Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 54 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Hint to make this perform better
4/14/2008

Customer review by BusyWorkerBee

4.0 stars 4/14/2008 by BusyWorkerBee
by BusyWorkerBee

The stock .065 line is okay, but doesn't have the cutting power I need. When I was out of my original line, I purchased the .080 line. The cutting performance was much better and was perfect for cutting the thick ivy that I have to deal with in my yard. For under $40 the weed trimmer is well worth the money. However, the line does run out in about an hour's worth of work when working with thick brush. The manual says to stick with .065 line, but I've been using the thicker line for over a year now and have not had any problems. The only downfall to this weed trimmer is that the black protective dome is shaking loose now, but it can be attributed to the wear-and-tear and weekly abuse I put this through. I'd like to do away with the dome completely and "McGyver" a rod only to serve as the arm to cut the line when spinning too far from the spool. Overall, great deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (57) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyWorkerBee
My Yard, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Exceptional product for a great price!
4/6/2008

Customer review by Bigw8600

5.0 stars 4/6/2008 by Bigw8600
by Bigw8600

I recently purchased this item as a replacement for my gas trimmer. I normally purchase my lawn and garden items from another name brand retailer, but this product had the same features and options, but at a cheaper price. The assembly time was less than 10 minutes and I was very pleased that it was very effective and user friendly. I look forward to purchasing more lawn and garden products at my local Wal-Mart. This was a wise investment!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigw8600
Mobile, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
weedeater electric trimmer
7/12/2009

Customer review by Vet4Katy

3.0 stars 7/12/2009 by Vet4Katy
by Vet4Katy

This product is great for the first 4-6 months. After that, it starts going downhill. Every year I have to buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vet4Katy
Katy,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Broke In Less than 2 Weeks
9/19/2009

Customer review by AustinLawnCare

3.0 stars 9/19/2009 by AustinLawnCare
by AustinLawnCare

I picked this up from my local Walmart using the Site-to-Store option on 9/6/09. I just returned from the store (9/19/09) after returning the unit. Less than 2 uses in less than 2 weeks - very disappointing. Inexplicably, the unit stopped functioning while I was about 3/4 of way through trimming my yard. This was the second time that I used it. I verified that the electric socket I was using was working (tested with a lamp) and tested the extension cord (again using the lamp and socket). The unit would simply not turn on when I pulled the trigger. I did notice that one of the plastic brackets in the plastic guard had broken off and it appeared to have happened recently as the plastic surface formerly covered by the bracket was still very clean relative to the rest of the plastic which was coated with fine grass shavings. I am going to reorder the product because it is very inexpensive ($38) and quite powerful. I am hoping that the broken bracket was just a fluke. I will be looking more closely at the new unit to see if there is a sensor in that bracket insert that can detect if the bracket is missing. If in fact, there is a sensor that detects the bracket then this would be a good safety feature to protect injury if the guard was removed. I'll follow up later when I get the next unit. Kudos to Walmart for offer some nice features for its reviews (photos, video, etc.).

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AustinLawnCare
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Really Good Product
4/9/2009

Customer review by MrBigDog

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by MrBigDog
by MrBigDog

I have only used the trimmer once but I am very pleased with the performance and the price cant be beat.This easily a $100 machine so $40 is a steal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrBigDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad design
4/3/2010

Customer review by onawave

1.0 stars 4/3/2010 by onawave
by onawave

This is the worst design for line feeding ever. This isn't a "bump and feed" it's suppose to be an auto feed. They want you to stop running it, then pull the trigger for 5 secs on full. The repeat. Are you kidding me? It took me twice as long to weed eat my lawn with this new design. I called the factory and the tech said "yeah, we are having a lot of problems with that". I took my back to the store, and bought a bump and feed one. Not a good product at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onawave
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Weed Eater #RTE115C
8/13/2008

Customer review by StarmanDJB

5.0 stars 8/13/2008 by StarmanDJB
by StarmanDJB

I was fed up with my gas trimmer. Went online to see what was available. This model caught my eye, however it said out of stock online & out of stock at my local Wal-Mart store. I went to the store anyway to see what was available, and they had one sitting on the shelf, never opened. I grabbed it and within 30 minutes was trimming the yard. EXCELLENT -- NO MORE GAS TRIMMERS FOR ME.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StarmanDJB
Oklahoma City Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent and Tough
5/23/2009

Customer review by CoachB1972

5.0 stars 5/23/2009 by CoachB1972
by CoachB1972

I have major weeds that needs to be done. I have a large, steep hill that has tall grass and weeds and small plants that grow. I have a gas trimmer that I have been using and we bought this one to do around the sidewalk and driveway. The gas one was not starting so I used the Weed Eater. It did fantastic. It ate right through the hillside better than my gas trimmer. I still have to wait and see if it lasts all summer or not, but it has a powerful engine and great cutting radius.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoachB1972
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good motor but not much else
6/9/2009

Customer review by weedeateruser

3.0 stars 6/9/2009 by weedeateruser
by weedeateruser

Motor felt powerful as soon as I started using the trimmer. However, the wire "guide" didn't last 10 seconds as it kept flying off. I spent quite a bit of time looking for it. I finally ended up super gluing the thing on just to finish the yard. I purchased this equipment because it is American made and the price seemed fair. For the money the trimmer is not bad but as far as weedeater workmanship goes, I am disappointed. It is this lack of workmanship that continually degrades American products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weedeateruser
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Weed Trimmer
5/27/2010

Customer review by jmedi

5.0 stars 5/27/2010 by jmedi
by jmedi

It's my first time owning a hose and using this equipment. I has worked well the few times that I have used it. I don't know much about these thinks but I'm sure there are other higher quality ones out there. This one did it's job very easy. Exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmedi
Mecca, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top 500 contributor
Shipping takes very long
9/8/2009

Customer review by oops39

1.0 stars 9/8/2009 by oops39
by oops39

I've been waiting for 4 weeks. The item is still on the way. The shipping is taking so long. I am thinking about to return it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oops39
Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Buyer Beware
5/4/2008

Customer review by Ammie17

1.0 stars 5/4/2008 by Ammie17
by Ammie17

I purchased this today with high hopes that it would function at least well enough to trim the grass along my fence. Sadly I never got the chance to take it outside. Sure, the assembly would be easy if it worked. I followed the instructions exactly and held up my handy work only to have it fall apart and fold up like it came out of the box. I cannot attest to the power of this unit, but if it doesn't even stay together long enough to use it, it really doesn't matter how strong it is. I would say I overpaid for this product... had it performed any function near to what it was intended. As it is, $35.52 is too much to pay for a door stop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ammie17
Oak Harbor, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
weed eater
8/8/2009

Customer review by iloveshopping08

5.0 stars 8/8/2009 by iloveshopping08
by iloveshopping08

opened box, popped it together, plugged it in and started cutting, very easy to use, great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iloveshopping08
new boston, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
easy to use
4/27/2009

Customer review by UKGal

5.0 stars 4/27/2009 by UKGal
by UKGal

Bought this trimmer just this morning. Assembly was easy and I had it together in less than 10 mins. It is powerful for trimming the edges of my lawn which is what I purchased it for. Also as I'm only 5.2" it had to be easy and light enough for me to handle around my large lawn, which it is. I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UKGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Best Weedeater for Dummies!
6/23/2008

Customer review by memekat

5.0 stars 6/23/2008 by memekat
by memekat

I bought this weedeater on Saturday. I was afraid of what I was getting for $35, but it was cheaper than others. I just needed to trim around my home. It was very easy to assemble and operate, even if your a beginner like me. I still need practice but it was powerful and lightweight. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
memekat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Real Nice Trimmer
10/26/2009

Customer review by WillyVee

5.0 stars 10/26/2009 by WillyVee
by WillyVee

Very prompt delivery. Assembled in just a few minutes. Simply ran a power cord out the window of my mobile home to trim all those nasty weeds that were accumulating. The place looks 100% better thanks to this low cost and maintenance free electric trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WillyVee
Troy,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
10/26/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/26/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Very good product for the money. Met all my expectations and would recommend to others to purchase the same. Shipped to store fast.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/3/2009

Customer review by laughinbrowneyes

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by laughinbrowneyes
by laughinbrowneyes

I really like this weedeater. It took about 10 minutes to assemble. I used it immediately afterwards and I was pleased with the performance. I hadn't weedeated in a few weeks, so I had some serious weedeating to do. It handled the job. The motor has good power. For the price, I feel like l got my moneys worth. It was easy to handle and lightweight. I'm very pleased with this weedeater.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laughinbrowneyes
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best weedeater I've used
7/9/2009

Customer review by Momda

5.0 stars 7/9/2009 by Momda
by Momda

This is the lowest priced weedeater I've ever owned and it outdoes all the others! It's light weight, easy to handle and does a super job. I would recommend this to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momda
Caldwell, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use Weedeater
7/6/2009

Customer review by ptac49

5.0 stars 7/6/2009 by ptac49
by ptac49

I liked that this WeedEater/Electric Trimmer was very easy to assembly. I was able to remove very long weeds and grass with ease. The added feature on the front of the trimmer made it easy for me to complete my yard work with an expert edging as well. I recommend product for the lawn care do-it-yourselfers. Great product for great price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ptac49
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews