Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

196 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

196 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
23
1 stars
40
1-20 of 196 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews
Good converter box, little-known DTV facts/tips
4/29/2008

Customer review by Kev22

4.0 stars 4/29/2008 by Kev22
by Kev22

Got my government coupons and purchased 2 of these in early April. I have a big digital TV in my main room and the converters were for 13" portable tv's in other rooms. The converters were easy to set up and work fine on both tv's, the universal remotes could be programmed to work one of the portable tv's but not the other. I have an amplified roof antenna so I get good signals on all our digital channels, but 2 of the channels that I get on the digital tv don't tune in through the converter box - the fault of the tv stations because their digital signals aren't formatted correctly so the converter can't convert them back to analog. The stations that do come in, picture quality is nearly equal to that of the digital tv. The channel guide (banner at the top of the screen) when you tune to a channel displays a signal strength meter at the lower left with the program name, time, rating (if available) and what's on next after that show, a previous review here said it doesn't display program descriptions but it does - press the info button once to bring up the channel banner, press it a 2nd time and another box appears below the banner with the program description if it's available (this was not included in the owner's manual). Some stations don't include the descriptions, or if the signal is too weak to produce a picture the box will say 'no description'. Converter boxes can become erractic when the signals get weak or momentarily disappear, a common occurrence with digital signals that is the fault of the tv station sending a weak or inconsistent signal and not the converter box. 99% of digital stations broadcast their signals at UHF frequencies, since a digital signal has to be stronger to produce it's great picture it's a weaker signal than analog signals are - particularly the VHF frequencies (channels 2 to 13) which people may have problems receiving in digital that they never had with analog. The FCC acknowledges that after the digital switchover tv's will likely not receive all the channels they got before in analog, if that happens to you don't curse the digital equipment - it's a limitation of the digital technology, or your local stations broadcasting weak or inconsistent digital signals. A good antenna is more necessary to get the most digital channels in your area than it was to get analog channels, roof antennas do the best job. This converter box doesn't have a signal pass-through, my portable tv's fortunately have audio video (AV) jacks and I connected the converter boxes that way so I can watch the digital channels on the tv's video channel and still watch the analog channels on their regular channels with no interference from the converter box. It's necessary to connect the converter boxes this way because when the digital switchover occurs next February there will still be analog channels on the air. Only the full-power stations go all digital, the network affiliated and larger independent stations that are mostly on the VHF band (channels 2 to 13) and some on the UHF band (channels 14 to 69). The low power stations, all on the UHF band, will continue to broadcast in analog as their conversion date to digital hasn't been set yet. Approximately 40% of the stations in most TV markets are full-power and 60% are low-power, so most of your stations will remain analog - stations you probably don't watch very much or have trouble receiving, or don't even know you have in your area. Scan your analog tv dial to see how many there are, most of these channels aren't listed in your local tv listings. If your analog tv doesn't have AV jacks you'll need to get an inexpensive RF/video converter, plug the AV output cables from the digital converter box into the RF converter and it connects to your tv's coaxial input and you can watch the digital channels from the converter box on channel 3 or 4. To connect the converter to your tv's AV jacks you'll need a signal splitter with 2 outputs and another small coaxial cable. Connect the antenna input to the splitter input connecter, 1 output goes to the converter box's antenna input and the other output to the tv's coaxial jack. AV cables go from the converter box's audio and video out jacks to the tv's audio and video in jacks, and you're all set.

Was this review helpful? (83) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kev22
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Definitely worth the $
3/28/2008

Customer review by chiefsfam

4.0 stars 3/28/2008 by chiefsfam
by chiefsfam

Definitely worth the money if you use your government coupon! Big improvement in picture and sound quality with a digital signal! My favorite feature is being able to see the name of the program, how long it lasts, rating, program description, current time, and station name...it's like having those features of digital cable...but for free! We even picked up 3 additional digital channels that we didn't have before! I only have a couple of suggested improvements- there is a slight delay (black screen) when changing channels, and it takes a second or so for the program description/information to display....until then it says "No Title". Remote control is simple and easy to use.....but wish it had VCR controls. Signal strength seems fine, and I live 50 miles from most transmitters. Easy to set up. One thing to be aware of....if you have a VCR, this unit can send a digital signal to both your TV and VCR (if connected correctly), but since it's a single tuner, you can't record a show and watch a different one at the same time....because you have only 1 digital tuner. To get around that, I used a splitter ("Y") coming out of the wall's antenna cable. One cable goes to the converter box (to view digital TV) and one cable goes to the VCR. Set up this way, the VCR uses its tuner and still only gets an analog signal...but at least we can watch TV (digital) while recording another show on the VCR (analog). I guess I'll just wait until Feb. '09 to replace my VCR with a digital recorder with a built-in digital tuner. This is a simple converter box, but for $10 after the coupon, I can't expect a ton of features. I would definitely purchase this converter box again.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chiefsfam
Southcentral Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Setup was confusing
4/12/2008

Customer review by LivingInATX

4.0 stars 4/12/2008 by LivingInATX
by LivingInATX

I would like to thank the reviewer who suggested that I bypass the instructions and press the menu button. The instructions are very misleading and there is not any information for troubleshooting on the RCA website. Overall I think the converter box works great; the picture comes in clear, no more fuzzy pictures. Not bad for $10.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LivingInATX
Austin TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!!
3/22/2008

Customer review by FuzzyMonkey

5.0 stars 3/22/2008 by FuzzyMonkey
by FuzzyMonkey

We got our $40 coupons in the mail and headed straight to walmart. Online walmart said the magnavox was available in stores but the rca model was not (and it isn't availalbe online either). We really wanted the rca model, but decided the other would be ok. To our suprise, our Walmart ONLY had the RCA model. We were anxious to get it home. We hooked it up and nothing. I tried my best to find troubleshooting info online. No luck. Then I read someone's review that told me what to do. I had the "no signal" box on my screen. I then pressed the menu button and continued the set up. WOW!! Every channel is perfectly clear!! We used to get in only about six channels. Now we have about 19 of them.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FuzzyMonkey
hammond, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Magnavox vs. RCA
5/24/2008

Customer review by donmck

5.0 stars 5/24/2008 by donmck
by donmck

I bought two different brands - Magnavox & RCA . I read conflicting reviews and wanted to see for myself which I preferred. Despite having to return a defective RCA, it turned out to be my preference. The RCA remote is designed so you can control your TV set as well, a function completely missing on the Magnavox. The RCA is smaller and lighter weight (a factor that mislead me to initially think the Magnavox must be "better"). The RCA is designed to lay flat or stand on end, and it has a very usable guide for signal strength that can help you position your antenna for maximum reception. I am also inclined to believe the RCA has a stronger tuner because in my area (Los Angeles) Channel 11 is weak. The Magnavox shows "no signal" at all, but the RCA does bring it in even though it is weak and breaks up.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donmck
San Fernando Valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is it!
11/29/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/29/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Ok, here's the scoop.. When I bought this and brought it home I just hooked it straight up to my standard rabit ears and got 8 channels at about 30% but it was so clear it was like having cable and no snow. These were the same 8 channels I originally got, which after typing "full-power broadcast television stations" into a search engine I found a list of stations currently broadcasting in DTV and it said there were only 8 in my area, so I didn't feel bad, but I wanted more. I had a large herring bone antenna on the outside of my house, so I hooked into it and really saw no difference, I then read online about a small hdtv antenna that made the world of difference, it is sold at Walmart it is the (Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna) and Walmart sells it cheaper than the compettitors. I brought it home and hooked it up in combination and It increased my signal to 80% and I now get 11 dtv channels dispite the fact that there are only 8 in my area. This box brings in the best clarity yet, and I am excited to see more. Do a scan for new channels regularly as there are more stations switching over between now and February.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lancaster, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good product
5/7/2008

Customer review by Cros

4.0 stars 5/7/2008 by Cros
by Cros

I bought the RCA converter after reading the reviews on all the converters. After getting my government discount card I checked for the best prices for this product. Walmart was the best. The setup was quite simple and worked right off. I received many more channels than before and no longer get a ghost image. About the only thing I find bad is when I switch from full screen to wide screen I have to fool around a bit to get it to switch--a minor problem. The picture quality is excellent. I especially like the "info" button where I can see what is on next.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cros
Long Beach, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Breaks after a month
6/30/2009

Customer review by WalmartGreeter

1.0 stars 6/30/2009 by WalmartGreeter
by WalmartGreeter

Great product at first, then after about 3 weeks of use power shut off and won't come back on. Friend bought one at the same time, and almost to the hour, same thing happened to her converter box. Took it back to Walmart, not covered under warranty because bought when coupons first came out, even though not used until now. They had several under counter that were returned for same thing. Too many returns for this product that is so new.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartGreeter
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent!
2/18/2008

Customer review by Shop1010

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by Shop1010
by Shop1010

I would recommend this to all my friends and family, and everyone who asked me about the "Switch To Digital"! I bought the product a few days ago and it meets beyond my expectations. It has a Program Guide it works with muticast. In fact until I bought the converter box I didn't know what i was missing out on...I had 5 other channels I didn't know about because they were broadcast in DT. So when I connected to the set to the television, I was surprised to say the least. This product has my great approval. If you are planning to switch...don't be caught in the dark. The switch is official on February 17, 2009, but with the technology now available why wait? I couldn't wait and im glad that I purchased such a wonderful product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shop1010
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
How to improve the lines of resolution EVEN MORE !
4/9/2008

Customer review by ElectronicMike

4.0 stars 4/9/2008 by ElectronicMike
by ElectronicMike

First of all, I have an HDTV Ready LCD TV...so it was only equipped with NTSC (Analog signal) not so great (as far as clarity).. I wanted to upgrade by getting an HDTV Antenna so I got the RCA HDTV Antenna (Model ANT525) . Then the RCA Digital DTA Converter DTA 800. But I read that it only sends out 480i which was too low of a signal to my LCD HD ready set...SO...I thought I would not only connect the included coax cable from the new antenna to the coax input of the TV... So why not try a Standard S-Video to RCA Cable (which would deliver an even sharper image and possibly upconvert to 720p ) ...IT WORKED ! THERE IS MARKED IMPROVEMENT AND DEFINITION BY USING A STANDARD S-VIDEO TO RCA CABLE AND BYPASSING THE BOX only sending out 480i (500 lines of resolution). Let me explain further the cable needed to upgrade the HD signal to your set.... The cable on one end has an RCA connection, and the other end is S-Video ..by using the RCA end to go into the converter box, and the other end being an S-Video end...I plugged that end into the HDTV ready set.... this improved the signal lines of resolution) to my LCDTV instead of the signal from the box coming through to Channel 3. I checked both signals into the LCD by switching between the S-Video and Channel 3 on my HD ready set.... to see if indeed there was any improvement ...... there certainly was ! The cable I am referring to, can be purchased at any Cable Wholesale company for just a few dollars and the improvement in viewing is well worth it . You also can buy cables that have Standard S-Video along with 3 RCA cables and connect from box to TV's or monitors which have S-Video inputs. Other things I like about the RCA DTA800 converter... By pressing the INFO button on the included remote, you can fine tune your signal while aiming the antenna. I like that you have several choices and various menus that allow you to adjust / make changes to your HD signals/stations. Another nice feature is that the pop up window when you go from channel to channel will inform you of what show is on, what show is coming up next , and information about the show. Overall, a great investment with or without the federal rebate card which is offered by this fine product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectronicMike
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA review
4/6/2008

Customer review by Digitalguy

2.0 stars 4/6/2008 by Digitalguy
by Digitalguy

I received two debit cards for the purchase of a converter box. Since my Walmart had two brands I decided to purchase one of each to see if there was a difference. There is. The rca reception breaks up freguently while the magnavox reception is consistently good. I will be recommending the magnavox.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Digitalguy
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Support, No "Last Channnel"
4/9/2008

Customer review by JManCalif

2.0 stars 4/9/2008 by JManCalif
by JManCalif

I went to my local Wal-Mart intending to buy the Magnavox converter, because that's what the website said was available. However, when I got there, I found no Magnavoxes, but a large stack of the RCAs. Armed with my 2 $40 coupons, I picked up two and took them home. At first glance, it seemed to be a decent product, and was easy to install. However, it is missing one key feature that I find essential: the remote does not have a "last channel viewed" button to allow you to toggle back and forth between two channels. I find it hard to believe that such an important feature, which is essentially standard equipment on every remote control these days, was omitted. And it's really even more important for a digital system, given that there are more channels, and that you have to press three or four keys (the one- or two-digit channel number, plus the period, plus the one-digit subchannel number) to get to a specific channel. And when I attempted to contact the support site that's specified in the manual, I discovered another problem: Thomson, the French company that owns the GE and RCA brands, sold their US consumer electronics business to Audiovox, but the Audiovox people claim that they know nothing about this product and will not provide any support. So, buy this at your own risk ... if support and the "last channel viewed" feature aren't important to you, it may be OK for you.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JManCalif
San Gabriel Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart Comes Through
4/30/2008

Customer review by ByeSatnCable

4.0 stars 4/30/2008 by ByeSatnCable
by ByeSatnCable

I wish to thank the store Associate who acted as my advocate and brought my request to the Store Manager at the Portage, IN store. I got a call that night and they was going to special order the RCA converter from a store in Colorado. I did not know that the nation was basically divided in half. West Side got RCA's and the East Side, which is my zone, got the Motorola’s. Reasoning is the RCA and Motorola Company could not supply Wal-Mart’s supply needs. No doubt both units are great products, but the RCA offered better compatibility with my two older TV's and Converter. The Motorola converter remote does not handle our TV on/off or volume control as the RCA can. Again, big thanks for the extra effort. As far as the RCA converter goes. I have had it for about one week and setup was easy. When it was turned on. All can say is WOW. The digital picture was stunning. I purchased the boom antenna through the Wal-Mart site to store several months’ back. The combination of the RCA converter with the outdoor antenna is providing me 50 - 60% signal strength. Another gain was going from 10 analog to 30 digital channels in the Chicago area broadcast area. Many friends have come over and are shocked at the reception. They are seriously reconsidering keeping the expensive cable or satellite systems.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ByeSatnCable
Portage, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
do not waste your hard earned money
6/21/2009

Customer review by cozey

1.0 stars 6/21/2009 by cozey
by cozey

Do NOT waste your hard earned money on this product. We got 2 RCA Converter boxes model #DTA800B1. neither one of them work. The first work worked for about 4 months and stopped work altogether. The other box only get the lower chanels maybe a total of 4 channels, no upper level channels at all. It does not mater what annetna you have it just dont work... DO NOT WASTE YOU MONEY ON THIS ONE. KEEP LOOKING FOR A BETTER CONVERTER BOX

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cozey
Ogden, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
RCA DTA800B Converter Box
4/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Just got RCA Digital TV Converter Box. Read all previous reviewers' comments. Worked instantly with an RCA projection TV. Reception is better than ever, equivalent to Basic Cable TV. Caught all local stations with subchannels. Even got electronic programming guide like Gold Plus in analog TV. With $40 coupon from the government, this box is only $10. Can't beat the price

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy With It
4/4/2008

Customer review by 73Gremlin

4.0 stars 4/4/2008 by 73Gremlin
by 73Gremlin

Not sure why others are disappointed. Mine works great connected to a 20 year old tv and rooftop antenna! The tv has no remote and uses the old rotating channel change knob(remember those??); so this converter now lets me change channels with it's remote control. Before, I could only get about 9 over-the-air channels. The antenna strength screen accessed from the menu on remote says I am getting about 19% reception. Even at that "low" reception strength, I now get 24 channels and they are all crystal clear! I will be using my 2nd government coupon to get another one of these. It'll "update" another tv in the basement so it too will get more channels and rival the picture I get with the other tv's connected to the satellite system. Great product, RCA!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
73Gremlin
Clearfield, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the value
2/11/2008

Customer review by brandonsunshine

4.0 stars 2/11/2008 by brandonsunshine
by brandonsunshine

Great product at right price. Easy set up, good quality picture... If you have a good or expensive brand analog TV that worth to keep it beyond 02/09 this is the tool you need!.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brandonsunshine
Brownsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA DTA800B - Has a BIG Drawback
4/24/2008

Customer review by RCAReviewer

4.0 stars 4/24/2008 by RCAReviewer
by RCAReviewer

All-in-all for the price the little box works pretty good - so far - and I'd recommend it - but with the following reservation. There is one BIG drawback. Once you scan for all available channels there is no way to manually add or delete channels. If for some reason it does not pick up and store a channel - as happened to me many times - scan again and again until it grabs and stores it. No manual entry for channels is provided. And after scanning - if you have channels available you would just as soon not have (such as multiple ABC, NBC, PBS etc. channels from different locations) - there is no way to delete those you don't want. other "cheap" boxes have this feature - consider this carefully as you purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RCAReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RCA Digital TV Converter Box, DTA800
3/30/2008

Customer review by majwong

5.0 stars 3/30/2008 by majwong
by majwong

I located and purchased the RCA converter box after reading reviews on both the RCA and Magnovox models. The box is working great since I only expected the basic performance. After I hooked up the unit, I got the no antenna/signal strength error message on the screen. The instructions from the Quick Start Guide were not the best because it did not guide us from there to the Menu and Setting Up screens. Which would lead one to believe the set was not working. After scanning and tuning in all the available channels, we now can select a channel and start viewing. The remote lets you program to the RF frequency of the TV set and use the same remote to power on/off and volume up/down of your TV set. I looked for a digital tuner and I got one at the best price today. For my needs, this is a simple but effective product. Two thumbs up!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
majwong
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
4/9/2008

Customer review by Kangadji

5.0 stars 4/9/2008 by Kangadji
by Kangadji

I was not too enthused about this product after reading other reviews I wanted the Zenith but was not available. I first bought just one box to see what it was like. Hooked it up to my downstairs TV and had it up and running with more channels than I had before. A plus is that although my TV was an older model GE the remote worked with no programming. Next day I went back to Walmart and used my second Govt Coupon and got one for the kitchen television. I though digital tv was a lot of hype but this box made me a believer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kangadji
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews