Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 54 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Hint to make this perform better
4/14/2008

Customer review by BusyWorkerBee

4.0 stars 4/14/2008 by BusyWorkerBee
by BusyWorkerBee

The stock .065 line is okay, but doesn't have the cutting power I need. When I was out of my original line, I purchased the .080 line. The cutting performance was much better and was perfect for cutting the thick ivy that I have to deal with in my yard. For under $40 the weed trimmer is well worth the money. However, the line does run out in about an hour's worth of work when working with thick brush. The manual says to stick with .065 line, but I've been using the thicker line for over a year now and have not had any problems. The only downfall to this weed trimmer is that the black protective dome is shaking loose now, but it can be attributed to the wear-and-tear and weekly abuse I put this through. I'd like to do away with the dome completely and "McGyver" a rod only to serve as the arm to cut the line when spinning too far from the spool. Overall, great deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (57) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyWorkerBee
My Yard, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Exceptional product for a great price!
4/6/2008

Customer review by Bigw8600

5.0 stars 4/6/2008 by Bigw8600
by Bigw8600

I recently purchased this item as a replacement for my gas trimmer. I normally purchase my lawn and garden items from another name brand retailer, but this product had the same features and options, but at a cheaper price. The assembly time was less than 10 minutes and I was very pleased that it was very effective and user friendly. I look forward to purchasing more lawn and garden products at my local Wal-Mart. This was a wise investment!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigw8600
Mobile, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
weedeater electric trimmer
7/12/2009

Customer review by Vet4Katy

3.0 stars 7/12/2009 by Vet4Katy
by Vet4Katy

This product is great for the first 4-6 months. After that, it starts going downhill. Every year I have to buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vet4Katy
Katy,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Worked GREAT For Us
7/6/2008

Customer review by Howfancy

4.0 stars 7/6/2008 by Howfancy
by Howfancy

My son gave me money to buy yard tools in 2002 when I purchased my new home. I was so excited, but in trying to save money I decided to purchase this item from Wal-mart. I was shocked, it worked great, I used it often at least 6 times a month. I have a large yard in the front and the back with a lot attached next door about 1 and a half acres. I trim the grass at the edge of my driveway, line up my flower beds, line up my shrub areas, edge up the grass near my house foundation, I just love this yard tool. But, after 6 years it finally broke, I'll be buying a new one this weekend. I just love the price, this item is light weight, it has easy functions, no nasty gas smells because it electric, just press a button and it goes from trimmers to edgers. the line advances without you having to tap it on the ground, sometimes the replacement line is hard to find so I purchase about 4 spools at a time. This is a Great Yard Tool.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Howfancy
Bethlehem, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Broke In Less than 2 Weeks
9/19/2009

Customer review by AustinLawnCare

3.0 stars 9/19/2009 by AustinLawnCare
by AustinLawnCare

I picked this up from my local Walmart using the Site-to-Store option on 9/6/09. I just returned from the store (9/19/09) after returning the unit. Less than 2 uses in less than 2 weeks - very disappointing. Inexplicably, the unit stopped functioning while I was about 3/4 of way through trimming my yard. This was the second time that I used it. I verified that the electric socket I was using was working (tested with a lamp) and tested the extension cord (again using the lamp and socket). The unit would simply not turn on when I pulled the trigger. I did notice that one of the plastic brackets in the plastic guard had broken off and it appeared to have happened recently as the plastic surface formerly covered by the bracket was still very clean relative to the rest of the plastic which was coated with fine grass shavings. I am going to reorder the product because it is very inexpensive ($38) and quite powerful. I am hoping that the broken bracket was just a fluke. I will be looking more closely at the new unit to see if there is a sensor in that bracket insert that can detect if the bracket is missing. If in fact, there is a sensor that detects the bracket then this would be a good safety feature to protect injury if the guard was removed. I'll follow up later when I get the next unit. Kudos to Walmart for offer some nice features for its reviews (photos, video, etc.).

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AustinLawnCare
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I would buy it again
9/11/2009

Customer review by Swall0wtail

3.0 stars 9/11/2009 by Swall0wtail
by Swall0wtail
Walmart associate

My trimmer shorted out in billows of white smoke from fried wires or motor, but not until I had worked the heck out of it all summer. I kept it clean and cared for but my weeds and bamboo sprouts gave it more than the usual workout. *** DONT follow another review "Hint to make it perform better" by modifying the tool by removing shielding, using line size other than recommended, or attaching another style cutting edge. READ & FOLLOW all instructions. Safe use of power tools can prevent injury to you or someone you care for. "McGyver"-ing a potentially dangerous tool can be foolish, and to recommend that to ANYONE ELSE do it is irresponsible. I had my share of problems with my Weed Eater, but for the cost and for what it did accomplish, I can't complain too loud. I only wish they still had them in stock at the store today. (seasons pass) but thank goodness for Site-To-Store. :) Swallowtail

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swall0wtail
Bristol, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great Value
7/29/2008

Customer review by algh

5.0 stars 7/29/2008 by algh
by algh

I had nothing but bad experiences with Black and Decker products and was determined to find something else. Found only $120 to $200 models at Lowe's. Our local Walmart had zip for weedeaters, so I looked online. Figured for $35 it was worth a shot. It was super easy to put together -- no tools required. Don't like the Spanish and French that triples the size of the owner's manual, but that's minor. It performs well. I was worried it wouldn't be strong enough to edge, but it is strong enough to edge in dirt that hasn't been edged in 9 months. I was concerned about the automatic feeder (one part of the B&D models that never worked right), but it seems to do very well so far. Even when it doesn't feed when I want it to, a quick pull loosens it -- no disassembly required. That is probably because I fed in the new line pretty sloppily. The only part I need to work on is that the clamp that holds the cord doesn't hold very well and the cord pulls out every ten minutes or so. Minor issue, easily fixed. Great value for the price and takes care of everything I need. I would definitely recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
algh
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bad design
4/3/2010

Customer review by onawave

1.0 stars 4/3/2010 by onawave
by onawave

This is the worst design for line feeding ever. This isn't a "bump and feed" it's suppose to be an auto feed. They want you to stop running it, then pull the trigger for 5 secs on full. The repeat. Are you kidding me? It took me twice as long to weed eat my lawn with this new design. I called the factory and the tech said "yeah, we are having a lot of problems with that". I took my back to the store, and bought a bump and feed one. Not a good product at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onawave
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Really Good Product
4/9/2009

Customer review by MrBigDog

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by MrBigDog
by MrBigDog

I have only used the trimmer once but I am very pleased with the performance and the price cant be beat.This easily a $100 machine so $40 is a steal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrBigDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good motor but not much else
6/9/2009

Customer review by weedeateruser

3.0 stars 6/9/2009 by weedeateruser
by weedeateruser

Motor felt powerful as soon as I started using the trimmer. However, the wire "guide" didn't last 10 seconds as it kept flying off. I spent quite a bit of time looking for it. I finally ended up super gluing the thing on just to finish the yard. I purchased this equipment because it is American made and the price seemed fair. For the money the trimmer is not bad but as far as weedeater workmanship goes, I am disappointed. It is this lack of workmanship that continually degrades American products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weedeateruser
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent and Tough
5/23/2009

Customer review by CoachB1972

5.0 stars 5/23/2009 by CoachB1972
by CoachB1972

I have major weeds that needs to be done. I have a large, steep hill that has tall grass and weeds and small plants that grow. I have a gas trimmer that I have been using and we bought this one to do around the sidewalk and driveway. The gas one was not starting so I used the Weed Eater. It did fantastic. It ate right through the hillside better than my gas trimmer. I still have to wait and see if it lasts all summer or not, but it has a powerful engine and great cutting radius.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoachB1972
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Buyer Beware
5/4/2008

Customer review by Ammie17

1.0 stars 5/4/2008 by Ammie17
by Ammie17

I purchased this today with high hopes that it would function at least well enough to trim the grass along my fence. Sadly I never got the chance to take it outside. Sure, the assembly would be easy if it worked. I followed the instructions exactly and held up my handy work only to have it fall apart and fold up like it came out of the box. I cannot attest to the power of this unit, but if it doesn't even stay together long enough to use it, it really doesn't matter how strong it is. I would say I overpaid for this product... had it performed any function near to what it was intended. As it is, $35.52 is too much to pay for a door stop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ammie17
Oak Harbor, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Weed Eater #RTE115C
8/13/2008

Customer review by StarmanDJB

5.0 stars 8/13/2008 by StarmanDJB
by StarmanDJB

I was fed up with my gas trimmer. Went online to see what was available. This model caught my eye, however it said out of stock online & out of stock at my local Wal-Mart store. I went to the store anyway to see what was available, and they had one sitting on the shelf, never opened. I grabbed it and within 30 minutes was trimming the yard. EXCELLENT -- NO MORE GAS TRIMMERS FOR ME.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StarmanDJB
Oklahoma City Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good, but started with issues
6/25/2009

Customer review by TazFanatic

4.0 stars 6/25/2009 by TazFanatic
by TazFanatic

The product get an overall good to excellent rating. My complaint isn't so much the usage, but how it came. The line was not wound correctly and the nut to hold the line was not installed right either. From the start I had some hassle correcting both, but once I got to use it right (without having the line coming out more and more) it worked for what I need it for. I have a fenced yard and just needed something to do a little trimming around my tree's and the fence. Easy assembly (If done right from the factory) and the features are good. I don't think I would recommend for heavy duty use, but for the average person doing yard work, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TazFanatic
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
doesn't deliver
7/8/2008

Customer review by 2much2ask4

2.0 stars 7/8/2008 by 2much2ask4
by 2much2ask4

I purchased this item not expecting too much as, it was less than 40.00. Unfortunately I was quite disappointed. Runs out of string quickly at which time I chose to replace the spool instead of feeding string onto the existing spool. I have heard that the pre-loaded spools work better than spooling it yourself. This task was impossible. There is no way to get the spool off. I got about 1 hours total use of the unit. String breaks easily, but I have pretty thick weeds. It is ok for light grass trimming and edging and that is about it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2much2ask4
Idaho Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
May be low in price, but works Great!
9/16/2009

Customer review by Bluesky68

5.0 stars 9/16/2009 by Bluesky68
by Bluesky68

The term "You get what You pay for" is not always a true statement. Times are tough on everyone and You can't always pay top dollar for things. This is my 2nd buy w/ this product. It handles tough, high grass and works w/ a~lot of power. I would say when You finally run out of string get what is required for this type of weed/trimmer. I'm glad they haven't hired the price in the three years it took for me to have to buy a new one. "Good job" on making a product that withstands the abuse I put it through! Excellent!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bluesky68
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A chunk of plastic
8/22/2009

Customer review by Sapperdad

1.0 stars 8/22/2009 by Sapperdad
by Sapperdad

I used this product a grand total of 3 times. The clips to hold the string shield broke, after it began making a quite neighbor-aggrivating noise. The shaft would constantly rotate back and forth causing the head to tilt and gouge the lawn. The wire edger shield fell off twice. The only time it worked properly and w/o making an obscene amount of noise was in the edging position. Forget going "green" w/ this item. Until they come out with tougher and more effective products, I'll stick to gas operated.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sapperdad
Florence, ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Weed Eaters are classic
9/1/2009

Customer review by Coolray

4.0 stars 9/1/2009 by Coolray
by Coolray

I've had 3 edge trimmers, the reason I went back to Weed Eater is because it is the classic. The others were OK, but the Weed Eater has a better line feed system. To me that was the selling point. Most of the them are good at trimming but, the thing I hate most is having to feed the line out manually because the system failed some how. This new Weed Eater makes it so easy and fast. As long as you have line in it, it will keep putting it out there to cut that grass. Keep up the good work Weed Eater.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coolray
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Look for something else
3/28/2009

Customer review by dcblohm

1.0 stars 3/28/2009 by dcblohm
by dcblohm

This thing is a peice of JUNK. It's wobbles, the line doesn't come out (I had to pull on it, for it to come out). It's louder than a gas trimmer (because the plastic wobbles). I have to make multiple passes (because the line is cheap, and breaks). I think I need to go back to a gas trimmer. Lets just say, I expect my pants to have grass debris on them when I go out to use it.... my pants are clean, because it doesn't work. I'll be returning it for something better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dcblohm
Rocklin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Take it light and easy!
9/19/2008

Customer review by iluvdolphins

5.0 stars 9/19/2008 by iluvdolphins
by iluvdolphins

I found gas powered weed eaters to be just to much of a hassle. The weight, mixing the gas and oil, the smell... etc. was getting old fast. Plus pulling to start was no fun either. Being a female I needed an alternative. I found this weed eater brand electric trimmer to be very light and easy to use, no hassles! It was easy to assemble too. I highly suggest this product for those looking for a better way to keep your yard trimmed and looking great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iluvdolphins
Milledgeville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews