Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 29 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Not the best
12/6/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 12/6/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought one of these chainsaws and after about a month had to return it. Nothing I could do would get it to start. I called the 1-800 help number and they said I got a dud, and to exchange it for another. WalMart was great about exchanging it. Now I got another Poulan and it worked great for about 2 months ... now it won't cut very well, overheats and dies in 10 minutes. I obviously need a new chain, but I'm surprised since I've only cut about 8 small trees (10 inch diameter or so). Overall, I recommend spending more money to get something better. This saw is made cheaply.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lawrenceburg, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Poulan 18IN, 42cc
12/2/2008

Customer review by Lovebird92

1.0 stars 12/2/2008 by Lovebird92
by Lovebird92

I have had nothing but problems with mine. I have only owned it 6 months and cut roughly 4 cords of wood. I have had to replace the bar once, 3 chains, the sprocket twice, and the clutch once. No matter what I do, the sprocket wears out in the first day & the chain dulls. I am not even cutting close to the ground. I own a Stihl that I got from my Grandfather and I will never own anything else. Once this Poulan breaks again, I am returning it to Wal-Mart and demanding my money back. Power is also a joke. It should be maybe a 14-16 inch chainsaw.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovebird92
Arkansas City, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Poulan Loyal
1/26/2010

Customer review by GreenMachines

4.0 stars 1/26/2010 by GreenMachines
by GreenMachines

I've, for years now, owned a single Poulan saw, an 18 inch blade 2450 Woodmaster. I heat my cabin with all wood, and have once used the old Woodmaster to clear cut a solid spruce and birch tree forest of 18 acres out front and 23 acres in back of a nearby property, with out a single major hiccup or day of downtime, rain - shine - or snow, during the almost year long job. This machine appears very similar and I expect this saw will deliver the same years of performance I have experienced from my previous Poulan. My best friend swears by a Stihl, an old 026 Pro model, but it gives him 10 times the headaches of my old 2450 Woodmaster, that I paid less than half of a Stihl for. Poulans have always been good to me, and I will remain loyal to the green machines. Of course you DO have to read and regularly follow the idle mixture adjustments in the manual, etc, but the same goes for a Husky, Echo, Stihl, or any other gas powered equipment for that matter. If you can't handle simple maintenance, then electric might better suit you. Some things I highly recommend is that you use all Oregon Brand Bars, Chains and Oils, and grease the bar sprocket with each tank of gas, use Stabil and Iso-Heet in all your Gas, burn all the gas out of your saw everyday or each time you run it, keep your Carb Adjusted Properly ( a major culprit of non-idling, quick dying or low powered machines), and clean the screen inside the muffler about every 25 hours. If you quickly do a two minute "three pass per tooth" sharpening routine with your file on the chain with each tank of gas, you'll make the saw cut better and since the chain cuts easier through the wood - the engine may last longer too. Change the Air filter every other day or every 10 hours, and keep a good supply of Spare Air Filters, Sharpened Cutting Chains, Spark Plugs, Sprocket Grease, Spare New Bars, & Chain Files on hand. DO NOT USE ANY CHAMPION PLUGS. Use only AC, Bosch, or NGK (If you can find them). I always cut my Bar oil 50%-50% with 5w-30 engine oil in the winter months too, to help it flow better. Hope these tips help someone out there!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenMachines
Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good saw for price
10/24/2008

Customer review by fixitdude

4.0 stars 10/24/2008 by fixitdude
by fixitdude

I have a similar poulan made saw. As another reviewer said, these are not the best saws made. However, for the price, they work great. I learned the hard way that you should NEVER leave gas in the saw for more than about a month. Empty the tank, then run the saw till all of the fuel is gone. This saw will give you many years of use if you treat it right. The first year I had my saw, I left fuel in it over the winter. Had to have the carb rebuilt. It cost about $100. Good thing we had a local Poulan shop. I have had it for about 8 years now, and I NEVER have a problem with it starting up. As long as the chain is sharp, it cuts great. It is not as fast as a good husky or stihl, but for the price it is a good saw. However, if you are using it for cutting firewood, and you can afford more saw, then I highly recommend going to a saw shop and getting something with more umph. The higher end saws tend to give you more features and more power per inch of bar. That extra power gets the work done much faster! And the saw shop will be your friend when it comes to recommending new chains and accessories. Speaking of chains, the anti-kickback chains sold on these saws are for safety, but you can get a MUCH better chain at the saw shop. The non-anti-kickback chains (pro chains), cut much faster and allow you to cut with the tip. So, instead of your 18" bar only being able to cut up 16" logs for firewood, it will be able to cut up to at least 30" if needed. You will want a second chain anyway, in case the inevitable happens and you get the chain in the dirt or hit a rock.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fixitdude
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
12/25/2008

Customer review by fire81

5.0 stars 12/25/2008 by fire81
by fire81

this is a great saw the fire department im on have them in the brush trucks and there great

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fire81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product what a great price.
2/24/2009

Customer review by GJJG5261

5.0 stars 2/24/2009 by GJJG5261
by GJJG5261

I have been heating my house and water with wood for some years now.I have had many types of chain saws some cost way more then this one but I see no differnts in the end results cut firewood. I have had no problems with this product,I LOVE IT.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GJJG5261
Bernville,PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great buy tough saw
6/25/2009

Customer review by jeterx5

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by jeterx5
by jeterx5

I have used this saw for two winters cutting wood with no problems i always mix the gas as recommended and i have not have to replace the blade or chain just a good sharpen and i use the recommended chain bar oil in it runs greats and starts fast even in the freezing cold this is a super buy for the cash!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeterx5
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best tool for the price
7/1/2009

Customer review by fargo5

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by fargo5
by fargo5

with this handy carring case make easy of storeing it,Starts great and the auto oiler is great

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fargo5
Malad City Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Worth the money
10/17/2008

Customer review by cedarman

5.0 stars 10/17/2008 by cedarman
by cedarman

Some things others have written about this saw are true and need to be noted but all-in-all it is worth the money I paid. The chain did dull fairly soon but I had cut several hardwood trees (red oak and cedar). The horse power is a little lacking but a sharp chain and some self control will overcome this problem. Carb adjustment screws are accessable on my saw but I have not had to adjust them yet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cedarman
Carthage, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
poulan 18 inch chain saw
6/7/2008

Customer review by cougarman30165

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by cougarman30165
by cougarman30165

East starting, and gets the job done. I love mine!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cougarman30165
Rome, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
RUNNIN DUDE
7/11/2008

Customer review by ALANC

5.0 stars 7/11/2008 by ALANC
by ALANC

DOES EVERYTHING I NEED IT TO DO. I USE IT ABOUT 5 - 6 HOURS A WEEK. NO PROBLEMS!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALANC
NE TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
pouland pro 18 inch bar
9/15/2008

Customer review by rooster27

5.0 stars 9/15/2008 by rooster27
by rooster27

read a lot of reviews on home owners saws and picked the pro model , been useing it for awhile and very satisified with it ,cut a lot of wood so far with no problems,relitive has had his poulan wild thing chain saw for 7 yrs and still cutting a few cords a year with his ,i have cut up a half a dozen trees so far this month for fire wood and very satified with it and the power it has for the price of it.some of the trees are much bigger then the 18 inch bar it has but cuts thru it just fine hard or soft wood.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rooster27
upstate ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works as advertised
10/8/2008

Customer review by MittMart

5.0 stars 10/8/2008 by MittMart
by MittMart

Great chainsaw for the price. I have had no problems with the Poulan chain saw.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MittMart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works great
10/23/2008

Customer review by joeyb413

5.0 stars 10/23/2008 by joeyb413
by joeyb413

I've owned this saw for two years. this past summer i cut down trees at my brothers house, 50 of them were pine trees about 50 feet tall and 5 were oak and maple about three feet in diameter. I used 3 chains but this saw did work great for me. I still have it and the engine is still strong even with about 75 hours on it. It won't cut like a Husky or Stihl but it was alot less money. I like it and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joeyb413
Mt. Carmel PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
helpful tool
6/20/2009

Customer review by Baxter1

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by Baxter1
by Baxter1

For the price this saw would be hard to beat. I cut down 12 cedars that were 8 to 14" inches in diameter before hitting a nail and having to sharpen the blade.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Baxter1
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Way past expectations
9/16/2009

Customer review by acros

5.0 stars 9/16/2009 by acros
by acros

Bought a craftsman 18 inch chain saw to do some tree and brush removal and with in a half a day it actually melted the plastic and seized up returned with out a problem thank God. So I figured I would buy a cheaper saw just to try and found this one on sale. On the first day I felled at least 10 good size trees and cut all of them up returned next day and did more cutting. I just clean when done mix gas properly and keep oiled. For the price you cant go wrong, saw has been used hard for the past 2 months and just keeps preforming great

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acros
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Chainsaw Going To Buy One More Today
11/27/2009

Customer review by Chainsawman

5.0 stars 11/27/2009 by Chainsawman
by Chainsawman

I have used the saw for two years on two properties and have sawed up the equivalent of a couple cords of wood. Probably 10 hours of total run time. My main use is to clean up trees uprooted by high winds. So far I have bucked a black locust, a pine, an oak, and a poplar. It is important to keep the oil reservoir filled to reduce the friction on the chain. I just put a new chain on this evening since the old one had dulled. As of this writing, you can get a two-pack of chains at Wal-mart for $25. The saw would not last a day if used for an episode of Ax-Men, but it serves my purposes just fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chainsawman
Fall River
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value and performance
2/15/2009

Customer review by 73Musclecar

4.0 stars 2/15/2009 by 73Musclecar
by 73Musclecar

I have cut firewood for 15 years. Have had mostly Homelite and Craftsman saws. This Poulan saw has run great right out of the box. Easy starting. If it had a little more power it would be excellent buy. The chain is appox to what Craftsmans are so it doesn't give long life but is acceptable. I think this Poulan is a very good buy for the money spent and for most occasional users is the way to go. If you are in a more demanding need then you really should get more powerful saw and the Poulan would be good for triming.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
73Musclecar
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
dont do it
10/15/2008

Customer review by grsmnky

1.0 stars 10/15/2008 by grsmnky
by grsmnky

i work on these units all the time and they are 110% GARBAGE!!!! you might make it through 1 six inch branch before the piston seizes up inside the cylinder no matter what mix gas you run through it, and thats if you dont have to take it into the shop to have a carb adjustment first!!! all poulan/weedeater products are trash straight out of the box!!!!!!!!! you might as well just set it on fire and kiss youre money goodbye!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grsmnky
pittsburg ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Save your money
1/26/2009

Customer review by drummerguy

1.0 stars 1/26/2009 by drummerguy
by drummerguy

What a waste of time and money this product is. Spend a few bucks more and buy something that will actually cut wood without quitting. I bought one, and it wouldn't even cut half a cord of firewood. I returned it, and bought a real chainsaw.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drummerguy
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews