Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

61 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 55 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Cannot start
5/26/2010

Customer review by weekendwarrior88

1.0 stars 5/26/2010 by weekendwarrior88
by weekendwarrior88

This machine cannot keep running at idle speed. I tried to adjust the carburetor according to the manual but to no avail after a dozen times. It starts at half choke after several pulls (too many pulls), but once I put it on the running gear and release the trigger after 30 seconds, it will die. It does not seem to matter how long I warmed it up before releasing the trigger. I had the same kind of weedeater for 12 years and it worked great until it died a few weeks ago. It was light and versatile and started very easily. The new version is definitely a big step backward. It has a flimsy handle and of course it does not work. I read reviews here that some customers have had the same problems of starting the machine and I thought I should give it a try. But I am very disappointed. Besides it takes too long to get it from the website (2 weeks). It is strange that there are no other brands for this type of Trim N Edge. It seems to be such an obvious idea. And interestingly it cannot be bought (usually) in Walmart stores.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weekendwarrior88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
9/28/2009

Customer review by tresmonos

5.0 stars 9/28/2009 by tresmonos
by tresmonos

My father purchased an earlier version of this trimmer back in 1998 from walmart. It still operates today with minimal maintenance (fuel line and 1 carb part replaced later). So when I finally purchased my own home, of course I looked high and low for the same trimmer. Found it here online - thank you Walmart :-) It arrived last week and fired up after priming. Upon 2nd start it would not as the carb is definitely restricting it. So I purchased poulan part # 530035560 online and adjusted the carb. Works perfectly. My advice to everyone who has taken this back: don't give up on a great product. Either find a local shop to adjust your carb or buy a 15 dollar (after shipping) tool and do it yourself. As for the quality of the plastic: I noticed the handle is a little flimsy, but nothing to be worried about. The only thing I'm disappointed in is the gravity fed carb that has since been implemented to meet EPA standards. That and the new line spool (which can be easily replaced). Otherwise, this trimmer is perfect. As of this posting, it is assembled in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tresmonos
Clemson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
cheap plastic
3/18/2008

Customer review by ffemt

4.0 stars 3/18/2008 by ffemt
by ffemt

About what you would expect for the cheapest in the line of a name brand, but doesnt deserve it. Machine is mechanicly sound after a year of weekly use. The biggest problem with this product is the horribly cheap and weak plastic used for the handle and trigger. The handle is very flexable and makes controlling the trimmer real difficult. The trigger broke after few weeks of light duty work. Also the ability to turn shaft around for edging is practically useless with the flimsy handle. Wound be a good buy for light duty work on flat ground but not well suited for work with more than 10 min worth of trimming.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ffemt
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product!
7/22/2008

Customer review by MrSuburbanite

4.0 stars 7/22/2008 by MrSuburbanite
by MrSuburbanite

I have to say, I was wary about a gas-powered trimmer, as I've never had much luck with them, but needed something with a bit more power than electric provides. This trimmer delivered! The pull-starter uses less force, so you don't have to pull your shoulder out of socket with repeated, all-you-can-do rips with the cord. Matter of fact, it works BETTER if you use less force. First couple times i started this baby, I used too much and the cord skipped the gears and did nothing. Starts EVERY time with MINIMAL fuss. Prime, choke, run...amazing. The EDGER feature's pretty cool too! I"ve read reviews where it's flimsy, because of the plastic, but i have to say, i think it's sturdy enough to do edging and trimming...and I've done BOTH of those with this one product every week for two seasons now (i happen to live where we get snow a few months outta the year.) Easy to use, multi-tasker, good power, AND it's got some cool attachments (sold separately) for some of the tougher jobs (I bought some nylon blades that make quick work of thick weeds and even small brush). GREAT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrSuburbanite
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent VALUE
10/31/2010

Customer review by TPSchutte

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by TPSchutte
by TPSchutte

This is a an EXCELLENT product. Easty to start, easy to convert to an Edger, and light weight so it does not kill my back to do my yard. I looked at units costing twice as much, however I am positive they could not have done the function any better or easier than this unit does. This is the third WeedEater brand unit that we have had, they all last a long time. When we have problems to get them repaired would be as much as a new one so we get a new one every 5 or so years. If I was good mechanically and could fix small engines myself we would still be on the first one. Since I cannot fix the engine myself, and they want $70 just to look at it in a shop, I choose to buy a new one for $90.00 when the engine stops. However everything else is still working fine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TPSchutte
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good product
7/22/2009

Customer review by Crimsonjeffrey

4.0 stars 7/22/2009 by Crimsonjeffrey
by Crimsonjeffrey

I bought a Weed eater trimmer/edger 6-7 years ago at Walmart. When it was time to buy another one, there were none to be found in the stores. I found this one on line and although it isn't EXACTLY like the one I had it is very very close. It works great and I am glad I bought it. I would reccommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crimsonjeffrey
Hoover, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Convenient Weedeater/Edger
9/11/2009

Customer review by Everythingbutautomotive

5.0 stars 9/11/2009 by Everythingbutautomotive
by Everythingbutautomotive

This product is so convenient to use. Without having to bother with multiple tools or equipment, you can easily edge and trim your entire yard. The price is exceptional as well, below $100. This is the second one that I've owned, and wouldn't trade it for any of the more expensive products out there.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Everythingbutautomotive
Bossier City, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
First time user
9/8/2009

Customer review by leaveittobeaver

3.0 stars 9/8/2009 by leaveittobeaver
by leaveittobeaver

This was my first gas weedeater, I am still learing how to use the trimmer. The owners manual was very helpful, especially with the starting process. I had no problems with the weedeater stopping after long periods of use. Word of advice wear earplugs, I was concerned with the weight, but its about average. It gets heavy after a while. Self feeds, which is nice, I didn't have a problem with the string getting caught in the spool or coming unwrapped.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leaveittobeaver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A BIG LET DOWN!!
9/21/2009

Customer review by JKP

1.0 stars 9/21/2009 by JKP
by JKP

This is the worst experience I have ever had with a WeedEater product. The trimmer will not stay running even after warm up. I have tried to make the adjustments per the limited manual that comes with the trimmer to no avail. Very cheaply made compared to the price tag. I should have heeded the concerns of other reviewers, but decided to give it a try. Worst decision I have made in awhile. After I finish writing this review the trimmer will promptly be returned to the local WalMart. I don't even think this product deserves one star. Save yourself the time and headache, spend a little extra and buy a good one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JKP
Troy, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Junk
4/14/2008

Customer review by jeepthumpin

1.0 stars 4/14/2008 by jeepthumpin
by jeepthumpin

I bought this weedeater Monday,used it for maybe 30 min.It was doing great. did some other yard work and that evening tried to use it to finish my yard.Could not keep it running. So i couldnt finish my yard.Took it back next day.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeepthumpin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good Buy
7/18/2010

Customer review by gfreely

4.0 stars 7/18/2010 by gfreely
by gfreely

This trimmer ran as well as could be expected. I cut and edged for several years on a 1 acre property and just now have had my first problems. The line auto advances too much, so I went and bought a Rino-Tuf permanent trimmer head....which said it fits 99% of Weed-Eater products. I think the TE475Y is one of the 1%. But I made it work. Now, I am having problems keeping it running once it starts. I opened it up and the fuel and vent lines were broken off of the ends and the filter was dancing around in the bottom of the tank. This costs $5-$10 to fix and I am looking for the new lines now. Just FYI - this problem probably would have been avoided if I would have followed the Mfr instructions and emptied the gas tank for the winter storage instead of leaving gas in it. So, my fault. Other than that (and the line issues) this has been a beast of burden in my lawn care arsenal!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gfreely
Magnolia, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect
7/2/2009

Customer review by envisionland

5.0 stars 7/2/2009 by envisionland
by envisionland

This is the 3rd one of these AWESOME trimmers I've purchased. I own a landscape business and use these 6 days a week. I'm sure they are not intended for heavy use, BUT, we love them. And they get a lot of use. We are starting and stopping all day long and never have a start problem. The line is really easy to rewind. For the price you can not go wrong. Everyone should own one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
envisionland
St. George, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You Get What You Pay For
8/25/2009

Customer review by FrankieXJS

4.0 stars 8/25/2009 by FrankieXJS
by FrankieXJS

This is my second trimmer from Poulan. The first lasted about 3 years and worked fine-started easily and did a good job. Replacing the line spool is not too expensive and easy. The new one seems to work the same although it is a little harder to start. For small-to medium jobs this trimmer should work fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankieXJS
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Stalls when excellerating from normal idle
7/29/2010

Customer review by LoveGreatYards

2.0 stars 7/29/2010 by LoveGreatYards
by LoveGreatYards

I purchased one of these many years ago when they were sold in-store at Wal-mart. After I received this new one from on-line I took it out of the box and it started with very little effort. However, after I moved the lever to the "Run" position and I squeezed the trigger the engine stalled. This happened repeatedly so I took it to the local Wal-mart and the technician worked with it and had the same problem. The way he alleviated the stalling was to increase the idle so high that it was almost running at full speed even at idle. This simply may have been one bad one out of the bunch. I love the versatility of instantly having two tools in one and this type of trimmer/edger combination is hard to find so I will probably order one more to see if it happens again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveGreatYards
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointing start
6/6/2009

Customer review by luv2run26

2.0 stars 6/6/2009 by luv2run26
by luv2run26

I ordered this particular product based on the features it had for the price. I had previously owned a very similar model. When it arrived, we planned an all-day "get the yard in shape for summer" day. However, it WOULD NOT start. We tried for a couple of hours, pulling the cord countless times. It evidently needed a slight carburetor adjustment. This seems a frequent enough problem that one would think this adjustment would be made at the factory. Then our "authorized dealer" in our town refused to do the adjustment for us, saying that we should just send it back. Luckily, we have a friend who was able to do the adjustment for us. Once the trimmer was working, we were pleased with it. We just got off to a rough start (no pun intended) with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luv2run26
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/19/2010

Customer review by mmbrown386

4.0 stars 4/19/2010 by mmbrown386
by mmbrown386

I like a gas trimmer/edger combo without attachments - which you can't hardly find anymore. My husband personally likes the Echo brand, but I find it too heavy and the straight shaft too long for my use. When I mow, I use this one. It's much lighter and easier to manuever. I like the ability to trim around flower beds and immediately go to edging around sidewalks. I use it at least once a week during the spring/summer months and it holds up pretty well considering adding gas mix and installing new line is my only maintenance. I usually purchase a new one every 3 - 4 years. This trimmer used to be available in my Walmart store but now it's only online. I hope it's not discontinued.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmbrown386
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
seamed great untill I used it.
7/26/2009

Customer review by WWPOKER

3.0 stars 7/26/2009 by WWPOKER
by WWPOKER

I thought that the auto feed was going tobe awesome! I thought it was going to save a ton of time...WRONG! It takes twice as long to do my LAWN. It you run into something hard that it will not trim like a small post or tree. it will continue to feed until it wrapped around it head or completely feed out.. then it takes for ever to feed it all back in .. then ten minutes you have to do it again. ... The engine is not as isolated as i would like. It seams to wear out my heads more then i would think for its price. It dose start very easy and i like the edging feature.. spend the same amount and get the one you bang on the ground.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WWPOKER
whitewater, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best money I ever spent
6/20/2012

Customer review by Viper27533

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by Viper27533
by Viper27533

Bought item about 8 to 10 years ago. Has been been used very heavy for at least 6 years. Outstanding for trimming and edging that you can change on the fly without leaving your position. Have had repairs done before but, it comes back like a champ. Have replaced trim guard twice and just order some more. This product has outlived 2 new weedeaters and about 4 second hand (several different brands used). Very pleased with this product. Slightly heavy now since my health is failing but it gets the job. Would love to see it ilighter in wieght with double line feed, straight shaft, with trim guard.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Viper27533
Goldsboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
piece of junk
4/3/2010

Customer review by thms1975

1.0 stars 4/3/2010 by thms1975
by thms1975

i bought this after my echo die after 17yrs dont waste your time cheap poulan piece of junk there chainsaw are good think going buying another echo you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thms1975
new ipswich, nh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I'll Never Know
6/19/2009

Customer review by Umsteader

1.0 stars 6/19/2009 by Umsteader
by Umsteader

Although I carefully followed the instructions, I was unsuccessful in starting and keeping my new Weed Eater Trimmer running. After two days of trying, I gave up and returned my purchase to Walmart for a refund. I will never know whether this trimmer performed well or not. My old and even less expensive Weed Eater trimmer started well for more than a decade. Product reviews have led me to believe that currently there are no decent trimmers on the market for less than $300, and I can't afford that price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Umsteader
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews