Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 55 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
cheap plastic
3/18/2008

Customer review by ffemt

4.0 stars 3/18/2008 by ffemt
by ffemt

About what you would expect for the cheapest in the line of a name brand, but doesnt deserve it. Machine is mechanicly sound after a year of weekly use. The biggest problem with this product is the horribly cheap and weak plastic used for the handle and trigger. The handle is very flexable and makes controlling the trimmer real difficult. The trigger broke after few weeks of light duty work. Also the ability to turn shaft around for edging is practically useless with the flimsy handle. Wound be a good buy for light duty work on flat ground but not well suited for work with more than 10 min worth of trimming.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ffemt
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cannot start
5/26/2010

Customer review by weekendwarrior88

1.0 stars 5/26/2010 by weekendwarrior88
by weekendwarrior88

This machine cannot keep running at idle speed. I tried to adjust the carburetor according to the manual but to no avail after a dozen times. It starts at half choke after several pulls (too many pulls), but once I put it on the running gear and release the trigger after 30 seconds, it will die. It does not seem to matter how long I warmed it up before releasing the trigger. I had the same kind of weedeater for 12 years and it worked great until it died a few weeks ago. It was light and versatile and started very easily. The new version is definitely a big step backward. It has a flimsy handle and of course it does not work. I read reviews here that some customers have had the same problems of starting the machine and I thought I should give it a try. But I am very disappointed. Besides it takes too long to get it from the website (2 weeks). It is strange that there are no other brands for this type of Trim N Edge. It seems to be such an obvious idea. And interestingly it cannot be bought (usually) in Walmart stores.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weekendwarrior88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
9/28/2009

Customer review by tresmonos

5.0 stars 9/28/2009 by tresmonos
by tresmonos

My father purchased an earlier version of this trimmer back in 1998 from walmart. It still operates today with minimal maintenance (fuel line and 1 carb part replaced later). So when I finally purchased my own home, of course I looked high and low for the same trimmer. Found it here online - thank you Walmart :-) It arrived last week and fired up after priming. Upon 2nd start it would not as the carb is definitely restricting it. So I purchased poulan part # 530035560 online and adjusted the carb. Works perfectly. My advice to everyone who has taken this back: don't give up on a great product. Either find a local shop to adjust your carb or buy a 15 dollar (after shipping) tool and do it yourself. As for the quality of the plastic: I noticed the handle is a little flimsy, but nothing to be worried about. The only thing I'm disappointed in is the gravity fed carb that has since been implemented to meet EPA standards. That and the new line spool (which can be easily replaced). Otherwise, this trimmer is perfect. As of this posting, it is assembled in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tresmonos
Clemson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Convenient Weedeater/Edger
9/11/2009

Customer review by Everythingbutautomotive

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by Everythingbutautomotive
by Everythingbutautomotive

This product is so convenient to use. Without having to bother with multiple tools or equipment, you can easily edge and trim your entire yard. The price is exceptional as well, below $100. This is the second one that I've owned, and wouldn't trade it for any of the more expensive products out there.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Everythingbutautomotive
Bossier City, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
good product
7/22/2009

Customer review by Crimsonjeffrey

4.0 stars 7/22/2009 by Crimsonjeffrey
by Crimsonjeffrey

I bought a Weed eater trimmer/edger 6-7 years ago at Walmart. When it was time to buy another one, there were none to be found in the stores. I found this one on line and although it isn't EXACTLY like the one I had it is very very close. It works great and I am glad I bought it. I would reccommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crimsonjeffrey
Hoover, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
First time user
9/8/2009

Customer review by leaveittobeaver

3.0 stars 9/8/2009 by leaveittobeaver
by leaveittobeaver

This was my first gas weedeater, I am still learing how to use the trimmer. The owners manual was very helpful, especially with the starting process. I had no problems with the weedeater stopping after long periods of use. Word of advice wear earplugs, I was concerned with the weight, but its about average. It gets heavy after a while. Self feeds, which is nice, I didn't have a problem with the string getting caught in the spool or coming unwrapped.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leaveittobeaver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Junk
4/14/2008

Customer review by jeepthumpin

1.0 stars 4/14/2008 by jeepthumpin
by jeepthumpin

I bought this weedeater Monday,used it for maybe 30 min.It was doing great. did some other yard work and that evening tried to use it to finish my yard.Could not keep it running. So i couldnt finish my yard.Took it back next day.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeepthumpin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Perfect
7/2/2009

Customer review by envisionland

5.0 stars 7/2/2009 by envisionland
by envisionland

This is the 3rd one of these AWESOME trimmers I've purchased. I own a landscape business and use these 6 days a week. I'm sure they are not intended for heavy use, BUT, we love them. And they get a lot of use. We are starting and stopping all day long and never have a start problem. The line is really easy to rewind. For the price you can not go wrong. Everyone should own one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
envisionland
St. George, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent VALUE
10/31/2010

Customer review by TPSchutte

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by TPSchutte
by TPSchutte

This is a an EXCELLENT product. Easty to start, easy to convert to an Edger, and light weight so it does not kill my back to do my yard. I looked at units costing twice as much, however I am positive they could not have done the function any better or easier than this unit does. This is the third WeedEater brand unit that we have had, they all last a long time. When we have problems to get them repaired would be as much as a new one so we get a new one every 5 or so years. If I was good mechanically and could fix small engines myself we would still be on the first one. Since I cannot fix the engine myself, and they want $70 just to look at it in a shop, I choose to buy a new one for $90.00 when the engine stops. However everything else is still working fine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TPSchutte
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A BIG LET DOWN!!
9/21/2009

Customer review by JKP

1.0 stars 9/21/2009 by JKP
by JKP

This is the worst experience I have ever had with a WeedEater product. The trimmer will not stay running even after warm up. I have tried to make the adjustments per the limited manual that comes with the trimmer to no avail. Very cheaply made compared to the price tag. I should have heeded the concerns of other reviewers, but decided to give it a try. Worst decision I have made in awhile. After I finish writing this review the trimmer will promptly be returned to the local WalMart. I don't even think this product deserves one star. Save yourself the time and headache, spend a little extra and buy a good one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKP
Troy, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
You Get What You Pay For
8/25/2009

Customer review by FrankieXJS

4.0 stars 8/25/2009 by FrankieXJS
by FrankieXJS

This is my second trimmer from Poulan. The first lasted about 3 years and worked fine-started easily and did a good job. Replacing the line spool is not too expensive and easy. The new one seems to work the same although it is a little harder to start. For small-to medium jobs this trimmer should work fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrankieXJS
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Product!
7/22/2008

Customer review by MrSuburbanite

4.0 stars 7/22/2008 by MrSuburbanite
by MrSuburbanite

I have to say, I was wary about a gas-powered trimmer, as I've never had much luck with them, but needed something with a bit more power than electric provides. This trimmer delivered! The pull-starter uses less force, so you don't have to pull your shoulder out of socket with repeated, all-you-can-do rips with the cord. Matter of fact, it works BETTER if you use less force. First couple times i started this baby, I used too much and the cord skipped the gears and did nothing. Starts EVERY time with MINIMAL fuss. Prime, choke, run...amazing. The EDGER feature's pretty cool too! I"ve read reviews where it's flimsy, because of the plastic, but i have to say, i think it's sturdy enough to do edging and trimming...and I've done BOTH of those with this one product every week for two seasons now (i happen to live where we get snow a few months outta the year.) Easy to use, multi-tasker, good power, AND it's got some cool attachments (sold separately) for some of the tougher jobs (I bought some nylon blades that make quick work of thick weeds and even small brush). GREAT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrSuburbanite
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
piece of junk
4/3/2010

Customer review by thms1975

1.0 stars 4/3/2010 by thms1975
by thms1975

i bought this after my echo die after 17yrs dont waste your time cheap poulan piece of junk there chainsaw are good think going buying another echo you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thms1975
new ipswich, nh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great unit
2/18/2009

Customer review by billybob2241

5.0 stars 2/18/2009 by billybob2241
by billybob2241

I take care of about 13 yards and have had 3 of these twist and edge units and I love them--nothing else can edge a walk as well as this one--also, I like the "continual feed" feature of the string--no "bumping"--it takes a little time to get comfortable with it as it is different from most of the others on the market. Billybob

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billybob2241
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Weed Eater
4/1/2011

Customer review by luvtheyard

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by luvtheyard
by luvtheyard

This is best buy for the money as far as performance and reliability goes. You can be trimming and edging in the same pass without having to swapp equipment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvtheyard
Houma,La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
seamed great untill I used it.
7/26/2009

Customer review by WWPOKER

3.0 stars 7/26/2009 by WWPOKER
by WWPOKER

I thought that the auto feed was going tobe awesome! I thought it was going to save a ton of time...WRONG! It takes twice as long to do my LAWN. It you run into something hard that it will not trim like a small post or tree. it will continue to feed until it wrapped around it head or completely feed out.. then it takes for ever to feed it all back in .. then ten minutes you have to do it again. ... The engine is not as isolated as i would like. It seams to wear out my heads more then i would think for its price. It dose start very easy and i like the edging feature.. spend the same amount and get the one you bang on the ground.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WWPOKER
whitewater, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Trimmer
8/12/2009

Customer review by Ehrhardt

1.0 stars 8/12/2009 by Ehrhardt
by Ehrhardt

delivery of the trimmer was slow. When I received the trimmer it would not start.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ehrhardt
Ehrhardt, sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
WAM's Review
10/10/2008

Customer review by KingRat1

5.0 stars 10/10/2008 by KingRat1
by KingRat1

This product is an excellent one in that it has a Poulan/WeedEater engine. The engine runs fine and starts easily. No problems noted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KingRat1
Greenville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
love it!!!
9/5/2008

Customer review by homershoney

5.0 stars 9/5/2008 by homershoney
by homershoney

excellent product. just bought 2nd one. last one lasted 4 years. easy to use. sometimes a little hard to flip from weedeater to edger, but well worth the trouble. make sure you use the right mix of gas and oil or it will smoke. i keep a seperate gas can already mixed for this product. would definately recommend to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homershoney
spring, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to edge and trim with twist n edge feature
5/12/2009

Customer review by BHS1954

5.0 stars 5/12/2009 by BHS1954
by BHS1954

Third exact model I owned. Had a hard time finding this twist n' edge feature. Hope Weedeater never discontinues this model. Thanks Walmart for making this unit available.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BHS1954
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews