but will probably lossen with use. I mainly use speeds 1 through 4. Living here in Norman OK its flat but the 20-30 mph head winds can be as challenging as hills, but the bike handles the winds well. I looked on the Walmart web site to see any other reviews and it was rated an average of 4 plus stars. I bought it and rode it home about 4 miles. The tires were low, 35 lb so I pumped them to 60 lb and what a difference. Tires are rated at 50-75 lb pressure. Shifting is smooth and the tires run true, no wooble. I have a Hybrid costing 4 times this bike and although there is a difference I don't think it is that great for just getting around town. I bought this for that purpose and I do lock it up when parked but, if it should get taken 125 dollars loss is better then 500 dollar loss. I did replace the seat with a better one that has a large red LED flasher built into the seat, added an air pump, bottle, mirror and rear seat bag all purchased from Walmart. The seat that comes with the bike is fine but a little more cushening always helps. If you took it to a bike shop for a tune up it would be even better but out of the box it is just fine. I might add black fenders and Panniers which would really give it the "European" look. Over all I am extremely pleased with the bike and would recommend it. For around town I enjoy this bike more then my other more expensive one. I am 5' 9" and 210 and it carries me well.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maver
Norman OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy !!
3/16/2010

Customer review by xoxoxoxoLive

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by xoxoxoxoLive
by xoxoxoxoLive

Would recommend this bike to anyone, for a 120.00 dollars, nice Aluminum frame, Shimano shifting system, 28 x 1.175 ties, bike rack and water bottle cage included, rims run true, needed lots of adjusting from the store, nothing worked correctly, but after an hour or so of adjusting, the bike is well worth the money.... xoxoxxoLive

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xoxoxoxoLive
Raleigh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Bike
3/7/2008

Customer review by Casimm

5.0 stars 3/7/2008 by Casimm
by Casimm

Excellent old school type bike. For the money it cannot be beat, it rides good and is stable. It was better than I thought.....

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Casimm
Worcester, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice for the money
7/13/2009

Customer review by RODEIT

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by RODEIT
by RODEIT

I've had the mongoose for a little while and with maintenance seems to be a good bike. When you buy it there are some adjustments but that was expected. Very light weight and pretty nimble to be a tall bike. Overall it is a good bike for the small price. I'm satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RODEIT
Knoxville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Bike... Cheap pedals...
3/25/2008

Customer review by brizad

4.0 stars 3/25/2008 by brizad
by brizad

This bike was a great pick after much back and forth on some of the other bikes in store. Decided on this model as I am riding my bike to work and home and the only mountains this bike will see will be on the billboards on the side of the road. First thing I did was swap the bike seat with a much comfier gel based seat. That was it. Bike was great and off I went. However, the bike pedals can't handle the strain of heaving pedaling. I have already gone through two pedals (both on the right side). Walmart replaced the first one, but after having the second one break, decided I would buy an aftermarket pedal that is made from Metal and not plastic. So, be wary if you ride the bike hard as the pedals are not made to withstand heavy or hard pedaling.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brizad
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Close, but not close enough
10/22/2009

Customer review by Photoweborama

3.0 stars 10/22/2009 by Photoweborama
by Photoweborama

After having surgery on my hand, I needed a bike where I sat upright. I wanted a hybrid with 700C wheels, but more like a cruiser than a mountain bike. I thought the Paver would be perfect. The problems I was able to fix. To make a long story short, the front wheel was not centered, both front and rear brakes were not adjusted right, and both wheels were not even close to being true. The seat was also way too small for this type of bike. What I was not able to fix. The bike geometry is completely wrong. It is basically a mountain bike frame with cruiser handle bars on it. Because of this, it gives the feeling the pedals are placed too far back. If you had mountain bike bars on it, you would lean forward a bit and then it would feel correct. You can minimize this effect if you adjust the seat height correctly. This means that with the pedal down, your leg is almost straight. Also, you have to adjust the seat back as far as you can. Still not quit enough, but it helps. This bike will never feel exactly right, but for my 5'5" height, I have it pretty close. My recommendation is that if you are a bike tech, and you are 5'5' or shorter, you will be able to get by with this bike.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photoweborama
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You need these tools
9/2/2009

Customer review by bzorro

4.0 stars 9/2/2009 by bzorro
by bzorro

I have owned this bike for a few hours only, but it seems very promising. I needed to buy a few tools in order to assemble and adjust it: * a 6 mm metric Allen wrench * a 15 mm wrench (open or box) * a #2 spoke wrench. The first two can be bought in any hardware store, the spoke wrench in a bike shop. Spend $3-$4 on a really good Allen wrench, you won't regret it! The Allen wrench is used to assemble and adjust the handle bar, the 15 mm wrench for the wheels. The wheels on my bike needed trueing very badly, especially the front wheel. Basically I could not assemble the front brake before trueing the wheel. And now my bike runs very well! Take care when inflating the tires, you should add air gradually and make sure the tires are properly fitted. First time round the inner tube tried to escape from my rear tire ... that is not supposed to happen.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bzorro
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy it . . . do not even think about it.
7/8/2009

Customer review by Steelwire

1.0 stars 7/8/2009 by Steelwire
by Steelwire

I like to think im a fair guy,and I gave this bike chance after chance.On my first encounter with this bike I decided to take it for a test drive so I inflated the tires to 50 p.s.i (the actual p.s.i that the bike recommends is 60 p.s.i).I rolled it about a foot away and the tire blew, I was not even on the bike.So I gave it another shot this time only inflating it to 40 p.s.i.Once again the tire blew after being rolled a foot or two, and I was not on it.My father and I decided it was a shady bike,so we left not even bothering with the third one there.After this we recently went shopping at another center where there was the same bike.I gave it another chance.I gradually inflated the tires to 60 p.s.i.The tires did not blow.So we purchased the bike,the next day I took it on a cement bike trail(nothing extreme practically a sidewalk).The left pedal broke off.Do not give this bike a chance,it does not deserve it

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steelwire
Knoxville,T.N
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Complete Junk
6/4/2009

Customer review by BikerGamer

1.0 stars 6/4/2009 by BikerGamer
by BikerGamer

I got this bike at local walmart store. It looks great for price (rear rack, shimano gear shift,....). I paid and load this bike in my SUV, and WHALA. the tube itself busted on the way home. I almost lost my conrol of car due to the busting boom sound. This is not a joke, and I was never on the bike. I had to return and got a new one. This one was okay in my SUV. The tire pressure was low (the tire says you have to inflate to 60 psi), so I pumped air to front and rear tire at home. Well, the front tire was busted again before it even reached 60 psi. What a junk. I returned for refund and would never buy Mongoose. If tire was this bad, what can you say about other components?

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikerGamer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Looking, Tires need work
8/12/2009

Customer review by demortal1

3.0 stars 8/12/2009 by demortal1
by demortal1

bike is sleek & stylish, very comfortable to ride. used bike 3 times, tires blew out 2 of three times i road the bike. once front tire & once rear tire. there is a problem with the rims, tires or tubes on this bike. see other review, many others having same problem. I returned to walmart with no problem, this bike would be great if they fixed the tire problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
demortal1
Elmhurst, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value
7/3/2009

Customer review by NewYorkCityCommuter

4.0 stars 7/3/2009 by NewYorkCityCommuter
by NewYorkCityCommuter

Read the reviews before buying and you should be prepared. Cheap price = cheap components. But it's an aluminum frame (i.e. it's lighter than steel), and the design was right for me. Product took some tinkering to get right. I had zero experience with bikes but got a wheel truing tool from a bike store ($12) and watched an on-line video and truing the wheels was easy. The brakes I was never able to get right (despite the online videos) and had to take to a bike mechanic for adjustment ($10). Replaced the seat, as other reviewers had suggested. I commute on the bike several days a week, over some rough track. The bike is perfect for the task with its wide wheels. I like to sit bolt upright, so the style of the bike suits me. I'm 6' 0" and the bike is smaller than ideal on me, but works for me. Bike looks great. A real value at the price. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewYorkCityCommuter
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for casual commuting
8/7/2008

Customer review by CaspianXI

5.0 stars 8/7/2008 by CaspianXI
by CaspianXI

Don't expect to be getting to work in record time, but this bike is great for the casual biker. I got this bike for my sister, who absolutely loves it. She normally goes a max of 10 mph. I, personally, like a faster bike.... but for the casual biker, this is a great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaspianXI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
good bike
10/15/2011

Customer review by gymcorridor

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by gymcorridor
by gymcorridor

when my bike was stole, my two college aged sons chipped in and got me a Mongoose Paver for Christmas; very special. The Paver is a great bike for around town with seven speeds. Solid ride and has been dependable. I like to ride for distance and the Paver is good for this but not as sophisticated as many of my friends bikes so I cannot maintain the speed at which they ride; but their bikes cost $1000 or more. So get yourself a Paver and enjoy it for what it is; s really good cruiser.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gymcorridor
orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Below average
2/21/2011

Customer review by thunder69

2.0 stars 2/21/2011 by thunder69
by thunder69

On my second mongoose paver. Had a lot of issueswith tires so took it back and got another one. Worked very well for a while. Have to be very careful mounting tires onthe rims, have to be exact or else bead comes off and tube bursts. Happen three times to me until I figured it out. Even had a bike shop mount a tire for me and same thing happened. Also have had spokes just snap on two separate occasions. Have only ridden on asphalt roads. Talked to an associate at walmart and he said the rims have had issues.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thunder69
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
flats
7/10/2009

Customer review by perryupser

1.0 stars 7/10/2009 by perryupser
by perryupser

I have had 4 flats, air pressure rating for these tubes is wrong, when flats blow they bend the rim, Can't find thick tubes for this size wheel!! bike back at walmart again for repair I have owned less than a week!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
perryupser
myrtle beach sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
blows tubes
10/22/2011

Customer review by gourdjess

3.0 stars 10/22/2011 by gourdjess
by gourdjess

got to be careful inflating the tires on this bike. the tire itself doesn't grab the rim unless lined up perfectly and the tube will get between the rim and tire if you don't watch it closely. air up tires slowly and watch the rim for any bubbles. don't put more than 50 lbs of air in. the tire says it will hold up to 75 psi but don't believe it. i know one thing, when the tires blow on this baby they sound like m-80's going off.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gourdjess
Dallas, or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/12/2009

Customer review by peabody11

2.0 stars 7/12/2009 by peabody11
by peabody11

Blew out the front tire twice within the first 5 miles of riding on paved pathway. Bike shop associate said it was because the rim and the tire aren't a good fit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peabody11
Would recommend to a friend? No
stay away
4/2/2010

Customer review by disneygramps

1.0 stars 4/2/2010 by disneygramps
by disneygramps

This bike is so flawed! The breaks fail and all the reviews about blowing tires are true! The rest of my family went with cheeper Huffy bikes and love them...

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
disneygramps
Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike
3/16/2008

Customer review by mirrek

4.0 stars 3/16/2008 by mirrek
by mirrek

I live in Las Vegas and I think for that price it's great city bike.... Could be a little faster

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mirrek
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews