Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

40 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 37 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Good price, poor construction
7/7/2008

Customer review by SJamiJ

1.0 stars 7/7/2008 by SJamiJ
by SJamiJ

I got this bike a week ago. The price was awesome! In fact it was the deciding factor, which was mistake number 1. Mongoose is a good name so I figured how bad could it be, right? Well it looks fabulous. Very sharp design.. however, the front shocks don't work; the derailleur doesn't shift properly (can't get into first or 7th gear no matter how much adjustment is done to it) and I just can't justify taking a bike to the shop and pay to have it fixed when I've only owned it for a week! It's going back today.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SJamiJ
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Reviews Not Always Accurate!
10/27/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/27/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had seen this online on clearance. I live in a area with lots of dirt roads and sand, very little concrete streets. I was able to find 1 walmart that had 1 left in stock. he said it had been returned by someone who said the gears didnt shift right..... lol! Ive seen alot of that on here! he also told me alot of people dont know that the gears have to be adjusted, they arent automaticaly adjusted. he adjusted them and "HER LOSS WAS MY GAIN". not only is it a very nice looking bike, but it rides great, and I got it for $89.99 in the store since its no longer in their system! AAAAAAA++++++++

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Vero Beach, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE THIS BIKE
8/16/2008

Customer review by Kalayaan

4.0 stars 8/16/2008 by Kalayaan
by Kalayaan

I got this bike 2 weeks ago and I can't stay off it. I agree the seat is uncomfortable but I have replaced it with another seat. I have not had any problems with the chain coming off. This bike shifts well and breaks well and the shocks are wonderful. I am a beginner biker and wouldn't trade this bike in for another one. Great quality and a great price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kalayaan
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Bike
3/7/2008

Customer review by Jaylight916

5.0 stars 3/7/2008 by Jaylight916
by Jaylight916

The only problem I have with it is that the seat is a little unconfortable. Once spring comes i'll be out riding it a few times a day

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaylight916
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Bike , with new seat , minor adjustments
10/4/2012

Customer review by allen13143

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by allen13143
by allen13143

I am retired , male 64 , a Fitness nut . I bought this bike for my grand daughter and me to share . She likes the color and I like the features . It is extremely hard to find a disc brake on a model this low in Price . We have 4 bikes at my home now and this is the best one . Brakes work great , actually I see only a tiny bit of difference vs linear brakes , but nice to say I have disc brakes on one of my bikes . Naturally these bikes are made in China , so your getting unbelievable amount of bike for the money . It is well made for sure for the price . Now be prepared to spend time adjusting the rail systems or get a tiny bit of help . Women do great at these things , it is simply reading and following instructions . It will work OK to ride down the street , but you expect to make lots of adjustments and fine tune it to make the gear rail switching perfect. Brand New does not mean Perfect . But if you desire to spend the money , a Bike shop will make it perform Perfectly for you. Try it yourself to get the experience. You can do it . This is not a small bike , a big girl can use it easily . The shocks are fantastic . The seat is horrible , A Gel seat for only $18.00 is a must for this bike , unless your rear end is made of steel.. Be prepared to really Kick your leg up a bit to thrust it over the frame . As for driving position for me it is Perfect , I am only 5 ' 7 " . Weight is good , but this is not an ultra light bike . Not heavy either . The bike is built to take punishment . I ride about 10 miles every single day unless it rains , so I know a tiny bit about bikes . Been riding bikes for 56 yrs . This is a good bike . Nobby tires are not the best for street , but good for General purpose recreation. It is one of the most pretty bikes out there for the money . Everything was greased and oiled up ready to go . Assembly was easy , you must put air in the tires . Have basic wrenches , inlcuding Metric Allen wrenches . Great instructions included , even for railer system . Or you can use YouTube to learn , it is so easy . Naturally I am a guy and been a Technician all my life so for me this was childs play . For you ladies ask a male friend whom is experienced . Most things are extremely easy to see , rail systems take a little practice . It takes bumps really well , coming up back into the drive way which is on a small hill is easy with the shocks . unless you live in a tremendous variance of Terrain , just keep the main Crank on number two gear and switch the back one , that way you kind of have good control till you get used to this bike . Normally people use all gears if they are really great bike riders and in top shape . An average person will never use all gears . you will need the lower gears going up hills . The bike is not made for Racing , it is made for Fun and exercise . Old men like me love to enjoy the scenry , trees , nature , and fresh air on a good bike , I live in The Woodlands Tx. For the money you simply can not go wrong . Mongoose makes good bikes , as good as any other company . Everyone will admire the looks of this bike , you will love the smooth Ride , it looks much more expensive than what you paid for . I love this bike so much , I may buy a second one just like it , so me and my Grand daughter can ride together, they grow up so fast . She loves the bike especially with her friends , she is 12 and allready an athelete, winning all kinds of awards. She competes with the boys . Bikes of today are built better than ever before and cost less .

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allen13143
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful but not a good bike!!
8/3/2008

Customer review by Abcdb

1.0 stars 8/3/2008 by Abcdb
by Abcdb

I bought this bike because it is the coolest bike I have seen. I ride a bike almost 40 miles everyday for exercise. I have had it for a few months and finally figured out why it is so uncomfortable. The pedals are straight under you so you pedal behind you. Other bikes pedals are slightly in front of the seat. I tried every seat but the problem wasn’t the seat. My legs are still sore from this bike. On the front of the bike it says racing. Maybe that is why the pedals are where they are so you can lean forward to race.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abcdb
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Too Big For Me..But Good
8/7/2008

Customer review by iacmom04

4.0 stars 8/7/2008 by iacmom04
by iacmom04

I am not an expert on buying bicycles. I purchased this bike because it says "ladies" 26". However, I had to return it because it was WAY TOO BIG for me. I had to jump up on it to sit (at lowest setting) and I could not touch the ground (I'm 5'2"). So I had to return it and I purchased the same bike as a "GIRLS" 24". I love it! Really great ride for the money. The Mongoose name and Shimano Shifters do not disappoint. I did, however, purchase a different seat for added cushion, but I have had to do that with EVERY bike I bought. I recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iacmom04
Easton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
On the fence
10/13/2008

Customer review by ginifred

3.0 stars 10/13/2008 by ginifred
by ginifred

I bought this bike having read previous reviews. I agree that the seat is the most uncomfortable seat I have ever sat on. The bike rode wonderfully, the shocks really absorved all the rocks and bumps on the path. However, the position of the pedals under the seat really make you feel like you are tipping forward. The handle bars were also at a weird angle and I had blisters on the palms of my hands and my wrists were killing me at the end of my one hour ride. I think I could have gotten used to all that, but the gears were not shifting right. After troubleshooting, reading the manual, and making adjustments that it recommended, the gears would still skip 2nd and 6th gear. I also found the lowest gear (1 and 1) to still be very hard for climbing hills compared to my husband's Schwinn bike. I returned this one because I felt that for the money I paid for it, it need to work 100%.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ginifred
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good quality bike. Rides well and looks very nice.
6/10/2012

Customer review by Mamawied

4.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Mamawied
by Mamawied

I purchased this bike for myself in anticipation of an upcoming hike and bike with our Venture Crew. It is taking me a little time to get used to the gear change, but this bike was easy to use from the time it was put together. Which was by my 14 yo daughter. She only had a little issue with the front brake, but was able to do it herself. The only thing that I would change really is the seat. I guess for a bike of this price point it is to be expected, but it is really uncomfortable. I plan on upgrading that feature before any extended use. Overall a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamawied
Bridgeport, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
very strong, beautiful and nice
8/5/2008

Customer review by crazylady58

5.0 stars 8/5/2008 by crazylady58
by crazylady58

I wait more than 10 years to get a bike and I'm so satisfied with the bike that I will used it everyday after work and on weekends, Very smooth ride and excellent performance. Thank you

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazylady58
Tampa FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Mongoose!
6/29/2008

Customer review by clearancelover

5.0 stars 6/29/2008 by clearancelover
by clearancelover

Purchased in Walmart store. I could not believe that you could get this much bike -- and a Mongoose -- for this price. The suspension is great, so smooth. The shifting is Shimano, so you know it's perfect, plus it has the Grip-Shift which is very nice. The front disc brake is different, but I like it, because you don't want your front brake to be too strong. I love this bicycle, except for the seat. The seat that I got is not the one in the picture. It is all black and not too comfy. Easy to replace. Wish the handlebars had those extra bars on the ends, but you can't get everthing for this low of a price, can you?

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clearancelover
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to asseble, looks nice
4/3/2008

Customer review by diablo2addict

4.0 stars 4/3/2008 by diablo2addict
by diablo2addict

The only issue that i am having is that the chain does not work, it keeps falling off, still have not got to work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diablo2addict
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Don't waste your money
3/26/2008

Customer review by Nvgirltrucker

1.0 stars 3/26/2008 by Nvgirltrucker
by Nvgirltrucker

I bought this bike three days ago. The seat has already come un-sewn and is very very uncomfortable. One handle bar grip is loose and it does not shift well at all! The chain also de-rails itself when trying to shift . I am returning this Bike for sure!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nvgirltrucker
Virginia City , NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent bike for the price
10/26/2012

Customer review by budlitepls

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by budlitepls
by budlitepls

Excellent bike for the price, doesn't weight that much. My wife can lift it up without any problems, to place it on the bike rack. It does need to go to a bike shop to get the gears adjusted right. Took it back to walmart twice and they couldn't get it. Another then that, good bike...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
budlitepls
san antonio, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NICE BIKE
7/2/2008

Customer review by PANCHALOCA

4.0 stars 7/2/2008 by PANCHALOCA
by PANCHALOCA

Overall this is a great bike, rides nice and smooth. Only thing is the seat was very uncomfortable. Had to go buy another seat that was a lil bigger and with more cushion. But nice bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PANCHALOCA
El Paso, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
26" Ladies Mongoose
7/7/2008

Customer review by Tommy8959

4.0 stars 7/7/2008 by Tommy8959
by Tommy8959

Everything good, except for a vevy uncomfortable seat. Handle bar grips a bit loose.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tommy8959
Duncansville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
26" Woodland Mountain Bike by Mongoose
10/24/2012

Customer review by Davew1965

4.0 stars 10/24/2012 by Davew1965
by Davew1965

Purchased this bike for my wife and she loves it except for the seat, I bought the cloud 9 seat for it and now she really likes it

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Davew1965
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
nice looking and very functionable
8/10/2008

Customer review by Randii

4.0 stars 8/10/2008 by Randii
by Randii

This was the first time I had ordered from the NET and been very happy with my purchase... Thanks very much, keep up the fine job... Randi

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Randii
San Diego Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hard seat beautiful bike
2/5/2013

Customer review by Lunapie

4.0 stars 2/5/2013 by Lunapie
by Lunapie

I read the reviews prior to purchasing and the seat is definitely rock solid. I didn't get the seat pictured with the red on the back I got a solid black one, I was hoping it was an improvement with all the complaints but ouch no. The assembly was easy enough, only had to adjust the breaks a little. I'm glad I bought this bike and the price compared to similar bikes, it's a steal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lunapie
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great bike
5/10/2008

Customer review by bikeshopper

4.0 stars 5/10/2008 by bikeshopper
by bikeshopper

the breakes work very very well. had to replace seat with a more confortable one.rides well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikeshopper
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews