Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

25 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

25 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
10
1-20 of 24 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Hard to start
1/7/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/7/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Don't buy this mower unless you are a mechanic and can get it started each time. As a woman this mower has been a nightmare for me. It just doesn't want to start most of the time. I have used it for less than 10 hours and now it just doesn't start at all. What a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A great lawnmower after you do 2 things!
10/19/2009

Customer review by Postal2009A

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by Postal2009A
by Postal2009A

I purchased this lawnmower almost 3 months ago and had trouble in the beginning which I quickly fixed. Do 2 things and the lawn mower will work and start instantly. 1- Replace the spark plug supplied with the lawn mower with a new one--Champion RN74C Stock # 323 and it will start with one pull. The spark plug that comes with the mower is the wrong size--too short! Replace it. 2- Un-bend the little choke lever so that you can move it back-and-forth and you will then be able to adjust the choke for easy starts. The lever was prebent to prevent it from beaking during shipment to the Walmart stores. Now I love the mower--it cuts well, uses one fifth the gas my other mowers did use. Follow what I suggest and you will also love the wower--a very good deal!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Postal2009A
North Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
this is a bad mower
5/24/2009

Customer review by KrisFromJersey

1.0 stars 5/24/2009 by KrisFromJersey
by KrisFromJersey

After looking at a bunch of mowers at walmart store, I decided to go with this one. It looked like a decent mower for the price. I got it home, I put it together. Got it all set up. I used it, no lie less than 10 times. Now it starts for 5 seconds and dies. This is a bad mower. Do not buy this mower unless you can fix it!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KrisFromJersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what I hoped for
7/18/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/18/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this mower in March of 08 and I had trouble getting it started from day one. I would have to try to start it about 5 times or so and then wait about an hour, come back out about an hour later and do exactly what I did before, and then it would finally start. This year I got it to work three times on the first try and thought, "well, I was just an idiot" but now it won't start at all. Cleaned out everything, changed the gas, drained the oil, still won't start. Definitely will buy a different brand this time. I suppose that you get what you pay for, but I was hoping it would at least make it through more than 20 mowings.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
You get what you pay for
5/23/2009

Customer review by hallmark2

2.0 stars 5/23/2009 by hallmark2
by hallmark2

The mower has a small red "primer" button - it says right on the mower to push it three times and then start the mower. It never really worked - most of the time I had to push it six times in order to start the mower, the mower would run a few seconds, then stop. I'd have to repeat this process 3 to 4 times before the mower would keep running. Finally - the red button deteriorated and when I pushed it this week gasoline squirted out all over me. But it lasted about two years before this part failed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hallmark2
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Junk
7/21/2009

Customer review by PJB243

1.0 stars 7/21/2009 by PJB243
by PJB243

Used about 6 times. Hit small rock. Shaft bent! Had many lawnmowers thought the years replaced sheer pin then went on This mower is junk! Threw away no fixing

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PJB243
Would recommend to a friend? No
This mower is a piece of junk!
8/22/2009

Customer review by TimInKs

1.0 stars 8/22/2009 by TimInKs
by TimInKs

DO NOT buy this mower! It is a piece of junk. I used mine twice and now the shaft is bent and it won't start. I didn't hit anything that would cause a normal mower shaft to bend. This mower has a very poor and very weak Briggs & Stratton motor. You will be throwing your money away if you buy this mower!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TimInKs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not cool
4/17/2009

Customer review by SouthernBabyBoomer

1.0 stars 4/17/2009 by SouthernBabyBoomer
by SouthernBabyBoomer

I got this gas mower since my electric mower would have shocked me trying to mow through the muck here in Ala. This mower is not self propelled and heavy. It is like trying to push around a wet mattress. The electric mower would have been easier even with throwing the wire around, minus gettng electrocuted. I do not recommend this mower, it needs to be self propelled and much lighter.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernBabyBoomer
Culman, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Cheap Mower
6/20/2009

Customer review by Randy50252

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by Randy50252
by Randy50252

I picked two of these up for $25 bucks each they were on sale because someone returned them broken well i put gas in one it runs great and a new plug in the other and new gas they had it on its side so oil leaked in the carb it runs great to. i figured they have a briggs motor so they cant be that bad. but you do get what you pay for nothing fancy on these mowers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Randy50252
Desmoines, iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
lawn mower
3/3/2008

Customer review by bikeowner13579

4.0 stars 3/3/2008 by bikeowner13579
by bikeowner13579

well i bought this lawn mower thinking it would be cool and i can go home put it together and mow my lawn but it turns out u cant.. i put gas in and the oil it came with and i try to start it and it will start only for approximatley 2 seconds. it wont stay running. it may have something to do with the throttle or the choke because the spring by the choke or whatever is very losse and i am not sure if that is right or not. thanks

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikeowner13579
hemet, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
weed eater lawn mower
10/19/2009

Customer review by san2120

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by san2120
by san2120

I bought this lawn mower and all i can say it purrs!!! like a kitten. no problems with this weed eater of any sort. it just takes a little maintence and care and you shouldn't have any problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
san2120
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great product
10/4/2009

Customer review by hates2review

5.0 stars 10/4/2009 by hates2review
by hates2review

I was leery to buy this after reading all the reviews but I couldn't afford anything else. I go the mower today. All i did was fill the oil and the gas, prime it as it says (3 pushes on the knob) and it started first pull. It did a great job on my yard. would recommend to anyone on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hates2review
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
easy to fix and easy to work on
2/23/2009

Customer review by Redneck5

3.0 stars 2/23/2009 by Redneck5
by Redneck5

I like them all , i know how to work on them. I think it is fine, i bought one becouse it was cheap and it was all the money i had at the time. i use the heck out of it, almost like a bush hogg, it seem's to be fine. When starting them, there are a few thing's to do to get it started . I was gone from the house for about 2 month's, my cousin threw it in our pound and it sat there till i got back, i was wondering where it went when i got back, till my outher cousin told me what had happened. I fished it out, cleaned it up, and it run's and looks new. Of course i bought new gaskets and thing's for it. But i still got it. No matter what you bye, if you take care of it, it will last. Not throwing it in the pund. Heck, i even run alot of octane in it too, i like rebuilding it. I am wanting to go get a newer one when i get the money, the one i got now will then be a light job mpwer. But i find that it is a really good mower, i like it, and i am getting all of my money out, every bit of it. It is keeping my yard looking good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redneck5
holden, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it
5/17/2009

Customer review by stareyes118

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by stareyes118
by stareyes118

I bought this lawn mower and thought well maybe I can at least some of my grass cut as it was over a foot high,,, bought it home and hubby put handle up on it put the oil in and primed it. Started right up he cut all of our grass and I am not kidding it was high,, he again cut it this weekend. I think this lawn mower is a great buy for the price I really didnt think it would work so well

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stareyes118
Harrington DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
WAS great
11/7/2009

Customer review by macboymac

5.0 stars 11/7/2009 by macboymac
by macboymac

This tiny mower always started and did my lawn. But then i moved to a big 2 acre yard and upgraded to a self propelled.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
macboymac
alton NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Happy for the Money
9/27/2009

Customer review by CaptainCaveman

5.0 stars 9/27/2009 by CaptainCaveman
by CaptainCaveman

I needed an inexpensive mower at the time and this fit the bill fine. 22" deck, decent power, low cost. Couldn't ask for much more. My property is 3/4 acre after subtracting for house, driveway, and large garden shed, so I only mow every 10-14 days because of the size of the yard. While I wish it had a more powerful engine, I'm a mechanic and I knew what my money was getting me in advance, so I can't say I'm disappointed. It does take a strong arm to give a good hard pull such as this mower requires (this model engine needs to be spun faster than some others during start up for the engine to catch and start) but my wife and I have never had a problem getting it started. Despite the engine being too small to mulch in overly thick or long grass, despite the relatively hard pull needed to start the engine, and despite the fact that it's not the riding mower I wish I had, I have no issues with this mower and would certainly recommend it to anyone on a budget. It starts every time for me, it only stalls if I'm trying to mulch grass that's too tall, and I've certainly never encountered any of the issues others seem to have had.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptainCaveman
Manteno, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
For the money its beed a good one.
6/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought my mower sometime in 08 and it has been running wonderfully for me. now understand I have 5 acres of lawn and i only use this one for under trees and trimming. i never winterize it or anything and it starts on the first pull everytime. I did replace the spark plug immediately after i purchased the mower (before i even started it the first time). This mower has been great for the price I paid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
St Cloud MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Mechanically Sound but Mower Deck Cracked
6/8/2010

Customer review by chpotter

2.0 stars 6/8/2010 by chpotter
by chpotter

I owed this mower for 2 years. Engine is mechanically sound with no issues. This mowing season, the mower deck cracked severely at the left rear wheel. Deck breakage was so severe that left rear wheel has fallen off. Mower is now inoperable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chpotter
Louisvillle, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It's a cliche but... "you get what you pay for."
7/25/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/25/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Disappointing. Have had this mower for 5 years but for the last 4 have only been able to keep it going after an inordinate amount of spring maintenance. Have gone through FAR too much oil and FAR too many sparkplugs for such a time span. Like so many other reviewers here have been saying, you get what you pay for. Truly, folks: tighten your belts, save your pennies and buy something that'll actually LAST awhile.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fairfax Station, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I Agree - This Mower is Junk
8/18/2009

Customer review by Mark49

1.0 stars 8/18/2009 by Mark49
by Mark49

This is the first new mower I bought and it has been trouble from day 2. As others have said, it will not start or run more than a few seconds. I read about blowing into the gas tank (not a pleasent proceedure) and that worked at the beginning, but now nothing seems to get this piece of trash running.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mark49
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews